Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Burlingame family.
Title:	Burlingame Family Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1821-1967
Quantity:	34 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence, incoming and outgoing (1856-1967); legal and financial records; memorabilia, including address books, clippings, genealogical records, and photographs; and writings, mostly of Roger Burlingame, including manuscript and/or published articles, books, book reviews, diaries, poems, short stories, and speeches. Family members represented include Anson Burlingame (1820-1870), a politician and diplomat; Edward L. Burlingame (1848-1922), author and editor; William Roger Burlingame (1889-1967), author, biographer, and novelist; and his wife, Angeline Whiton (d. 1967), a literary agent, known professionally as Ann Watkins. Notable correspondents include authors, poets, artists, etc.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Three generations of the Burlingame family are represented in the papers of this collection. The three major historical figures in the family are discussed below in accordance with the amount of material present on each individual.

Anson Burlingame (1820-1870) was the son of Joel and his wife Freelove (Angell) Burlingame. He attended the University of Michigan and Harvard Law School. After marriage to Jane Cornelia Livermore, the daughter of Isaac Livermore, Burlingame began a promising political career in the Massachusetts Senate. In 1855 he was elected as a Republican to Congress where he served three terms. After the presidential campaign of 1860 he became minister to Peking in which capacity he concluded the Burlingame Treaty. He and his wife, Jane Cornelia Livermore, had three children: Edward Livermore (b. 1848), Walter Angell (b. 1852), and Gertrude (1853-?). Burlingame died while on a diplomatic mission to St. Petersburg, Russia in 1870.

Edward Livermore Burlingame (1848-1922), also known as E.L. Burlingame, was Jane and Anson's eldest son. As a young man he grew up in the Cambridge, Massachusetts area, and in 1861 entered Harvard. When his father was appointed minister to China, young Edward followed him to Peking, and later Paris, Berlin, Heidelberg, and St. Petersburg. In 1871 he began a career with the New York Tribune, and married Ella Frances Badger in the same year. He and his wife had four children: Jane (b. 1872), Frederick Anson (b, 1873), Constance (b. 1877), and William Roger (b. 1889). Burlingame became a literary advisor to Charles Scribner's Sons, and in 1886 was appointed editor of the new Scribner's Magazine, a post he held until his resignation in 1914.

William Roger Burlingame (1889-1967), known as Rog or Roger, was the second son of Edward and Ella Burlingame. As a boy Roger attended Morristown School and went on to Harvard University, graduating from the latter in 1913. After serving with the American Expeditionary Force in France during World War I, he returned to America and assumed various posts with Charles Scribner's Sons. In 1926 he began a career as a free-lance writer augmented by teaching stints at Barnard and M.I.T. During the course of his long career, Burlingame wrote articles, essays, books, and short stories. He is particularly known for non-fiction works on the historical impact of industry and technology on American society, though he did publish several novels during the early part of his career. His autobiography, published in 1958, is entitled I Have Known Many Words. In 1933 Roger married Angeline Whiton, known professionally as Ann Watkins, literary agent and president of Ann Watkins Inc. Mr. and Mrs. Burlingame died within a few days of each other in 1967.

A genealogical chart of the Burlingame family is available at the end of this inventory.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Burlingame Family Papers consists of the private and public papers of several generations of the prominent American family. The major contributor to the collection is writer and historian Roger Burlingame. There are also small amounts of material relating to Anson, Walter A., Edward Livermore, and Ann Burlingame. The papers are organized in five major groups: Correspondence, Legal and Financial Records, Memorabilia, Organization Records, and Writings.

Correspondence is separated into incoming, family, and outgoing letters. Among the items of special interest are the letters written by Walter A. Burlingame describing his experiences in China while accompanying his father, ambassador Anson Burlingame, in 1866 and 1867. Also present are letters from well known authors including F. Scott Fitzgerald, John Marquand, Edith Wharton, Roald Dahl, Ayn Rand, Tasha Tudor, Rudyard Kipling, Archibald MacLeish, Kaye Boyle, Sidney Howard, and others.

Legal and Financial Records contains documents pertinent to the-business affairs of several family members. There are wills, insurance policies, passports, royalty statements, and a variety of materials of a similar nature.

Memorabilia, dating from 1865 to 1967, contains items of incidental interest about the private lives of the Burlingame and related families. Included in this group are address books, newspaper clippings, ephemera, genealogical records, biographical material, and photographs.

Organization records consist of materials related to Roger Burlingame's association with various organizations. Among these are the Century Club, the Housatonic Valley Conference, Office of War Information, and the United States Army. Many of these organizations are also represented in Correspondence, above.

Writings date from 1856 to 1967, and include the written works of Roger, Ann, Walter, and Anson Burlingame. The bulk of this material was prepared by Roger Burlingame and includes articles, books, book reviews, diaries, poetry, short stories, and speeches. Included in this group are drafts of published and unpublished works as well as materials used in preparing the drafts. There is a miscellany of literary works and drawings done by others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming letters are arranged alphabetically by the last name of the sender or by the name of the institution the sender represents; a small amount of incoming correspondence to Walter Burlingame is foldered separately at the end of this section. Family correspondence is arranged roughly chronologically. Outgoing correspondence is arranged chronologically by year and month; a small anount of unsorted outgoing correspondence has been placed at the beginning of this section. Memorabilia is organized alphabetically by type of material. Manuscript materials are organized alphabetically by the name of the organization, and subdivided by the type of document. Writings are arranged alphabetically by author, and then by type of written work.

Note that due to rearrangement of the files there is NO BOX 14.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Several items have been removed from the collection and sent to Rare Books.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Burlingame Family Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MLB
Date: Dec 1972
Revision history: 15 Sep 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 31 Jan 2012 - oversize boxes added to inventory; 1977 accession integrated (MBD); 26 Oct 2012 - extent revised (MBD); 28 Jan 2019 - numerous errors, omissions, and issues in Correspondence section corrected (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
		Incoming
Box 1			Abb - Aut 1888-1967 (3 folders)
Box 1			Agar, Herbert 1959
Box 1			Angell, James B. 1888
Box 1			Angell, Malcolm H. 1888-1901
Box 1			The Atlantic Monthly 1933-1959
Box 1			Bab - Byr 1904-1966 (3 folders)
Box 1			Baber, E. Colborne 1867
Box 1			Bacon, Leonard 1947-1953
Box 1			Bacon, Martha
Box 1			Barrie, J.M. 1895-1933
Box 1			Bishop, Joseph Bucklin 1922, 1927
Box 1			Black, John 1935
Box 1			Bliven, Bruce 1961
Box 1			Bok, Edward W. 1922
Box 1			Bouché, Louis and Marian 1953, 1961, 1965, undated
Box 1			Boyle, Kay 1935-1966 (3 folders)
Box 1			Brown, John 1959
Box 1			Brush, Katherine 1935
Box 1			Burt, Maxwell Struthers 1926-1949
Box 1			Cai - Chas 1897-1966 (2 folders)
Box 2			Che-Cu 1897-1966 (3 folders)
Box 2			Canby, Henry S. 1948-1950
Box 2			Cane, Melville 1945
Box 2			Carmer, Carl 1951-1965
Box 2			Clapp, Fred M. 1965
Box 2			The Century Association 1938-1967 (2 folders)
Box 2			City Bank Farmers Trust Co. 1939-1946
Box 2			Coleman, Roy V.
Box 2			Copeland, Charles T. 1935
Box 2			Cousins, Norman 1964
Box 2			Coward-McCann Inc. 1963-1967
Box 2			Cowley, Malcolm
Box 2			Crothers, Rachel
Box 2			Dal - Dyk 1922-1966 (4 folders)
Box 2			Dahl, Roald
Box 2			Dana, Richard H. 1959
Box 2			Davis, Elmer 1940-1953
Box 2			Dos Passos, John 1963
Box 2			Doubleday & Co. 1934-1961
Box 2			Dulles, Allen W. 1965
Box 2			Ear - Ewi 1922-1966
Box 2			Eaton, Evelyn 1941
Box 2			Edmunds, Walter D. 1936
Box 2			Eisenhower, Milton S. 1960-1961
Box 3			Fal - Fus 1868-1965 (3 folders)
Box 3			Ficke, Arthur Davidson 1936
Box 3			Field, Leslie A. 1955
Box 3			Fisher, Dorothy Canfield 1949
Box 3			Fitzgerald, F. Scott 1924-1935
Box 3			The Forum 1926-1938
Box 3			Gab - Gut 1885-1966 (3 folders)
Box 3			Galbraith, John Kenneth [MISSING 1/25/19] 1966
Box 3			Goodman, Nathan G. 1938-1949
Box 3			Hal - Hus 1892-1966 (3 folders)
Box 3			Harcourt, Alfred 1936-1958
Box 3			Harcourt, Brace & Co. 1938-1946 (3 folders)
Box 3			Harper & Brothers 1927, 1962
Box 3			Harvard 1910-1960 - includes letter from Dean regarding William Burlingame's grades
Box 3			Histon, Timothy G. 1919-1922
Box 3			Houghton Mifflin Co. 1943
Box 3			Howard, Clare 1925
Box 3			Howard, Polly 1940-1941
Box 3			Howard, Sidney 1924-1936
Box 3			Imp - Joy 1929-1966
Box 3			The Independent 1913
Box 3			James, Henry 1892
Box 3			James, William (painter) [MISSING 1/25/19] 1891
Box 4			Jones, Bassett 1954-1956
Box 4			Jones, Bassett 1956-1959
Box 4			Kai - Kuh 1866-1966 (4 folders)
Box 4			Kieffer, Paul 1951-1967
Box 4			Kipling, Rudyard 1897
Box 4			[Alfred A.] Knopf Inc. 1946-1964 (3 folders)
Box 4			Lab - Lyo 1886-1966 (4 folders)
Box 4			Leavitt, Robert Keith 1960-1962
Box 4			Library of Congress 1937-1963
Box 4			Linderman, Frank Bird 1934
Box 5			[J.B.] Lippincott Co. 1959-1964 (2 folders)
Box 5			Littauer, Kenneth (Littauer & Wilkinson) 1946-1964
Box 5			Littell, Robert
Box 5			Lodge, Henry Cabot 1917
Box 5			Low, Will Hicock 1922
Box 5			Maa - Mye 1868-1967 (4 folders)
Box 5			MacLeish, Archibald 1952-1964
Box 5			The MacMillan Co. 1932-1967
Box 5			Mannhardt, [Emil?] 1883-1889
Box 5			Manship, Paul 1945, 1966
Box 5			Marquand, John and Mrs. 1924-1967
Box 5			Martin, Edward S. 1932
Box 5			McCormick, Jay 1958-1959
Box 5			McGraw-Hill Publishing Co., Inc. 1952-1967
Box 5			Murrow, Edward R. 1959
Box 5			Nad - Nye 1933-1964 (2 folders)
Box 5			Nevins, Allan 1940-1962
Box 5			The New American Library of World Literature, Inc. 1952-1967
Box 5			Oak - Oye 1924-1967
Box 5			Osborne, Lithgow 1954-1967
Box 6			Pag - Pyn 1870-1967 (3 folders)
Box 6			Perkins, Maxwell 1928
Box 6			Phelps, William Lyon 1924
Box 6			Pringle, Henry F. 1948-1950
Box 6			Rad - Rut 1911-1967 (2 folders)
Box 6			Rand, Ayn 1937
Box 6			Reid, Whitelaw 1872, 1962 - may be father and son
Box 6			Rhodes, James F. 1922
Box 6			Roos, Barney, Frances and Delmar 1938-1961
Box 6			Roosevelt, Eleanor 1961 - reproduction; letter from ER to a Miss Helland, about Roger Burlingame's book Don't Let Them Scare You
Box 6			Roper, Elmo 1952-1964
Box 7			Sab - Syr 1916-1966 (8 folders)
Box 7			[Charles] Scribner's Sons 1929-1967
Box 7			Seager, Allan 1950-1964
Box 7			Shepardson, Whitney H. 1952-1966
Box 7			Sherwood, Robert E.
Box 7			Shirer, William L. 1959
Box 7			Sons of the Revolution 1897, 1923-1924
Box 7			Spillane, Mickey
Box 7			Stone, Grace 1965
Box 7			Streeter, Edward 1930-1962
Box 7			Taf - Two 1910-1966 (2 folders)
Box 7			Taylor, Bayard 1877
Box 7			Thompson, Francis 1917
Box 7			Thurber, James 1960
Box 7			Tudor, Tasha and Rosamond [her mother] 1935-1938
Box 7			Und - Ust 1919-1962
Box 7			United States Information Agency 1956-1957
Box 7			United States Patent Office 1910
Box 7			Vai - Vol 1924-1966
Box 7			Van Doren, Mark 1944
Box 7			The Viking Press, Inc. 1961-1964
Box 7			Wal - Wyn 1869-1965 (3 folders)
Box 7			Watkins, Ann [later Ann Burlngame] 1914-1923
				See also Correspondence : Family : Roger and Ann.
Box 7			Wharton, Edith 1914, 1922
Box 7			White, E.B. 1960
Box 7			Whitney, Hetty 1960-1966
Box 7			Whiton, Louis 1944-1965
Box 8			Wilder, Thornton 1961
Box 8			Winchester Repeating Arms Company 1936-1944 - mostly Edwin Pugsley
Box 8			Yal - Zer 1937-1965
Box 8			Incoming to Walter Burlingame [330-348] 1868-1895 (2 folders)
Box 8			Unidentified 1909-1965 - first name only, no name, illegible name (3 folders)
		Family
			Family correspondence is arranged chronologically, with names where applicable. Family members represented include Anson Burlingame, Edward Livermore Burlingame, William Roger Burlingame and his sisters, and various aunts, uncles, cousins, etc. Some of the letters are numbered, due to having once been cataloged.
Box 8			Family [320, #1-19, plus a few unnumbered items] 1852-1866 - mostly Walter Burlingame to mother
Box 8			Family [320, #20-34] 1866-1867 - mostly Walter Burlingame to mother
Box 8			Family [#329, #1-22] 1866-1873 - from Gertrude (Gertie)
Box 8			Family [320, #35-59] 1868 - mostly Walter Burlingame to mother or "Grandpa" (2 folders)
Box 10B			Family 1868 - from Walter Burlingame to "Grandpa," appear to relate to trip to Middle East
Box 8			Family [328, #1-19] 1868 Mar-1869 Jun - from Edward Livermore Burlingame
Box 8			Family [320, #60-80] 1869 - mostly Walter Burlingame to mother (2 folders)
Box 9A			Family [320, #81-101] 1870 (2 folders)
Box 9A			Family [321, #102-107; 322, #108-128; 323, #129-135] 1871 (3 folders)
Box 9A			Family [324, #136-155] 1872
Box 9A			Family [325, #156-178] 1873 (2 folders)
Box 9A			Family [326, #179-192] 1874 (2 folders)
Box 9A			Family [327, #193-204] 1875 (2 folders)
Box 9A			Family 1883-1915
Box 9A			Roger Burlingame and sisters 1916-1919
Box 9A			Roger and E. L. Burlingame 1916-1921
Box 9B			Family 1916 Jun-Dec - mostly Roger Burlingame to mother Ella (2 folders)
Box 9B			Family 1917 - Roger Burlingame to mother Ella (3 folders)
Box 9B			Family 1917 - Roger Burlingame from mother Ella
Box 9B			Family 1918 - Roger Burlingame to mother Ella (2 folders)
Box 9B			Family 1918 - Roger Burlingame from mother Ella
Box 10			Family 1919 - Roger Burlingame to mother Ella
Box 10			Family 1919-1927 - Roger Burlingame from mother Ella
Box 10			Roger and Ann Watkins (his wife) 1919-1951
				See also Correspondence : Incoming : Watkins, Ann.
Box 10A			Roger and Ann Watkins (his wife) undated
Box 10A			Miscellaneous family, undated - senders include Roger, Walter, Bert, Roderick S., Anson, Hetty, Ludie, "Uncle George" and "Cousin Laura"
Box 10A			Miscellaneous postcards 1909-1965 - most from Europe
		Outgoing
Box 10A			Miscellaneous, unsorted - some dated, some undated (2 folders)
Box 11			[General] 1934 Mar-1937 Dec
Box 11			[General] 1938 (3 folders)
Box 11			[General] 1939
Box 11			[General] 1940
Box 11			[General] 1941 (3 folders)
Box 11			[General] 1942 Feb-1944 Dec
Box 11			[General] 1945
Box 11			[General] 1946 (2 folders)
Box 11			[General] 1947 Jan-1948 Oct (2 folders)
Box 11			[General] 1949 (2 folders)
Box 11			[General] 1950-1951 (2 folders)
Box 12			[General] 1952 Jan-1957 Dec (6 folders)
Box 12			[General] 1958 Jan-Nov (2 folders)
Box 12			[General] 1959 (6 folders)
Box 12			[General] 1960 (4 folders)
Box 13			[General] 1961 (2 folders)
Box 13			[General] 1962 Jan-1967 Mar (6 folders)

	Legal and financial
Box 13		Miscellaneous 1885-1919
Box 13		Accounts 1877-1949
Box 13		Birth, confirmation, and marriage certificates 1889-1933
Box 13		Bonds 1939
Box 13		Cemetery deeds 1888-1944
Box 13		Contracts and agreements 1910-1961 (4 folders)
Box 13		Copyrights 1930-1956
Box 13		Deeds 1945
		Estates and wills
Box 15			Burlingame, Ella F. 1927
Box 15			Burlingame, Roger and Ann 1964
Box 15			Flanders, Delia 1913
Box 15		Interest statements 1939-1944
		Insurance policies
Box 15			Burlingame, Edward Livermore 1876-1886
Box 15			Burlingame, Roger and Ann 1885-1941
		Leases
Box 15			Burlingame, Ann 1945-1948
Box 15			Burlingame, Edward Livermore 1871-1889
Box 15		Mortgages 1937-1952 (2 folders)
Box 15		Passports 1870-1937
Box 15		Power of attorney 1938
Box 15		Royalties 1924-1953 (2 folders)
Box 16		Royalties 1954-1967 (6 folders)
Box 16		Social Security Information 1951-1961
Box 16		Stock certificates 1939

	Memorabilia
Box 16		Account and note books circa 1918, undated (2 folders)
Box 17		Address and appointment books 1925-1965, undated (5 folders)
Box 18		Autograph books 1929-1933
		Biographical material
Box 18			Burlingame, Anson undated
Box 18			Burlingame, Edward Livermore circa 1905
Box 18			Burlingame, Frederic A. circa 1937
Box 18			Burlingame, Roger undated
Box 18		Book publicity - for intermediate readers by Roger Burlingame; typescript carbon
		Childhood projects
Box 18			"Cazenovia Model Yacht Co." 1904 - handwritten and illustrated catalogs, with prices
Box 18			"Hienya Cyerra Tenaller" circa 1903 - very short play about pirates
Box 18			"Long Mass Magazine" circa 1899-1903 - handwritten; poetry, illustrations, etc. (2 folders)
Box 18			"The Story of a Horse" circa 1895 - handwritten and illustrated story, dedicate to sister Constance
Box 18			Miscellaneous 1897-1903
Box 18		Clippings 1821-1956, undated (3 folders)
Box 18		Ephemera 1856-1918
Box 18		Garden record books 1936
		Genealogical records
Box 18			Burlingame family 1946-1947 (2 folders)
Box 18			Kingsley family 1837-1902
Box 18			Whiton family 1908-1962
Box 19		Guggenheim Fellowship application 1940
Box 19		Lists undated
Box 19		Medical records 1909-1961
Box 19		Memory books circa 1905
Box 19		Party lists and invitations undated
		Photographs
Box 19			Badger family circa 1880-1890
Box 19			Burlingame, Ann 1885-1904 (2 folders)
Box 20			Burlingame, Ann 1908-1965 (2 folders)
Box 20			Burlingame, Anson circa 1865
Box 20			Burlingame, Edward Livermore circa 1850-1920
Box 20			Burlingame, Ella circa 1870-1874
Box 20			Burlingame family and friends 1850-1940 (3 folders)
Box 21			Burlingame, Roger 1895-1967 (4 folders)
Box 22			Burlingame, Roger House 1950-1965
Box 22			Clemens, Samuel L. (autographed) 1870-1909
Box 22			Howard, Sidney 1935
Box 22			Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth (autographed) undated
Box 22			Hopin family 1955
Box 22			Watkins, Armatige circa 1960
Box 22			Mrs. Whiton circa 1905
Box 22		Recipes undated
		School records
Box 22			Miscellaneous undated (2 folders)
Box 22			Barnard College 1949
			Harvard University
Box 22				Miscellaneous 1910-1939
Box 22				Exams 1911-1912
Box 22				Harvard Lampoon material 1916
Oversize 1				Harvard Class Album 1913
Box 22			Italian composition notebook 1919
Box 22			M.I.T. Sloan Fellowship 1945
			Morristown School
Box 22				Reflections on life at Morristown School 1908
Box 22				Morristonian 1907-1909
			Sorbonne
Box 22				Miscellaneous 1918
Box 22				French composition notebooks 1919
Box 23				French composition notebooks 1919
Box 23			University of Vermont 1949
Box 23		Scrapbooks 1883-1939
Oversize 1-5		Scrapbooks 1894-1964
Box 23		Songs undated

	Organization records
Box 24		American Society of Epicures undated
Box 24		Army-Air Force undated
Box 24		America First Committee 1941
Box 24		American Garlic Society 1948-1962
			See also Correspondence : Incoming : Abb - Ame.
		American Legion/Veterans Administration
Box 24			Miscellaneous undated
Box 24			Digest of Minutes 1932
Box 24			National Legislative Committee 1932-1933
Box 24			Press Releases 1932-1933
		Century Club
Box 24			Miscellaneous 1933-1955
Box 24			Admissions Material 1923-1954
Box 24			List of Members undated
Box 24			Memorial Correspondence 1952-1967 (2 folders)
Box 25			Obituaries, A-S undated (11 folders)
Box 26			Obituaries, T-Z undated (2 folders)
Box 26			Programs undated
Box 26			Speeches and Addresses 1953-1962
Box 26		Committee Against Privileged Classes undated
Box 26		Fight for Freedom, Inc. undated
Box 26		Harris Institute 1948
Box 26		Housatonic Valley Conference 1941-1945
Box 26		National Industrial Conference Board, Inc. 1939
Box 26		National Sculpture Society 1951
Box 26		New School for Social Research 1939-1942
Box 26		New York School for Interior Design 1962-1964
Box 26		Office of War Information undated - miscellaneous
Box 26		Office of War Information undated - clippings
Box 26		Overseas Press Club 1945-1961
Box 26		Saugatuck Valley Association 1937-1951 (2 folders)
		Sons of the Revolution
			See Correspondence : Incoming : Sons of the Revolution.
Box 27		Society for the History of Technology 1960-1966
		Society of American Historians
Box 27			Miscellaneous 1945-1961
Box 27			Milestones Magazine 1949-1951, undated (2 folders)
		U.S. Army
Box 27			Miscellaneous 1912-1944
Box 27			Certificates 1918-1922
Box 27			Itineraries 1942
Box 27			Lists 1919-1946
Box 27			Photographs 1914-1918 (3 folders)
Box 28			Photographs 1918, 1940-1945 (2 folders)
Box 28		Special orders and memoranda 1917-1945

	Writings
		Miscellaneous
Box 28			Miscellaneous circa 1940-1951
		Burlingame, Ann Whinton (Ann Watkins)
Box 28			Article, "Literature for Sale" 1941
Box 28			Common Place Book 1891-1897
Box 28			Speech, "Bowker Memorial Lecture" 1941
		Burlingame, Anson
Box 28			Speech, Defense of Massachusetts 1856
		Burlingame, Roger
			Articles
Box 28				"After The Crash" undated
Box 28				"The Age of Paper" 1950 - drafts; notes and research material
Box 28				"All Out and After" undated
Box 28				"American Christmas" undated - draft
Box 28				"The American Way" undated
Box 28				"America's First Evangelist of Science" 1947 - Popular Science printed material
Box 28				"The Analyst's Couch and the Creative Mind" 1959 - draft; Harper's Magazine printed material
Box 28				"Around the Corner" undated
Box 28				"Art For Artists' Sake" undated
Box 28				"Bottlenecks of Invention" 1951 - draft; Nation's Business printed material
Box 28				"The Best Tourist" undated
Box 28				"Caesar's Ghost" undated
Box 28				"The Century Club 1847-1947" 1947
Box 28				"Change and Decay on Capitol Hill" undated
Box 28				"Chemurgy, A Strong New Weapon" 1941 - Popular Science printed material
Box 28				"The Cinzano Italy" undated
Box 28				"The College Nobody Knows" undated
Box 29				"Cooper Union, The Poor Man's College" 1950, 1959 - draft; photographs; The American Mercury printed material
Box 29				"Damn the Bonus" 1935 - Today printed material
Box 29				"Defense Material From the Farms" 1941
Box 29				"Do Not Feed or Annoy the Authors" undated
Box 29				"Don't Be Your Own Architect" 1939 - printed material
Box 29				"Duchess" undated
Box 29				"The Educational Exercise" undated
Box 29				"Eli Whitney's Second Invention" 1938 - Scribner's printed material
Box 29				"Embattled Veterans" 1933 - notes, research material, Atlantic Monthly printed material
Box 29				"The End of the Summer" undated
Box 29				"The English Machine" undated
Box 29				"Escape" undated
Box 29				"Evolution of Editors" 1949 - New York Times Book Review printed material
Box 29				"Experience of Becoming" undated
Box 29				on Firearms undated
Box 29				"The First American" undated
Box 29				"FM Radio Joins the Army" 1942 - Popular Science printed material
Box 29				"Forgetting" undated
Box 29				"Franklin and the American Culture" undated
Box 29				"Fred Taylor's Revolution" undated - draft; notes and outlines
Box 29				"Freedom" undated
Box 29				"Freedom and the Lone Wolf" undated
Box 29				"From Barnstorming to Bombers" 1941 - miscellaneous; notes, fragments; Popular Science printed material
Box 29				"Gipsy, Come Away" undated
Box 29				"Good Times for Authors" undated
Box 29				"Gothenburg, Sweden" undated
Box 29				"The 'Great' Frenchman" undated - Scribner's printed material
Box 29				"The Hardware of Culture" 1959 - drafts; printed material
Box 29				"The Harvard World of Roger Burlingame" 1960 - Harvard Alumni Bulletin printed material
Box 30				"Heroes of the Telegraph" undated
Box 30				"His Customers Were Right" 1951 - Nation's Business printed material
Box 30				"If You Weren't Educated" 1959 - Think printed material
Box 30				"I Have Known Many Worlds" 1959 - Saturday Review printed material
Box 30				"The Impossible Next War" 1936
Box 30				"Industrial Revolution" undated
Box 30				"The Industrial Strikes" undated
Box 30				"Intuition" undated
Box 30				"In the Valley of Virginia" 1951 - Atlantic Monthly printed material
Box 30				"Is Abstract Art a Private Joke?" undated
Box 30				"I Wanted Wings" 1944, 1945 - draft; notes and research material
Box 30				"John Marquand" 1937-1961, undated - draft; notes and research material
Box 30				"John Wanamaker" undated
Box 30				"Keep Watching Those Lumps" undated
Box 30				"The Last Move" undated
Box 30				"Law Breaking - British School" undated
Box 30				"Letter to a Friend in re. the Communist Menace" undated
Box 30				"Let Us Act Our Age" 1940 - printed material
Box 30				"Little Italy in Boston" circa 1912
Box 30				"Locarno, 1925" 1925 - The Independent printed material
Box 30				"Locomotives, Railways and Steamships" 1967 - printed material
Box 30				"Lost Records" undated
Box 30				"Love Lyric" 1927 - Life printed material
Box 30				"Man Versus Gadget" undated
Box 30				"Men, Tools, and Machines" 1941 - Survey Graphic printed material
Box 30				"Motives" undated
Box 30				"Mountains of Paper" 1950 - Harper's printed material
Box 31				"Not at His Desk" undated
Box 31				"The Oldest Challenge" undated
Box 31				"The Olive Branch Petition" 1959
Box 31				"On to the Treasury" undated
Box 31				" 'Peace, Hold Your Peace' " undated
Box 31				"The People Have a Plan" circa 1941 - draft; notes and research material; McCall's printed material
Box 31				"The People, Yes" undated
Box 31				"Popular Science Pioneer" undated
Box 31				"Power Anonymous" 1950 - Reporter printed material
Box 31				"Profit By My Experience" undated
Box 31				"The Public Be Damned" undated
Box 31				"Pulling Hats Out of Rabbits" 1941 - Popular Science printed material
Box 31				"Rainbow Over the Farm" 1937, 1939 - draft; Harper's printed material
Box 31				"The Rifle that Won the Revolution" 1938 - The Marine Corps Gazette printed material; Scribner's printed material
Box 31				"Roosevelt is Dead" undated
Box 31				"Rugged is Right" undated
Box 32				"Save the Saugatuck" undated
Box 32				"Scribner Family" undated
Box 32				"Sellers' Market in the Sticks" undated
Box 32				"The Sixties: Coming Up in Technology" 1960 - draft; Saturday Review printed material
Box 32				"Socialized Medicine" undated
Box 32				"The Sport of Writing" 1936 - draft; Harper's printed material
Box 32				"Stories By Rudyard Kipling" undated - book foreword
Box 32				"Sunrise to Sunset" 1950 - printed material Saturday Review of Literature
Box 32				"Technology in the Sixties" circa 1960
Box 32				"Telepathy? or Just Plain Luck?" 1961
Box 32				"These Truths" undated
Box 32				"They Got Together" undated
Box 32				"They Who Edit Books" undated
Box 32				"They Wore the Uniform" undated
Box 32				"Through Change and Through Storm" undated
Box 32				"Tired Radicals" undated
Box 32				"The Train at Ligny" undated
Box 32				"The 1960's: Trial and Error Decade" circa 1960
Box 32				"Twenty-Five Hours a Day" undated
Box 32				"The Two-Way Street" 1959
Box 32				"The Unemployed" undated
Box 32				"War Makes Thieves:' Peace Hangs Them" 1957 - draft; American Heritage printed material
Box 32				on: War vs. Isolationism circa 1939
Box 32				"What is Art" undated
Box 32				"Whittling Boy: The Story of Eli Whitney" 1941 - The Commonweal printed material
Box 32				"Wings" undated
Box 32				"The Women of Our City" 1913
			Books
				Album of American Industry
Box 32					Outline undated
				The American Conscience
Box 32					Blurb circa 1957
Box 33					Drafts A-B circa 1957 (4 folders)
Box 33					Fragments circa 1957
Box 33					Introduction circa 1957
Box 33					Note cards circa 1957
Box 33					Notes circa 1957
Box 34					Notes circa 1957
Box 34					Outlines circa 1957 (2 folders )
				The American Invention Myth
Box 34					Outlines undated
				American Pioneers in Science
Box 34					Notes and research material undated
Box 34					Outlines undated
Box 34					"Profiles" - Maj. Armstrong undated
				Backgrounds of Power
Box 34					Draft fragments circa 1949
Box 34					Notes and research material circa 1949 (2 folders)
Box 34					Outlines
Box 34					Reviews circa 1949 (2 folders )
				Benjamin Franklin: Envoy Extraordinary
Box 34					Draft A circa 1955 (2 folders )
Box 35					Drafts B-F circa 1955 (6 folders)
Box 36					Galley proofs circa 1955 (3 folders)
Box 36					Notes and research material circa 1955 (3 folders)
Box 36					Outlines circa 1955 (4 folders)
				Cartwheels
Box 36					Reviews circa 1935
				The Consent of the Governed
Box 36					Draft fragments undated
Box 36					Notes and research material undated
Box 36					Outlines undated
				Dictator Clock: 5000 Years of Telling Time
Box 37					Draft fragments circa 1966
Box 37					Drafts A-C circa 1966 (3 folders)
Box 37					Notes and research material circa 1966 (3 folders)
Box 37					Outlines circa 1966 (3 folders)
Box 37					Unbound printed copy circa 1966
				Don't Let Them Scare You
Box 37					Draft fragments circa 1961
Box 37					Notes and research material circa 1961
Box 38					Notes and research material circa 1961 (4 folders)
Box 38					Reviews circa 1961
				The Easy Chair
Box 38					Outlines undated
				Engines of Democracy
Box 38					Notes and research material circa 1940 (2 folders)
Box 38					Reviews circa 1940
				General Billy Mitchell
Box 38					Notes and research material circa 1956
Box 39					Notes and research material circa 1956
Box 39					Outlines circa 1956
				Glass Industry
Box 39					Notes and research material undated (2 folders )
				Henry Ford
Box 39					Galley proofs circa 1955
Box 39					Notes and research material circa 1955
Box 39					Outlines circa 1955
Box 39					Reviews circa 1955
				History of Invention
Box 39					Miscellaneous undated
				The History of Technology
Box 39					Miscellaneous 1966
Box 39					Draft fragments 1966
				I Am a City Slicker
Box 39					Drafts A-B undated (3 folders)
Box 39					Notes and research material undated
Box 40					Outlines undated (2 folders)
				I Have Known Many Worlds
Box 40					Draft A circa 1959 (2 folders)
Box 40					Galley proofs 1959
Box 40					Reviews 1959
				I Have Known Two Minds
Box 40					Draft fragments undated
Box 40					Drafts A-B undated (4 folders)
Box 41					Drafts B-E undated undated (6 folders)
				Machines That Built America
Box 41					Notes and research material circa 1953
				The Making of Many Books
Box 41					Miscellaneous 1946 (2 folders)
				March of the Iron Men
Box 41					Notes and research material circa 1938
Box 41					Reviews 1938-1941 (2 folders)
Box 42				Mosquitos in the Big Ditch undated
				Out of Silence into Sound: The Life of Alexander Graham Bell
Box 42					Drafts A-D circa 1964 (4 folders)
Box 42					Notes and research material circa 1964 (2 folders)
				Patent Medicine
Box 42					Notes and research material 1951
				Peace Veterans
Box 42					Notes and research material 1932
				Scientists Behind the Inventions
Box 42					Memos 1957-1960
Box 42					Notes and research material 1958
Box 42					Outlines undated
				The Sixth Column
Box 42					Miscellaneous 1963-1965, undated (2 folders)
Box 43					Miscellaneous 1961-1965 (2 folders)
Box 43					Drafts A-E circa 1962 (7 folders)
Box 44					Draft E circa 1962
Box 44					Notes and research material circa 1962
Box 44					Publicity circa 1962
				The Social Effects of Machine Production
Box 44					Miscellaneous undated
				The Social History of Machine Production
Box 44					Drafts A-B 1954-1955 (3 folders)
Box 44					Notes and research material 1954-1955 (3 folders)
Box 45					Outlines undated
				The Story of McGraw-Hill
Box 45					Miscellaneous 1955-1960
Box 45					Draft A undated (3 folders)
Box 45					Galley Proofs 1958
				Susan Shane
Box 46					Reviews circa 1926
				Thomas Alva Edison
Box 46					Notes and research material 1949
Box 46					Outlines undated
				Three Bags Full
Box 46					Miscellaneous 1936
Box 46					Drafts A-B 1936 (4 folders)
Box 47					Drafts B-C circa 1936 (7 folders)
Box 48					Draft D circa 1936 (2 folders)
Box 48					Notes and research material circa 1936 (2 folders)
Box 48					Reviews 1936
				A Time To Hate
Box 48					Draft fragments undated
Box 48					Drafts A-C undated (3 folders)
Box 49					Draft D undated
				Tom Paine
Box 49					Outlines undated
				The Truth in the Dream
Box 49					Introduction undated
Box 49					Notes and research material undated
Box 49					Outlines undated
				Victory Without Peace
Box 49					Notes and research material 1943-1944 (2 folders)
				What Next
Box 49					Drafts undated
				Whittling Boy
Box 49					Draft of foreword circa 1941
Box 49					Draft of prologue circa 1941
Box 49					Drafts A-B circa 1941 (3 folders)
Box 50					Notes and research material circa 1941 (2 folders)
Box 50					Reviews circa 1941 (2 folders)
Box 50					Synopsis circa 1941
				Who Really Invented the Steamship
Box 50					Drafts A-B undated (2 folders)
Box 50					Notes and research material undated
				A Wild Surmise
Box 50					Draft A undated
Box 50					Notes and research material undated (2 folders)
Box 50					Outlines undated
				You Too
Box 51					Reviews 1924
			Book reviews
Box 51				"Again the Iron Horse" 1940 - printed material, The Saturday Review
Box 51				"Barrett Wendell and His Letters" 1924 - printed material
Box 51				"Cradle of Ships" undated
Box 51				"Edison" undated
Box 51				"Everyday Things in American Life" undated
Box 51				"Expansion and Change" 1957
Box 51				"Fifty Years of Popular Mechanics, 1902-1952" 1951 - printed material, Herald Tribune book review
Box 51				"Ford: The Times, the Man, and the Company" undated
Box 51				"From Trail Dust to Star Dust" undated
Box 51				"The Gingerbread Age" undated
Box 51				"The Golden Age" circa 1912
Box 51				"Highball: A Pageant of Trains" undated
Box 51				"A History of the Colt Revolver and Other Arms...from 1836-1940" undated
Box 51				"Man the Maker: A History of Technology and Engineering" 1951 - drafts; printed material, Herald Tribune book review
Box 51				"Iron Horses: American Locomotives 1829-1900" undated
Box 51				"Kindling" undated
Box 51				"Made in America" undated
Box 51				"Mechanization Takes Command" undated
Box 51				"An Outline of Man's Knowledge of the Modern World" 1960 - printed material, New York Times book review
Box 51				"Pioneer of the. Age of Power" undated
Box 51				"Steelways of New England" undated
Box 51				"Sunrise to Sunset" undated
Box 51			Diaries 1916-1943, undated (4 folders)
			Poetry
Box 51				"Interval" undated - printed material
Box 51				"To Ruth and Virgil on Their Fiftieth" 1963
Box 51				"The Women Will Soon Knit Again" 1940 - printed material, New York Times Magazine
Box 51				Untitled 1895-1903, undated (3 folders)
Box 52				Untitled 1910-1936 (3 folders)
			Radio scripts
Box 52				"American Scriptures" undated
Box 52				"American Story" undated
			Research materials
Box 56, 57				Index cards and notebooks 1940-1951
			Short stories
Box 52				"Bachelors on Horseback" undated - printed material
Box 52				"Birthday" undated
Box 52				"Black Masquers at Thanksgiving" undated
Box 52				"Carnations" 1933 - printed material
Box 52				"Caveat" undated
Box 52				"The Celebration" undated
Box 52				"The Children" 1932 - printed material
Box 52				"City Folks" undated
Box 52				"Death Wish" or "Twenty Feet of Rope" undated - drafts A-B (2 folders)
Box 52				"Dinner at Vatel" undated - drafts A-B (2 folders)
Box 52				"The Eternal Youth" undated
Box 52				"Everything Is All Right" undated
Box 52				"The Fling" 1937 - printed material, Redbook
Box 52				"First Experiences at a Stage Door" circa 1912
Box 52				"Gallegher's Break" 1949
Box 52				"Grappa" undated
Box 52				"The Heir" circa 1929
Box 52				"The Hen That Crossed the Road" undated
Box 52				"Honey Bones" 1933 - printed material, Sunday News
Box 52				"The Hottest Battle" 1936 - draft A; printed material, Sunday News
Box 52				"The House in Crawford Notch" circa 1912
Box 52				"Incident" 1929 - printed material
Box 52				"It's Going To Be Different" undated
Box 52				"Jacinth" undated - pr. mat
Box 52				"The Last Equation" 1936 - draft A; printed material, Story Magazine
Box 53				"Leave Before Sailing" undated
Box 53				"The Machine from Rome" undated
Box 53				"Manhattan Love" undated
Box 53				"Milo's Business" undated
Box 53				"The Miracle Draft" undated
Box 53				"The Monkey Wrench" undated
Box 53				"The New Intern" undated - printed material
Box 53				"Obligato" undated
Box 53				"Old Master" circa 1905, undated - drafts A-B; printed material, Cosmopolitan
Box 53				"Only Seventeen" undated
Box 53				"The Poker Game" undated
Box 53				"The Road from Rome" undated
Box 53				"Singing in the Rain" undated
Box 53				"The Sixth Reel" undated
Box 53				"Snake" 1925
Box 53				"The Sorrowful City" 1933 - printed material
Box 53				"Third Year" undated - printed material
Box 53				"Three Days in Delirium" circa 1912
Box 53				"Watch Ticks" undated
Box 53				"When the Corn Was Cut" undated
Box 53				"When the Door Shut" 1935 - printed material
Box 53				"Yellow Roses" undated - printed material
Box 53				"Young Love" undated
Box 53				Untitled circa 1912
			Speeches
Box 53				"Appreciation of Contemporary Literature" undated
Box 53				"Meeting Kipling" undated 1847
Box 53				"Saugatuck Valley Association" undated
Box 53				"The Social History of Machine Production" 1854-1955
Box 53				"Sources of Creative Writing" 1949-1950
Box 53				"Technology: Neglected Clue to Historical Change" undated
Box 53			Unidentified undated
			Untitled
Box 54				Ideas undated
Box 54				on: Technology undated
		Burlingame, Walter A.
Box 54			"Peking" 1867

	Miscellany
		Articles
Box 54			Biggerstaff, Knight / "A Translation of Anson Burlingame's Instructions..." circa 1936
Box 54			Bolton, Theodore / "Charles Loring Elliott" 1942
Box 54			Fairfax, Downey / "Mark Lescarbot Writes a Ballade..." undated
Box 54			Frankfurter, Felix / "Charles Culp Burlingham" 1960 - 1977 Accession
Box 54			Galantiere, Lewis / "America Today: A Freehand Society" 1950 - 1977 Accession
Box 54			Green, Elizabeth and Handy, Craighill / " 'Mei-kuo' First" 1943
Box 54			Jones, Bassett / "Arithmetic Monsters and Economic Absurdities"; "The Modern Pythagoras"; Letter to Editor 1942-1959
Box 54			Jones, Bassett / "A Letter to a Banker" undated
Box 54			Mitman, Carl W. / "Stevens's 'Porcupine' Boiler, 1804: A Recent Study" 1939 - 1977 Accession
Box 54			Painton, Fred / "Here Comes Gabriel" circa 1944
Box 54			Painton, Fred / "Lord Pity the Censor" undated
Box 54			Schlesinger, Arthur M. / "Political Mobs and the American Revolution, 1765-1776" 1955 - 1977 Accession
Box 54			Sizer, Theodore / "The Story of the Edwards Portrait" 1959 - 1977 Accession
Box 54			Thomas, Norman / "The Socialist Cure for a Sick Society" 1932
Box 54			White, Lynn / "Technology and Invention in the Middle Ages" 1940
Box 54			Whiton, Barbara / "The Influence of France on America" 1965
		Books
Box 54			Author unknown / "The Henry Ford Nobody Knows" undated
Box 55			MacArthur, Turner K. / "Between You and Me and Adolph Hitler" undated
Box 55			Streeter, Edward / "Window on America" 1959
		Collected works
Box 55			Goodman, Nathan G. circa 1937-1938
Box 55			Lundbergh, Holger undated
Box 55			Wharton, Edith undated
		Drawings
Oversize 6			"Summer Pool" by H.D. (ink on paper) 7 Jul 1946
Oversize 6			"Cathedral of St. John the Divine" by Walter Tittle (ink on paper) undated
		Verse
Box 55			Bacon, Leonard / Miscellaneous 1945-1951
Box 55			Burt, Struthers / "Resurgem" 1927
Box 55			Collins, Kathleen / Untitled 1950-1961
Box 55			Keller, Georgena / Untitled 1929-1958
Box 55			Laing, Alexander / "Poems for a New Year in a New Age" 1946
Box 55			Laing, Dilys Bennett / "Not One Atoll"; "Incorrupt"
Box 55			McKinney, Laurence / "Golden Almanac" undated
		Short stories
Box 55			Ainsworth, Henry / "The Man Who Saw" circa 1908
Box 55			Ross, Gavin / "Sixty Words a Minute" undated
		Speeches
Box 55			Cowdin, Elliot C. / "Tribute to the Memory of Anson Burlingame" 1870
Box 55			Franckenstein, Kay Boyle / on Joseph M. Franckenstein 1964
Box 55			Wicks, William P. / on Medicine 1951

Return to top