Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Brown, Stuart Gerry, 1912-1991
Title:	Stuart Gerry Brown Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1934-1968
Quantity:	14 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American author, educator, specialist in American studies, political consultant. Collection includes correspondence, writings, and papers relating to the "Draft Stevenson" movement of the 1960 U.S. Presidential campaign. Correspondents include Averell Harriman, Clinton Rossiter, Arthur Schlesinger Jr., and Adlai Stevenson. Writings include addresses, radio speeches, and short pieces for and about Stevenson. Also three scrapbooks of clippings on Stevenson.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Stuart Gerry Brown (1912-1991) was an American author, educator, and political consultant. He taught at Syracuse University for nearly twenty years.

Born April 13, 1912, in Buffalo, New York, to Charles H., Jr. and Edith (Brown) Brown, he received his A.B. degree from Amherst College in 1934 and his Ph.D. from Princeton University in 1937. In 1937 he became an English instructor at the University of Wisconsin. In 1940, he went to Grinnell College as an associate professor of English and was a full professor of English when he left Grinnell in 1947 to become a professor of Citizenship and American Culture at the Maxwell Graduate School of Citizenship and Public Affairs at Syracuse University. During 1961-1962 and 1964-1965, he was visiting professor at the East-West Cultural Center at the University of Hawaii. In August of 1965, Mr. Brown resigned from Syracuse University to become graduate professor of American Studies at the East-West Center.

Brown was a Democratic state committeeman in Iowa, vice president of Americans for Democratic Action in New York State, a campaign aide to Adlai. E. Stevenson and founder of the Stevenson for President Movement in Onondaga County (N.Y.).

He is the author of The First Republicans (1954), Conscience in Politics (1961), Jefferson (1963); and (with C. Peltier) Government in Our Republic (1960). He is the editor of We Hold These Truths, 2nd edition (1948), Great Issues (1948), The Social Philosophy of Josiah Royce (1950), The Religious Philosophy of Josiah Royce (1952), The Autobiography of James Monroe (1959). With Wright Thomas he edited Reading Poems (1941) and Reading Prose (1952), and with H. Bragdon and S. McCutcheon he edited Frame of Government (1962). He also has contributed articles and book reviews to many educational reviews and journals.

Brown had one daughter, Antoinette Franchot, by his first marriage to Katharine Franchot, and two sons, Stuart Gerry and Thomas Stuart, by his second marriage to Mildred Kraus.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Stuart Gerry Brown Papers collection is divided into five groups: correspondence, memorabilia, student records, writings, and Adlai E. Stevenson Papers on the 1960 Stevenson draft Movement.

Correspondence, 1934-1968, consisting of letters to and from friends, colleagues, publishers and students, The letters are concerned with the editing and publication of his writings and with politics, education, job offers, students' problems and personal matters. Significant correspondents include the Chautauqua Institution, Henry Steele Commager, Felix Frankfurter, Averill Harriman, Lyndon Johnson, John F. Kennedy, Archibald MacLeish, Patsy Takemoto Mink, Daniel Patrick Moynihan, Frank Piskor, George Santayana, Arthur Schlesinger, Adlai Stevenson, William P. Tolley, Harry S. Truman, and Eleanor Roosevelt. Also of interest is Brown's correspondence in 1967-1968 with Arthur Schlesinger, Jr. with regard to the 1968 presidential campaign and the candidacy of Robert Kennedy.

There is additional correspondence of significance in the Adlai E. Stevenson Papers on the 1960 Stevenson draft Movement.

Memorabilia, 1947-1967, includes Aden and Middle East material, biographical material, brochures and catalogues, committees, course descriptions, expense accounts, miscellaneous printed material, photographs, dinner and round table programs, Adlai E. Stevenson mimeographed addresses and statements and news clippings about Adlai E. Stevenson, arranged in that order. There are a few news clippings about Brown's speeches.

Student records, 1958-1968 include individual student programs, papers written by students and covering letters.

Writings, 1940-1968, include addresses, articles, book reviews, books, a citation, a course description, a course outline, essays, lectures, letters to the editor, notes, a radio discussion, radio speeches, reports, short pieces about Adlai E. Stevenson, writings for Adlai E. Stevenson and writings of others. Most of the writings are in manuscript form. Research material is included for the book Conscience in Politics and for speeches of Adlai E. Stevenson. Among the writings by others, an untitled article on the 1960 campaign by Gerald W. Johnson, and Theodore Sands' article, "The Unfinished Business of the '52 Campaign: Foreign Policy" should be mentioned. One speech that Brown wrote for Robert Kennedy's use in the spring of 1968 is included in the addresses. The articles deal with both historical topics and contemporary political issues. There are seven book reviews, including reviews of biographies of Adlai Stevenson and Robert Kennedy. There is also one item by another author, S.C. Hsieh.

The Adlai E. Stevenson Papers on the 1960 Stevenson draft Movement include three folders of chronologically arranged correspondence and two folders of writings by Stuart Gerry Brown. The remaining material, in consecutively numbered folders, consists of transcripts of interviews, reports and correspondence. The first of the numbered folders contains a descriptive calendar of the contents of the numbered series. This part of the collection is maintained in original order, with the folders titled and numbered by Brown himself.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by sender/recipient. Student records are arranged alphabetically by student name. Writings are subdivided by type, with material relating to Adlai Stevenson filed separately at the end in original order. Within each group, the writings are arranged alphabetically by title. Writings of others are arranged alphabetically by author.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Stuart Gerry Brown Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Stuart Gerry Brown, 1967-68.

Autobiography manuscript, gift of Robert J. Wilson, 2020.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MFA
Date: Apr 1969
Revision history: Feb 1971 - additions (FD); 17 Sep 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 20 Dec 2011 - pkgs boxed as OS1 (MRC); 22 Jan 2013 - box numbers edited: added OS 1 (MBD); 1 Aug 2017 - index corrected (MRC); 19 Sep 2019 - phonodiscs processed (IRP); 17 Feb 2020 - correspondence reordered alphabetically by sender/recipient, entire collection rehoused (MGC); 11 Sep 2020 - autobiography, Box 26, added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Acheson, Dean G. 1954
Box 1		Ahlberg, Clark 1950, 1955
Box 1		Alfred A. Knopf, Inc. 1953, 1955, 1957
Box 1		Allen, James Edward Jr. 1954
Box 1		Aloia, Vincent 1954-1955, 1962, 1966
Box 1		American Council of Learned Societies 1956, 1962
Box 1		The American Peoples Encyclopedia 1955-1956
Box 1		American Philosophical Society 1968
Box 1		American Political Science Association 1957
Box 1		American Scholar 1950
Box 1		Amherst College 1947-1956, 1962-1968 - includes Gail Kennedy, Edwin Charles Rozwenc, George Rogers Taylor, and George F. Whicher ( 2 folders)
Box 1		Amirthanoyagam, Guy 1964-1968
Box 1		Andrews, Paul Shipman 1954
Box 1		The Anniston Star 1962
		Appleby, Paul H.
			See Syracuse University; State of New York Division of the Budget.
Box 1		Armed Forces Staff College 1962-1965
Box 1		Arnold, Thurman Wesley 1957
Box 1		The Asia Foundation 1957
Box 1		The Atlantic Monthly 1949, 1957
Box 1		Association of American Colleges 1946, 1955
Box 1		A, miscellaneous
Box 1		Bain, Harry 1962
		Bailey, Stephen Kemp
			See Syracuse University.
Box 1		Baker, Donald G. 1962-1968
Box 1		Baldwin, Willard 1956-1957
Box 1		Ballentine, Duncan 1952
		Banwell, Mary R.
			See Grinnell College; Payne Memorial Volume.
		Bartlett, Kenneth Gill
			See Syracuse University.
Box 1		Barron's Educational Series, Inc. 1961-1962
Box 1		Beach, Joseph Warren 1947 - Consists of letter of recommendation to Beach
			See also Kroeger, Frederick P.
Box 1		Bender, George H. 1953
Box 1		Bergstrom, George W. 1962-1966
Box 1		Berle, Adolf Augustus 1951-1952, 1957
Box 1		Berstein, Melvin 1952-1956, 1962-1963
Box 1		Bertsche, Frank T. 1952-1955, undated
Box 1		Bickal, Robert R. 1952, 1962
Box 1		Biddle, Francis 1955
Box 1		Bingham, Johnathon Brewster 1954-1955
Box 1		Blair, William McCormick, Jr. 1954-1965, undated
Box 1		Blick, Thomas Edward Jr. 1962-1963
Box 1		Bobbs-Merrill Company 1953, 1956
Box 1		Bodkin, Robert G. 1954-1955, 1962-1964
Box 1		Booz, Allen & Hamilton 1949
Box 1		Bradford, Curtis Baker 1947-1950
Box 1		Bragdon, Henry 1957, 1961-1962
Box 1		Brant, Irving Newton 1954-1955
Box 1		Brautigam, Herman 1954, 1963, 1966
Box 1		Brown, Charles H. Jr. 1950
Box 1		Brown, James 1949
Box 1		Brown, Sherman 1950-1951, undated
		Butler, Paul M.
			See Democratic National Committee.
		Bye, Carl R.
			See Syracuse University.
Box 2		B, Miscellaneous - includes photographs
		Canfield, Cass
			See Harper & Brothers Publishers.
Box 2		Carnegie Corporation of New York 1955, 1963
Box 2		Case, Everett Needham 1964-1966
Box 2		Center for Cultural and Technical Interchange between East and West 1962-1967 - includes Alezander Spoehr
Box 2		Center for Information on America 1957
Box 2		Chapman, Chanler A. 1954
Box 2		Charles Scribner's Son 1948-1949, 1953-1957
Box 2		Chautauqua 1948, 1952-1956
Box 2		Citizen-Advertiser 1956
		Clampitt, Amy
			See Oxford University Press
		Clapp, Harold
			See Grinnell College.
Box 2		Clark, Harry Hayden 1951-1953
Box 2		Cleveland, James Harlan 1957, 1961-1965
Box 2		Commager, Henry Steele 1956
Box 2		Committee on Cultural Relations with Latin America Inc. 1943
Box 2		Committee on International Exchange of Persons 1951-1954, 1957-1959, 1962-1964
Box 2		The Community Church of New York 1962
Box 2		Cooke, Robert J. 1963-1966
Box 2		Cooper, John Sherman 1957
Box 2		Cord, Robert 1965-1967
Box 2		Cornell University 1952-1956, 1968, undated
		Crawford, Fina Goff
			See Syracuse University; Payne Memorial Volume
		Cressey, George Babcock
			See Syracuse University.
Box 2		Cuningham, Charles E. 1964-1965
		Curti, Merle Eugene
Box 2		C, miscellaneous
Box 2		D. C. Health and Company 1948, 1954, 1957
Box 2		Davis, Chester Charles 1948
			See also Payne Memorial Volume.
		Davis, Hallie Flanagan
			See Payne Memorial Volume.
		Day, Arthur Grove
			See University of Hawaii.
Box 2		Democratic County Committee of Onondaga 1952-1955
Box 2		Democratic National Committee 1953-1959 - includes Paul M. Butler and Stephen Arnold Mitchell
Box 2		Democratic State Committee of New York 1954
Box 2		Dockham, Betty 1952-1953, 1956
Box 2		Doubleday & Company, Inc. 1954, 1957
Box 2		Dougherty, Richard A. 1958
Box 2		Doyle, James E. 1962-1964
Box 2		Duke University Press 1949
		Dunner, Joseph
			See Grinnell College; Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 2		D, miscellaneous
		Eberlein, Roxanne
			See Stevenson, Adlai.
Box 2		Ehrlich, John 1952-1956, 1968
Box 2		Elfin, Melvin 1951-1952
Box 2		Elliot, G. Roy 1948-1954, 1962
Box 2		Emma Willard School 1949, 1954
Box 2		Encyclopedia Americana 1967
Box 2		Engler, Bob 1950-1957
Box 3		Ethics 1953-1955, 1962-1967
Box 3		Evans, Carol 1965-1967
			See also Stevenson, Adlai.
Box 3		Evans, Frank B. III 1955
Box 3		Everton, John Scott 1948-1950, 1968
Box 3		E, miscellaneous
		Faigle, Eric H.
			See Syracuse University.
Box 3		Fairchild, Thomas E. 1952
		Falk, Sawyer
			See Syracuse University.
Box 3		Farnen, Russell F. 1962-1963, 1966-1967
Box 3		Fausold, Martin 1955-1957, 1962-1963
Box 3		The Field Foundation, Inc. 1962
Box 3		Field, Ruth 1963, undated
Box 3		Fields, Dorothy Louise 1951-1952
Box 3		Finkelstein, Louis 1965
Box 3		Finletter, Thomas Knight 1954-1962, 1965-1967 (2 folders)
Box 3		Fiser, Webb S. 1953-1954, 1968
Box 3		Foerster, Norman 1947-1950
Box 3		Forbes, John V. G. 1962-1963
Box 3		Foster, Charles Howell 1945-1948, 1952-1954, 1964, undated
Box 3		Franchot, Antoinette 1963
Box 3		Frankfurter, Felix 1954
Box 3		French, Sidney James 1953-1954
Box 3		Friedrich, Carl J. 1948-1949, 1953
			See also Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 3		Fritchey, Clayton 1962
		Fritschler, A. Lee
			See Syracuse University.
Box 3		Frost, Robert 1952
Box 3		Fulbright, James William 1954
Box 3		The Fund for the Advancement of Education 1953-1956 - includes William Spencer Litterick
Box 3		F, miscellaneous
Box 3		Gabriel, Ralph Henry 1948-1949
Box 3		Garrison, Lloyd K. 1956-1958
Box 3		Gaus, John M. 1949, 1951-1954
Box 3		General Electric Company 1948-1949
Box 3		Gnoza, Edward 1947
Box 3		Goodwin, Paul 1962
Box 3		Gray, Phillip H. 1948
Box 3		Gray, Yohma 1967-1968
Box 3		Grinnell College 1947-1952, undated
Box 4		Grinnell College 1953-1956, 1962-1964, 1967-1968 - includes Mary R. Banwell, Harold Clapp, Joseph Dunner, Neal William Klausner, Louis V. Phelps, Adeline Pruyn, Herman Salinger, Samuel Stevens, and Earl D. Strong
Box 4		Grolier Incorporated 1957-1965 (4 folders)
Box 4		G, miscellaneous
Box 4		Hall, James Norman 1949
			See also Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 4		Hallie, Phillip 1947-1951, 1966
Box 4		Halstead, Anna Roosevelt 1963
Box 4		Hamilton, Charles G. 1962
Box 4		Hamilton College 1955-1956
Box 4		Harcourt, Brace & Company, Inc. 1946-1948, 1955-1956, 1964
		Hare, Raymond Arthur
			See Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 4		Haring, Douglas G. 1962
Box 4		Harper & Brothers Publishers 1947-1948, 1951-1957, 1961-1962 - includes Cass Canfield
Box 4		Harper's Magazine 1948-1949
Box 4		Harriman, Averell W. 1954, 1957-1958, 1962
Box 4		Harrison, T. Carter (Mrs.) 1962
		Hart, Donn V.
			See Syracuse University.
Box 4		Harvard University 1947-1950, 1953-1954, 1966, undated
Box 4		Harvard University Press 1948-1950, 1955-1957
		Hayes, Ann
			See Syracuse University.
Box 4		Heath, John R. 1954
			See also Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 4		Henry Holt & Company, Inc. 1947 - includes Allen Tate
Box 4		Henry Regnery Company 1952-1954
Box 4		Henry, Robert 1963
Box 4		Hickenlooper, Bourke Blackmore 1949
Box 4		Hicks, Grantville 1953
Box 4		The Historical Society of Pennsylvania 1962-1967
Box 4		Hocking, William Ernest 1948
Box 4		Hoes, Laurence Gouverner 1952-1957, undated
Box 4		Hook, Sidney 1952
Box 4		Houghton, Mifflin Company 1951-1952, 1955-1957
Box 4		Hovey, Richard B. 1952
Box 4		H, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 4		Institute of Ethics 1962, 1966-1968
Box 5		Ives, Elizabeth Stevenson "Buffie" 1965
Box 5		Ives, Irving McNeil 1953, undated
Box 5		I, miscellaneous
Box 5		J. J. Little & Ives Co., Inc. 1960
Box 5		James, William 1952
Box 5		Javits, Jacob K. 1955
Box 5		Jewish Community Center of Syracuse, Inc. 1962
Box 5		John C. Winston Company 1950-1951
Box 5		Johnson, Albert Edward 1951-1952, 1956, undated
Box 5		Johnson, Lyndon Baines 1949
Box 5		Johnson, Walter 1965-1966
Box 5		Jones, Alexander F. 1952 - inlcudes clippings
		Jones, Howard L.
			See New York State Council for the Social Studies.
Box 5		Jones, Louis Clark 1951-1952
Box 5		J, miscellaneous
Box 5		Kaufman, Ralph J. 1948-1951
Box 5		Keating, Kenneth B. 1953
Box 5		Kefauver, Estes 1956, 1960
Box 5		Kendrick, John H. 1947-1948
Box 5		Kennan, George Frost 1953
		Kennedy, Gail
			See Amherst College.
Box 5		Kennedy, John Fitzgerald 1960, 1967
Box 5		Keohane, Robert E. 1947-1949
Box 5		Kerr, Florence and Robert Y. 1948-1949, 1953-1954
			See also Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 5		Ketcham, Ralph L. 1956-1957, 1962-1968 (2 folders)
		Kharas, Ralph E.
			See Syracuse University.
Box 5		Kinloch, Hector 1967
		Klausner, Neal William
			See Grinnell College.
Box 5		Kohn, Hans Dr. 1948-1952, 1965
			See also Payne Memorial Volume.
		Kotschnig, Walter Maria
			See Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 5		Krinsky, Fred 1950-1951, 1957, 1962-1963, 1967-1968
Box 5		Kroeger, Frederick P. 1947, 1956, 1966
Box 5		K, miscellaneous
		Lattimore, Owen
			See Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 5		Lawrence, Ernest 1950-1951
Box 5		League of Women Voters 1947-1948
Box 5		Lehman, Herbert H. 1953-1956
Box 5		Lehman, William C. 1952, 1955
Box 5		Lerner, Max 1954-1955, 1965-1966
Box 5		Letters of Recommendation 1947-1957, 1962-1967, undated (2 folders)
Box 5		Levy, Leonard W. 1963
Box 5		The Liberal Arts Press, Inc. 1955
Box 5		Library of Congress 1953
Box 5		Linowitz, Sol M. 1956
		Litterick, William Spencer
			See The Fund for the Advancement of Education.
Box 5		Livingston, Robert 1948-1950
Box 5		Lodge, Henry Cabot Jr. 1952
Box 5		Longmans, Green & Co., Inc. 1945-1948
Box 5		Lubin, Isador 1954
Box 5		Lyndenberg, John 1952, 1956, 1962-1968
Box 5		L, miscellaneous
Box 6		MacDonald, Jessica 1947
Box 6		MacLeish, Archibald 1941
Box 6		Macmillan Company 1947-1966, undated (10 folders)
		Mangone, Gerard
			See Syracuse University.
Box 6		Marsden, Malcolm and Virginia 1946, 1949, 1952, 1956-1957, 1962-1963
Box 6		Martin, Roscoe Coleman 1949, 1954-1957, 1964-1967, undated
Box 6		Mason, Alpheus Thomas 1948
Box 6		Massachusetts Teachers Federation 1949
Box 6		Maxwell, Amos D. 1953-1954, 1967
Box 6		McCrea, William S. 1965
Box 6		McCutcheon, S. P. 1961
Box 7		McDermott, Edward 1968
Box 7		McGowan, Carl 1952
Box 7		McGrath, Edward G. 1965-1968, undated
Box 7		Mckeon, Richard P. 1949, 1961-1963
Box 7		Meiklejohn, Donald 1962-1968, undated
Box 7		Merrick, Wayne R. 1954-1955, 1963
Box 7		The Methodist Church Board of Education 1956, 1963
Box 7		Milford, Toni 1948-1950
Box 7		Miller, Perry 1948-1955, 1967, undated
Box 7		Miller, Raymond C. 1962, 1966-1968
Box 7		Miller, Warren 1955, 1967
		Miller, William A.
			See Syracuse University; Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 7		Mink, Patsy Takemoto 1961-1962 - includes photograph
Box 7		Minow, Newton Norman 1956-1958
Box 7		Missionary Orientation Center 1962
		Mitchell, Stephen Arnold
			See Democratic National Committee.
Box 7		Mizener, Arthur Moore 1950, 1953-1954, 1957
Box 7		Monroney, Almer Stillwell "Mike" 1952
Box 7		Moody, Blair 1952
Box 7		Morse, Wayne 1952-1957, undated
Box 7		Moses, Robert 1954
Box 7		The Mosher Family 1957, 1964 - includes Edith, Frederik "Fritz", Alice, Jim, Henry Camp, and Richard
Box 7		Moss, Irwin H. 1954, 1957, undated
Box 7		Moynihan, Daniel Patrick 1960
Box 7		Motwani, Kewal 1951
Box 7		Murdock, Kenneth Ballard 1950, 1954
Box 7		Murray, Donald 1963-1964
Box 7		Mushkat, Jerome 1952-1964
Box 7		M, miscellaneous
Box 7		Nevins, Allan 1955
Box 7		New England Quarterly 1945, 1949, 1952-1955, undated
		New York Division of the Budget
			See State of New York Division of the Budget.
Box 7		New York State Citizens Council, Inc. 1948
Box 7		New York State Council for the Social Studies 1947 - includes Howard L. Jones
Box 7		New York State Stevenson for President Committee 1949, 1956
Box 7		The New York Times 1950-1956
Box 7		Niebuhr, Reinhold 1955
Box 7		Niemeyer, Carl Anthony 1962
Box 7		Noble, Charles C. 1953
Box 7		Nollen, John Scholte 1948
			See also Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 7		N, miscellaneous
Box 7		d'Oronzio, Joseph and Wendy 1963-1966
		Owen, David
			See Syracuse University.
Box 7		Oxford University Press 1943, 1947, 1951-1957, 1962-1964 - includes Amy Clampitt
Box 7		O, miscellaneous
Box 7		Pacific and Asian Affairs Council 1967-1968
Box 7		Palmer, Edward E. "Bob" 1952-1953, 1965-1966
Box 7		Payne, Ina C. 1948-1952, 1957, undated
Box 7		Payne Memorial Volume 1948-1953, undated - includes Mary R. Banwell, Fina Goff Crawford, Chester Charles Davis, Hallie Flanagan Davis, Joseph Dunner, Carl J. Friedrich, James Norman Hall, Raymond Arthur Hare, John R. Heath, Florence & Robert Kerr, Walter Maria Kotschnig, Owen Lattimore, William A. Miller, John Scholte Nollen, Adeline Pruyn, Hans Simons, James Hamilton St. John, Samuel Stevens, Earl D. Strong, Charles Wright Thomas, Harrison J. Thornton, William Wesley Waymack (2 folders)
Box 8		Peace Corps 1963-1967, undated - includes Bascom Story
Box 8		Peltier, Charles L. 1953-1959, undated
Box 8		Perkins, Dexter 1957, 1962-1963
		Perry, Charner Marquis
			See Ethics; University of Chicago.
Box 8		Persons, Stow Spaulding 1952
		Phelps, Louis V.
			See Grinnell College.
Box 8		The Philippine Embassy 1957
Box 8		Piper, Robert Lewis 1960-1967, undated - includes photographs
		Piskor, Frank Peter
			See Syracuse University.
Box 8		Porter, Sylvia F. 1957
Box 8		Powell, Thomas F. 1962-1968, undated (2 folders)
		Price, Roy Arthur
			See Syracuse University.
Box 8		Princeton University 1947, 1953, 1956-1957, 1964 - includes Princeton Univeristy Press and The Papers of Thomas Jefferson
		Pruyn, Adeline
			See Grinnell College; Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 8		P, miscellaneous
Box 8		Q, miscellaneous
Box 8		Random House Inc. 1949, 1955-1956
Box 8		Remak, Joachim 1963
Box 8		Reston, James 1962
Box 8		Reynolds, Jack 1966-1967 - includes photographs
Box 8		Reynolds, Keith 1965-1967
Box 8		Riehlman, Roy Walter 1953-1954, 1957-1958
Box 8		Riley, William A. 1964-1968, undated
Box 8		Robitscher, Thomas 1948
Box 8		The Rockefeller Foundation 1955-1958
Box 8		Rockwell, Landon Gale 1955-1962
Box 8		Rockwood, Raymond Oxley 1956, 1962
Box 8		Roelofs, H. Mark 1952-1958
Box 8		Rogers, William B. 1962-1963
Box 8		The Ronald Press Company 1948-1950, 1955-1956, 1962
Box 8		Roosevelt, Anna Eleanor 1950, 1957-1961
Box 8		Roosevelt, Franklin D. Jr. 1954
Box 8		Rosen, Fred 1963-1968
Box 8		Rosenberg, William G. 1964
Box 8		Rossiter, Clinton 1953-1957, 1962-1967, undated
Box 8		Royce, Stephen 1948-1952
		Rozwenc, Edwin Charles
			See Amherst College.
Box 8		Ruzicka, Thomas 1952
Box 8		The Ryerson Press 1951-1952
Box 8		R, miscellaneous
		St. John, James Hamilton
			See Payne Memorial Volume.
		Salinger, Herman
			See Grinnell College.
Box 8		Salzburg Seminar in American Studies 1957
Box 8		Samuels, Charles 1957
Box 8		Santayana, George 1934
Box 8		The Saturday Review 1952, 1964
		Sawyer, Michael O.
			See Syracuse University.
Box 9		Schlesinger, Arthur Jr. 1952-1962, 1967-1968, undated (2 folders)
Box 9		Schmidt, Karl M. 1962, 1967
Box 9		Seward, William H. 1950
		Shaktman, Ben
			See Syracuse University.
Box 9		Shea, John J. B. 1956, 1959, 1965-1967
		Shishkin, Hildegard
			See Harriman, Averell.
Box 9		Siffin, William 1965-1967
		Simmons, Hans
			See Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 9		Simpson, Claude M., Jr. 1951-1952
Box 9		Simpson, George L. Jr. 1951
Box 9		Sinclair, Gregg Manners 1950, 1962, 1965
Box 9		Singer, Phillip 1962-1963
Box 9		Smith, Grover 1949
Box 9		Smith, M. Ellwood 1955
Box 9		Smith, Thomas Vernor 1949-1957, 1962-1964, undated - includes letters from his daughters Gayle and Charlotte
Box 9		Social Education (Journal) 1948 - includes Lewis Paul Todd
Box 9		The Society of American Historians, Inc. 1951-1954, undated
Box 9		Spender, Stephen 1940
		Spoehr, Alezander
			See Center for Cultural and Technical Interchange between East & West.
		Stalker, John N. "Jake"
			See University of Hawaii.
Box 9		State of New York Division of the Budget 1956-1957, undated - includes Paul Appleby
Box 9		State University of New York (SUNY) Albany 1955
Box 9		State University of New York (SUNY) at Buffalo 1962-1963
Box 9		State University of New York (SUNY) Cortland 1957, 1962
Box 9		State University of New York (SUNY) College of Environmental Science and Forestry (ESF) 1955
Box 9		State University of New York (SUNY) Harpur College 1954-1955, 1962-1963
Box 9		State University of New York (SUNY) Potsdam 1954
		Stevens, Samuel
			See Grinnell College; Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 9		Stevenson, Adlai E. 1952-1967, undated - includes Roxanne Eberlein and Carol Evans (3 folders)
Box 9		Stevenson, Adlai E. III 1965
Box 9		The Stevenson Democratic Club undated
Box 9		Stevenson, John Fell 1961, 1965
Box 9		Stewart, Milton D. 1956
		Story, Bascom
			See Peace Corps.
		Strebel, Ralph F.
			See Utica College.
		Strong, Earl D.
			See Grinnell College; Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 9		Sufrin, Sidney Charles 1951
		Swerdlow, Irving
			See Syracuse University.
Box 9		Syracuse University 1947-1953 - includes Paul H. Appleby, Stephen Kemp Bailey, Kenneth Gill Bartlett, Carl R. Bye, Fina Goff Crawford, George Babcock Cressey, Eric H. Faigle, Sawyer Falk, A. Lee Fritschler, Donn V. Hart, Ann Hayes, Ralph E. Kharas, Gerard Mangone, William A. Miller, David Owen, Frank Peter Piskor, Roy Arthur Price, Michael O. Sawyer, Ben Shaktman, Irving Swerdlow, William Pearson Tolley, Richard G. Underwood, Clifford L. Winters Jr., Wayne Stewart Yenawine (2 folders)
Box 10		Syracuse University 1954-1957, 1960-1968, undated (8 folders)
Box 10		S, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 11		Tapp, June and Robert 1957, 1962-1963, 1967, undated
		Tate, Allen
			See Henry Holt & Company, Inc.
		Taylor, George Rogers
			See Amherst College.
Box 11		Taylor, Harold 1962-1965
Box 11		Thomas, Charles Wright 1947-1949, 1952, 1955, undated
		Thornton, Harrison J.
			See Payne Memorial Volume.
Box 11		Thorp, Willard 1947-1950, 1954-1955
Box 11		Time Incorporated 1955
Box 11		The Today Show 1961
		Todd, Lewis Paul
			See Social Education (Journal).
		Tolley, William Pearson
			See Syracuse University.
Box 11		Tree, Marietta 1965-1966
Box 11		Triple Cities College 1948-1950 - Now Binghampton College, was attached to Syracuse University
Box 11		Trivedi, R. K. 1962
Box 11		Truman, Harry S. 1954-1955
Box 11		T, miscellaneous
		Underwood, Richard G.
			See Syracuse University.
Box 11		United Nations Educational, Scientific, & Cultural Organization (UNESCO) 1948-1949 (2 folders)
Box 11		United States Army Staff College 1957
Box 11		United States Civil Service Commission 1962
Box 11		United States Department of State 1951, 1966
Box 11		University of Chicago 1950-1957 - includes Charner Marquis Perry
Box 11		University of Chicago Press 1956, 1961-1962, 1968
Box 11		University of Chicago Round Table 1953-1955
Box 11		University of Hawaii 1953, 1961-1968 - includes Arthur Grove Day and John N. Stalker
Box 11		University of Kansas City 1947-1950 - includes Hyatt Howe Waggoner
Box 11		Utica College 1954-1956, 1962-1967 - was attched to Syracuse Universityincludes Ralph F. Strebel
Box 11		U, miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 11		Valverde, Walter 1951
Box 11		Van Devender, Charles 1955
Box 11		Vann, Carl R. 1957
Box 11		Volunteers for Stevenson undated
Box 11		Virginia Quarterly Review 1949-1950, 1967
Box 11		V, miscellaneous
Box 11		WSYR 1948
Box 11		W. W. Norton & Co., Inc. 1948, 1968
Box 11		Wachman, Marvin 1951-1957, 1965, undated
		Waggoner, Hyatt Howe
			See University of Kansas City.
Box 11		Walsh, Warren Bartlett 1952
Box 11		Walters, Morgan L. 1961, 1966-1967
Box 11		The Washington Post 1953-1954
Box 12		Washington Square Press, Inc. 1962, 1965-1966
Box 12		Watkins, David D. 1949, 1954
Box 12		Waymack, William Wesley 1948
		Whicher, George F.
			See Amherst College.
Box 12		William Volker Fund 1955-1956
		Winters, Clifford L., Jr.
			See Syracuse University.
Box 12		Wise, Gene 1962-1967, undated
Box 12		Wolf, Frederick Barton 1947, 1954-1955
Box 12		Wood, Paul Spencer 1947-1953, undated
Box 12		Woodrow Wilson Fellowship Program 1953-1955
Box 12		Works Projects Administration 1942
Box 12		Wright, George C. 1948, 1952, undated
Box 12		Wyld, Lionel 1965-1967, undated
Box 12		W, miscellaneous
Box 13		W, miscellaneous
		Yenawine, Wayne Stewart
			See Syracuse University.
Box 12		Y, miscellaneous
Box 12		Z, miscellaneous
Box 12		First name only
Box 12		Unidentified

	Memorabilia
Box 13		Aden and the Middle East 1962
Box 13		Application forms, U.S. Senate guest card
Box 13		Biographical material 1948-1960
Box 13		Biographies of others
Box 13		Brochures and catalogues 1948-1959
Box 13		Committees, Board of Graduate Studies 1947-1951
Box 13		Course descriptions and teaching schedules 1947-1961
Box 13		Expense accounts 1950-1961
Box 13		Miscellaneous printed material 1953-1961
Box 13		National Farmer's Union 1950
Box 13		News clippings 1967
Box 13		Photographs, S.G. Brown, A.E. Stevenson and others 1952-1963
Box 13		Programs, Dinner and Round Table 1953-1958
Box 13		Questions from the audience - holograph
		Adlai E. Stevenson
Box 13			Addresses and statements 1961 - reproduction, typescript
Box 14			Addresses and statements 1962 - reproduction, typescript
Box 14			News clippings 1959-1962

	Student records
Box 14		Amirthanayagam, Guy 1962-1963 - includes correspondence (1962 only)
			See also Correspondence: Amirthanayagam, Guy.
Box 14		Bain, Harry 1961
			See also Correspondence: Bain, Harry.
Box 14		Baker, Donald 1958 - correspondence
			See also Correspondence: Baker, Donald.
Box 14		Bartle, Harrison Frederick 1960
Box 14		Bodkin, Robert 1959 - correspondence
			See also Correspondence: Bodkin, Robert.
Box 14		Clarke, Robert
Box 14		Cohn, Morton 1959-1960
Box 14		Cooke, Robert 1961
			See also Correspondence: Cooke, Robert.
Box 14		Cord, Robert L. 1960-1961 - correspondence
			See also Correspondence: Cord, Robert.
Box 14		Farnen, Russell F., Jr. 1958-1960 - correspondence
			See also Correspondence: Farnen, Russell F., Jr.
Box 14		Gibson, Frank F. 1960
Box 14		Goodwin, Paul 1959 - correspondence
			See also Correspondence: Goodwin, Paul.
Box 14		Lorenz, Robert A. 1960
Box 14		Mushkat, Jerome
			See also Correspondence: Mushkat, Jerome.
Box 14		Pickett, Robert S. 1963 - correspondence
Box 14		Riley, William A. 1961 - correspondence
			See also Correspondence: Riley, William A.
Box 14		Roberts, Kenneth E., Jr. 1961
Box 14		Wise, Ralph Eugene
			See also Correspondence: Wise, Ralph Eugene.

	Writings
		Addresses
Box 14			American Civilization and the Overseas Americans, CIA Training Program Sep 21, 1960 - holograph
Box 14			The Citizen as Individual in American Society - typescript copy
Box 14			The Citizen in Modern Society - typescript copy
Box 14			Commencement Address at Lanai High School 1968 - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B, typescript rev.
Box 14			Current Aspects of American Culture May 22, 1948 - original typescript
Box 14			"Dissent in a Time of Tension" 1967 - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B typescript copy
Box 14			The Idea of a College Apr 22, 1948 - draft A, typescript copy; draft B, original typescript rev.,
Box 14			On the Limits of Democracy, University of Akron 1959-1960 - holograph
Box 14			Original Development of Democratic Political Philosophy, Air War College Sep 15 1958
Box 14			Saved From Loneliness, Saved For Fellowship, Chapel Nov 19 1947 - original typescript
Box 14			Some Observations on Stimulating Students to Greater Academic Achievement Sep 12, 1957 - typescript reproduction
Box 14			Upstate vs. Downstate in New York Politics - outline, original typescript
Box 14			The World and the Citizen - typescript reproduction
Box 14			The World and the Individual - draft A, typescript revised; draft B, original typescript
			Untitled
Box 14				Council on the Humanities, University of Hawaii 1965 - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B, typescript rev.; draft C, repro.
Box 14				Council on the Humanities, University of Hawaii Oct 21, 1965 - typescript reproduction
Box 14				League of Women Voters broadcast Dec 5, 1947; Nov 19, 1948; undated - original typescript (3 folders)
Box 14			Addresses for Robert F. Kennedy 1968 - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B, typescript reproduction
Box 14			Addresses for William Averell Harriman, holo. 1955 - original and carbon typescript, includes research material
		Articles
Box 14			"Civil Disobedience" - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B, typescript reproduction
Box 14			"Civil Rights and National Leadership: Eisenhower and Stevenson in the 1950's," reprint from Ethics, Jan. 1960
Box 14			"Considerations for an International Conference on the Ethics of Mutual Involvement" 1961 - typescript reproduction
Box 14			"Democracy, The New Conservatism and the Liberal Tradition in America," reprint from Ethics, Oct 1955 - also draft A, original typescript rev.; draft B, typescript copy
Box 14			"Did the Conservatives 'Regain' Control of 'their' Republican Party" 1964 - original typescript and related correspondence
Box 15			"Dr. Johnson, Poetry and Imagination," reprint from Neophilologus
Box 15			"Dr. Johnson and the Religious Problem," offprint from English Studies by R.W. Zandvoort
Box 15			"Eisenhower and Stevenson in the McCarthy Era: A Study in Leadership," reprint Ethics, Jul 1959
Box 15			"Emerson," University of Kansas City Review, Autumn 1948 - also typescript revised
Box 15			"Emerson 1803-1953," reprint from Ethics, Apr 1954
Box 15			"Emerson in 1950" - typescript copy
Box 15			"Emerson's Platonism," reprint from New England Quarterly, Sep 1945 - also typescript copy
Box 15			"Ford Foundation Guides for Group Leaders" 1953-1954 - holograph, original and typescript copy
Box 15			"From Provincialism to the Great Community: the Social Philosophy of Josiah Royce," Ethics, Oct 1948
Box 15			"From Sword to Schoolbook," The University of Kansas City Review, Summer 1944
Box 15			Articles and definitions for Grolier Society Encyclopedia - originals and typescript copy revised
Box 15			"Is a Kennedy draft Possible?" 1968 - typescript rev.
Box 15			"James Monroe" - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B, typescript reproduction rev.
Box 15			"James Monroe," American-Oxford Encyclopedia - typescript copy
Box 15			"James Monroe," Notes Catalog of Monroe's Book - photo print
Box 15			"John Jay Chapman and the Emersonian Gospel," New England Quarterly, Jun 1952 - also draft A, typescript copy; draft B, typescript copy
Box 15			"Legal and Political Philosophy" 1957 - typescript reproduction
Box 15			"The Mind of Thomas Jefferson," Ethics, Jan 1963
Box 15			"A Note on Poetry and Prophecy," Sewanee Review, Jan 1941
Box 15			"A Note on C. Ritter's Reading of Timaeus", reprint from Classical Philology, Apr 1941
Box 15			"Observations and Hume's Theory of Taste," offprint from English Studies by R.W. Zandvoort
Box 15			"Organization, Strategy and Tactics of American Communists" - outline, holo.; draft A, original typescript rev.; draft B typescript
Box 15			"Plural Values and the Neutral State: The American Doctrine of the Free Conscience," reprint, Syracuse Law Review, Fall 1953 - also typescript copy
Box 15			"Poetry and Tradition," Sewanee Review, Oct 1940
Box 15			"The Poetry of A.E. Housman"
Box 15			"Politics and Mr. Crosskey's Constitution I," reprint, Syracuse Law Review, Spring 1955 - also draft A, original typescript rev.; draft B, typescript copy
Box 15			"Politics and Mr. Crosskey's Constitution II," reprint, Syracuse Law Review, Fall 1955 - also draft A, original typescript rev.; draft B, typescript copy
Box 15			"Problems in Democratic Citizenship, with Michael O. Sawyer, reprint from Journal of Higher Education, Feb 1952
Box 15			"Some Poems of Louis MacNeice," Sewanee Review, Winter 1943
Box 15			"Success for a Lame Duck" 1968 - draft A, typescript rev,; draft B, repro.
Box 16			"Teaching the Documents of American Democracy," Social Education, May 1948
Box 16			"Thoughts on the Present State of Liberalism in America" - draft A, holo.; draft B, typescript revised; draft C, typescript
Box 16			"Toward an American Tradition; Paul Elmer More as Critic"
Box 16			"Two American Platonists: Santayana and P.E. More" - typescript
		Book reviews
Box 16			American Constitutional Custom: A Forgotten Factor in the Founding, by Burleigh Cushing Rodick - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B typescript copy
Box 16			Americans and Chinese: Two Ways of Life, by Francis L. K. Hay - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B typescript copy
Box 16			Democratic Foundations: Classic or Pragmatic, re: The Moral Foundation of Democracy, by John H. Hallowell and Civil Liberties and the Vinson Court, by C. Herman Pritchell - typescript copy
Box 16			Essay in Politics, by Scott Buchanan and The Conservative Mind: From Burke to Santayana, by Russell Kirk - typescript copy rev.
Box 16			Freedom Limited: An Essay on Democracy by Marten Ten Hoor ; The Individual and the New World, by John M. Anderson and The Liberal Tradition in America, by Louis Hartz - typescript copy
Box 16			The Genius of American Politics, by Daniel Boorstin - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B typescript copy
Box 16			The Heir Apparent: Robert Kennedy and the Struggle for Power, by William V. Shannon - typescript rev.
Box 16			The Papers of James Madison, Vol. III, ed. by W.T. Hutchinson and William M.E. Rachal - typescript copy
				See also Correspondence: The Historical Society of Pennsylvania.
Box 16			The Papers of James Madison, Vol. IV, ed. by W.T. Hutchinson and William M.E. Rachal - typescript copy
				See also Correspondence: The Historical Society of Pennsylvania.
Box 16			The Papers of James Madison, Vol V, ed. by W.T. Hutchinson and William M.E. Rachal - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B typescript copy
Box 16			The Politics of Honor: A Biography of Adlai E. Stevenson, by Kenneth Davis and Adlai Stevenson: A Study in Values, by Herbert J. Muller - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B typescript copy
Box 16			The Radical Papers, ed. by Irving Howe, repro. from Ethics, vol. 77 - also typescript rev.
Box 16			Roger Williams: His Contribution to the American Tradition - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B typescript copy
Box 16			Seedtime of the Republic: The Origin of the American Tradition of Political Liberty, by Clinton Rossiter - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B typescript copy
Box 16			The Spirit of 'Seventy-Six, ed. by Henry Steele Commager and Richard B. Morris - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B typescript copy
Box 16			The Uncommon Defense and Congress, 1945-1963, by Edward Kolodziej - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B typescript copy
Box 16			The United States and Canada, by Gerald M. Craig, repro. from Annals, vol. 378 - also typescript rev.
		Books
			Alexander Hamilton
Box 16				Draft A, typescript copy rev.
Box 16				Draft B, typescript rev.
Box 16			Aspects of American Democracy and Culture, with Ralph Henry Gabriel and Alpheus Thomas Mason
Box 17			The Bonnie Prince - Chapters I-VI, VIII, typescript rev.
			Conscience in Politics
				Research material
Box 17					Eisenhower Administration 1956
Box 17					Eleanor Roosevelt letters 1948-1956 - typescript reproduction
Box 17					Foreign policy 1956 - includes notes on Brown conversation with Morris Bernstein
Box 17					Formosa 1958 - includes typescript copy and typescript reproduction of. A.E. Stevenson speeches
Box 17					McCarthyism - includes typescript of Stevenson press conferences, typescript repro, of Stevenson's 1952-1953 speeches
Box 17					Middle East - Suez
Box 17					A.E. Stevenson, articles by 1958-1959
Box 17					1956 Stevenson primary campaign - includes typescript copy transcript of speech and interview (Stevenson)
Box 17					Stevenson for president, 1960? 1958-1960
Box 17					Stevenson for President Committee 1956
					Stevenson speeches
Box 17						Speeches New York Times 1952-1958
Box 18						Speeches 1957-1959 - typescript copy; typescript reproduction
Box 18						Speeches Sep 1960 - typescript reproduction
Box 18						Speeches Oct-Dec 1960 - typescript reproduction
Box 18					Chapter VII 1958 - includes typescript reproduction of radio symposium with A.E. Stevenson and typescript reproduction of Stevenson speeches
Box 18					Chapter VIII 1959 - includes typescript reproduction, Stevenson speech
Box 18					Chapter IX 1960 - includes typescript reproduction, Stevenson speeches, correspondence
Box 18				Draft A 1961 - typescript reproduction with penciled holograph annotations by Adlai E. Stevenson (2 folders)
Box 19				Draft B - typescript copy
Box 19				Draft C - typescript rev. (2 folders)
Box 19				Afterword - typescript rev.
Box 19			The Frame of Government, with H. Bragdon and S. McCutcheon - preface, holograph and typescript
			Internationalism and Democracy, ed. by S.G. Brown
Box 19				Typescript copy, incomplete 1949
Box 19				Bills and receipts 1950-1951
Box 19				Book reviews 1950
Box 19			James Monroe, proposal only - typescript copy
			Jefferson
Box 19				Draft A - typescript rev.
Box 19				Draft B - typescript copy rev.
			John Jay Chapman and Other Essays on Individualism in America
Box 20				Draft A - typescript and typescript copy
Box 20				Draft B - typescript rev.
Box 20				Draft C - typescript copy
			The Limits of Democratic Compromise
Box 20				Draft A - typescript rev.
Box 20				Draft B - typescript copy
Box 20			Major American Philosophies, ed. by S.G. Brown - incomplete, typescript and typescript copy
Box 20			Masters of American Literature, prospectus only - typescript copy
Box 20			On Being Civilized 1946 - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B typescript copy
Box 26			One Mind's Life: Recollections and Reminiscences [autobiography] undated - typescript
				Gift of Robert J. Wilson, 2020.
Box 20			re: Precinct workers, outline only 1952 - typescript copy
Box 20			The Religious Philosophy of Josiah Royce, ed. By S.G. Brown 1953 - introduction, draft A, holo; draft B, typescript rev.; draft C, typescript copy; book reviews
Box 20			The Social Philosophy of Josiah Royce, ed. By S.G. Brown - preface and chapter only, draft A, holo.; draft B, typescript copy; book review
Box 20			We Hold These Truths, table of contents only Jan 1949 - typescript copy; also book reviews
Box 20		Citation "William Averell Harriman"
		Course Materials
Box 20			Civics for Americans
Box 20			Compromise of 1850
Box 21			Political Science Outlines
Box 21		Course description, Social Science 300 - typescript copy
		Essays
Box 21			Lucretius and Modern Materialism - typescript copy
Box 21			A New Era for Publius: T.V. Smith and the Art of Politics - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B typescript copy
Box 21			On Being Free - draft A, typescript revs; draft B typescript copy
		Lectures
Box 21			Communism, Democracy and Education - draft A, holo.; draft B, typescript rev.; draft C typescript copy
Box 21			Democratic Manifesto I - typescript
Box 21			Democratic Manifesto II - draft A, holo.; draft B, typescript copy; draft C, typescript rev.; draft D typescript copy
			Memo to Americans - lectures given at University of Hawaii
Box 21				Memo for Americans No. 9 circa 1962 - envelope says "First Term Lecture Series (University of Hawaii)" (Flexi Disc) (ID#: brown_sg_001)
Box 21				Memo for Americans No. 10 circa 1962 - envelope says "First Term Lecture Series (University of Hawaii)" (Flexi Disc) (ID#: brown_sg_002)
Box 21				Memo for Americans No. 11 circa 1962 - envelope says "First Term Lecture Series (University of Hawaii)" (Flexi Disc) (ID#: brown_sg_003)
Box 21				Memo for Americans No. 12 circa 1962 - envelope says "First Term Lecture Series (University of Hawaii)" (Flexi Disc) (ID#: brown_sg_004)
Box 21				Memo for Americans No. 13 circa 1962 - envelope says "First Term Lecture Series (University of Hawaii)" (Flexi Disc) (ID#: brown_sg_005)
Box 21				Memo for Americans No. 14 circa 1962 - envelope says "First Term Lecture Series (University of Hawaii)" (Flexi Disc) (ID#: brown_sg_006)
Box 21			Lectures for Citizenship IA 1947-1948 - typescript
Box 21			The Role of Communication in Citizenship Oct 5 1948 - typescript
Box 21		Letters to the Editor 1952-1958 - holograph, typescript and typescript copy rev.
Box 21		Notes 1947-1963 - holograph, typescript
		Radio discussion
Box 21			Who Are Today's Conservatives?, University of Chicago Round Table, Feb 27, 1955
		Radio speeches for Adlai E. Stevenson
Box 21			Station WAGE, Nov 1952 - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B, typescript
Box 21			Station WOLF, Nov 1952 - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B, typescript
		Reports
Box 21			Conference on Constitutional Rights and Liberties Oct 11-12, 1960 - typescript reproduction
Box 21			The Kennedy Campaign's Final Week: The Need For Fresh Emphasis - typescript reproduction
Box 21			of Committee on Research - The Political Career of James Monroe, Year Book of the American Philosophical Society 1959
Box 21			of Special Joint Committee of Syracuse University, LeMoyne College and the Onondaga County American Legion, S.G. Brown with others - typescript reproduction
Box 21		Short pieces re: Adlai E. Stevenson - typescript and typescript copy
		for Adlai E. Stevenson
Box 21			Report on Democratic Record on Corruption & Integrity in Government 1952 - draft A, holo.; draft B, typescript copy; correspondence
			Speeches
Box 21				Drafts and suggestions 1956-1963 - typescript and typescript copy
Box 21				Research material - includes holograph notes and typescript suggestions
Box 21				I - Local and State Governments - draft A, holo.; draft B typescript copy
Box 21				II - On Integrity in Government - draft A, holo.; draft B, typescript rev.; draft C, typescript rev.; draft D typescript copy
Box 21				III - On Corruption 1952 - holograph notes; draft A, holo.; draft B, typescript; correspondence
Box 21				IV - On the Liberal Tradition 1952 - draft A, holo.; draft B, typescript rev.; draft C, typescript copy; correspondence
Box 22				V - Paragraphs on Economic Prosperity 1952 - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B, typescript copy; correspondence
Box 22				VI - Program to Promote Integrity in Government 1952 - draft A, holo.; draft B, typescript copy; correspondence
Box 22				Reply to Eisenhower Speech of Oct 20, 1952, Bridgeport, Conn. - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B, typescript copy
Box 22				Reply to Eisenhower Speech of Oct 21, 1952, Boston, Mass. - draft A, typescript rev.; draft B, typescript copy
Box 22				Reply to Eisenhower Speech of Oct 21, 1952, Boston, Mass. - typescript copy, notes, research material
Box 22				Untitled, New Haven, Conn. Oct 25 1952 - draft A, holo.; draft B, typescript copy
Box 22				Miscellaneous
		Writings of others
Box 22			Bailey, Stephen K. / "Harlan Cleveland, Assistant Secretary of State for International Organization Affairs," reprint, American Oxonian, Apr 1962
Box 22			Cope, Alfred H. / "Discussion questions in Democratic Citizenship," copyright registration only 1951, 1953
Box 22			Foerster, Norman / "Should the Humanities Be Made Human?" Humanities Review, Feb 1947
Box 22			Hsieh, S.C.: "Problems of Agricultural Development in Asia," outline of a speech before a conference of Peace Corps workers 1966 - typescript
Box 22			Johnson, Gerald W. / Untitled article on the 1960 campaign
Box 22			Keohane, Robert E. / "Historical Method and Primary Sources," reprint, 17th Yearbook of National Council for Social Studies, 1946
Box 22			"Use of Primary Sources in United States History for High School Pupils," School Review
Box 22			Kulski, W.W. / Foreword to unnamed book
Box 22			Levy, Leonard W. / "Jefferson and Civil Liberties: the Darker Side" - repro of typescript rev.
				See also Correspondence: Levy, Leonard W.
Box 22			Payne, Ina Chatterton / "My Greek History Class" - typescript
Box 22			Sands, Theodore / "The Unfinished Business of the '52 Campaign: Foreign Policy" - typescript copy
Box 22			Whicher, George F. / "Sons of Goliath," American Scholar

	Adlai E. Stevenson material
Box 22		Correspondence, Stuart Gerry Brown 1955-1964 (3 folders)
		Writings by S.G. Brown
Box 22			Speech for Sen. Mike Monroney Jun 1960 - typescript reproduction
Box 22			re Adlai E. Stevenson 1960 - typescript and typescript copy, repro.
Box 22		Calendar of Collection
Box 22		Interviews with A.E. Stevenson 1960-1961 - typescript and typescript copy, by S.G. Brown
Box 23		Interviews with Political Leaders, Washington, Pennsylvania, New York 1960-1961 - incl holo. typescript and typescript copy by S.G. Brown, correspondence
Box 23		Interviews with Political Leaders, Mid-West 1960-1961 - incl. typescript and typescript copy by S.G. Brown and Robert Lewis Piper
Box 23		Interviews with Political Leaders, California 1961 - holo. typescript and typescript copy by S.G. Brown
Box 23		Confidential reports by Time political writers - typescript reproduction
Box 23		Incoming letters to Stevenson supporting his U-2 Speech May 1960 - repro.
Box 23		Incoming letters to Stevenson opposed to his U-2 Speech - repro.
Box 23		Stevenson fan mail, "Run Again"
Box 23		Stevenson letters, offers of help - repro.
Box 23		New York Politics, repro. of correspondence 1959-1960
Box 23		Pennsylvania Politics, repro. of correspondence 1960
Box 24		California Politics, incl. repro. of correspondence 1960-1962
Box 24		Incoming letters to Stevenson regretting his failure to be nominated, repro. 1960
Box 24		Brown - Stevenson correspondence 1958-1960
Box 24		Russell D. Hemenway, New York Office
Box 24		Russell D. Hemenway, correspondence, A-K 1960 - repro.
Box 24		Russell D. Hemenway, correspondence, L-Z 1960 - repro.
Box 24		Stuart Gerry Brown Papers 1960 - incl. draft of speech for Sen. Mike Monroney, typescript rev.; Brown-Monroney conversation, holo.; Brown correspondence
Box 24		John J.B. Shea Papers 1959-1960 - correspondence, repro.
Box 24		John J.B. Shea Papers, Bean and Roper Surveys 1960 - correspondence, repro.
Box 24		Russell D. Hemenway - Washington office
Box 24		Mike Monroney Jr. Papers 1960 - correspondence, repro.
Box 25		John H. Sharon Papers Jan-Jun 1960 - incl. correspondence, repro.
Box 25		John H. Sharon Papers Jul-Nov 1960 - inc. correspondence, repro.
Box 25		James E. Doyle Papers 1959-1960 - typescript copies of memoranda and letters; Brown-Doyle interview, holo.
Box 25		New York draft Group - incl. typescript of interviews by Robert Lewis Piper
Box 25		Missouri draft Groups 1960-1961 - inc. typescript interviews by Robert Lewis Piper, correspondence
Box 25		Miscellaneous draft Groups 1960-1961 - incl. typescript copy interviews; Dictabelt interview; correspondence
Box 25		Los Angeles Convention - incl. typescript copy by Thomas L. Collins
Oversize 1		Scrapbooks of news clippings about Adlai E. Stevenson 3 volumes 1961-1962
Oversize 1		Printed copy of President John F. Kennedy's picture and of his Inaugural Address

Return to top