Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Table of Contents

Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arrangement of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Administrative Information

Inventory

Literary manuscripts

Editoral research files

Miscellaneous files

printer friendly version

Coronet Magazine Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection
Creator: Esquire, inc.
Title: Coronet Magazine Records
Inclusive Dates: 1935-1961
Quantity: 68.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, manuscripts, dummies and editorial materials.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Coronet was a general-interest monthly magazine published in the United States from October 13, 1936 to March 1971. It ran for 299 issues.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Coronet Magazine Records consist of manuscripts, editorial research files, and miscellaneous files.

Manuscripts cover 1957-1960. Editorial research files run from September, 1958 to July of 1960. Miscellaneous files include copies of Coronet and dummies, as well as assorted miscellaneous material.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Manuscripts are subdivided by year and within that arranged alphbetically. Editorial research files are arranged chronologically. Miscellaneous files begin with the miscellaneous material (arranged alphabetically) followed by copies of Coronet, followed finally by dummies of the magazine.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Associated Titles

Coronet -- Archives.

Subjects

Journalism -- United States.
Periodicals -- Publishing -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Coronet Magazine Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Esquire, Inc., 1961-62.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: circa
Revision history: 2 Oct 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 25 Jun 2009 - date fix for 121-123 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Literary manuscripts
1955
Box 1 A-Be
Box 2 Be-Br
Box 3 Bu-Ca
Box 4 Ca-Co
Box 5 Co-Da
Box 6 De-Em
Box 7 Ev-Fr
Box 8 Fr
Box 9 Fu-Gr
Box 10 Gr-Hi
Box 11 Ho-Hu
Box 12 Hu-Le
Box 13 Le-Ma
Box 14 Mi-Ne
Box 15 Ne-Pe
Box 16 Pe-Ra
Box 17 Ra-Sa
Box 18 Sc-Si
Box 19 Si-Ta
Box 20 Ta-Wa
Box 21 We-Zy
1956
Box 22 A-Al
Box 23 Al-Ca
Box 24 Ca-Cr
Box 25 Cu-Cv
Box 26 Fa-Fu
Box 27 Ga-Ha
Box 28 Ha-Ho
Box 29 Ho-Ju
Box 30 Ka-Ma
Box 31 Ma-Mi
Box 32 Mi-Ni
Box 33 Ni-Po
Box 34 Pr-Sc
Box 35 Sc-Sm
Box 36 Sm-Ta
Box 37 Ta-Wi
Box 38 We-Z
1957
Box 39 A-Ba
Box 40 Be-Bu
Box 41 Ca-Da
Box 42 Da-Fi
Box 43 Fi-Fr
Box 44 Fr-Gr
Box 45 Gr-He
Box 46 He-Jo
Box 47 Ka-La
Box 48 La-Le
Box 49 Le-Ma
Box 50 Ma-Mi
Box 51 Mo-O'C
Box 52 O'G-Re
Box 53 Ro-Se
Box 54 Se-St
Box 55 Wy-Z
1958
Box 56 A-Be
Box 57 Be-Bu
Box 58 Bu-Ca
Box 59 Ca-Da
Box 60 Da-Fa
Box 61 Fa-Fr
Box 62 Fr-Go
Box 63 Go-He
Box 64 He-Ka
Box 65 Ka-La
Box 66 La-Ma
Box 67 Ma-Mo
Box 68 Ni-Pe
Box 69 Pe-Ro
Box 70 Sa-Sk
Box 71 Sk-To
Box 72 To-Z
1959
Box 73 A-Be
Box 74 Be-Bo
Box 75 Br-Ch
Box 76 Ch-Da
Box 77 Da-Ev
Box 78 Ev-Fi
Box 79 Fi-Gu
Box 80 Gu-Ho
Box 81 Ho-Jo
Box 82 Ka-La
Box 83 Le-Ma
Box 84 Ma-Mu
Box 85 Mu-Ni
Box 86 Ni-Ri
Box 87 Ro-Se
Box 88 Se-St
Box 89 St-To
Box 90 To-Z
1960
Box 91 A-Be
Box 92 Be-Ca
Box 93 Ca-Cr
Box 94 Da-Fi
Box 95 Fi-Ha
Box 96 Ha-Ka
Box 97 Ka-Li
Box 98 Ma-Mu
Box 99 Mu-Ni
Box 100 Ni-Pr
Box 101 Pr-Ro
Box 102 Ro-Ta
Box 103 Ta-Z
Editoral research files
Box 104 1958, September-October
Box 105 1958, October-November
Box 106 1958, November-December
Box 107 1959, January-February
Box 108 1959, February-March
Box 109 1959, April-May
Box 110 1959, May-June
Box 111 1959, June-July
Box 112 1959, July-September
Box 113 1959, September-October
Box 114 1959, October-November
Box 115 1959, December
Box 115 1960, January
Box 116 1960, January-February
Box 117 1960, February-March
Box 118 1960, April-May
Box 119 1960, May-June
Box 120 1960, July
Miscellaneous files
Box 121 A-K 1935-1954
Box 122 M-S 1935-1954
Box 123 S-Z 1935-1954
Box 124 Coronet magazine 1955-1956
Box 125 Coronet magazine 1957-1958
Box 126 Coronet magazine 1959-1960
Box 127 Coronet magazine 1961
Box 128 Coronet magazine dummies October 1960
Box 129 Coronet magazine dummies November 1960
Box 130 Coronet magazine dummies December 1960
Box 131 Coronet magazine dummies January 1961
Box 132 Coronet magazine dummies February 1961
Box 133 Coronet magazine dummies March 1961
Box 134 Coronet magazine dummies April 1961
Box 135 Coronet magazine dummies May 1961
Box 136 Coronet magazine dummies July 1961
Box 137 Coronet magazine dummies August 1961

Return to top