Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Chalmers, Harvey.
Title:	Harvey Chalmers Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1935-1971
Quantity:	10.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American author, novelist, short story writer; died 1971. Specialized in books relating to early New York State and United States history. Correspondence (1938-1971), manuscripts, notes, photographs, research material, and a scrapbook of book reviews.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Harvey Chalmers (1890-1971) was an American author, novelist, and short story writer known for his historical fiction relating to early New York State and United States history. Born in Amsterdam, he operated a pearl button factory in New York for many years until the advent of plastic buttons put it out of business. His first novel, West to the Setting Sun, was published in 1943 (the same year he became president of the button company). His other books include Drums Against Frontenac, The Last Stand of the Nez Perce, and The Birth of the Erie Canal (with John H. Flandreau). He also served as consultant to the State Department of Education.

[Adapted from Mr Chalmers' obituary in the New York Times, 8 Oct 1971, p. 46]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harvey Chalmers Papers consist of several accessions, some of which have been integrated with the main collection and some of which have not. The main collection consists of correspondence-subject files, writings, and memorabilia. Two later accessions, listed at the end of the inventory, contain 1) short stories and 2) correspondence, memorabilia, and writings.

Main collection

Correspondence-subject files contain incoming and outgoing correspondence, covering the years 1938 to 1964, news clippings, holographic notes, and lists of names and addresses. Chalmers' writings include Books, short stories, play (holographic notes for books, original and carbon typescript chapters and short stories, and carbons of a play), Magazine articles, and other Published material. Memorabilia contains photographs and sketches, and an oversized scrapbook containing book reviews complete the main collection.

Short stories (later addition)

This series contains drafts, bound drafts, typescripts, and manuscripts of numerous short stories and books. Some folders also contain criticism and correspondence.

1978 addition

This series contains correspondence (1846-1971), memorabilia (1935-1961), and writings (pamphlets, books, notes, research material, and typescripts).

Note that box numbering restarts with Box 1 for each of the two later additions. When requesting a box please be sure to specify both box number and series to ensure retrieval of the correct items.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

In the main collection, series are arranged alphabetically by topic (correspondence-subject files), type (memorabilia), or title (writings). Short stories (later addition) are in no particular order. The 1978 addition is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harvey Chalmers Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: 1973
Revision history: 8 Apr 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical material
Box 1		Biographical material

	Correspondence-subject files
Box 1		Advertisements 1949-1950, 1956, undated
Box 1		Albany Times-Union (Van Olinda) 1962-1963
Box 1		Albion Historical-Conversational Club 1960-1961
Box 1		American Heritage Book Company (Alvin Josephy) 1962-1963
Box 1		American News Company 1956
Box 1		Ancient Order of Hibernians
Box 1		Arcade Sesquicentennial and Historical Society 1960
Box 1		Argyle Historical Society 1960
Box 1		Arnold, Edward (Radio Hall of Fame) 1955
Box 1		Articles an Local History 1960-1961, undated
Box 1		Attica Historical Society 1960
Box 1		Atwood, Sarah Jane 1961, 1963
Box 1		Augur's Bookstore 1957
Box 1		Aurora Historical Society 1960
Box 1		Authors' and Writers' Who's Who 1960
Box 1		Avery, Mrs. Emmett (Washington State University) 1962
Box 1		Babcock, Havilah 1954
Box 1		Babcock, Ruth Evans 1961-1962
Box 1		Baker's, Inc. 1955
Box 1		Barberg Arnold H. 1960-1962
Box 1		Barber, Evelyn R. 1950
Box 1		H. S. Barney Co. 1948-1949, 1955, 1957, 1959-1960
Box 1		Barnum, Starr 1961-1962
Box 1		Barry, Bobby 1953-1954
Box 1		Barry, Bobby 1955-1958
Box 1		Beard, Willism H. 1954-1956, 1959-1960
Box 1		Beauchamp Historical Club 1960-1961
Box 1		Becker, Mrs. Elizabeth 1962
Box 1		Beemer's Stationery 1947
Box 1		Bennington Bookshop 1949-1962
Box 1		Beta Theta Pi 1960
Box 1		Big Springs Historical Society of Caledonia 1960
Box 1		Blurbs for How the Irish Built the Erie Canal
Box 1		Book Box and Book Corner 1947, 1949, 1956, 1960
Box 1		The Book Cellar 1950-1961
Box 1		Booklets about Erie Canal and Cayuga Canal
Box 1		Bookman Associates 1961
Box 1		Boonville Historical Club 1960
Box 1		Boorady's Book Store 1952, 1960
Box 1		Brackett's Book Store 1947-1956, 1960-1962
Box 1		Brattleboro Informer 1955, 1956
Box 1		Bresee's Department Store 1956
Box 1		Brigg's Drug Store 1960
Box 1		Brighton Historical Society 1960-1961
Box 1		British Book Service, Ltd. 1949
Box 1		Broadway Book Shop 1949-1955, 1959-1960
Box 1		Brockport History Club 1960-1961
Box 1		Broome County Historical Society, Inc. 1960
Box 1		Brotherhood of Trainmen 1964
Box 1		Bruce, Lewis 1950
Box 1		Brundige, Mrs. Lorraine 1954
Box 1		Bryan, B, F. 1959-1960
Box 1		Buffalo Evening News 1964
Box 1		Buffalo Historical Society 1960, 1964
Box 1		Burns, Mrs. J. E. 1947
Box 1		Burr, Rev. Hugh undated
Box 1		Caedman, Sister A. S. A., Cambridge Historical Society 1960
Box 1		Campbell, Donald (N. Y. State Assembly) 1957, 1960, 1963
Box 1		Campbell, W. S. 1947
Box 1		Canadian Authors' Association 1957
Box 1		Cannon, Curtis 1961-1963
Box 1		Cape Vincent Historical Club 1960
Box 1		Carey, Booth 1952-1958, 1961
Box 1		Carr, Arthur A. 1960
Box 1		Carroll, Ralph 1950, 1962
Box 1		Carter, Mrs. George 1947-1952, 1954, 1956, 1959-1962
Box 1		Casey, Mr. M. F. 1949-1950
Box 1		Castile Historical Society
Box 2		Cattaraugus-New Albion Historical Society 1960-1961
Box 2		Caxton Printers, Ltd. 1959-1963
Box 2		Cayuga County Historical Society
Box 2		Chalmers, Arthur (father) 1947-1962, undated (5 folders)
Box 2		Chalmers, Arthur II
Box 2		Chalmers, Mrs. Harvey (wife)
Box 2		Chalmers, Shirley (daughter)
Box 2		Chamberlain 1961
Box 2		Chambrun, Jacques 1948, 1953, 1959
Box 2		Channel Press 1959-1961
Box 2		Chapman, Edward A. 1950
Box 2		Chariton, Mrs. Helen (Canastota Public Library) 1960, 1961-1962
Box 2		The Charlotte Inn undated
Box 2		Chautaugua County Historical Society 1960-1961
Box 2		Chemung County Historical Society 1960-1961
Box 2		Chenango County Historical Society 1960
Box 2		Cherry Valley Historical Association, Inc. 1960
Box 2		Clapp's Book and Stationery Store 1947-1951, 1953-1960
Box 2		Cleary, William E. 1960
Box 2		Cleworth, Thomas S. 1962
Box 2		Clinton Book Shop 1950-1951, 1953, 1957, 1959-1960
Box 2		Clinton County Historical Society 1960-1961
Box 2		Cole, Lois Dwight (Whittlesey House) 1947, 1949
Box 2		Columbia County Historical Society 1960
Box 2		Colombo, John Robert
Box 2		Community Book Shop 1954
Box 2		Community Historical Association (Medina, New York) 1960
Box 2		Concord Historical Society 1960
Box 2		Constable Hall Association, Inc. 1960-1961
Box 2		Cooney, Edward J. 1960
Box 2		Cornell Campus Store, Inc. 1954
Box 2		Corner Book Store 1954-1955
Box 2		Corner Cigar Store 1950
Box 2		Corning-Painted Post Historical Society 1960-1961
Box 2		Correspondence, personal, D-W
Box 2		Correspondence, unidentifiable
Box 2		Correspondence, unsigned 1961
Box 2		Cortland County Historical Society 1960-1961
Box 2		Covington Historical Society 1960
Box 2		Cross, Gorham 1947-1952, 1954, 1960
Box 2		Crysler, Mrs. Grant 1951
Box 2		Cunningham (Oneida County Historical Society) 1960-1961
Box 2		Cunnings (Bookstore) 1949-1960
Box 2		Curtis Brown, Ltd. 1956
Box 2		Dean, Leon W. 1955
Box 2		De Graff's Book Store 1960-1961
Box 2		Democrat and Chronicle (Arch Merrill) 1950
Box 2		Devin-Adair Company 1959-1960
Box 2		DeWitt Historical Society of Tompkins County 1960-1961
Box 2		F. G. Diefendorf and Son 1947-1960
Box 2		The Dominick Fund, Inc. 1961
Box 2		Donahue, Jane 1956, 1958-1962
Box 2		Doran, James R. 1956
Box 2		H. M. Douglass and Son 1949-1950, 1953, 1955-1957, 1959
Box 2		Dresbach, Glenn Ward 1952-1953, 1959-1961 (August)
Box 2		Dresbach, Glenn Ward 1971-1962 (September), 1963
Box 3		Drew, Mrs. Nelson F. 1950
Box 3		Drew Stationery, Inc. 1960-1961
Box 3		Drums Against Frontenac 1949
Box 3		Dunham, Harvey L. 1954
Box 3		Dunne, Judge Matthew 1961
Box 3		Durgin, Louise (Mrs. James H.) 1964
Box 3		Dutchess County Historical Society 1960
Box 3		Dutch Settlers' Society of Albany 1960
Box 3		E. W. Edwards and Son 1960
Box 3		The Elma Historical Society 1960
Box 3		J. and J. W. Elsworth Company 1951-1952
Box 3		Ennis, Dr. David 1960-1961
Box 3		Erie County Historical Society 1960-1961
Box 3		Evans, Mrs Richard 1961
Box 3		Everyday Book Shop 1949-1950, 1953-1955, 1957, 1960-1961
Box 3		The Farmer's Museum, Inc, 1947-1948, 1960
Box 3		Fee, James Alger 1960
Box 3		Field and Stream 1950
Box 3		Fitt, Rev. Frank 1949
Box 3		Flick, Hugh M. 1947, 1949, 1951, 1960-1961
Box 3		Flynn, Arthur G. 1961-1962
Box 3		Old Fort Niagra Association 1947-1952, 1955, 1961
Box 3		Old Fort Ticonderoga Museum 1957, 1960
Box 3		Frair's Book Store 1947, 1949-1951, 1953-1954, 1956-1957, 1959-1961
Box 3		Fuller, S. Je, Jr. 1947
Box 3		Fulton County Historical Society 1960
Box 3		Genealogies on Platt and Talcott Families
Box 3		Genesee County Historical Federation 1960-1961
Box 3		Geneva Historical Society 1960-1961
Box 3		Geraldson, Dr. Carroll M. 1953
Box 3		Gray, E. L. 1959
Box 3		(Morgan) Guarantee Trust Company 1947-1948, 1956-1962
Box 3		Hayes, Jack 1963
Box 3		Historical Societies 1960
Box 3		Historical Societies 1960-1961
Box 3		Historical Societies 1960-1961
Box 3		Hyde Park Historical Association 1960-1961
Box 3		Idaho Historical Society 1963
Box 3		Interlacken Historical Society 1960-1961
Box 3		Ives, Irving M. 1947
Box 3		The John Day Company, Inc. 1959
Box 3		Jones, Dr. Louis C. 1960
Box 3		Lane, Edith A. 1949
Box 3		Latherst Pyne 1949-1951, 1953-1957, 1960
Box 4		Lavender's Book Store 1947, 1949-1952, 1955-1957, 1959-1961
Box 4		Lee, Charles 1949
Box 4		Liberty Mutual Insurance Company 1956, 1958, 1961-1963
Box 4		Lists of names and addresses
Box 4		Little, Mr. and Mrs. Theodore 1962 (March-May)
Box 4		Little, Mr. and Mrs. Theodore 1962 (June-December)
Box 4		The Little Book Shop 1960
Box 4		Loy, Rolland J. 1947, 1949-1950
Box 4		Luce, Edith M. 1947-1949
Box 4		MacGregor, Prof. D. C. 1955
Box 4		MacMillan and Company (Canada) 1947 (February-August)
Box 4		MacMillan and Company (Canada) 1947 (September-December)
Box 4		MacMillan and Company (Canada) 1948 (January-September)
Box 4		MacMillan and Company (Canada) 1948 (October-December), 1949
Box 4		MacMillan and Company (Canada) 1950-1961
Box 4		Madden, Emily A. 1960
Box 4		Martin, Mabel A. 1959
Box 4		Massena Observer 1949-1950
Box 4		McCurdy's and Company 1960-1962
Box 4		McGrath, Matt 1948-1949
Box 4		McGreevy's 1961-1963
Box 4		McKelvey, Blake 1964
Box 4		McNickle, D'Arcy 1962
Box 4		McWhorter 1962
Box 4		Mechanics and Farmers' Bank (Douglas Olcott) 1961
Box 4		Mehar, Barry 1960
Box 4		Meeker, J. H. 1951
Box 4		Merrick, Marion (Mrs. Alden C.) 1950
Box 4		Merrill, Arch 1960-1961
Box 4		Mills, Allison 1949, 1952-1958, 1960-1961
Box 4		Mills, Lawrence and Family 1947-1950, 1956-1962
Box 4		Minisink Valley Historical Society 1960-1961
Box 4		Mistletop Book Shop 1949-1963
Box 4		Mitchell, Margaret 1937
Box 4		Monroe-Augur Book Company 1947-1963
Box 4		Montgomery County Trust Company 1947, 1955-1961
Box 4		Moore, Mrs. E. B. 1962
Box 4		Moot, Edmund 1960-1961
		Morgan Guarantee Trust Company
			See (Morgan) Guarantee Trust Company.
Box 4		Morton, Mrs. J. T. 1960-1961
Box 4		Mosier, Pauline (Mrs. Duane H.) 1950-1951, 1959
Box 4		Munger, Clara 1947, 1949
Box 4		Mutual Benefit Life Insurance 1960
Box 4		Monroe Holler 1960-1962
Box 4		Munson Williams Procter Institute 1960
Box 4		Nassau Community College 1960
Box 4		National Geographic Society 1947
Box 4		National Commercial Bank and Trust Company 1958, 1960-1963
Box 5		Negus, Donald undated
Box 5		Nellson, J. G. 1949
Box 5		News Clippings 1908, 1946, 1949-1950
Box 5		News Clippings 1956-1957, 1962, 1966, undated
Box 5		New York Herald Tribune 1956
Box 5		New York State (Conservation Dept., Engineering Dept.) 1954, 1959-1960
Box 5		New York State Historical Society 1947, 1949, 1951, 1956, 1960
Box 5		Notes-Activities of the Regency
Box 5		Notes-Annual Report on Construction
Box 5		Notes-Clinton, DeWitt
Box 5		Notes-Cooper, Judge William; Eddy, Thomas; Erie
Box 5		Notes-Biographical
Box 5		Notes-Cooper, Eddy, Cunningham
Box 5		Notes-Fox, D.,R.
Box 5		Notes-Biographical
Box 5		Notes-Geddes, Wright, Day
Box 5		Notes-Information on Cities
Box 5		Notes-Livingstone, Robert R.
Box 5		Notes-New York State History
Box 5		Notes-Typescript of Lecture Article; Lecture Notes
Box 5		Notes-Watson; Washington, George
Box 5		Notes-Western Inland Lock Navigation Co.; Weston, William
Box 5		Notes-Miscellaneous Notes
Box 5		Ockenfel's Book Store 1960-1962
Box 5		O'Connor, George E. 1966
Box 5		O'Donnell's Bookstore 1949-1950, 1955, 1960-1961
Box 5		The Old Print Shop 1961
Box 5		Oneida County-Bibliography and Research
Box 5		O'Reilly's Book Store 1949-1951, 1960
Box 5		Otto Ulrich Company, Inc. 1949-1953, 1959-1964
Box 5		Overland, Helen Howard 1966
Box 5		Pardee, Henry S. 1947-1962
Box 6		Parker, Arthur C. 1948-1953
Box 6		Pennsylvania Historical Association 1961-1962
Box 6		T. H. Perrin and Company 1960
Box 6		Peterson, Bert 1946
Box 6		Phelps, William Lyen
Box 6		Platt (lineage for research) 1956, 1960
Box 6		The Play Shop 1956
Box 6		Plaza Book Shop 1955-1961
Box 6		Peggs, Richard J. 1950
Box 6		Posters of Canal
Box 6		Rapp, Marvin A. 1964
Box 6		Rarick, Ray 1961
Box 6		Rawls, Walter H. (Twayne Publishers) 1964, undated
Box 6		Research Correspondence-Birth of the Erie Canal 1956, 1961-1963
Box 6		Research Material-How the Irish Built the Erie Ridge Book Shop 1947-1962
Box 6		Robinson, Ray M. 1964
Box 6		Robinson and Cunningham, Inc. 1950-1951, 1953, 1955
Box 6		Edson E. Robinson, Inc. 1949, 1953-1962
Box 6		Rohloff 1956
Box 6		Russell, Kay 1960-1962
Box 6		Russell and Wait 1947-1962
Box 6		Rydell, James 1964
Box 6		The Ryerson Press (Toronto) 1950, 1955-1956
Box 6		St. Regis Trading Post 1947
Box 6		Saltzman, — 1963-1964
Box 6		Sanger's Book Store 1960
Box 6		Sebring, Lewis B., Jr. 1950
Box 6		Seely Conover Company 1950, 1956, 1958, 1961-1962
Box 6		Smith, Richard R. 1950, 1954
Box 6		Spree's Stationery 1955, 1960
Box 6		State University of New York 1960, 1964
Box 6		Stock's Stationery Store 1957, 1960
Box 6		Stuart, John 1943
Box 6		Survey Profiles
Box 6		Syracuse University 1964
Box 6		Taga Book Shop 1950, 1955, 1960
Box 6		Tapply, H. G. 1947-1948
Box 6		Taylor, Lois (Mrs. Allan) 1947
Box 6		Terwilliger, Ein (Mrs. Fred) 1960
Box 6		Thompson's Gift Shop 1961
Box 6		Thurston, Theodore 1951-1964
Box 6		Tidewater Oil Company 1958-1960
Box 6		Tilton's Book Shop 1947
Box 6		Time Magazine 1953
Box 6		Timms Libraries 1949-1950
Box 6		Timms Libraries 1951-1957, 1960
Box 6		Troy, New York, Times Record, Troy Record 1949-1950, 1955
Box 6		Triangle Bookshop 1954
Box 6		Tribune Press 1949-1950
Box 6		Treadeau, Francis 1961
Box 6		Turner, Robert 1947, 1950
Box 6		Union Book Company 1950, 1953, 1955, 1958-1961
Box 6		Union Electric Company 1957
Box 6		University of North Carolina Press 1953
Box 6		University of Pennsylvania 1951, 1961
Box 6		U.S. Dept. of Interior, Dept. of Treasury 1954-1955
Box 7		Upper Susquehanna Historical Society 1946
Box 7		Van de Water, Frederick F. 1946-1947
Box 7		Van Gorden Company 1949-1950, 1959, 1960, 1961
Box 7		Van Fleet, Albert H. 1959
Box 7		Van Voris, Arthur H. 1957, 1958
Box 7		Vermont Book Shop 1960
Box 7		Volwiller, Prof. A. T. 1948, 1951, 1954, 1956
Box 7		Vroman, Myron 1947-1950, 1953, 1955-1956, 1959-1960
Box 7		Vrooman, John J. 1950, 1959
Box 7		Wachusett Shirt Company 1947
Box 7		Station WAGA 1951
Box 7		Wagar Drug Company, Inc. 1960
Box 7		The Wagon Wheel 1946, 1949, 1951
Box 7		Wallace, Crossley W. 1949
Box 7		Wallace, J. Brougha 1950
Box 7		Walter, Mr. and Mrs. George W. 1955-1956, 1960-1963
Box 7		Warner's Products Company 1953
Box 7		Warren, Harold S. 1948, 1951-1955, 1957, 1960
Box 7		Warren, Mrs. Helen 1949
Box 7		Warren, Mrs. Willard C. 1949
Box 7		Waterman, George 1946-1947, 1950-1951
Box 7		Waters, Daniel F. 1949-1951
Box 7		Watertown Times 1949-1950
Box 7		Waterville Textile Mills, Inc. 1947
Box 7		Webster, Prof. Clarence 1954
Box 7		Welch, Marvin A. 1947
Box 7		A. J. Wescott Company 1956
Box 7		Western Union Telegram Company 1947
Box 7		J. R. Weston Company 1949-1950, 1955
Box 7		Whipple, Frank A. 1956, 1960-1961
Box 7		White, Gerry J. 1947
Box 7		White, W. Mansfield 1960
Box 7		W. M. Whitney and Company 1949-1950
Box 7		Widdemer, Margaret 1952-1953
Box 7		Wiese, Donald E. 1960
Box 7		Williams 1948
Box 7		Williams, Clarence S. A. 1947, 1962
Box 7		Williams , Jack R. 1962-1963
Box 7		Wilson, Edmund L. 1959, 1961
Box 7		Wilson's Book Store 1947-1950
Box 7		Winchester Repeating Arms Company 1952
Box 7		Woodworth, Hugh 1947-1948, 1951, 1958, 1960
Box 7		Woody, A. L. 1948
Box 7		Woolgar and Roberts 1947
Box 7		Worchester Library 1950
Box 7		Wright, Richard 1960-1961
Box 7		Yale Athletic Association 1947, 1948, 1955-1956
Box 7		Yale University Library 1960
Box 7		You Asked For It 1957
Box 7		Zicha, Charles 1956
Box 7		Ziesenitz, William H. 1947-1952, 1955-1956, 1960-1962
Box 7		Zurich General Accident and Liability Insurance Company, Ltd, 1950

	Books, short stories, play
		Afterglow
Box 8			Part I, Part II revised
Box 8			Part III revised
		April 1817
Box 8			Chapters 1-7
Box 8			Chapters 1-7
Box 8		"Back Street"
Box 8		"Belling the Cat"
Box 9		"A Change of Mind"
Box 9		"Country Club"
Box 9		"The Coyote"
Box 9		"Doc Barret's Kind Heart"
Box 9		"Doc Barret's Kind Heart"
Box 9		"Doc Barret's Kind Heart"
Box 9		Drums Against Frontenac
Box 9			Volume I
Box 9			Volume II
Box 9			Volume III
		Drums Against Frontenac (printed)
Box 10			Volume I
Box 10			Volume II
Box 10		"The Fighting Name"
Box 10		"Footsteps" (with criticism by Alexander)
Box 10		"The Gentlemen of the Rapier"
Box 10		"Honey Moon Mystery", "The Grand Passion", "Through the Looking Glass"
		How the Irish Built the Erie - notes
Box 11			Synopsis and Outlines
Box 11			Chapter 1
Box 11			Chapter 2
Box 11			Chapter 3
Box 11			Chapter 1
Box 11			Chapter 2
Box 11			Chapter 3
Box 11			Chapters 4 and 5
Box 11			Chapter 6
Box 11			Chapter 7
Box 11			Chapter 8
		How the Irish Built the Erie
Box 12			Chapter 1 - revised carbon
Box 12			Chapters 1-5
Box 12			Chapters 6-9
Box 12		"Irish Eyes keep Smiling" or "Incident of the Trenches"
Box 12		"Mabel Elliott"
Box 12		"The Masterpiece (An Eye for Beauty or Funniest Thing of All)"
Box 12		"Only One Way"
Box 12		"A Parlor Trick"
Box 12		"Pink Lady"
Box 12		"Room-mates"
Box 12		"The Sabine Women"
Box 12		"The Setter Man"
Box 12		"The Sucker Look"
Box 12		"The Swale Collection"
Box 12		"Synthetic Star"
Box 12		"Tan-Bark"
Box 12		"Too Much Dog"
Box 12		"Uncle Bunbury"
		West to the Setting Sun
Box 13			Chapters 1-3
Box 13			Chapters 4-6
Box 13			Chapters 7-9
Box 13			Chapters 10-12
Box 13			Chapters 13-14
Box 13			Chapters 15-16
Box 13			Chapters 17-18
Box 13			Chapters 19-20
Box 13			Chapter 1
Box 13			Chapter 2
Box 13			Chapter 3
Box 13			Chapter 4
Box 13			Chapter 5
Box 13			Chapter 6
Box 13			Chapter 7
Box 13			Chapter 8
Box 13			Chapter 9
Box 13			Chapter 10
Box 13			Chapter 11
Box 13			Chapter 12
Box 13			Chapter 13
Box 13			Chapter 14
Box 13			Chapter 15
Box 13			Chapter 16
Box 13			Chapter 17
Box 13			Chapter 18
Box 13			Chapter 19
Box 13			Chapter 20
Box 13		"Where Friendship Ceases"

	Magazine articles
Box 14		The American Field
Box 14		Field and Stream stories
Box 14		Field and Stream February, 1940
Box 14		Field and Stream December, 1937
Box 14		New England Sportsman
Box 14		New England Sportsman
Box 14		Outdoors; National Sportsman ; Hunting and Fishing

	Published material
Box 15		Catalogs 1943-1950
Box 15		Catalogs 1955-1962
Box 15??		Clipping, "How the Irish Built the Erie"
Box 15??		Pamphlets
Box 15		Reviews undated
Box 15		Photographs and Sketches
Box 15		Publicity Photographs

	Memorabilia
Oversize		Scrapbook (mostly reviews)

	Short stories (later addition)
Box 1		Man of Meung; correspondence; criticism
			"The Man of Meung," typed copy, 18 pages "The Man of Meung," typed revision (1929), 26 pages 3-page typed letter of criticism by Milton Ling, dated October 7, 1929 2-page typed letter, signed "S.B.", undated
Box 1		Uncle Bunbury; criticism
			"Uncle Bunbury," typed first copy, 25 pages 2-page typed letter of criticism by Milton Ling, dated February 12, 1930
Box 1		The Coyote
			typed copy, 30 pages
Box 1		The Swale Collection; Room-mates; criticism
			"The Swale Collection," typed carbon with pencil corrections, 23 pages 2-page holograph criticisms of several stories, unsigned 2-page holograph criticism by "S.C.B.", "Note on the Swale Collection" "Room-mates," typed first copy, 7 pages
Box 1		Honey-Moon Mystery; Through the Looking Glass; The Grand Passion; miscellaneous
			3-part serial in manuscript covers "Honey-Moon Mystery," typed copy, 27 pages "Through the Looking Glass," typed copy, 27 pages "The Grand Passion," typed copy, 22 pages 1-page typed letter of rejection from agent, Brandt and Brandt, dated November 9, 1936
Box 1		Synthetic Star
			typed first copy, 24 pages typed carbon with pencilled corrections, 24 pages
Box 1		Gentlemen of the Rapier; Parlor Trick
			"The Gentleman of the Rapier," typed carbon with pencilled corrections, 28 pages "A Parlor Trick," typed first copy, 16 pages
Box 1		Only One Way; Mabel Elliot
			"Only One Way," typed first copy, 19 pages "Only One Way," typed carbon copy with typed corrections, 19 pages "Mabel Elliot," typed carbon copy, 27 pages
Box 1		Fighting Name; Country Club
			"The Fighting Name," typed carbon copy, 22 pages "The Fighting Name," revised typed carbon copy, 17 pages "Country-Club," typed first copy with typed corrections, 18 pages
Box 1		An Eye for Beauty; Funniest Thing of All; The Masterpiece
			Revisions of same story "An Eye for Beauty," revised typed first copy, 22 pages "An Eye for Beauty," typed carbon copy, 20 pages "Funniest Thing of All," second revised carbon copy, 22 pages "The Masterpiece," typed carbon copy, 18 pages
Box 1		Footsteps; criticism
			"Footsteps," typed first copy with typed corrections, 28 pages "Footsteps," typed carbon copy, 25 pages 3-page holograph criticism of several stories by M. Z. Alexander
Box 1		Backstreet; The Sucker Look
			"Backstreet," typed carbon copy, 17 pages "Backstreet," revised typed carbon copy, 14 pages "The Sucker Look," typed carbon copy with pencilled corrections, 14 pages
Box 1		Tan-Bark; Pink Lady
			"Tan-Bark," typed first copy, 7 pages "Tan-Bark," typed carbon copy, 7 pages "Pink Lady," typed carbon copy, 17 pages
Box 1		Miscellaneous
			Where Friendship Ceases-published The American Field, August 31, 1935 paper-bound volume of manuscripts (stories about P. R. Pratt, business tycoon) "Three Birds with One Shot," 8 pages "Saving the Depositors," 10 pages "Making He-Men," 11 pages, published in New England Sportsman, April 1933 "The Seeds of Discontent," 10 pages "Bankers Holiday," 8 pages, published in New England Sportsman, May 1933 "Belling the Cat," 22 pages "Blood Pressure," 9 pages, published in New England Sportsman, July 1933 "While One True Man Remains," 11 pages, published in New England Sportsman, October 1933.
Box 1		Change of Mind
			typed carbon copy with pencilled corrections, 11 pages Holograph introduction, 2 pages
Box 1		Doc Barrett's Kind Heart (3 folders)
			typed first copy, 19 pages typed carbon copy, 19 pages revised typed first copy, 18 pages typed carbon copy, 18 pages typed first copy with pencilled corrections, 17 pages typed first copy plus carbon copy with pencilled corrections, 17 pages
Box 1		Too Much Dog; The Setter Man
			"Too Much Dog," typed carbon copy with pencilled corrections, 11 pages, published in Field & Stream, June 1944 "The Setter Man," typed carbon copy, 14 pages, published in Field & Stream, February 1940
Box 1		The Sabine Women, a three-act play
			typed first copy, 33 pages typed carbon copies (two), 33 pages
Box 2		April 1817 - Chapters 1 to 7, typed copy with pencilled revisions and bound copy (mainly typed carbon copy) (2 folders)
Box 2		Afterglow - Parts I, II revised, Chapters 1 to 19, typed copy; Part III revised, Chapters 20 to 24, typed copy (2 folders)
		West to the Setting Sun
Box 3			Chapters 1-20, proof-read manuscript with pencilled corrections (8 folders)
Box 3			Chapters 1-20, bound typewritten manuscript with typewritten corrections (20 folders)
		Drums Against Frontenac
Box 4			Chapters 1 to 11, published 1949 - bound typed manuscript; typed letter to Mr. Caleb Paine, from Earle July 19, 1949 enclosed. Also memo signed "E." (1 volume)
Box 4			Chapters 6, 7, 8, published 1949 - bound typed manuscript with holograph correspondence (1 volume)
Box 4			Chapters 9, 10, 11, published 1949 - bound typed manuscript with holograph correspondence (1 volume)
Box 4			Chapters 1 to 6, published 1949 - bound galley proof (1 volume)
Box 4			Chapters 7 to 11, published 1949 - bound galley proof (1 volume)

	1978 additions
		Correspondence
Box 1			1846-1971
		Memorabilia
Box 1			1935-1961 (2 folders)
		Writings
Box 1			Assorted pamphlets (11 items)
Box 1			Books (7 volumes)
Box 1			Holograph notes (4 folders)
Box 2			Holograph notes (3 folders)
Box 2			Research material (2 folders)
Box 2			Typescripts (4 folders)
Box 3			Typescripts (7 folders)

Return to top