Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Congress of Industrial Organizations (U.S.) Collection
An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Congress of Industrial Organizations (U.S.) |
| Title: | Congress of Industrial Organizations (U.S.) Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1937-1948 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | recruiting brochures from the CIO, an organization focused on unionizing unskilled/mass production workers |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
The Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO) was originally created in 1935 as a committee within the American Federation of Labor (AFL) but separated from its parent organization in 1937. Unlike the AFL, which focused its efforts on skilled labor, the CIO worked to organize factory workers, mass-production workers, and other unskilled laborers. During World War II, labor organizations in many industrial sectors including auto workers, longshoremen, garment workers, and others banded together under the CIO's umbrella. The CIO had an unofficial alliance with the Communist Party of the USA, sharing much of its philosophy and goals; because of this, the passage of the Taft-Hartley Act, which required all union officials to formally renounce any and all ties with Communism, damaged the CIO's prospects and in 1955 it merged with the AFL to become the AFL-CIO.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Congress of Industrial Organizations (U.S.) Collection consists of a variety of informational and recruiting pamphlets printed and issued by the organization. Most are focused on specific industry sectors, e.g. textile workers. Others publicize the CIO's achievements and record of worker support, or encourage donations.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Congress of Industrial Organizations (U.S.) Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2025.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 14 Apr 2025
Revision history: