Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Colvin, Ruth J.
Title:	Ruth Colvin Papers
Inclusive Dates:	circa 1980-2010
Quantity:	2 linear ft.
Abstract:	American literacy advocate and author. Collection includes videotapes, clippings, slides, and presentations and publications by Colvin.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Ruth Johnson Colvin (1917- ) is an American literacy advocate and author, and the founder of the non-profit organization Literacy Volunteers of America (LVA). Colvin founded LVA in Syracuse, New York in 1962 with the goal of training tutors in reading and English as a Second Language (ESL) to combat illiteracy; although the original focus was the local community, the organization expanded its work across the United States and then internationally. In 2002 the company merged with Laubach Literacy International (LLI). LLI was also founded in Syracuse, in 1955 by Frank C. Laubach, and its philosophy of "Each one teach one" shared LVA's focus on teaching new readers to teach others. The new organization, named ProLiteracy Worldwide, funds or supports literacy efforts of various kinds in all 50 states as well as countries in Asia, Africa, Latin America, and the Middle East. As of 2010 the company had 330 programs in 42 states with over 100,000 volunteers and students

Colvin has received dozens of awards for her work in combating illiteracy. In December of 2006, she was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation's highest civilian honor.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ruth Colvin Papers consists of videotapes, clippings, slides, and presentations and publications by Colvin.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information. In addition, the collection is fully restricted until the death of the donor. Until such time, written permission of the donor is required for access to the collection.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center is also the repository of the Laubach Literacy International Records and the Frank C. Laubach Collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ruth Colvin Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ruth Colvin, 2011.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 7 Nov 2011
Revision history: 10 Jul 2017 - audiovisual inventory added (PJM) ; 07 Sep 2017 - audiovisual inventory updated (PJM); 28 Nov 2022 - audiovisual inventory updated (IRP)

Return to top

Inventory

	Audiovisual materials
Box 1		25 Year Recognition of LVA [Literacy Volunteers of America] by Channel 5 09/17/1987 (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: colvin_r_0013)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 1		Hour Mag. Ruth Colvin (VHS) (ID#: colvin_r_0018)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 1		IESC “1992 Frank Pace Award” 07/09/1993 (VHS; running time 20:00) (ID#: colvin_r_0015)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 1		IESC “Frank Pace Award” 04/01/1992 (VHS; running time 15:00) (ID#: colvin_r_0014)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 1		[illegible title] May 18 [no year]; May 25 [no year] (Audio cassette) (ID#: colvin_r_0020)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 2		Improving Lives through Literacy (SSC360 Rewind) (DVD) (ID#: colvin_r_0021)
Box 1		In the Beginning was the Word: Teaching Reading & Writing Through the Bible, Training Video (VHS; running time 47:00) (ID#: colvin_r_0017)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 3		India: A Land of Contrasts undated (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: colvin_r_0002)
			M11-127 Box 1
Box 3		India: The Spirit of Sharing undated - perhaps audio to a film (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: colvin_r_0003)
			M11-127 Box 1
Box 2		International Journals, International Slide Presentations, International Reports (CD) (ID#: colvin_r_0001)
			M11-127 Box 1
Box 2		International Journals, Reports, Scripts of slide presentations (CD) (ID#: colvin_r_0004)
			M11-127 Box 1
Box 2		Interview with Nancy Duffy; Ruth Colvin / Medal of Excellence 05/21/1984 (U-matic: SP; running time 18:00) (ID#: colvin_r_0009)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 1		Literacy Volunteer Award 06/30/1987 - Full Program Presentation (VHS) (ID#: colvin_r_0010)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 1		Literacy Volunteers Special - Ruth & Bob Colvin 02/27/1981 (VHS) (ID#: colvin_r_0005)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 1		National Women’s Hall Of Fame: 1993 Honors Ceremonies 10/09/1993 - at Seneca Falls Presbyterian Church (VHS; running time 136:00) (ID#: colvin_r_0016)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 1		Newsmaker: Ruth Colvin 08/10/1987 (VHS) (ID#: colvin_r_0012)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 1		Ruth [Colvin] Presentation Award 06/30/1987 (VHS) (ID#: colvin_r_0011)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 1		S.U. [Syracuse University] Graduation 05/12/1984 (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: colvin_r_0007)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 2		South Africa 1984 - note on case: "Video for Mrs. Colvin" (U-matic: SP; running time 20:00) (ID#: colvin_r_0006)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 1		[Syracuse University] Graduation 05/12/1984 (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: colvin_r_0008)
			M11-127 Box 2
Box 1		[untitled] (VHS) (ID#: colvin_r_0019)
			M11-127 Box 2

Return to top