Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Carden, Maren Lockwood.
Title:	Maren Lockwood Carden Papers on the Oneida Community
Inclusive Dates:	1960-2000
Quantity:	1.75 linear ft.
Abstract:	Notes, drafts, interviews, and research material created or collected by Carden for her book on the Oneida Community.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Maren Lockwood Carden is an American author, sociologist and feminist. Educated at the University of Maryland (M.A., 1957) and Harvard University (Ph.D., 1963), she is the author of numerous books, papers and articles on the Oneida Community, communal societies, and women's studies.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Maren Lockwood Carden Papers on the Oneida Community consists of research notes, correspondence, interview notes, conference papers, and drafts of papers and chapters, all relating to Carden's study of the Oneida Community. Carden's original folders and folder titles were retained; in the few cases where items were not foldered, titles have been assigned. These are indicated by square brackets [ ].

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Folders are in alphabetical order. Carden's original folders and folder titles were retained; in the few cases where items were not foldered, titles have been assigned. These are indicated by square brackets [ ].

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

One roll of microfilm, containing the A. J. Macdonald Papers, has been removed and separately cataloged. Please search Libraries Search to locate this item.

See also the Oneida Community Collection for more of Carden's research, including interviews with members of the community. A larger collection of Carden's papers is held by Harvard University Library, accession number: 81-M210.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Maren Lockwood Carden Papers on the Oneida Community,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Maren Lockwood Carden, 2014 and undetermined dates.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 29 Jan 2014
Revision history: 11 Jun 2024 - approximately 1.5 linear ft. transferred from Oneida Community Secondary Literature Collection (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	[Files]
Box 1		[Branch Davidians and Oneida] [circa 1993-1994?] - notes on similarities and differences
Box 1		Census of 1908 and 1961 1994
Box 1		Chap III rewritten Sep 1968
Box 1		Communal Studies Association paper on Oneida 1994
Box 1		Conference on NYS History- Jun 1998 - includes copy of paper presented
Box 1		[Conference on NYS History] 1999 - includes copy of paper presented
Box 1		Conference organized by Kathman at Oneida 1993 - includes copy of paper presented
Box 1		Conference 1993
Box 1		Conference Elderhostel paper 1996, 1997
Box 1		Correspondence 1961-1971, 1974-1977, 1984, 1988-2000, undated - includes Richard Kathmann, Mansion House (4 folders)
Box 1		Data 1993
Box 2		[Drafts, unidentified] (2 folders)
Box 2		Encycl. NYS
Box 2		Encyclopedia NYS Oneida
Box 2		Institute for Community Studies 1996 - proposal to establish institute based on Oneida Mansion House
Box 2		[Interviews, A-Ne] ,undated - mostly typescript carbons, some annotated/corrected: Ham Allen, Henry Allen, J. Allen; Peter Austin, E. Neilson
Box 2		[Interviews Noyes] ,undated - mostly typescript carbons, some annotated/corrected: Geoff, Pete, Judy (Mrs. Paul)
Box 2		[Interviews, P-S] ,undated - mostly typescript carbons, some annotated/corrected: Frank Perry, Anita Raynsford, Bill Raynsford, Ivan Smith, Mrs. Smith
Box 2		[Interviews, Wayland-Smith] ,undated - mostly typescript carbons, some annotated/corrected: C., Carol, Giles, Robert
Box 2		[Interviews, misceallaneous] ,undated
Box 2		[Interviews] "Goes with interviews" ,undated - small notebook containing handwritten notes, including planned interview questions, names and addresses, etc.
Box 2		Interviews by telephone 1993
		Interviews 1993 3
		Interviews compilation 3
		Interviews not typed up [1960s?] 3
		Management positions [in Oneida] 3
Box 3		New Zealand 1996 - includes correspondence, notes, drafts for conference presentation
Box 3		[Notes] [1960s] (2 folders)
Box 3		Noyes, Hilda collection and notes, etc. - correspondence, lists, notes, interview with Adele Noyes Davies, etc. (3 folders)
Box 3		[Proposal for interpretive plan for Mansion House]
Box 3		Publication permissions received
Box 3		Publication reviews and personal comments
Box 4		Reviews/comments thesis & book
Box 4		Statistical analyses
Box 4		Strays
Box 4		[Miscellany]

Return to top