Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Burns, Vincent Godfrey, 1893-1979 |
| Title: | Vincent Godfrey Burns Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1939-1969 |
| Quantity: | 1.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Writings by and printed materials about the American Congregationalist minister and Poet Laureate of Maryland |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Vincent Godfrey Burns (1893-1979) was a minister and Poet Laureate of Maryland.
Born in Brooklyn, New York in 1893, Burns graduated from Pennsylvania State College (1916), Harvard University (1917), Union Theological Seminary (1922), and Columbia University (1925) with a post-graduate study degree. He wrote a sequel to his older brother Robert Elliot Burns important book I Am a Fugitive From a Georgia Chain Gang, which details the elder Burns experiences as a convict in the Georgia penal system and his escape. In 1962 he was appointed Poet Laureate of Maryland, a post he held until his death.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Vincent Godfrey Burns Papers consists of printed materials and writings.
Printed materials consist of flyers and programs for poetry readings and town halls featuring Burns as speaker.
Writings contains newspaper articles, a galley, a teleplay, and a hand-written draft for an unpublished book about new information on the Lindbergh kidnapping.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Books donated as part of the collection have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloguing. Please refer to Libraries Search to locate these items.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Vincent Godfrey Burns Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 1969.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 9 Apr 2010
Revision history: 25 Jul 2023 - processed (RMH)
Inventory
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Flyers and programs 1939-1941, 1946-1947, 1960-1961, 1964, 1969, undated | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Flyers and programs undated | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | The Rainbow: a magazine of poetry 1964-1968 - Burns was president of Maryland poetry society, publisher of magazine | ||||||||||
| Writings | |||||||||||
| Books | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | The Man who Broke a Thousand Chains circa 1968 - galley print | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | New Light on the Lindbergh Kidnapping Mystery circa 1968 - hand written draft (4 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Newspaper columns circa 1965 - drafts | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Poems undated | ||||||||||
| Teleplay | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | World on Fire 1961 | ||||||||||