Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Cobb, John B.
Title:	John Cobb Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1954-1970
Quantity:	3.75 linear ft.
Abstract:	Conference material, correspondence, and writings of the American Methodist theologian
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

John B. Cobb, Jr. (1925- ) is an American theologian, professor, and environmentalist.

Cobb is known for his work in the development of process theology and integrating Alfred North Whitehead's metaphysics into Christianity. He is also known for his interest in social and environmental justice. Cobb encouraged dialogue between Christianity and Mahayana Buddhism, arguing that interfaith dialogue is needed for a richer understanding of Christ. He co-founded the Center for Process Studies, a faculty research center at the Claremont School of Theology, in 1973. He taught for more than thirty years in the Claremont School of Theology at Claremont College. He is married to his wife, Jean L. Cobb.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Cobb Papers consists of conference material, correspondence, printed material, writings, and writings of others.

Conference materials are comprised of conference programs, memos, papers, and correspondence with other conference attendees. Notable conferences include the F and Q Colloquium, the Hermeneutical Council, and the Theology of Survival, a conference which focused on matters of environmentalism in Christianity.

Correspondence contains letters from a variety of sources: publishing houses, other theologians, laypeople, ministers, and a radio station. A majority of the correspondence is from Cobb's time spent at Claremont College. There is also correspondence with another theologian known only as "Tom."

Printed materials consists of three booklets that were sent to Cobb via correspondence. They include a booklet of the teachings of an Indian guru, a Jehovah's Witnesses text, and a creationist booklet.

Writings contains articles, book reviews, books, conference papers, lectures, and sermons by John Cobb. Materials are a mix of handwritten and typed, and include drafts, manuscripts, and notes.

The bulk of Writings by others consists of chapters for The Theology of Altizer, an anthology which Cobb co-authored and edited with other prominent theologians. There are a few other small items.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Conference materials are arranged alphabetically by conference name. Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by sender. Cobb's writings are subdivided by type, and then arranged alphabetically within each type. Printed material and Writings by others are arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Please note that the collection is housed off-site, and advance notice is required to allow time to have the materials brought to the Reading Room on campus.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Cobb Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John Cobb, 1969, 1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 25 Apr 2010
Revision history: 17 Apr 2023 - collection processed (EJHH)

Return to top

Inventory

	Conference materials
Box 1		F and Q Colloquium 1968-1969 (4 folders)
Box 1		Hermeneutical Council 1970
Box 1		Theology of Survival 1970 (6 folders)
Box 1		Unidentified 1969

	Correspondence
Box 1		A-B, miscellaneous 1967-1970 (2 folders)
Box 2		Claremont College 1968-1969
Box 2		C-M, miscellaneous 1966-1970 (9 folders)
Box 3		N-W, miscellaneous 1967, 1970 (4 folders)
Box 3		Westminster Press 1969-1970
Box 3		Y, miscellaneous 1970
Box 3		First name only, "Tom" 1958-1967 (4 folders)

	Printed materials
Box 3		Did man get here by evolution or by creation 1967
Box 3		Man! know thy-self! / A new key / Right and wrong 1954, undated (3 items)

	Writings
		Articles
Box 3			Alfred North Whitehead undated
Box 3			Karl Barth: an appreciation from the beaten foe 1969
Box 3			Can we talk about God/speaking about God 1967
Box 3			Christian natural theology and Christian existence 1965
Box 3			Christianity and myth 1965
Box 4			Ethics, religion, and Christian faith 1968
Box 4			Ecological disaster and the church undated
Box 4			Finality of Christ... 1966
Box 4			Heidegger and Whitehead, a comparison undated
Box 4			Inter-psychic structure 1968
Box 4			Is Christian theology possible undated
Box 4			Morality as rationality 1959
Box 4			The nature of conversion experience 1967-1968
Box 4			A process systematic theology 1976
Box 4			Reaction to the promise of a naturalistic theology 1969
Box 4			Response to criticism 1968
Box 4			Response to Sherburne's response undated
Box 4			Revelation as history 1969
Box 4			Towards a displacement of historicism and positivism undated
		Book reviews
Box 4			Descent into Hell by Thomas Altizer undated
Box 4			Experience and God by John Smith 1968
Box 4			The Hartshorne Festschrift: process and divinity edited by William L. Reese and Eugene Freeman 1965
Box 4			Memory and hope: an inquiry concerning the presence of Christ by Dietrich Ritschl 1967
Box 4			The phenomenon of life: toward a philosophical biology by Hans Jonas 1967
Box 4			Science, man and morals by W.H. Thorpe 1968
Box 4			Systematic theology: a historicist perspective by Gordon D. Kaufman 1968
Box 4			Worldly theology: the hermeneutical focus of an historical faith by Carl Michalson 1967
Box 4			Wolfhart Pannenberg's Jesus, God and man by Wolfhart Pannenberg 1968-1969
		Books
Box 4			Ethics, religion, and Christian faith undated (2 folders)
Box 4			God and the word undated (2 folders)
Box 5			Is it too late undated (3 folders)
Box 5			The meaning of salvation 1969 (3 folders)
Box 5			The structure of Christian existence undated (5 folders)
Box 5			The theology of Altizer undated (4 folders)
				See also Writings by others : Theology of Altizer, below.
Box 6			The theology of Altizer undated (3 folders)
				See also Writings by others : Theology of Altizer, below.
Box 6			Untitled undated (3 folders)
		Conference papers
Box 6			AAR 1970
Box 6			F and Q colloquium 1969
Box 6			New frontiers theology 1966
Box 6			Pacific coast theology group 1960, 1962, 1966,
Box 6			A theology of survival 1970
Box 6			Women's day annual conference 1970
		Lectures
Box 6			Affirming God in a non-theistic age 1964
Box 6			Untitled 1959
Box 7			Untitled, miscellaneous undated
		Sermons
Box 7			Hope on a dying planet 1970
Box 7			Untitled circa 1968

	Writings by others
Box 7		Doctoral standards 1970, undated (3 folders)
		Theology of Altizer - anthology of essays by prominent theologians, co-edited by Cobb
			See also Writings : Books : Theology of Altizer, above.
Box 7			Beardsly, William
Box 7			Gier, Nicholas (2 folders)
Box 7			Helsig, James
Box 7			King, Winston
Box 7			Noel, Daniel
Box 7			Love, Walter
Box 7			Meyer, Eric
Box 7			Ross, James Robert
Box 7			Rubenstein, Richard
Box 7			Runyon, Theodore
Box 8		Miscellany (4 folders)

Return to top