Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Chandler, Flora Blanche. |
| Title: | Blanche Chandler Pocket Diary |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1900 |
| Quantity: | 1 volume (SC) |
| Abstract: | Diary of a young woman in Hampton, New York. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Flora Blanche Chandler (1881-1962) was born to Frederick Graves Chandler and Bertha N. Spencer in Hampton, New York. She had two sisters, Grace and Mae, and a brother, Spencer. She married Frank Harris Bristol (1881-1956) on 14 October 1903, after which she moved to Fair Haven, Vermont.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Blanche Chandler Diary covers the year 1900. Chandler, who was nineteen at the time, is a prolific author; the pages are filled with details of her daily activities and time spent with friends and family. Waking early, often at seven or before, her days are generally made up of a series of household chores she undertakes with her mother, such as cooking, sweeping and laundry Her entries are detailed, such as almost always noting the weather, listing the exact about of doughnuts or pies she baked, how long she practiced piano, or what sewing work she did that day. At the end of the volume are several pages of memoranda, including lists of purchases and of letters sent and received.
Jan 15, 1900 - Warm as spring, very pleasant Up at 7 Made beds, swept, etc. in front part Mama and I did washing I mopped kitchen, pantry, the little room, and wood shed Fannie Clark and Mrs. Stark came, stayed all afternoon I finished the beautiful under waist Mended a little Curled feathers on big hat Played a little on piano went to bed at 10.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Blanche Chandler Pocket Diary,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2022.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 20 Feb 2023
Revision history:
Inventory
| Memorabilia | |||||||||||
| SC 883 | Diary 1900 - detailed descriptions of daily activities such as housework; pastimes such as bicycle rides and playing the piano; visits with friends and family; etc. | ||||||||||