Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Brossard, Chandler, 1922-1993.
Title:	Chandler Brossard Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1951-2002
Quantity:	9 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American novelist, playwright, editor, and teacher. Correspondence and memorabilia as well as manuscripts, drafts, typescripts, and production material for Brossard's numerous novels, short stories, essays and plays. Correspondents include Alice Adams, Donald Allen, Malcolm Bradbury, Kent Carroll, Noam Chomsky, Wheeler Dixon, Guy Daniels, Joe Flaherty, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, John Clellon Holmes, Seymour Krim, James Laughlin, Ron Padgett, Charles Plymell, William Shawn, Gilbert Sorrentino, and others.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Chandler Brossard (1922-1993) was an American novelist, playwright, editor, and teacher.

Born on July 18, 1922 in Idaho Falls, Idaho, he grew up in Washington, D.C. Brossard was chiefly self-educated, having left school at age eleven. He worked as a journalist for the Washington Post before attaining a writing position with The New Yorker at age nineteen, where editor William Shawn encouraged him to write fiction. His first published novel, Who Walk in Darkness (1952), focused on the bohemian life of 1940s Greenwich Village and is sometimes considered the first beat novel, thus earning Brossard an association with early Beat Generation writers such as Jack Kerouac and Allen Ginsberg -- an association Brossard neither sought nor desired. Reviewers who characterized Who Walk in Darkness as a beat novel, Brossard said, "totally missed getting the book. They thought it was a realistic novel, which of course it wasn't. The French critics knew better. They perceived it as the first 'new wave' novel, a nightmare presented as flat documentary." (Dictionary of Literary Biography, Volume 16: The Beats: Literary Bohemians in Postwar America, pp. 43-45.)

Brossard received little critical support for his novels in the United States (though they were well-received abroad, particularly in France). In 1971 Anatole Broyard wrote a scathing review of Wake Up. We're Almost There for the New York Times: "Here's a book so transcendently bad it makes us fear not only for the condition of the novel in this country, but for the country itself." Brossard responded in kind and a small controversy festered between them for a time. Two of Brossard's novels -- The Wrong Turn (Avon, 1954) and The Double View (Dial, 1960) -- were published under the pseudonym "Daniel Harper."

In addition to producing novels, plays and short stories, Brossard worked as an editor for Time magazine (1944), executive editor for American Mercury (1950-1951), and senior editor for Look magazine (1956-1967). He also wrote criticism for The Nation, Commentary, and The Guardian. From 1968-1970, he was a professor at the experimental Old Westbury College on Long Island and subsequently held brief teaching appointments as a visiting professor, writer-in-residence, or lecturer at universities in the United States and abroad, including the University of Birmingham in England, the New School for Social Research in New York, and Schiller College (now Schiller International University) in Paris.

Brossard was married twice and had three daughters. He died in 1993.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Chandler Brossard Papers contains the papers of the American novelist, playwright, editor, and teacher. Correspondence-subject files contains Brossard's correspondence with editors (Joyce Engelson, Daniel Halpern, Jay Landesman, Mark Zussman), publishers (Bobbs-Merrill Company, Daniel Cointe, Editions Gallimard, Fawcett, New Directions), writers (Noam Chomsky, E.L. Doctorow, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Peter Matthiessen, Marshall McLuhan), and family (daughters Geneve, Iris and Marie, mother Therese and brother Boyd). The literary spat between Brossard and critic Anatole Broyard is well documented.

Writings comprises typescripts, drafts, annotated drafts, manuscripts, notebooks, and other material related to Brossards novels, plays, essays, and short stories. Most strongly represented are the novels As the Wolf Howls at My Door (1992) and Wake Up. We’re Almost There (1971), with 18 and 20 folders respectively. This series also includes one unpublished novel entitled She Cried Out to Me. Memorabilia consists of publicity, reader's reports, and reviews.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The Special Collections Research Center also has a number of books by Brossard. Please refer to Libraries Search and search for Brossard, Chandler as author.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Chandler Brossard Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Chandler Brossard, 1970 et seq.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LPB
Date: 2 Aug 2006
Revision history: 26 Oct 2006 - fixed linear ft, typo (MRR); 26 Mar 2008 - Tipton additions (MRC); 26 Oct 2012 - extent revised (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical information
Oversize 1		Interview 1984 - self-interview, in preparation for his contribution to Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series , Vol. 2 (Gale Research Company)

	Correspondence-subject files
Box 1		A (1 folder)
Box 1		Adams, Alice undated - includes postcards
Box 1		Androla, Ron (poet) 1983-1984
Box 1		Appignanesi, Lisa 1976
			See also Writers and Readers Publishing Cooperative
Box 1		Appignanesi, Richard 1976
			See also Writers and Readers Publishing Cooperative
Box 1		Aronson, James (writer) 1973-1976
Box 1		Auw, Ivan von (agent) 1954-1955, 1968
Box 1		B (1 folder)
Box 1		Baizer, Eric (writer) 1977-1980, 1982, undated
Box 1		Belmont Productions, Inc. (publisher) 1963, 1967-1969
Box 1		Benedict, Elizabeth (writer) 1981
Box 1		Berger, John (writer) 1976
Box 1		Bessie, Alvah Cecil 1968
Box 1		Blackburn, Alexander 1979, 1981
Box 1		The Bobbs-Merrill Company, Inc. (publisher) 1971-1973
Box 1		Bowers, John (writer) 1986, undated
			See also The Review of Contemporary Fiction, Chandler Brossard issue (Vol. VII, no. 1)
Box 1		Brooke-Rose, Christine (writer) 1974
Box 1		Brossard, Boyd (brother) undated
Box 1		Brossard, Geneve (daughter) undated - includes handmade card and drawings
Box 1		Brossard, Iris (daughter) 1984, 1988, undated
Box 1		Brossard, Marie (daughter) 1988
Box 1		Brossard, Therese (mother) undated
Box 1		Broyard, Anatole 1955
Box 1		Burchett, Wilfred 1971
Box 1		Busch, Frederick undated
Box 1		C (1 folder)
Box 1		Calderone, Claudio (writer, United Nations official) 1981-1983, 1986-1988, undated
Box 1		Cetner, Marc (editor, National Enquirer) undated
Box 1		Cherry Valley Editions (publisher) 1980-1981, 1984, undated
Box 1		Chomsky, Noam 1970-1971, 1975-1977, 1981, 1986, undated
Box 1		City Lights (bookseller) 1977-1978, 1986-1987
Box 1		Codrescu, Andrei 1984
Box 1		Cointe, Daniel (publisher of Dirty Books for Little Folks) 1977-1980, 1984-1986, undated
Box 1		Coleman, Lonnie 1984
Box 1		Compendium Bookshop (London) 1977, 1984-1985, undated
Box 1		Corwin, Phillip 1971 - includes correspondence regarding Anatole Broyard’s review of Brossard's Wake Up. We’re Almost There
Box 1		Coyne, John (writer, director of admissions at Old Westbury) 1969, 1971, 1982, 1985, undated
			See also The Review of Contemporary Fiction, Chandler Brossard issue (Vol. VII, no. 1)
Box 1		D (1 folder)
Box 1		d'Heurle, Francois (scientist for IBM) 1971 - letter to the editor published in the New York Times Book Review regarding Anatole Broyard’s review of Brossard's Wake Up. We’re Almost There
Box 1		Doctorow, E.L. 1977
Box 1		Donadio, Candida (agent) 1963-1964, undated
Box 1		Duer, David (publisher) 1984, undated
Box 1		E (1 folder)
Box 1		Editions Gallimard (publisher, Paris, France) 1968, 1970, 1984-1986, undated
Box 1		Engelson, Joyce (editor) 1970, 1977-1978, 1981, undated
			See also The Review of Contemporary Fiction, Chandler Brossard issue (Vol. VII, no. 1)
Box 1		F (1 folder)
Box 1		Fawcett Publications, Inc. 1959, 1962, 1964-1966, 1968, undated
Box 1		Ferlinghetti, Lawrence 1977
Box 1		Fisher, M.F.K. 1986
Box 1		Flam, Jack (art professor/historian, writer) 1975-1979, 1981-1982, 1987-1988
Box 1		Friedenberg, Edgar Zodiag (writer) 1968, 1974-1975, 1977, 1981, 1986, undated
			See also The Review of Contemporary Fiction, Chandler Brossard issue (Vol. VII, no. 1)
Box 1		Friedman, Bruce Jay 1963, undated
Box 1		Frommer, Arthur (publisher) 1963, undated
Box 1		G (1 folder)
Box 1		Gale Research Company (publisher) 1984-1985 - includes correspondence related to CB’s contribution to the Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series
			See also Biographical information: Interview
Box 1		Garrison, Jim (district attorney) 1969, 1971
Box 1		Geis, Bernard (publisher) 1963
Box 2		Goldberg, Harry (head of American Library in Paris) 1979-1980, 1982, 1984-1989, undated
Box 2		Gordon, Selma (children’s book author) 1981-1982, 1984
Box 2		H (1 folder)
Box 2		Haigh, Isabel (Mrs. Richard) undated
Box 2		Haigh, Richard (historian) undated
Box 2		Halpern, Daniel (poet, editor for Antaeus 1977, undated
Box 2		Harper's Magazine 1971-1974, 1976-1979, 1984
Box 2		Harrison, William (writer) 1977
Box 2		Hentoff, Nat 1971 - note referring to Anatole Broyard’s review of Brossard's Wake Up. We’re Almost There
Box 2		Hiss, Alger undated
Box 2		Holland-Skinner, Con (writer) 1984, 1987
			See also The Review of Contemporary Fiction, Chandler Brossard issue (Vol. VII, no. 1)
Box 2		Holmes, John Clellan 1977-1978
Box 2		Huffman, Grace (mother-in-law; mother to actress Felicity Huffman) 1983, 1985, 1986-1987, undated
Box 2		Huffman, Maria (second wife; mother to Geneve) undated
Box 2		I (1 folder)
Box 2		J (1 folder)
Box 2		Jonk, Clarence (writer) 1981
Box 2		K (1 folder)
Box 2		Kearney, Michael (anthropologist, writer) 1977-1985
Box 2		Kees, Weldon 1955
			See also Reidel, James
Box 2		Kinnell, Galway 1982
Box 2		Kolokithas, Dawn (writer, poet, editor for Pacific Poetry & Fiction Review) 1980
Box 2		Krassner, Paul (writer, founder/editor of The Realist) 1972
Box 2		Krim, Seymour (writer, editor) 1962, 1968, 1981-1982, 1984-1985, undated
			See also The Review of Contemporary Fiction, Chandler Brossard issue (Vol. VII, no. 1)
Box 2		L (1 folder)
Box 2		Land, Myrick (writer) 1983
Box 2		Landesman, Jay (writer, editor, publisher) 1955, 1969-1970, 1972-1974, 1977-1978, 1980-1981, 1983-1988, undated
			See also The Review of Contemporary Fiction, Chandler Brossard issue (Vol. VII, no. 1)
Box 2		Lange, Monique (writer, screenwriter, editor) 1970
Box 2		Lapham, Lewis H. (editor, Harper’s Magazine) 1971-1974, 1976-1979, 1984
Box 2		Lawrence, Kathleen Rockwell (writer) 1987
Box 2		Lemmon, Jack (actor) 1968 - letter regarding article CB wrote about Lemmon for Look
Box 2		Levy, William (writer) 1984, 1986-1987, undated
			See also The Review of Contemporary Fiction, Chandler Brossard issue (Vol. VII, no. 1)
Box 2		Lewis, Anthony (writer, journalist) 1973
Box 2		Lowry, Robert 1977, 1979, 1987 - includes introductory sheet from Lowry’s workshop at Writer’s Digest School, with photograph of Lowry (photocopy)
Box 2		Lykiard, Alexis (poet, writer) 1985-1987
			See also The Review of Contemporary Fiction, Chandler Brossard issue (Vol. VII, no. 1)
Box 2		Lykiard, Erika (Mrs. Alexis) 1986-1988, undated
Box 2		M (1 folder)
Box 2		Mariah, Paul (poet, writer) 1977
Box 2		Matthiessen, Peter (writer) 1962, undated
Box 2		McLuhan, Marshall (writer) 1955
Box 2		Mehta, Sonny (a.k.a. Ajai Singh, publisher, editor-in-chief at Alfred A. Knopf) 1970-1971
Box 2		Micheline, Jack 1977
Box 2		Miller, Stuart (writer) 1968, 1981-1982
Box 2		Moore, David (publisher) 1980, 1984-1987, 1989
Box 2		Moore, Steven (writer, bibliographer) 1983-1989, undated
			See also The Review of Contemporary Fiction, Chandler Brossard issue (Vol. VII, no. 1)
Box 2		N (1 folder)
Box 2		New Directions (publisher) 1951-1952, 1955, 1962-1963, 1971, 1980, 1982-1983, undated
Box 2		O (1 folder)
		O’Brien, John
			See The Review of Contemporary Fiction
		Old Westbury
			See State University of New York - College at Old Westbury
Box 2		P (1 folder)
Box 2		Padgett, Ron (poet, publisher) 1982
Box 2		Pantucci, Gabriele (agent) 1974-1976, 1978
Box 2		Peabody, Richard (editor, writer) 1979-1981, 1983-1985, undated
Box 2		Phoenix Book Shop (seller of CB’s manuscript archive) 1972, 1977, 1983, 1985
Box 2		Plymell, Charles (writer, poet, publisher) 1980, 1984
Box 2		The Poetry Center (92nd St. Y) 1982
Box 3		Poets & Writers 1975-1978, 1980, 1982, 1984, undated
Box 3		Porter, Cathy (writer) undated
Box 3		Protter, Eric (editor, writer, publisher) 1973, 1975, undated
Box 3		Protter, Susan Ann (agent) 1979, 1981-1982
Box 3		Pryor, Roberta (agent) 1966-1968, undated
Box 3		Quattrocchi, Angelo (writer) undated
Box 3		R (1 folder)
Box 3		Ramnath, S. (writer, editor) 1984
			See also The Review of Contemporary Fiction, Chandler Brossard issue (Vol. VII, no. 1)
Box 3		Reidel, James (writer) 1984
Box 3		The Review of Contemporary Fiction, Chandler Brossard issue (Vol. VII, no. 1) 1980, 1983-1986 - special issue focusing on Brossard and his work, edited and published by John O’Brien
			See also individual contributors by name.
Box 3		Riesman, David (sociologist, educator) 1968-1970
Box 3		Rinehart and Company (publisher) 1954-1956, undated
Box 3		Rosten, Norman (writer) 1968
Box 3		S (1 folder)
Box 3		Salter, James (writer) undated
Box 3		Sartre, Jean-Paul 1967 - letter to Mme. Simonne Gauthier-Finnbogason referencing CB
Box 3		Schneck, Stephen (writer) 1973
Box 3		Serendipity Books 1980, 1983 - bookseller involved with selling CB’s manuscript archive, includes detailed description of archive entitled "Chandler Brossard Manuscripts"
Box 3		Sherman, Lonnie (writer) 1984, undated
Box 3		Silber, Irwin (editor) 1969
Box 3		The Smith 1974, 1977, undated
Box 3		Solomon, Barbara Probst (writer, contributor to Review of Contemporary Fiction, Chandler Brossard issue) undated
Box 3		Sontag, Susan 1977
Box 3		Soos, Richard A. (publisher, writer) undated
Box 3		Sorrentino, Gilbert 1977, 1981
Box 3		State University of New York - College at Old Westbury 1968-1970
			See also Coyne, John
Box 3		Student correspondence 1969 - in support of CB’s tenure at Old Westbury
Box 3		Subraman, Belinda (Mary) (writer, poet, editor, publisher) 1984-1985
Box 3		Sutton, Eileen 1988
Box 3		T (1 folder)
Box 3		Talbot, Daniel (editor) undated
Box 3		Tennant, Emma (writer, editor) undated
Box 3		Tipton, David (publisher) 1985-1988, undated - includes correspondence related to publishing CB’s Postcards and Closing the Gap
Box 3		Tran, Van Dinh (writer, teacher) 1967-1970
Box 3		True 1970-1971 - includes correspondence regarding CB’s so-called "CIA piece"
Box 3		U (1 folder)
Box 3		V (1 folder)
Box 3		Vachon, John (photographer) undated
Box 3		Van Arkadie, Elaine undated
Box 3		The Village Voice 1973-1974, 1977, 1983, undated
Box 3		W (1 folder)
Box 3		Wetzsteon, Ross (writer, editor) 1973-1974, undated
Box 3		Wilcock, John (writer) 1972, undated
Box 3		Wilke, Susan (painter) 1984-1988
Box 3		William Morris Agency (agent Don Gold and others) 1968-1973, undated
Box 3		Writers and Readers Publishing Cooperative 1976
			See also Appignanesi, Lisa and Appignanesi, Richard
Box 3		Y (1 folder)
Box 3		Yaddo (artists’ community, Saratoga Springs, New York) 1981, 1987
Box 3		Young, Al (writer, poet, editor) 1997
Box 3		Zussman, Mark (editor, Oui) 1974-1976, undated
Box 3		Unidentified correspondence (1 folder)

	Writings
		Books
			As the Wolf Howls at My Door (Dalkey Archive) 1992 - working titles: Somebody’s Been Sleeping in My Bed; Somebody’s Been Eating My Porridge; Thin Air; Come Out with Your Hands Up
Box 4				9 notebooks (7 folders)
Box 4, 5				Draft annotated typescript (5 folders)
Box 5, 6				Typescript (6 folders)
Box 6			The Bold Saboteurs (Dell) 1953 - Excerpts - draft typescripts, some annotated (8 folders)
Box 6			A Chimney Sweep Comes Clean (Realities Library) 1985 - working title: Confessions of a Chimney Sweep; notebook; draft annotated typescript (2 folders)
Box 6			Closing the Gap (Redbeck Press) 1986 - notes - 1 small notebook; draft, 2 notebooks; ms (4 folders)
			Dirty Books for Little Folks (Daniel Cointe) 1978 - working title: Smut for Small Fry
Box 6				Notebook
Box 6				"Jack and the Beanstalk" - draft, annotated typescript
Box 6				"Little Red Riding Hood: Three Quite New Versions" - draft, annotated typescript (2 folders)
Box 7			The Double View (Dial Press) 1960 - corrected typescript (2 folders)
			The Insane World of Adolf Hitler (Fawcett Publications) 1966
Box 7				Corrected typescript
Oversize 1				Production records – photo layouts
Box 7			A Man for All Women (Fawcett Publications) 1966 - corrected typescript (3 folders)
Box 7			Postcards: Don’t You Just Wish You Were Here? (Redbeck Press) 1987 - notebook, ms (2 folders)
Box 7			She Cried Out to Me (unpublished novel) undated - Draft annotated typescript
			The Spanish Scene (Viking Press) 1968
Box 7				Notes – 1 small notebook
Box 7, 8				Corrected typescript (2 folders)
Box 8				Layouts
Box 8				Author’s corrected galley proofs
Box 8				Duplicate page proof
			Wake Up. We’re Almost There (R.W. Baron) 1971
Box 8, 9				Notebooks (8 folders)
Box 9				Excerpt – annotated typescript (2 folders)
Box 9				Draft – retypes and inserts
Box 9, 10				Setting copy ( 5 folders)
Box 10				Corrected page proofs
Box 11				Uncorrected page proofs
Oversize 1				Production records - Layouts
Box 11				Cover artwork
Box 11			Who Walk in Darkness (New Directions) 1952 - annotated typescript; setting copy (5 folders)
Box 12			The Wolf Leaps: Did Christ Make Love? (Herodias), 2002 - originally published as Did Christ Make Love? by Bobbs-Merrill, 1973; typescript titled The Wolf Leaps
		Essays
Box 12			"About Wake Up" - typescript
Box 12			"The Child’s Style of Learning" - printed material
Box 12			"The Culture of Violence" - photocopied draft
Box 12			"The Fiction Scene: or Has Anybody Seen Billy Goat Gruff Lately?" - draft annotated typescript; corrected galley proofs; setting copy (4 folders)
Box 12			"How We Lie to Our Children" - photocopied draft
Box 12			"Letter Found Inside an Aztec Washed Up on the Steps to the Temple" - typescript
Box 12			"Making Life Tougher" - printed material
Box 12			"The Menorcan Papers: History as Language and Human Garbage" - outline, annotated typescript; draft annotated typescript (2 folders)
Box 12			Introduction to Neurotica - draft annotated typescript
Box 12			"Non-Happenings in Change" - typescript
Box 12			"North Toward Home" - review, typescript
Box 12			"Old Westbury College: A Fraud Revisited" - draft annotated typescript
Box 12			"The Ritual of Originality" - printed material
Box 12			"Tentative Visits to the Cemetery: Reflections on My Beat Generation" - draft; corrected typescript (2 folders)
Box 12			"Whatever Became of Fiction?" - draft typescript
		Scripts
Box 12			Catch as Catch Can: A Comedy
Box 12			Love's Success
Box 13			The Man with Ideas: A Comedy - draft typescript
Box 13			Some Dreams Aren’t Real: A Comedy - annotated typescript
Box 13			Tish and Judy - draft, 2 notebooks (2 folders)
Box 13			The True Test of Friendship - Draft, notebook; typescript; photocopy (3 folders)
Box 13			Up and At Them: A Comedy
Box 13			Untitled fragment - typescript
		Stories
Box 13			"Afterward" - typescript
Box 13			"At the Fights" - typescript
Box 13			"Bachelor’s Room" - typescript
Box 13			"The Big Meet" - typescript
Box 13			"Billy and the Boys" - typescript
Box 13			"Un Buon Café" - typescript
Box 13			"The Castle At Last" - typescript (photocopy)
Box 13			"The Color of Fall" - typescript (2 folders)
Box 13			"Drowning Grass" - annotated typescript, typescript (2 folders)
Box 13			"Games on the Beach" - typescript
Box 13			"The Green Cadillac" - typescript (2 folders)
			"In Florence"
				See "Remembrance of Italy"
Box 13			"Interview in the Morning" - annotated typescript
				See also A Man for All Women
			"An Italian Story"
				See "Remembrance of Italy"
			"Italy, 1947-48"
				See "Remembrance of Italy"
Box 13			"Letter from the Conscious to the Unconscious" - annotated typescript
				See also The Bold Saboteurs (excerpt VI)
Box 13			"The Lido" - typescript (2 folders)
Box 14			"The Little Boy Who Wanted to Be Somebody Else" - typescript
Box 14			"Love under the Arcades" - annotated typescript, typescript (2 folders)
			"The Major’s Return"
				See "Remembrance of Italy"
Box 14			"Mascara" - typescript
Box 14			"A New World for Deborah" - typescript (entitled "Penny’s New World"), printed material (2 folders)
Box 14			"One if for Sorrow, Two if for Joy" - annotated typescript, typescript (2 folders)
Box 14			"Ouch! And Oh! (And All That)" - annotated galley proof
Box 14			"The Plan" - annotated typescript
Box 14			"Playground" - typescript
Box 14			"Portrait" - typescript
Box 14			"Reluctant Ally" - typescript
			"Remembrance of Italy" - Part I:"Where One Goes"; Part II: "The Major’s Return"; Part III: "In Florence"
Box 14				Annotated typescript
Box 14				Typescript entitled "An Italian Story"
Box 14				Typescript entitled "Italy 1947-48"
Box 14				Typescript entitled "The Major’s Return"
Box 14				Printed material - published as "The Way It Was in Italy"
Box 14				Typescript entitled "In Florence"
Box 14			"The Right Direction" - annotated typescript, typescript (3 folders)
Box 14			"The Robber Next Door" - typescript (entitled "Robbery in the Suburbs), annotated typescript (2 folders)
Box 14			"A Sense of Relief" - typescript
Box 14			"Some Other Way" - annotated typescript, typescript (2 folders)
Box 14			"The Stolen Ride" - typescript (2 folders)
Box 14			"The Strange Pick-Up" - annotated typescript
Box 14			"Sunday Revelation" - typescript
Box 14			"Vacation for Three" - annotated typescript
Box 14			"A Very Nice Place" - printed material
Box 14			"A Very Strange Bet" - typescript
Box 14			"Voyage" - typescript
Box 14			"The Way It Was" - typescript
			"The Way It Was in Italy"
				See "Remembrance of Italy"
			"Where One Goes"
				See "Remembrance of Italy"
Box 14			"Who Walk In Darkness" - annotated typescript (2 folders)
Box 14, 15		Miscellany - untitled fragment typescript; unidentified manuscript pages typescript, printed material; 7 notebooks (5 folders)

	Memorabilia
		Publicity
Box 15			Dirty Books for Little Folks - advertisement/order form
Box 15			Love's Success - announcement of production opening
		Reports
Box 15			Reader’s reports - typescript
		Reviews
Box 15			The Double View
Box 15			The Spanish Scene

Return to top