Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Corsi, Edward, 1896-1965
Title:	Edward Corsi Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1918-1968
Quantity:	30 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the author and government official, active in the areas of immigration, labor relations, and social welfare. Correspondence (1922-1965); writings (1922-1956); organizational activities files (1918-1965); and published material (1931-1966). Notable correspondents include the America-Italy Society, Inc., American Council for Nationalities Service, American Federation of International Institutes, American Museum of Immigration, Anthony Celebrezze, Common Council for American Unity, Allen W. Dulles, John Foster Dulles, W. Averell Harriman, Herbert Hoover, Italian Historical Society of America, Irving M. Ives, Jacob K. Javits, Fiorello H. La Guardia, La Guardia Memorial House, Inc., William Lescaze, National Committee on Immigration Policy, National Council on Naturalization and Citizenship, Order Sons of Italy in America, Frances Perkins, Republican Party, Nelson A. Rockefeller, Howard A. Smith, Ralph W. Sockman, United Neighborhood Houses of New York, Inc., U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service, and others.
Language:	English and Italian
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

[Photo at right: Edward Corsi]

Edward Corsi (1896-1965) was an Italian-American association executive and government official, particularly active in the areas of immigration, labor relations, and social welfare.

Born in Italy on December 29, 1896, the son of Philip Frederick and Julia (Pantano) Corsi, he entered America with his family in 1906. The Corsi family settled in New York City, and Edward attended Clason Point Military Academy and Saint Francis Xavier College. He became a naturalized citizen in 1921 and the following year received his LL.B. degree from Fordham University.

Before graduating from Fordham, Mr. Corsi had joined the staff of Haarlem House in East Harlem, which offered educational and recreational services for the local Italian-American community (it later became LaGuardia Memorial House). There he met Emma Gillies, a social worker, and they were married June 17, 1926. Their son, Philip Donald, was born in 1928.

During these years, Mr. Corsi became a well-known writer and speaker about the foreign-born. In 1923 he wrote several articles about Mexico for The Outlook and later a description of Mussolini's Italy for The World. He became the director of Haarlem House in 1926.

Mr. Corsi's government career began in 1930, when he was appointed supervisor of a census district in New York City. In 1931 Herbert Hoover appointed him Commissioner of Immigration at Ellis Island, where Mr. Corsi humanized the entry procedures, and in 1933 he was reappointed by President Roosevelt as Commissioner of Immigration and Naturalization. In 1934 Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia asked Mr. Corsi to serve as director of the Home Relief Fund for New York City. An appointment as Deputy Commissioner for the New York City Department of Public Welfare followed.

As a delegate-at-large to the New York State Constitutional Convention in 1938, Mr. Corsi was chairman of the Social Welfare Committee and a member of the Labor Committee; in these capacities he successfully sponsored the amendments providing for unemployment insurance, sickness and old-age benefits, the care of the needy and the promotion of public health. In 1938 he ran unsuccessfully as Republican candidate for the United States Senate.

During the early years of World War II, Mr. Corsi was appointed chairman of the Alien Enemy Hearing Board, Southern District of New York State. Governor Thomas E. Dewey appointed him chairman of the New York State Industrial Board in March of 1943, and in November of that year he was appointed Industrial Commissioner of the New York State Department of Labor, serving until 1955. In 1950 he was Republican candidate for mayor of New York City but was defeated by Vincent Impelliteri.

In December 1954, Mr. Corsi was requested to serve as Special Assistant to the Secretary of State for Refugee and Migration Problems. Following his resignation from the Washington post in April 1955, he returned to New York to resume his work at LaGuardia Memorial House.

Mr. Corsi continued to participate actively in the many organizations with which he was associated. Throughout his life he was a member and sponsor of groups connected with immigration and the problems of the foreign-born, the poor, Italian-Americans, and labor unions. He was a trustee of Cornell University, a Knight Commander of the Republic of Italy, and the author of In the Shadow Liberty (1935) and Pathways to the New World (1940). Mr. Corsi died on December 13, 1965, as the result of an automobile accident.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edward Corsi Papers, although largely correspondence, also contain biographical data, financial records, writings, published material and papers representing each of his specific activities.

Biographical data, 1904-1968, contains biographical sketches written about Mr. Corsi during his lifetime. Other material includes awards, ephemera, obituaries and memorials which contain tributes to Mr. Corsi and plans for the Corsi Labor-Management Relations Institute of Pace College. Printed material representing social functions and conferences Mr. Corsi attended are included in memorabilia. Photographs of Mr. Corsi, annotated by his secretary, are chronologically arranged, as are newspaper clippings about Mr. Corsi's activities.

Correspondence, 1922-1965, is both incoming and outgoing and is primarily business correspondence, although some personal letters are included. The letters contain personal requests from business associates, inter-office memoranda, letters of recommendation, correspondence among New York State government agencies and private organizations, and general business correspondence. A group of lists (Box 27), chronologically arranged, contains names and addresses of correspondents compiled by Mr. Corsi's staff.

The collection includes correspondence with the following persons of interest, with inclusive dates of the letters:

• America-Italy Society, Inc., 1951-1965
• American Council for Nationalities Service, 1961-1965
• Bixby, R. Burdell, 1948-1954
• Boothe, Clare (Clare Boothe Luce), 1953
• Boys' Towns of Italy, Inc., 1951-1965
• Breitel, Charles D., 1943-1949
• Burton, John Edward, 1943-1950
• Celebrezze, Anthony, 1963-1965
• Common Council for American Unity, 1943-1955
• Corsi, Angelo, 1951-1964
• Corsi, Edward, and Associates, Inc., 1941-1943
• Costello, Frank J., 1948
• Curran, Thomas J , 1947-1955
• DeGasperi, Alcide, 1948
• Dulles, Allen W., 1953-1954
• Dulles, John Foster, 1949-1955
• Eisenhower, Dwight D., 1955
• Freedom House, 1951-1954
• Hagerty, James C., 1953, 1955
• Harriman, W. Averell, 1948, 1956
• Hoover, Herbert, 1930-1955
• Italian Historical Society of America, 1949-1960
• Ives, Irving M., 1948-1955
• Javits, Jacob K., 1951-1965
• Johnson, Charles F., Jr., 1950
• LaGuardia, Fiorello H., 1935-1947
• Lescaze, William, 1963
• Lindbergh, Charles A., 1930
• Mitchell, James P., 1954
• Nardi, Luigi, 1946-1949
• New York State Department of Labor, 1943-1958
• New York State Workmen's Compensation Board, 1942-1953
• O'Brien, Lawrence F., 1965
• Perkins, Frances, 1943-1949
• Rabb, Maxwell M., 1954-1955
• Rockefeller, Nelson A., 1961-1965
• Skouras, Spyros P., 1941-1965
• Smith, Howard A., 1950-1953
• Sockman, Ralph W., 1949
• Stephens, Thomas E., 1952-1953
• Tarchiani, Alberto, 1945-1954
• Thomas, Norman, 1962, 1964
• Tolley, William P., 1952
• United Neighborhood Houses of New York, Inc., 1952-1965
• United States Department of Justice, Immigration and Naturalization Service, 1943-1955
• Weeks, Sinclair, 1953
• Willkie, Wendell L., 1940, 1943

Correspondence of others, 1931-1967, includes a few of Mrs. Corsi's letters and the many condolences she received after Mr. Corsi's death.

Financial records, 1940-1965, include some tax returns, a few bills paid, correspondence about financial matters, and health insurance papers.

Mr. Corsi's Writings from 1922-1956 represent his varied interests. Articles include his early material about Mexico and Italy published in Outlook. Other articles are "Salute to a Lady," several dealing with immigration, and a series on Yugoslavia. Books contains material relating to those written by Mr. Corsi; supporting material for In the Shadow of Liberty includes correspondence and book reviews while Pathways to a New World is represented by a paperback edition published in 1953 under the title Paths to a New World. Radio broadcasts in Italian, most of them typescripts, date from 1941 to 1947 A number of Mr. Corsi's speeches, 1938-1956, are included in the collection; their content illustrates Mr. Corsi's interests in immigration, the foreign-born, labor and employment and his state public administrative work in New York State. Some indication of the content of untitled speeches is supplied in the shelf list. Speeches preceded by an asterisk (*) in the shelf list were broadcast by radio. A small group of the writings of others includes an untitled book on crime-fighting by Michael Fiaschetti, an article by Louis Adamic, and an article on the sculptor, Massari.

Activities, 1918-1965, form a special section devoted to materials from various committees, campaigns, agencies and charities for which Mr. Corsi worked. Material filed with each activity group includes correspondence, agenda, minutes of meetings, reports, proposals, published material and legal cases. Of particular interest are the files on Thomas E. Dewey, immigration and naturalization, and LaGuardia Memorial House, Inc.

Published material, 1931-1966, includes the periodical La Settimana, "rivista italiana fondata da Edward Corsi," as well as material on the Executive Branch Liaison office under the Eisenhower administration, farming and gardening, foreign aid, the Frank Erickson gambling inquiry, Italy, labor and unemployment, and the Day Care Division of the New York Bureau of Child Welfare.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Biographical material is arranged alphabetically by type; within that, photographs and newspaper clippings are further arranged chronologically. Correspondence (both Corsi's and that of others) is arranged chronologically. Financial records are arranged chronologically. Wrirings are arranged alphabetically by type; within that, they are arranged either alphabetically by title (articles, books) or chronologically (radio addresses, speeches). Activities material is arranged alphabetically by organization name. Published material is arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

The interview with John Foster Dulles is restricted as follows: Princeton University Library supplied Syracuse University Library Manuscript Division a copy of the interview with Mrs. Corsi's knowledge and consent, and accepted the following restrictions on the use of the transcript: "That it may be read in the Princeton [Syracuse] University Library, quoted from, and cited only by serious research scholars accredited by Princeton [Syracuse] University. The Princeton [Syracuse] University Library is authorized to supply a single photocopy to any scholar thus accredited. This transcript may not be otherwise reproduced, either in whole or in part, by microphoto, typewriter, photostat, or any other device, except by the heirs, legal representatives, or assigns of Commissioner Edward Corsi."

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edward Corsi Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Edward Corsi, 1966-1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: RT
Date: Oct 1969
Revision history: 22 Sep 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 15 Oct 2009 - restriction updated (MRC); 20 Dec 2011 - pkgs boxed as OS1, OS2, Box 57 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical data
Box 1		Biographical sketches, correspondence 1935, 1946-1947, Jan 1952- Mar 1964, undated - typescript and printed material
Oversize 1		"Al merito della republica Italiana" award June 2, 1955
Box 1		Awards Apr 1939-Jan 1966
Box 1		Obituaries Dec 1965-Jan 1966 - printed material
Box 1		Memorials December 1965-November 1968 - printed material
Box 1		Memorabilia October 1931-September 1949, May 1950-May 1965, undated - printed material (2 folders)
Box 1		Ephemera November 1931-May 1955 - printed material
		Photographs
Box 2			1931-April 1947
Oversize 1			November 14 1946 Luncheon for ambassadors of Italy
Box 2			August 1948
Box 2			September 1948-January 1950
Oversize 1			May 24 1950 Corsi testimonial dinner
Box 2			September-December 1950
Box 2			1951-1961
Box 2			September 1948-January 1950, September-December 1950, 1951-1961
Box 2			May 1962-May 1966
Box 2			Undated (7 folders)
Box 3			Corsi Family 1904, undated
Oversize 1			Undated Corsi and Eisenhower (2 items)
Oversize 1			Undated Unidentified oversize (2 items)
		Newspaper clippings
Box 3			June 19, 1928-October 29, 1933
Box 3			January 15, 1934-November 7, 1938
Box 3			August 29, 1940-December 14, 1945
Box 3			January 18, 1946-May 20, 1946
Box 3			June 10, 1946-October 23, 1946
Box 3			March 6, 1947-December 9, 1948
Box 4			January 10, 1949-April 20, 1949
Box 4			June 20, 1949-November 29, 1949
Box 4			March 3, 1950-June 13, 1951
Box 4			May 12, 1952-December 30, 1954
Box 4			January 5, 1955-April 8, 1955
Box 4			April, 1955 (2 folders)
Box 5			[April? 1955] re: Corsi-Dulles Dispute
Box 5			May 1, 1955-May 1, 1966
Box 5			Undated

	Correspondence
Box 5		1922, August 25
Box 5		1923, November 1
Box 5		1931, June 29-1939, April 5
Box 5		1940
Box 5		1941, January-October (2 folders)
Box 6		1941, November-December
Box 6		1942 (3 folders)
Box 6		1943, January-July (2 folders)
Box 7		1943, August-December (4 folders)
Box 7		1944, January-May
Box 8		1944, June-December (2 folders)
Box 8		1945 January-July (3 folders)
Box 9		1945 August-December (2 folders)
Box 9		1946 January-October (4 folders)
Box 10		1946 November-December
Box 10		1947 January-July (6 folders)
Box 11		1947 August-December (5 folders)
Box 11		1948 January-February (2 folders)
Box 12		1948 March-September (7 folders)
Box 13		1948 October-December (4 folders)
Box 13		1949 January-March (3 folders)
Box 14		1949 April-November (7 folders)
Box 15		1949 December
Box 15		1950 January-June (6 folders)
Box 16		1950 July-December (5 folders)
Box 16		1951 January-February (2 folders)
Box 17		1951 March-November (7 folders)
Box 18		1951 December
Box 18		1952 January-July (5 folders)
Box 19		1952 August-December (5 folders)
Box 19		1953 January-March (3 folders)
Box 20		1953 April-October (8 folders)
Box 21		1953 October-December (4 folders)
Box 21		1954 January-March (4 folders)
Box 22		1954 April-September (10 folders)
Box 23		1954 October-December (5 folders)
Box 23		1955 January-April (4 folders)
Box 24		1955 April-November (5 folders)
Box 24		1956-1957
Box 24		1958
Box 24		1959 (2 folders)
Box 25		1960 (2 folders)
Box 25		1961 (3 folders)
Box 25		1962
Box 25		1963 (3 folders)
Box 26		1964 (4 folders)
Box 26		1965 (6 folders)
Box 26		Undated
		Lists of correspondents
Box 26			1936-1938
Box 26			1940-1941, 1946, 1949
Box 26			[1941?] for mayoral campaign?]
Box 26			1951-1959
Box 26			1960-1961, 1964
Box 26			Undated (2 folders)

	Correspondence of others
Box 26		June 12, 1931-November 10, 1965
Box 26		December 14-16, 1965
Box 28		December 16-30, 1965
Box 28		December 1965-January 5, 1966
Box 28		January 6, 1966-January 31, 1967

	Financial records
Box 28		1941-1943
Box 28		1946-1949
Box 28		1950-1953
Box 28		1954
		1960-1965

	Writings
		Articles
Box 29			"Benito Mussolini," Outlook, CXXXII, no. 23 ( November 29, 1922), 574-575
Box 29			Publicity re: Benito Mussolini, World undated - printed material
Box 29			"The Corsi Affair" undated
Box 29			"Fascism Turned Anarchy to Order," World, November 4, 1928, 1-2
Box 29			"From Mine Worker to Ambassador at Washington," Outlook, May 2, 1923, 801-803
Box 29			"The Immigration Snarl," New Leader, June 18, 1949, 7
Box 29			"Italian Immigrants and Their Children" March 30-May 27, 1942; [May-June? 1942] - includes background material, correspondence, typescript revised and typescript carbon
Box 29			"Italian-Americans: Vast Majority of Them Are Wholeheartedly Loyal," American Mercury, August 18, 1942 - includes typescript carbon
Box 29			"Italy and American 'Millionaires'," Harlemite, September 16, 1922, 1
Box 29			"Let's Talk About Immigration," Reporter, XII, no. 11 ( June 2, 1955), 22-26
Box 29			"...Message to HIAS," HIAS Yearbook, 1948, 42
Box 29			"My Neighborhood," Outlook, CXII, no. 3 ( September 16, 1925), 90-92
Box 29			"My Ninety Days in Washington," Reporter, XII, no. 9 ( May 5, 1955), 10-17
Box 29			"New York Stays Out Front," American Federationist, March 1947, 10-17
Box 29			"Our Bungled Refugee Program," See, XIV, no. 5 ( September 1955), 18-21
Box 29			"Salute to a Lady," Reader's Digest, March 1957, offprint
Box 29			"Trends in American Immigration," Social Work Today, VII, no. 3 ( December 1939), 7-9. - includes typescript revised (October 1939)
Box 29			"United States Immigration Aid Agencies," International Associations, no. 4 ( April 1950), 251-257
Box 29			"War Loans to Allies Considered America's Contribution to War," Harlemite, I, no. 51 ( September 23, 1922), 1
Box 29			"Weak Link In Our Immigration Laws," Philadelphia Inquirer Parade, August 1, 1948, 2
Box 29			"Your State: A Good Neighbor" [January 1954] - typescript revised
		Articles on Mexico
Box 30			Publicity, Outlook, CXXXVI, no. 1; inside back cover, CXXXVI, no. 3 , 106 January 2, 1924; January 16, 1924
Box 30			"Mexico: a Democracy in the Making," Outlook, CXXXVI, no. 2 ( January 9, 1924), 58-60
Box 30			"Agrarian Reform in Mexico," Outlook, CXXXVI, no. 4 ( January 23, 1924), 142-143
Box 30			"Where Labor Follows the Red Flag," Outlook, CXXXVI, no. 6 ( February 6, 1924), 229-231
		Articles on Yugoslavia
Box 30			Background material October-November 1949 - printed material
Box 30			(1) "Meet Marshal Tito" undated - typescript revised and typescript carbon
Box 30			(2) "Jugoslavia: A People's Democracy" undated - typescript revised and typescript carbon revised
Box 30			(3) "Workers and Peasants in Jugoslavia" undated - typescript revised and typescript carbon revised
Box 30			(4) "The Five-Year Plan" undated - typescript revised and typescript carbon
Box 30			(5) "The Cold War with Russia" undated - typescript revised and typescript carbon revised
Box 30			(6) "Jugoslavia's Foreign Policy" undated - typescript revised and typescript carbon
		Books
Box 30			Eduardo Corsi Parla, New York, 1942 - reproduction
			In the Shadow of Liberty
Box 30				Correspondence March 19, 1934-May 22, 1935; February 28, 1955
Box 30				Book reviews January 20-April 25, 1935 - printed material
Box 30				Quotations July 1963, June 1969 - printed material
Box 30			Paths to the New World: American Immigration: Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow, New York, 1953
		Interviews
Box 30			John Foster Dulles, Oral History Project, Princeton University Library April 2, 1965 - reproduction of typescript
				RESTRICTED: Princeton University Library supplied Syracuse University Library Manuscript Division a copy of the interview with Mrs. Corsi's knowledge and consent, and accepted the following restrictions on the use of the transcript: "That it may be read in the Princeton [Syracuse] University Library, quoted from, and cited only by serious research scholars accredited by Princeton [Syracuse] University. The Princeton [Syracuse] University Library is authorized to supply a single photocopy to any scholar thus accredited. This transcript may not be otherwise reproduced, either in whole or in part, by microphoto, typewriter, photostat, or any other device, except by the heirs, legal representatives, or assigns of Commissioner Edward Corsi."
		Lectures
Box 30			"Selections from Italian-American Literature" December 1937, undated - typescript revised, notes, typescript
		Letters to the editor
Box 30			"Why Work?" undated - printed material
		Notes
Box 30			Miscellaneous undated
		Radio broadcasts (in Italian)
Box 30			1941, March 9 "Io Sono Americano!" - printed material revised
Box 30			1941, May 16 Untitled - typescript carbon
Box 30			1941, May 25 Untitled, re: Italians and non-citizens - typescript and typescript revised
Box 30			1941, June 1 Untitled - typescript revised
Box 30			1941, June 5 Untitled - typescript carbon
Box 30			1941, July 6 Untitled - typescript revised
Box 30			1941, August 31 Untitled - typescript revised
Box 30			1941, October 12 "In Onore di Cristoforo Colombo" - typescript
Box 30			1941, November 8 Untitled - typescript revised
Box 30			1941, December 28 Untitled - typescript revised
Box 30			[1941?] "...inaugurazione della stagione 1941-1942 al Metropoliton O.H." - typescript revised and typescript carbon
Box 30			[ca. 1941?] Untitled - typescript revised
Box 30			[ca. 1941?] Untitled - typescript revised
Box 30			[ca. 1941?] Untitled - typescript carbon
Box 30			[ca. 1941?] Untitled, re: Social Security - typescript revised
Box 30			1942, January 31 Untitled - typescript and typescript carbon revised
Box 30			1942, April 3 Untitled - typescript carbon revised
Box 30			1942, April 25 Untitled - typescript carbon revised
Box 30			1947, April 19 "In Occasione del XX Anniversario della Stazione WOV" - typescript revised
Box 30			Undated "The Castelli Family" - typescript carbon
Box 30			Undated "La Colonia Agricola di Vineland" - typescript carbon
Box 30			Undated "I am an American Boy" - typescript revised
Box 30			Undated "Il Venticinquesimo Anniversario di una Grande Fondazione Americana" - typescript revised
Box 30			Undated Untitled - typescript and typescript carbon
		Reports
Box 30			Unemployment Insurance in the Second Year of War, Annual Report 1943, Albany, 1944
		Speeches (* indicates also a radio broadcast)
Box 31			[1938] re: Italian contributions to American life - typescript
Box 31			1939, March 9 "Statement...on Unemployment Insurance" - typescript
Box 31			1939, [April 21] re: need for revision of immigration and naturalization laws, to National Council on Naturalization and Citizenship - typescript carbon revised; news release
Box 31			1939, [October 18]; 1939 July 25; 1939, September 21 re: role of political parties in augmenting social welfare, to New York State Conference on Social Work at Rochester - typescript revised; correspondence
Box 31			1939, November 15 re: need to raise unemployment insurance benefits - typescript carbon
Box 31			1939, December 21 * re: Italian Welfare League - typescript and typescript carbon; includes correspondence, December 15-26, 1939
Box 31			[1939?] re: antagonism toward the foreign-born - typescript revised and typescript carbon
Box 31			[ca. 1941?] "America and the Foreign Born" - typescript revised and typescript carbon
Box 31			[ca. 1941?] "American Unity in the Present Crisis" - typescript revised
Box 31			[ca. 1941?] re: antagonism toward the foreign-born - typescript revised and typescript carbon
Box 31			[ca. 1941?] re: compulsory military service - typescript revised
Box 31			[ca. 1941?] "Council for Democracy Rally" - typescript revised and typescript carbon revised
Box 31			[ca. 1941?] re: the foreign-born, to American Common Council - typescript revised and typescript carbon
Box 31			[ca. 1941?] re: the Italians of New York City - holograph revised and typescript revised
Box 31			[ca. 1941?] "Our Italian Neighbors" - typescript carbon
Box 31			1942, February 16 "Testimony Given on Behalf of Organizations Concerned with the Welfare of Americans of German and Italian Stock, Before the President's Committee on Fair Employment Practice" - typescript carbon; includes correspondence, February 7-10, 1942
Box 31			1944, February 18 re: National Child Labor Committee - typescript carbon revised and printed material
Box 31			1944, August 23 "Syracuse Speech" - typescript, typescript carbon and printed material
Box 31			1944, September 15, 18, 21 * re: Servicemen's Readjustment Act of 1944 - typescript carbon; correspondence
Box 31			1944, November 16 "Child Labor in New York State" - typescript revised
Box 31			[1944?] "Fire and Death Still Lurk in the Building Code" - typescript and typescript carbon
Box 31			1945, February 6 re: New York State laws for working women and children - typescript revised
Box 31			1945, April 11 statement before the House of Representatives Foreign Affairs Committee in favor of House Joint Resolution no. 99 - printed material
Box 31			1945, October 3 * re: Retail Trade Minimum Wage Board - printed material
Box 31			1945, November 8-9; 1946, February 5, 13 "What is Ahead for Labor" - typescript revised, correspondence
Box 31			1946, January 11 "Minimum Wage Laws of New York State" - typescript carbon
Box 31			1946, January 24 re: New York Young Republican Club - printed material
Box 31			1946, March 4 * Foreign Language Press Film Critics' Circle - typescript carbon revised
Box 31			1946, March 21, 25 * re: Red Cross Drive - typescript; correspondence
Box 31			1946, March 26 re: prevention of accidents in industry, at New York Safety Conference - typescript and printed material
Box 31			1946, May 23 re: need for revision of immigration laws, to National Conference of Social Work - typescript and typescript carbon
Box 31			1946, May 28, 29 re: industrial record of New York State, to Associated Industries of New York State, Inc. - typescript; correspondence
Box 31			1946, [August 9] Central Union Label Council of Greater New York - typescript revised and typescript carbon
Box 31			1946, November 2 Workers Defense League honoring Dr. Frank Graham - printed material
Box 31			1947, January 15 Graduating class, Joint Industrial Board of Electrical Industry - typescript
Box 31			1947, February 1 re: displaced persons, to Jewish Labor Committee Convention, - typescript and printed material
Box 31			1947, February 22 Herman Winter Testimonial Dinner, Bakery and Confectionery Workers - typescript carbon
Box 31			1947, February Italian-American Grocers Association of Greater New York, Inc. - typescript carbon
Box 31			1947, March 28 "The Italian Immigrant's Contribution to American Life" - printed material
Box 31			1947, March re: silver anniversary of the New York Women's Trade Union League - typescript
Box 31			1947, April 30 "Testimony on Italian Peace Treaty before United States Senate Committee on Foreign Relations" - typescript
Box 31			1947, May 22 New York State Fund Dinner - typescript and typescript carbon
Box 31			1947, May 26 re: International Association of Public Employment Services - typescript carbon
Box 31			1947, July 15 re: New York State Federation of Labor - 84th annual convention - typescript and printed material
Box 31			1947, August 31 * "Labor Day Address" - typescript carbon revised and printed material
Box 31			1947, November 27 re: displaced persons - typescript, typescript carbon, and notes
Box 31			1947, November "Statement for Journal of Commerce" - typescript carbon
Box 31			1947, December 12 Joint Industry Board - Electrical Industry-Central Needle Trades High School- Graduation ceremonies - printed material
Box 31			1947 statement re: the peace treaty with Italy - typescript carbon
Box 31			[1947?] re: New York State Industrial Department, Binghamton - typescript
Box 31			1948, March re: Italian-American Grocers Association - typescript
Box 31			1948, April 15 * "Message...to Italy" re: Communists - typescript
Box 31			1948, April 21 re: revision of immigration laws, National Conference of Social Workers - typescript revised, typescript carbon, printed material
Box 31			1948, June 24-26 "Eastern Seaboard Apprenticeship Conference" - typescript revised and printed material
Box 31			1948, September 11 re: displaced persons' camps - typescript
Box 31			1948, [November 1?] re: election - typescript revised and typescript carbon
Box 31			1948, November 16 "Statement...Before the Subcommittee to Investigate Immigration and Naturalization of the United States Senate Judiciary Committee" - typescript carbon revised and printed material
Box 31			[1948] re: New York State Labor Department - typescript carbon
Box 31			[1948] "Governor Dewey's Labor Record in New York State," - typescript revised; correspondence, May 7, 1948
Box 32			1949, February 17 "Raymond P. Fisher Dinner" - typescript carbon
Box 32			1949, May 3, 11, 18 re: economic outlook for New York City, to United Neighborhood Houses of New York, Inc. - typescript and typescript carbon; correspondence
Box 32			1949, September 5 "Labor Day Address" - typescript and printed material
Box 32			1949, October 29 * "Address...at Republican Rally . . " - printed material
Box 32			1949, November 3, 5 Republican rallies - typescript carbon
Box 32			1950, May 23-25 "Regional Conference on Labor Statistics and Women in Industry, New York City" - typescript carbon
Box 32			1950, May re: Queensboro Council for Social Welfare - publicity, printed material
Box 32			1950, July 8 * re: One-hundredth anniversary of Giuseppe Garibaldi's visit to United States - typescript
Box 32			1950, July 27 "The Administration's Labor Record" - typescript carbon and typescript carbon revised
Box 32			1950, August 2 "...to New York State Federation of Labor" - draft, typescript and holograph
Box 32			1950, September 23 re: International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers honorary dinner - typescript carbon
Box 32			1950, November 5 re: progress of workers in the last fifty years - typescript revised
Box 32			1951, February 19 "Retreat from Freedom" re: Wendell Willkie - typescript and typescript revised
Box 32			1951, April 18 "...State Employees Group for the Greater New York Fund" - typescript
Box 32			1951, May 6, 8 "Remarks...at the Opening of the Columbus Hospital Wing" - typescript revised, typescript carbon; correspondence
Box 32			1951, May 20 "Remarks...New York Typographical Union No. 6 Memorial Meeting..." - printed material
Box 32			1951, July 24 re: International Longshoremen's Associations Convention - typescript carbon
Box 32			1951, November 27 "Address...the American and European friends of Ort" - typescript carbon
Box 32			[1951] Campaign speech? - typescript revised
Box 32			[1951?] re: New York State's preparations for defense - typescript carbon revised
Box 32			1952, April 17 "Address to Community Leaders of Utica" - typescript carbon revised
Box 32			1952, April 26 "Summary of Speech...Before a Meeting of the Association of Justices of Delaware County" - typescript carbon rev
Box 32			1952, October 1 "Statement to the President's Commission on Immigration and Naturalization" - printed material
Box 32			1952, October 11 "Report to New York State Joint Legislative Committee" - typescript carbon revised
Box 32			1952, October 26 "Address...to the Hebrew Immigrant Aid Society, Council of Organizations" - printed material
Box 32			[1952] re: campaign - typescript carbon
Box 32			1953, April 25 "Remarks...at Testimonial Dinner to George Meany" - typescript carbon
Box 32			1953, October 29 "Address...Before New York State Apprentice Conference" - printed material revised
Box 32			1954, April 30 "...At the Dinner of the Free Europe Committee, Inc., Carnegie Endowment International Center" - typescript revised and typescript carbon
Box 32			1954, July 20 "...91st Annual Convention of the New York State Federation of Labor" - printed material
Box 32			1954, September 7 "...Meeting of Malone Kiwanis Club..." - printed material
Box 32			1954, [September] "Report of Legislative Committee of the International Association of Government Labor Officials" - typescript carbon
Box 32			1954, October 19 "...the Ninth Annual Federal Safety Conference, Chicago, Ill." - typescript revised
Box 32			1954, December 14 "Social Horizons in New York State, Statement...Before the Joint Legislative Committee on Industrial and Labor Conditions" - printed material
Box 32			[1954] "For Utica TV show," re: Republicans - typescript carbon
Box 32			1955, April 17 "Face the Nation," CBS Television, re: State Department and immigration - typescript carbon
Box 32			1955, [April] statement about immigration before United States Senate committee - typescript revised
Box 32			1955, June 1 "The Impact of International Tensions on People," at National Conference of Social Work - publicity, printed material
Box 32			1956, January 24 Committee on Immigration and Naturalization of Allegheny County, Dinner Meeting - holograph and typescript carbon
Box 32			Undated "America and the Immigrant" - typescript
Box 32			Undated "for Journal American" re: noncitizens - typescript carbon
Box 32			Undated Fourth Annual Columbian Republican League Convention of New York State - typescript revised
Box 32			Undated re: graduation and Italians - typescript revised
Box 32			Undated re: Republicans - notes, typescript
Box Box 32 32			Undated re: Secretary of Labor Frances Perkins and her criticism of workmen's compensation in New York State - holograph
Box 32			Undated "Taped interview about Italians in America" - typescript
Box 32			Undated *"A Tribute to the Contributions of the Foreign Born to America" - holograph
		Unidentified writings
Box 32			re: New York State Mediation Board January 25, 1949 - fragment, typescript
Box 32			Miscellaneous in Italian Undated - typescript and typescript carbon
		Writings of others
			Books
Box 33				Untitled, by Michael Fiaschetti, re: crime-fighting undated - typescript revised
			Reports
Box 33				"And Proud of It," by Louis Adamic undated - typescript carbon
Box 33				Untitled, re: Massari, a sculptor undated - typescript

	Activities
Box 33		Alien Enemy Hearing Board, correspondence and legal cases May 7, 1941-February 11, 1944
		American Federation of International Institutes
			Correspondence
Box 33				November 1941-January 11, 1950 (3 folders)
Box 34				1950-1958, undated (4 folders)
Box 34			Agenda and proposals 1942-1965, undated - typescript and typescript carbon (2 folders)
Box 35			Minutes and reports 1942-1965, undated - printed material (5 folders)
Box 35		American Immigration Conference 1954, 1958-1961 - proposals and reports, printed material, correspondence (October 1959 only)
		American Museum of Immigration
Box 36			Correspondence September 26, 1954-November 29, 1965
Box 36			Agenda and proposals February-November, 1956 - typescript and typescript carbon
Box 36			Reports 1955-1965 - printed material (3 folders)
		American Resettlement Council for Italian Refugees
Box 36			Correspondence April 26-November 3, 1954
Box 36			Reports April-December 1954 - printed material
		American War-Community Services, Inc.
Box 36			Correspondence August 2, September 18, 1944
Box 36			Minutes June 1-August 5, 1943 - typescript carbon
		Arbitration cases
Box 37			Air La-Carte, Inc., and Local 295, International Brotherhood of Teamsters January 21-April 29, 1963
Box 37			Amalgamated Meat Cutters and Butcher Workmen of North America, Local 150-F and Joseph A. Kaplan & Co., Inc. May 9, 1961-March 2, 1962
Box 37			Angelo of Mulberry Street, Inc., and Locals 8, 9, 1, and 711 January 9-November 7, 1962
Box 37			Barber's Union, Local 1 and Anthony's Barber Shop and Victor Barber Shop July 13-September 17, 1965
Box 37			Barber's Union, Local 1, with Dezemler December 1-17, 1964
Box 37			Bates Chevrolet Corporation and Local 259, United Automobile Workers August 29, 1963-March 20, 1964
Box 37			Burning Embers, Inc. and Local 164, Bartenders, Hotel and Restaurant Workers October 27, 1965-January 19, 1966
Box 37			Carol Management Corp. and Local 32B, Building Service Employees International Union August 19-November 3, 1965
Box 37			Cases cancelled 1961
Box 37			Collective Bargaining Agreement between Journeymen Barbers International Union, Local 1, AFL-CIO and various barbershop owners October 1, 1964-April 13, 1965
Box 37			Collective Bargaining Agreement between Journeymen Barbers International Union, Local 11, AFL-CIO and various barbershop owners June 10, 1964-January 5, 1965
Box 37			Columbia Metal Products Co., Inc. and Local 400, Sheet Metal Workers June 27-October 23, 1962
Box 37			Consolidated Diesel Electric Corporation and United Automobile Workers, Local 259 July 9-November 25, 1964
Box 37			Consolidated Wholesale Florists Corp. and Local 277, International Brotherhood of Teamsters October 24, 1962-March 1, 1963
Box 37			Continental Baking Company March 20-24, 1961
Box 37			Dan's Bakery and Local 350, Bakery and Confectionery Workers February 21- December 10, 1963
Box 37			D'Aquila Brothers Construction Co., Inc. July 1, 1959-February 9, 1962
Box 37			David Livingston as President of District 65, R.W.D.S.U. (Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union), AFL-CIO and Lewis Supply Co., Inc. February 26- September 14, 1964
Box 37			David Livingston as President of District 65, R.W.D.S.U., AFL-CIO, and Wholesale Distributors Association, Inc. March 10-June 15, 1964
Box 37			District 65, R.W.D.S.U., AFL-CIO and Wholesale Distributors Association, Inc., on behalf of Capitol Dry Goods January 6-November 30, 1965
Box 37			Federal Bias Corporation and Local 252, Textile Workers May 24-October 9, 1963
Box 37			Fifth Avenue Hospital July 15, 1959-January 18, 1962
Box 37			General Baking Co. and Local 50, Bakery and Confectionery Workers February 5, 1962-April 5, 1963
Box 38			General Baking Co. and Local 50, Bakery and Confectionery Workers January 7-March 23, 1964
Box 38			General Bronze Corporation and Local 455, Shopmens union November 8, 1962-April 5, 1963
Box 38			Golf Oldsmobile, Inc. and Local 259, United Auto Workers January 4-25, 1963
Box 38			Hahns Creameries, Inc. and Local 277, I.B.T. August 24-September 12, 1962
Box 38			Hooven Letter September 14-October 29, 1959
Box 38			International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Local 282 and Colonial Sand and Stone Co. July 11-November 3, 1958
Box 38			International Union of Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers, Local 317, and Foster Refrigerator Corporation May 22-September 14, 1962
Box 38			Joe and Pat's Barbershop and Local 15, Barbers Union May 2, 1962-March 6, 1963
Box 38			Journeymen Barbers International Union of America, AFL-CIO, Local 3 and various barbershop owners October 23, 1965
Box 38			Journeymen Barbers International Union of America, Locals 1 & 3 and Broadway Master Barbers Association, Inc. April 28, 1961- March 23, 1962
Box 38			Ketchum & Co., Inc. and Local 815, International Brotherhood of Teamsters August 19, 1960-January 12, 1961
Box 38			Lambert Products Co. and Textile Workers of America March 16-May 6, 1964
Box 38			Legion Utensils Co., Inc. and Local 463, International Union of Electrical, Radio & Machine Workers April 20-October 28, 1960
Box 38			Local 400, Sheet Metal Workers and United Metal Goods Manufacturing Co., Inc. April 2-May 24, 1965
Box 38			Local Electronics Corporation and Local 431 International Electrical Union January 5-March 18, 1965
Box 38			Michelin Tire Corporation and Local 721, Retail Men's Wear Sporting Goods August 2-December 16, 1960
Box 38			Monogram Tire and Battery Service and Local 721, Retail Men's Wear Sporting Goods October 17-December 11, 1962
Box 38			Movielab, Inc. and Local 702, I.A.T.S.E.U. November 1963-March 20, 1964
Box 38			Mueller & Martens, Inc. Local 265, United Automobile Workers August 23, 1962- January 21, 1964
Box 38			Penn Fruit Hills Supermarkets, Inc. and Local 1500, Retail Clerks January 17- April 29, 1964
Box 38			Radio and Television Broadcast Engineers Union, Local 1212 and WMCA, Inc. August 3-17, 1960 (3 folders)
Box 39			Ratner Dairy Restaurant July 23-October 21, 1958
Box 39			Roscar Products and Local 295, International Brotherhood of Teamsters August 22-September 5, 1962
Box 39			Saltser and Weinsier, Inc. August 13, 1958-January 21, 1959
Box 39			Seeman Brothers, Inc. December 9, 1960- February 7, 1961
Box 39			Stouffer Restaurant-General File November 9, 1959-May 17, 1960
Box 39			Suffolk Sand & Stone Corp. and Local 282, International Brotherhood of Teamsters December 7, 1961-April 18, 1962
			Town and Country House and Home Service, Inc. and Local 307 Building Service Employees August 25, 1964-January 7, 1965
Box 39			United Mechanics, Local 150 and Cutting Room Appliances, Inc. June 10-July 14, 1958
Box 39			Waldorf-Astoria Barbershop and Journeymen Barbers Union August 12, 1964-May 19, 1965
Box 39			Miscellaneous 1946; May 1957-November 24, 1964; 1965 - includes printed material
		Big Brothers, Inc.
Box 39			Correspondence March 17, May 3, 1961
Box 39			Minutes and reports, printed material August 31, 1960-April 13, 1961
		Campaign 1941 1941-1942
			Correspondence
Box 40				September 3, 1941-August 4, 1942 - includes 3 photographs (2 folders )
Box 40			Releases October-November, 1941 - typescript
Box 40			Reports undated - typescript and holograph
		Campaign 1950
			Correspondence
Box 40				A September 27-November 1, 1950
Box 40				B September 14-December 14, 1950
Box 40				C September 3-November 4, 1950
Box 40				D-E September 14-November 9, 1950
Box 41				Education-Joint Teachers September 26-November 6, 1950 (2 folders)
Box 41				Ellis, John October 5-26, 1950
Box 41				F-G September 13-November 14, 1950
Box 41				H-I September 12-November 13, 1950
Box 41				J-K September 20-November 2, 1950
Box 41				L June 16-November 28, 1950
Box 41				M September 27-November 6, 1950
Box 42				Memoranda September 30-November 2, 1950
Box 42				N-O September 26-November 3, 1950
Box 42				P-Q September 27-November 2, 1950
Box 42				R September 15-November 8, 1950
Box 42				Releases October 6-November 3, 1950
Box 42				S September 12-November 6, 1950
Box 42				T-V October 10-November 3, 1950; May 16, 1952
Box 42				W-Z October 4-November 6, 1950; June 6, 1952
Box 42				Acknowledgments November 8-December 13, 1950
Box 42				Expenses November 15, 1950-August 22, 1951
Box 42				Personal September 11, 1950-April 17, 1953
Box 42				Miscellaneous September 25, 1950-April 24, 1953; undated
Box 42			Phonotape, interview with Corsi about campaign
Box 43			J. Raymond Jones file October 24, 1950 - typescript
Box 43			Sean P. Keating file October 13-19, 1950 - correspondence
Box 43			Ferdinand Pecora file June 1929-October 1950 - typescript and printed material
Box 43			Traffic-Parking file January-August 1950 - typescript
			Newspaper clippings
Box 43				Corsi Campaign September 14-November 3, 1950
Box 43				Editorials about Corsi September 13-October 5, 1950; undated
Box 43				Civil Service Leader October 10-25, 1950
Box 43				Daily Compass September 18-November 3, 1950
				New York Herald Tribune
Box 43					September 24-October 31, 1950 (3 folders)
Box 44					November 1-3, 1950
Box 44				New York Journal American September 22-October 6, 1950
Box 44				New York Post September 22-October 31, 1950 (2 folders)
				World Telegram
Box 44					September 13-October 11, 1950
Box 45					October 12-November 3, 1950; undated (2 folders)
Box 45				Miscellaneous August 30-November 28, 1950
		Campaign 1952
Box 45			Published material August-October 1952
			Morabito
Box 45				Correspondence May 14, 1952-January 31, 1953
Box 45				Brochures 1948-1952
		The Committee for a Just Peace with Italy, Inc.
Box 45			Correspondence January 23, 1946-February 27, 1948
Box 45			Reports April 1945-April 1947 - printed material
Box 46			Reports May 1947-July 1948 - printed material
		Cooperative for American Remittances to Europe, Inc. (CARE)
Box 46			Correspondence October 27, 1947-October 19, 1948
		Thomas E. Dewey file
Box 46			Correspondence November 1938-February 1955 (3 folders)
Box 46			List of Delegates and Alternates to the Republican National Convention 1948 - typescript
Box 46			Reports January 1947-February 1950 - typescript
Box 46			Miscellaneous April 1944-November 1949 - printed material
		Home Relief Fund
Box 47			Memoranda undated - holograph and typescript carbon
			Newspaper clipping scrapbooks
Box 47				A July 20-December 11, 1934; January 12-May 6, 1935
Box 47				B February 3-August 9, 1934; May 11-July 23, 1935
		Immigration and Naturalization
			Correspondence
Box 47				re: Corsi-Dulles dispute April 1955
Box 47				Notes January 3, 1957-May 15, 1958; undated
Box 47			Research data, printed material, re: Corsi-Dulles dispute May 1953-June 1955
			Reports, printed material
Box 47				January 1924-May 1954
Box 48				April 1955-March 1965, undated (3 folders)
		LaGuardia Memorial House, Inc.
			Correspondence
Box 48				October 29, 1931; 1941-1947
Box 48				1949-1950
Box 49				1951-1956 (3 folders)
Box 49				Potofsky Dinner July 21, 1961-December 12, 1963; undated - notes
Box 49				Statue, "Mother Italy" March 30, 1962-May 24, 1965 - includes 1 photograph
Box 49			Minutes and reports December 18, 1919; September 1945-1965 - typescript and typescript carbon
Box 49			Publicity and reports 1918-1967, undated - printed material (3 folders)
Box 50			Miscellaneous 1965, undated - reproduction; 1 negative
Box 50		Legal Records February 15, 1949; undated - typescript
		National Committee on Immigration Policy
Box 50			Correspondence July 31, 1945-November 12, 1946
Box 50			Reports February 1946-June 1950 - printed material
			Miscellaneous reports by others
Box 50				Economic Aspects of Immigration September 30, 1946 - first draft printed material
Box 50				International Migration and One World August 14, 1946 - printed material
		National Council on Naturalization and Citizenship
Box 50			Correspondence January 25, 1946-December 22, 1959
Box 50			Minutes and reports 1941-1960, undated - printed material (2 folders)
Box 50		National Social Welfare Assembly, Inc. March 1947-February 1948 - minutes and agenda, printed material
		New York State Constitutional Convention
Box 51			Correspondence March 16-September 29, 1938
Box 51			Reports and memoranda March-July 1938 - printed material
		Order Sons of Italy in America
			Correspondence
Box 51				1940-1941 (3 folders)
Box 51				1942 January-May
Box 52				1942 June-September
Box 52			Reports March 1940-November 1942 - typescript and typescript carbon
Box 52			Agenda and brochures July 1940-July 1950 - printed material
Box 52		Reports - miscellaneous 1941-1961, undated - typescript and typescript carbon
		Republicans
			Correspondence
Box 52				1930-1952 (3 folders)
Box 53				1953-1965
Box 53			Releases and reports August 1947-1950, undated - printed material
Box 53		United Service Organizations October 31, 1941-September 9, 1942 - correspondence
Box 53		Washington applications January 14-June 8, 1953 - correspondence

	Published material
Box 53		Eisenhower Administration accomplishments, Executive Branch Liaison Office December 1953-January 1955
Box 57		Census of 1930 Apr-Jun 1930 - scrapbook of newspaper clippings
		Farming and Gardening
Box 53			May 1933-June 1944
Box 54			July 1944-August 1952
Box 54		Foreign Aid October 1947-1961
Box 54		Gambling inquiry - Frank Erickson May-June 1950
Box 55		Italy 1931, 1946-1953, September 1965, undated
Box 55		Labor and Employment May 1947-1966 - includes Upton Sinclair, Letters to Judd (June 1949)
Box 55		New York City Department of Welfare, Bureau of Child Welfare, Division of Day Care [1943?], February 1952-April 1959
		La Settimana, "rivista italiana fondata da Edward Corsi,"
Oversize 2			vol. 2, nos. 7, 13, 20-23, 26-32, 24-44; vol. 3, nos. 1-17 February 14, 1936-May 3, 1937
Box 56			vol. 3, nos. 18-27 May 23-July 25, 1937
Oversize 2			vol. 3, nos. 28-32, 34-37, 39-41 August 1-November 14, 1937
Oversize 1		Preparation of the Site for the World's Fair [April 1960]

Return to top