Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Corman, Cid
Title:	Cid Corman Letters
Inclusive Dates:	1950-1971
Quantity:	.75 linear ft
Abstract:	Mostly family correspondence, the bulk of which was generated during Corman’s sojourn in Japan during the 1950s.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Cid Corman was a Boston-born poet, editor and translator. He was owner of the Origin Press and editor and publisher of Origin magazine.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Cid Corman Letters contain mostly family correspondence and some outgoing correspondence to his friends. The letters provide a view both of Cid Corman's private life and his growth as a poet. In addition, these letters illuminate the financial hardships he experienced as editor of Origin, his poetry magazine. While living in Kyoto, Japan during the early 1950s, Corman traveled much of the time yet he continued to have close ties with his family, especially his brother Leonard. While in Kyoto, he published Sun Rock Man and Hearth, among other works.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Cid Corman Letters to Arthur Macfarland,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: JB
Date: April 1988
Revision history: 13 Mar 2006 - EAD file created (MRR); 5 April 2006 - Macfarland letters added (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

	Family correspondence
Box 1		Corman, Shizumi (wife) undated
Box 1		Corman, Abraham (father) 1962-1968
Box 1		Corman, Mrs. Abraham (mother) 1964-1965
Box 1		Corman, Mr. and Mrs. Abraham (parents) 1960-1965
Box 1		Corman, Leonard (brother) 1955-1970 (9 folders)
Box 1		Corman, Doris (sister-in-law) 1958-1969
Box 1		Corman, Harvey (brother) 1963-1969 (4 folders)
Box 2		Corman, Sis (sister-in-law) 1966
Box 2		Artenstein, Sylvia (sister) 1966-1969
Box 2		Artenstein, Mal (brother-in-law) 1965-1966
Box 2		Artenstein, Lisa (niece) 1969
Box 2		Corman, Andrew (nephew) 1969
Box 2		Corman, Jed (nephew) 1966-1968
Box 2		Corman, Polly (niece) 1963-1968
Box 2		Corman, Richard (nephew) 1966
Box 2		Corman, Steve (nephew) 1963-1969
Box 2		Corman, Tony (nephew) 1965, 1969

	General correspondence
Box 2		Enslin, Ted 1968-1971
Box 2		Fang, Achilles 1950-1968
Box 2		Gotham Book Mart 1968
Box 2		Macfarland, Arthur 1951-1953, 1961-1962
Box 2		Taggart, John 1970-1971

Return to top