Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Children's March for Survival Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1972 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Miscellaneous printed items relating to the Children's March for Survival in 1972 in Washington, DC |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The Children's March for Survival was organized by the National Welfare Rights Organization to protest the Nixon administration's proposed welfare reforms. Many of the 30,000 demonstrators were children. Notable figures present included Coretta Scott King, Rev. Jesse Jackson, Bella Abzug, Gloria Steinem, Shirley Maclaine, and John Kerry.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Children's March for Survival Collection consist of seven flyers, one pamphlet, and a sticker. Each pamphlet focuses on a different issue, including free school lunches, environmental inequity, and students' rights.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Children's March for Survival Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2021.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 4 Aug 2022
Revision history: