Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Costa, Joseph.
Title:	Joseph Costa Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1946-1967
Quantity:	95 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American photographer, founder of the National Press Photographers Association, executive editor of the National press photographer. Died 1988. Most of the material relates to the National Press Photographers Association, including minutes, financial and other administrative records; a run of the National press photographer (1956-1967); photographs of various subjects, including some of Costa's work (Eastman Kodak Company, Famous Photographers School, King Features Syndicate, Trans World Airlines); family photographs; and writings by and about Costa. Approximately 9 linear feet of material pertains to the camera-in-the-courtroom controversy. Correspondence includes that of National Press Photographers Association officers John W. Ahlhauser, James Bennet, Morris S. Berman, Joseph Costa, John Faber, and Arthur Witman; and organizations including American Judicature Society, American Medical Association, American Newspaper Publishers Association, American Press Institute, American Red Cross, American Society of Magazine Photographers, American Society of Newspaper Editors, American Standards Association, Associated Press, Cigar Institute of America, Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc., and Eastman Kodak Company.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Joseph Costa was a veteran newspaper photographer whose career spanned 60 years. For nearly 44 years he was photographer, chief photographer, or photo supervisor on the New York Morning World, New York Morning News, the New York Daily News, the New York Daily Mirror, and King Features Syndicate. Until 1985, he taught photojournalism at Ball State University, which awarded him an honorary degree when he retired.

One of Mr. Costa's main interests was freedom of Information. To make courtroom photography possible, he worked on a technical education program for photographers, demonstrations before lawyers and judges, and a respectable and responsible image for the press photographer. He is frequently introduced before his articles as "Mr. Press Photography." In one of his articles on freedom of the press, he states:

The proper dissemination of news by a free press is not accomplished solely by the printed word. There is a visual record, too, that must be transmitted to do the complete job. The object of this complete job, of course, is the informed public on which our democracy stands.

He was a founder, first president, and chairman of the board of the National Press Photographers Association and executive editor or the official NPPA magazine, National Press Photographer, from 1946 to 1966. The NPPA's Joseph Costa Award and its Joseph Costa Award for Courtroom Photography are named in his honor.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joseph Costa Papers consists primarily of material relating to the National Press Photographers Association (NPPA), and reflects Costa's intense dedication to advancing freedom of information and freedom of the press, particularly in the courtroom. Subject files is divided into three subseries: general business topics, National Press Photographers Association, and personal material. The NPPA material covers the full range of the organization's operations, including correspondence, conventions, publicity, membership, awards, insurance, and more. Photographs contains business, NPPA, and personal. Published material contains articles about Costa, clippings, page proofs, a few photographs by Costa, pamphlets and other printed material. Writings comprises books, articles, speeches, and approximately twenty years' worth of the NPPA's trade magazine, National Press Photographer, during Costa's tenure as editor. Audio-visual material contains a filmstrip on Famous Photographers School and six items related to the NPPA in a variety of formats (newsreels, movies and tapes).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Folders are arranged alphabetically within series and subseries.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joseph Costa Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Joseph Costa, 1967-1985.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KBP
Date: 26 Feb 1979
Revision history: 5 Sep 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 13 Jun 2011 - additions, M11-069 (MRC); 16 Jul 2012 - LCNAF updates (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Subject files
		Business
Box 1			Actor and Actress Correspondence
Box 1			Biography
Box 1			Equipment (2 folders)
Box 1			European Trip
Box 1			Florida Assignment
Box 1			Future Activities
			King Features Syndicate
Box 1				1948-1952 (4 folders)
Box 1				1955-1961 6 folders
Box 1				1963
Box 1				Captions
Box 1				Expense Account
Box 1				History of New York Sunday Mirror
Box 1				Morton, Hugh
Box 1				New Studio
Box 1				Photography Column
Box 1				Photographic Equipment 1956-1962 (4 folders)
Box 1				Sarno, Richard
Box 1				Work Schedule
Box 1			Industrial Photographers
Box 1			Kling Photo Corporation
Box 1			Kodak
Box 1			Models Pictures
Box 1			Pamphlet: Beginner's Guide to Color Photography
Box 1			Photographic Society of America
Box 1			Popular Photography
Box 1			Roosevelt Raceway
Box 1			The Silurian Society (3 folders)
Box 2			Sylvania Special Projects
Box 2			Television Show
Box 2			Town and Country magazine
Box 2			Trans World Airlines
Box 2			Trolley Cars
Box 2			General 1967 (2 folders)
		National Press Photographers Association (N.P.P.A,)
			Administration
Box 2				General
Box 2				Regional Plan
				National Officers
Box 2					General
Box 2					Board of Directors Decisions
Box 2					Abbott, Gene
Box 2					Ahlhauser, John
Box 2					Atkins, Ollie
Box 2					Bennett, James (3 folders)
Box 2					Bennetti, Joseph
Box 2					Berman, Morris
Box 2					Boyd, Robert
Box 2					Cooper, Charles (4 folders)
Box 2					Costa, Joseph
Box 2					Dussinger, Marshall (4 folders)
Box 2					East, Robert
Box 2					Faber, John (3 folders)
Box 2					Hammersley, Howard
Box 2					Higgins, Charles
Box 2					Lawes, Bayard (2 folders)
Box 2					Linck, Lester (2 folders)
Box 3					Linck, Lester (3 folders)
Box 3					Mack, Charles (3 folders)
Box 3					McCall, Floyd
Box 3					McLaughlin, Kenneth
Box 3					Mellor, Sam
Box 3					Olson, Cal (3 folders)
Box 3					Rammel, John (2 folders)
Box 3					Richmond, Marvin (2 folders)
Box 3					Swenson, Don (3 folders)
Box 3					Swenson, Leslie (6 folders)
Box 3					Threlfall, Paul
Box 3					Tiffany, Nelson (3 folders)
Box 4					Witman, Arthur (9 folders)
Box 4			Air Conditioner Papers
Box 4			American Council for Education in Journalism (2 folders)
Box 4			American Judicature Society
Box 4			American Medical Association (2 folders)
Box 4			American Museum of Photography
Box 4			American Newspapers Publishers Association (2 folders)
Box 4			American Press Institute (2 folders)
Box 4			American Red Cross
Box 4			American Society of Magazine Photographers
Box 4			American Society of Newspaper Editors (4 folders)
Box 4			American Standards Association
Box 86			Annual reports 1947-1954, 1956-1963 (2 folders)
Box 4			Annual [Yearbook] 1948-1949 (2 folders)
Box 4			Associated Press
Box 4			Associated Press Managing Editors
Box 4			Audio Visual
Box 4, 5			Biographical Material (2 folders)
Box 5			Blood
Box 5			Boston Globe Insult
Box 5			Camera Magazine
Box 5			The Camera
Box 5			Cigar Institute (2 folders)
Box 5			Chapters Program (10 folders)
Box 5			Color Corporation of America
Box 5			Columbia Broadcasting System (2 folders)
			Committees
Box 5				1949, 1954, 1957-1959 (5 folders)
				Audio Visual
Box 5					1953-1955, 1956-1958 (2 folders)
Box 5					Library (2 folders)
Box 5				Credentials
				Education
Box 5					General (6 folders)
Box 5					1948-1950
Box 6					1956, 1959, 1961-1964 (3 folders)
				Education and Technical
Box 6					General
Box 6					1955
Box 6					Policy Discussions (2 folders)
Box 6				Executive 1956, 1960, 1963-1966 (5 folders)
Box 6				Honorary Recognitions 1951-1965 (11 folders)
				Joint Media
Box 6					1964, 1965, 1968 (3 folders)
Box 6					Pamphlet
Box 6				Legislative (3 folders)
Box 6				Liaison
Box 6				Newsreel-Television
				Nominations
Box 6					1948, 1950 (2 folders)
Box 7					1952, 1954-1956, 1958, 1959, 1966 (7 folders)
Box 7				Police-Fire-Press (7 folders)
Box 7				Public Relations
Box 7				Redistricting
Box 7				Regional
Box 7				Regional Publications
Box 7				Reinstatement
Box 7				Resolutions
Box 7				Sports (4 folders)
Box 7				Study (2 folders)
Box 7				Television
Box 7			Constitution (7 folders)
			Contest
Oversize 7				Award certificate
Box 7, 8				Clippings (5 folders)
				Photo
Box 8					Awards
Box 8					Encyclopedia Britannica (12 folders)
Box 8					Fifty Great Newspictures
Box 8					Graflex
Box 8					Look Magazine
Box 8					Miscellaneous
Box 8					National Fire Protection Association
Box 8					Newspictures of the Year 1949 , 1957, 1964-1967 (6 folders)
Box 9					People to People Program
Box 9					Photographer of the Year (2 folders)
Box 9					Rawlings Sporting Goods
Box 9					Rating Slips
Box 9					The Toni Company
Box 9					Traveling Exhibit (4 folders)
Box 9					TV-Newsreel (3 folders)
			Conventions
Box 9				1947
Box 9				1948-1949
Box 9				1949-1950
Box 9				1950
Box 9				1951
Box 9				1952
				1953
Box 9					Clippings
Box 9					General
Box 9					Queen Pageant
Box 9				1954
				1955
Box 9					General (2 folders)
Box 9					Queen Pageant
Box 9					Sites
				1956
Oversize 1					Clippings
Box 9, 10					General (4 folders)
Box 10					Housing
Box 10					Queen Pageant
				1957
Oversize 2					Clippings
Box 10					General (5 folders)
Box 10					Housing
Box 10					Queen Pageant
Box 10					Sites
				1958
Box 10					General
Box 10					Queen Pageant
				1959
Box 10, 11					General (4 folders)
Box 11					Queen Pageant (2 folders)
Box 11					Sites (2 folders)
				1960
Box 11					Agenda
Box 11					General (3 folders)
Box 11					Queen Pageant
Box 11					Site
				1961
Box 11					General (3 folders)
Box 11					Manufacturer's Exhibit
Box 11					Queen Pageant
Box 11					Sites (2 folders)
				1962
Box 11					American Face Pageant
				1963
Box 11					General
Box 11					American Face Pageant
				1964
Box 11					General
Box 11					American Face Pageant (2 folders)
Box 12				1965
Box 12				1966
Box 12				1967
Box 12				1969
Box 12				American Face Pageant (2 folders)
Box 12				Beauty Contest Winners
Box 12				International Beauty Congress
Box 12				Programs
Box 12				Publicity
				Minutes and Annual Reports
Box 12					1946-1950 (9 folders)
Box 13					1950-1956 (17 folders)
Box 14					1956-1960 (17 folders)
Box 15					1961-1966 (10 folders)
Oversize 3				Banquet menu
			Correspondence
				Costa
Box 15					1946-1950 (11 folders)
Box 16					1951-1963 (18 folders)
Box 16				Miscellaneous (4 folders)
				National
Box 16, 17					1948-1950 (7 folders)
Box 17					1949-1952 (19 folders)
Box 18					1950-1958 (21 folders)
Box 19					1960-1963 (11 folders)
				Regional
Box 19					1947, No. 6 (3 folders)
Box 19					1948, No. 6 (3 folders)
Box 19					1948-1950, No. 6
Box 20					1948-1950, No.s 7, 8, 9 (5 folders)
Box 20					1948-1952, No. 5 (2 folders)
Box 20					1950-1951, No. 6 (2 folders)
Box 20					1950-1955, No.s 2, 7 (2 folders)
Box 20					1951, No. 3
Box 20					1951-1952, No. 10
Box 20					1951-1955, No.s 1, 4, 5, 6 (6 folders)
Box 21					1951-1955 , No.s 8, 9 (2 folders)
Box 21					1952-1957, No. 2
Box 21					1953, No. 6
Box 21					1953-1954, No.s 2, 3 (2 folders)
Box 22					1953-1954, No.s 3, 6 (2 folders)
Box 22					1953-1955, No. 10
Box 22					1954, No. 3
Box 22					1954-1955, No.s 5, 6, 7, 8, 10 (8 folders)
Box 22					1954-1956, No. 10
Box 22					1954-1957, No.s 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 (9 folders)
Box 22					1955, No. 1
Box 23					1955, No.s 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10 (13 folders)
Box 23					1955-1956, No. 3
Box 23					1955-1957, No. 9 (2 folders)
Box 23					1956, No.s 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 (9 folders)
Box 24					1956, No.s 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 (5 folders)
Box 24					1956-1957, No.s 1, 2, 6 (3 folders)
Box 24					1957, No. 8
Box 24					1957-1958, No.s 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10 (14 folders)
Box 24					1957-1959, No. 6 (2 folders)
Box 24					1958, No. 10
Box 24					1958-1959, No. 9
Box 25					1959-1960, No.s 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 (5 folders)
Box 25					1959-1961, No. 3
Box 25					1960, No. 6 (3 folders)
Box 25					1960-1961, No. 6 (2 folders)
Box 25					1961, No. 6
Box 26					1961-1962, No. 6 (2 folders)
Box 26					1962, No. 6 (2 folders)
Box 26			Cormac Chemical Corporation
Box 26			Copyrighting Photographs
			Credentials
Box 26				Civil Defense (2 folders)
Box 26				General
Box 26				License Plates
Box 26				Phony
Box 26				Portrait Photographers (2 folders)
Box 26				Privileges
Box 26			Drafting of Photographers
Box 26			Eastman Kodak Company (9 folders)
Box 26			Editor and Publisher
Box 26			Editors
			Education
Box 26				Audio Visual
				Colleges
Box 26					American Press Institutes (2 folders)
Box 26					East Texas State College
Box 26					General (2 folders)
Box 26					Research Papers
				Fraternities
Box 26					Sigma Delta Chi
Box 27					Kappa Alpha Mu (3 folders)
Box 27				General (2 folders)
				Individuals
Box 27					Dr. Edgerton
Box 27					Prof. Edom
Box 27					Vincent S. Jones
				Photo Conference
Box 27					Michigan
					Rochester
Box 27						1953, 1957 (13 folders)
Box 28						1962 (3 folders)
				Short Course
Box 28					Correspondence 1963-1966 (4 folders)
Box 28					Air Force (2 folders)
Box 28					Chicago (2 folders)
Box 28					Cross Country 1958-1960 (3 folders)
Box 28					Florida
Box 28					Minnesota
Box 28					New England
Box 28					West Coast 1953-1957 (7 folders)
					Host
Box 29						Kent State University 1946-1956 (8 folders)
Box 29						Syracuse University
Box 29						Texas A and M
Box 29						University of Illinois
Box 29						University of Kansas (2 folders)
Box 29						University of Miami
Box 29						University of Minnesota
Box 29						University of Missouri (4 folders)
Box 29						University of North Carolina (3 folders)
Box 29						University of Western Ontario
Box 29					General (3 folders)
Box 29					Operation
Box 30				Student Affiliates (3 folders)
				Survey
Box 30					Bowling Green State University
Box 30					Penn State University
Box 30					Southern Illinois University
Box 30				TV-Newsfilm Workshop 1963-1967 (5 folders)
Box 30			Elections 1948-1960 (9 folders)
Box 30			Employees
Box 30			Encyclopedia Britannica (3 folders)
Box 85			Engraver's plates
Box 85			Ephemera
Box 30			Ethics
			Expositions
Box 30				Photography in the Fine Arts
Box 30, 31				Washington, 1957 (3 folders)
Box 31			Field Enterprises 1963, 1965 (2 folders)
			Financial
Box 31				Accounts (2 folders)
Box 31				Audits
				Bank Statements, Bills and Checks
Box 31					July, 1945-March 1950 (26 folders)
Box 32					April 1950-May 1950 (2 folders)
Box 32				Bills Paid
Oversize 3				Checkbook 1948, 1953
Box 32				Check Stubs
Box 32				Expense Account
Box 32				Internal Revenue Department
				Ledger
Box 32					1945-1952 (7 folders)
Oversize 3					1948
Box 32				National City Bank
Box 32				Passbooks
Box 32				Problems
Oversize 3				Statement 1954
				Treasurer's Reports
Box 32					1946: National
Box 32					1947: National, Regional (2 folders)
Box 32					1948: National
Box 32					1949: National, Regional (2 folders)
Box 32					1950: Regional
Box 32					1951: National
Box 32			Foreign Organizations (2 folders)
			Freedom of Information (F.O.I.)
				See also Photographs: NPPA: FOI and Audio-visual: NPPA: FOI
				Canon 35
					American Bar Association
						Convention
Box 32							General (3 folders)
Box 32							Los Angeles (3 folders)
Box 32							New Orleans (2 folders)
Box 33							Calendars and Codes
						Demonstration
Box 33							New York
Box 33							Philadelphia (2 folders)
Box 33							Texas
Box 33						General
Box 33						Study Committee (2 folders)
					Articles
						Published
Box 33							By Costa (2 folders)
Box 33							Edited by Costa
Box 33							Others (6 folders)
Box 33						Typescripts
Box 33, 34					Clippings (6 folders)
					Correspondence
Box 34						American Bar Association
Box 34						American Judicature Society
Box 34						American Society of Newspaper Editors
Box 34						Brookings' Study
Box 34						Kent Cooper
Box 34						Executive Committee
Box 34						Federal Judicial Council
Box 34						Percy Foreman
Box 34						Al M. Heck
Box 34						Fred M. Mazzulla, Esq.
Box 34						Charles R. McCain
Box 34						Robert McCaudless
Box 34						C.A. Morris (2 folders)
Box 34						National Association of Broadcasters
Box 34						Newsday, L.I.
Box 34						Pennsylvania Ban in the Courts
Box 34						Inez Robb Letter
Box 34						United Press International
Box 34						1957 (2 folders)
Box 34						1958 (4 folders)
Box 34						1962
Box 34						General
					Court Cases
Box 34						Atlanta Appeal
Box 34						Billy Sol Estes
Box 34						Kravitz
Box 34						Connie Nicholas
Box 34						Jack Ruby
Box 34						Shrunk
Box 34						Westmoreland County
					Court Documents
Box 35						Backgrounder
Box 35						Briefs (2 folders)
Box 35						Exhibit
Box 35						Miscellaneous Dockets
Box 35						Opinions
Box 35						Transcripts (2 folders)
					Courtroom Presentations
Box 36						General
Box 36						Colorado Hearings (6 folders)
Box 36						Courtroom Coverage
Box 36						Rules for Courtroom Coverage (2 folders)
Box 36						Moot Court Demonstrations
Box 36					Editorial Rebuttals (2 folders)
					General
Box 36						1946-1961 (7 folders)
Box 37						1946-1958 (18 folders)
Box 38						1958-1959 (6 folders)
Box 38						National Association of Municipal Judges
Box 38						National Association of Compensation Claims Attorneys
Box 38						Colorado Courts
Box 38					Historical Background
Box 38					Honor Roll of Judges (3 folders)
					Judges
Box 38						Leo Freund
Box 38						Charles Gilbert
Box 38						Frank H. Hall
Box 38						Al M. Heck
Box 38						Walter B. Jones
Box 38						Harold R. Medina
Box 38					Mimeographed Letters (6 folders)
Box 38					Miscellaneous, A-Z (27 folders)
Box 39					Pamphlets (3 folders)
Box 39					Press Releases
Box 39					Proposals and Reports (5 folders)
Box 39, 40					Research Papers (8 folders)
Box 40					Statements and Speeches (12 folders)
Box 40					Survey
Box 40					TV Editorials
				General
					Missouri Center
Box 40						General
Box 40						1959-1967 (6 folders)
Box 40, 41						Bulletins (8 folders)
Box 41						Speeches
Box 41						Seminar
Box 41					Clippings (2 folders)
					Committee
Box 41						1952-1957 (5 folders)
Box 42						1958-1959, 1962-1966 (7 folders)
					Individuals
Box 42						Corn
Box 42						Freier (2 folders)
Box 42						Rogers
Box 42						Wiggins
				Legislation
					Attacks on Photographers
Box 42						1949, 1951-1959, 1962, 1964 (13 folders)
Box 42						California
Box 42						California and Florida
Box 42						Gugel Gase
Box 42						Milledge Incident
Box 42						Redbook magazine
Box 43						American Photography magazine
Box 43					California
Box 43					Federal Public Records Law (3 folders)
Box 43					John Moss Government Information Subcommittee
Box 43					House Bill H.R. 1017
Box 43					Miscellaneous
Box 43					Wisconsin Criminal Code
				Military
Box 43					General
					Public Information Office (P.I.O.)
Box 43						Air Force (3 folders)
Box 43						Navy
				Policies
Box 43					General Services Administration
Box 43					Interstate Commerce Commission
Box 43					Department of Justice
Box 43					Political Conventions
Box 43					State Department
Box 43					Port of Authority
Box 43				Sigma Delta Chi
Box 43				Universities
Box 43			General Electric
Box 43			Graflex (6 folders)
Box 43			Grolier Society
Box 43			Haun Record
Box 43			Hearst Scholarship Proposal
			Hibbert Printing Company
Box 43				Bills (2 folders)
Box 43, 44				General (2 folders)
			Historian-Faber
Box 44				1955-1962 (7 folders)
Box 44				Amateur Movies
Box 44				Data Displays and Systems
Box 44				Descriptions of N.P.P.A.
Box 44				Edom's History of Press Photography
Box 44				Education
Box 44				Founders of N.P.P.A.
Box 44				Highlights of N.P.P.A.
Box 44				Ledger
Box 44				Miscellaneous
Box 44				Newspapers
Box 44				Photo List
Box 44				Telephone Conference
Box 44				Writings
			Honorary Recognitions
Box 44				1948-1951, 1953-1957, 1960-1963, 1965-1967 (14 folders)
Box 44				Awards Banquet Invitations
Box 44				C.I.A. Award
Box 44				General
Box 44				Prize Possibilities
Box 44				Joe Rosenthal
Box 44				Sprague Award Booklet
Box 44				Text for Awards
Box 44			I.B.M. Contracts
			Individuals
Box 44				Curt Armstrong
Box 44				Ollie Atkins
Box 45				Rich Clarkson
Box 45				Bruce Downes
Box 45				John Faber
Box 45				Mark Ferree
Box 45				John Hemmer
Box 45				William J. Lookadoo
Box 45				Don Mohler (2 folders)
Box 45				Bates Raney
Box 45				Don Swenson
Box 45				Burt Williams
Box 45				Arthur Witman
Box 45			Industrial Marketing
Box 45			Insurance 1951, 1955-1967 (15 folders)
			Inter-professional Activities
Box 45				General
Box 45				C.H. Morris (2 folders)
Box 45				Kansas Association of Plaintiffs Attorneys
Box 45				National Association Claimants Compensation Attorneys
Box 45			Job Placement Bureau 1952-1966 (6 folders)
Box 45			Johns Mansville Corporation
Oversize 3			Journalists' Creed
Box 45			Lapel Pins and Appendages
			Legal
Box 45				Gambrell
Box 45				Incorporation
Box 45			Library
Box 45			E. Leitz Newsletter (Freier)
			Local Associations
Box 45				General
Box 45				Boston
Box 45				California
Box 45				Carolinas
Box 46				Iowa
Box 46				Kansas
Box 46				Long Island
Box 46				Michigan
Box 46				New Jersey
Box 46				New York
Box 46				Ohio
Box 46				Pennsylvania
Box 46				Virginia (2 folders)
Box 46				White House
Box 46				Wisconsin
Box 46			Master Photo Finishers and Dealers Association
			Membership
Box 46				Affiliates
Box 46				Applications (2 folders)
Box 46				Cards and Decals
Box 46				Chairman 1952-1954, 1958-1959, 1966 (3 folders)
Box 46				Charter
Box 46				Drive 1949-1952, 1959-1966 (5 folders)
Box 46				Dropped and Deceased (2 folders)
Box 46				Dues
				General
Box 46					1951-1954 (3 folders)
Box 47					1955, 1958, 1960 (4 folders)
Box 47				Life
Box 47				Mailing List 1951-1960 (6 folders)
Box 47				Post Office
Box 47				Reclassification 1956, 1960 (2 folders)
Box 47				Requirements
Box 47				Roster 1948, 1950, 1956-1960, 1966 (9 folders)
Box 47				Services
Box 47				Survey
				Sustaining
Box 47					1952-1960 (4 folders)
Box 48					1960-1966 (3 folders)
Box 48				Women 1956
			Miscellaneous
Box 48				1948-1966 (9 folders)
Box 48				A-Z (24 folders)
Box 48			Name Contest
Box 48			National Association of Radio and TV Broadcasters
Box 49			National Editorial Association
Box 49			National Newspaper Week
Box 49			National Photo Gallery
Box 49			Photographers' Association of America
Box 49			Photographic Society of America (2 folders)
Box 49			Press Releases
			Public Relations
Box 49				1947-1967 (9 folders)
Box 49				Football
			Publications
Box 49				Complete Book of Press Photography (7 folders)
				Booklets
Box 50					Careers in Photojournalism
Box 50					What is N.P.P.A. (4 folders)
				National Press Photographer (Magazine)
					Advertisers
Box 50						Albion Photo Products, Inc.
Box 50						American Speedlight, Corp.
Box 50						Ansco (2 folders)
Box 50						Argus Cameras, Inc.
Box 50						Auricon
Box 50						Charles Beseler Company
Box 50						H.A. Bohm and Co.
Box 50						Bright Star Battery Co.
Box 50						Brown Forman Industries
Box 50						Burke and James, Inc.
Box 50						Burleigh Brooks and Company
Box 50						Busch Precision Camera Corp.
Box 50						Calumet Manufacturing Co.
Box 50						Color Corp. of America
Box 50						Cormac Chemical Corp.
Box 50						Dupont
Box 50						DuraFlash
Box 50						Ethol 90 Developer
Box 50						Fidelity Manufacturing Co.
Box 50						Oscar Fisher Co.
Box 50						Gavaert Co. of America
Box 50						General Electric Co.
Box 50						Gordon Instruments
Box 50						Graflex Corp.
Box 50						Corp. Haloid Co.
Box 50						Hanimex, Inc.
Box 50						Hardale Associates (2 folders)
Box 50						Heiland Research (2 folders)
Box 50						Ilex
Box 50						Ilford, Inc.
Box 50						Jantzen
Box 50						Jen Products Sales Co.
Box 50						Kalart
Box 50						Harold Lambert
Box 50						E. Leitz, Inc.
Box 50						Lisco Products
Box 50						Lott Manufacturing Co.
Box 50						Mar-Bar, Inc.
Box 50						Medo Photo Supply Corp.
Box 50						Metropolitan Group
Box 50						National Carbon Company
Box 50						National Photocolor Corp.
Box 50						Nikon Inc.
Box 50						Nordic Manufacturing Co.
Box 50						Paillard, Inc.
Box 50						Pako
Box 50						Peerless
Box 50						Plymouth Products
Box 50						Raymond Advertising Agency
Box 50						Realist, Inc.
Box 50						Saltzman, Inc.
Box 50						Shappe-Walker, Inc.
Box 50						Simmon Brothers, Inc.
Box 50						Standard Rate and Data Service
Box 51						Strobo Research
Box 51						Sylvania
Box 51						Time, Inc.
Box 51						Transcontinental and Western Air, Inc.
Box 51						Trans World Airlines
Box 51						Twing and Altman, Inc.
Box 51						United States Brewers Foundation
Box 51						U.S. Color
Box 51						U.S. Research Laboratories
Box 51						Vernier Photo Supply Co.
Box 51						Wabash Corp.
Box 51						Willoughby
Box 51						Wollensak
Box 51						Carl Zeiss, Inc.
					Advertising
Box 51						Bills 1949, 1959-1960 (2 folders)
Box 51						General (6 folders)
Box 51						Convention Issue 1961
Box 51						Marked Copies 1946-1951 (5 folders)
Box 51						Pictures
					Articles
Box 51						General (5 folders)
Box 51						1961
						Background Material
Box 51							General
Box 52							Curtis Laboratories
Box 52							Excise Tax
Box 52							National Broadcasting Company
Box 52							Non-Affiliated Chapters
Box 52							Quill Magazine (3 folders)
Box 52							President's Choice
Box 52							Technical
Box 52							United Press International
					Authors
Box 52						Bedford
Box 52						Cooper
Box 52						Edom
Box 52						Geraci
Box 52						Hamer
Box 52						Kaye
Box 52						MacLellan
Box 52						Muth
Box 52						Reidy
Box 52						Tamaska
Box 52						Threlfall
Box 52						Wallace
Box 52						Woodson
Box 52					Book Binders
Box 52					Cartoons (2 folders)
Oversize 4					Cartoons (oversize)
Box 52					Change of Executive Editors
Box 52					Engraving (2 folders)
					Features
Box 52						Book Reviews
Box 52						How This Picture Was Made
Box 52						TV-Newsreel Column
					General
Box 52, 53						No date (5 folders)
Box 53						1959-1960 (3 folders)
Box 53						1962-1967 (6 folders)
Box 53					Mailing Privileges
					Printers
Box 53						Prospective (2 folders)
Box 53						Burt Printing Company (2 folders)
Box 53						Criterion Linotyping and Printing Co.
Box 53						Periodical Press Corporation
Box 53						Stuart Perkins (4 folders)
Box 53					Subscriptions (4 folders)
Box 54			Publicity (4 folders)
Box 54			Pulitzer Awards
Box 54			Radio and Television News Directors Association (2 folders)
Box 54			Salute to Seasons
Box 54			Soap Box Derby Flag Raising Controversy
Box 54			Speeches Given by Non-N.P.P.A. Members to N.P.P.A.
Box 54			Standard Operating Procedure
Box 54			Stationery (2 folders)
Box 54			Supplies (2 folders)
Box 54			Sylvania Electric Products, Inc.
Box 54			Taxes on Photographic Equipment
			Technical
Box 54				General (5 folders)
Box 54				Brochures (5 folders)
Box 54				B-C Flash System
Box 54				Lighting Survey
Box 54				R.O.P. Color
Box 54				Shutter Speeds
Box 55				Silver Shortage Information
			Television
Box 55				Information
Box 55				Roster
Box 55				Shows Portraying Cameramen
Box 55			Unemployed
Box 55			Union Carbide and Carbon Corp.
Box 55			U.S. Air Force
Box 55			U.S. Camera (2 folders)
Box 55			Volunteers Service Photographers, Inc.
			Working Conditions
Box 55				Football
Box 55				Survey
Box 55				Vatican
Box 55			World Travel Plan, Inc.
		Personal
Box 55			1944-1966 (10 folders)
Box 55			Color Postcards
Box 55			Honorary Tarheels
Box 55			Briefcase Contents

	Photographs
		Business
Box 56			Arecibo (2 folders)
Box 56			Cardinal Spellman and Pope Pius XII
Oversize 7			By Costa
Oversize 7			Of Costa
Box 56			Eye on Science Series (2 folders)
Box 56			Historical
Oversize 7			New York Sunday Mirror - mounted covers
			Publications
Oversize 4				Beginner's Guide to Color Photography
		N.P.P.A.
			Competitions
Box 56				American Society of Magazine Publishers' Picture Annual
Box 56				Clipping Contest
Box 56				Fifty Great Newspictures
Box 56				Graflex
Box 56				Judges
Box 56				Miscellaneous
Box 56				Newspictures of the Year 1956, 1958 (2 folders)
Box 56				Popular Photography
Box 56				Regional (2 folders)
Box 56				United Press International
Box 56				U.S. Camera
			Conventions
Box 56				1948-1950 (2 folders)
Box 56				1954-1956 (5 folders)
Box 56				1958 (2 folders)
Box 57				1959
Box 57				1961-1965 (4 folders)
Box 57				Undated
			Education
Box 57				General (7 folders)
Oversize 4				Short course 1953, 1959
			F.O.I.
				See also Subject files: NPPA: FOI and Audio-visual: NPPA: FOI
Box 57				American Bar Association (A.B.A.) Convention (2 folders)
Box 58				American Society of Newspaper Editors' (A.S.N.E.) Convention
Box 58				Cameras in the Courtroom
Box 58				Colorado Hearings (2 folders)
Box 58				Conference on Personal Finance Law (4 folders)
Box 58				Criminal Capture
Box 58				Courtroom
Box 58				General
Box 58				Long Island Lawyers
Oversize 4				Miscellaneous
Box 58			General
Box 58			Historical
Box 58, 59			Miscellaneous (19 folders)
Oversize 6, 7			Miscellaneous oversize
Box 59			Miss N.P.P.A. (2 folders)
			Political
Box 59				Conventions
Box 59				President Eisenhower
Box 59				President Johnson
Box 59				Vietnam War
Box 59			Portraits
Box 59			Prototypes for Insignia
			Publications
Box 60				Complete Book of Press Photography
Box 60					Author's Portraits
Box 60					Publicity
Oversize 4					Miscellaneous
Oversize 5, 6				National Press Photographer Magazine
			N.P.P.
Box 60				1956-1961 (62 folders)
Box 61				1961-1964 (40 folders)
Box 62				1964-1967 (34 folders)
Box 62			Sports
Box 62			Trains
		Personal
Box 62, 63			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Oversize 8			Oversize

	Published material
Box 63		Articles about Costa
		Miscellaneous
Box 63			Articles by Vincent S. Jones
Box 63			Arts Magazines (4 folders)
			Bulletins
Oversize 10				Military
Oversize 10				New York Sunday Mirror
Box 63			Library of Congress Catalogue
Box 63			Magazine Clippings (2 folders)
			Magazines
Oversize 10				Popular Picture (Life, Look, etc)
Oversize 10				Wisdom
			Newsletter
Box 63				Business (2 folders)
Box 63				Kappa Alpha Mu
Box 63, 64				Photo Associations (9 folders)
Box 64			Newspaper Clippings (4 folders)
Box 64			Pamphlets
			Photography
Box 64				Annuals (10 folders)
Box 64				Exhibit Catalogue
Box 64				Magazines
Box 64			Technical Magazines
Box 64			University Pamphlets
		Page Proofs
Oversize 9			National Press Photographer Magazine June 1961
		Photographs by Costa
Box 64			How to Article
Oversize 10-12			New York Sunday Mirror
Box 64			Newspaper Picture Pages
Box 64			Photo Contest
Oversize 12			Pictorial Living
Box 65			Program Covers
Oversize 12			U.S. Camera

	Writings
Box 65		Annual Report 1947-1954, 1956-1964 (18 folders)
		Articles
Oversize 12			Famous Photographers Magazine
Box 65			Mimeographed Copies (2 folders)
Box 65, 66			Published (10 folders)
Box 66			Typescripts
		Books
Box 66			Words and Pictures (source material) (2 folders)
		Editor
			N.P.P.A.
Box 66				The Complete Book of Press Photography
Box 66				Constitution (2 folders)
Box 66				Pamphlets (5 folders)
				N.P.P. Magazine
Box 66					Bound Volumes 1961, 1962
Box 66					Manuscript (2 folders)
Box 67					April 1946-April, 1951
Box 68					May 1951-July 1953
Box 69					August 1953-November 1959
Box 70					December 1955-December 1958
Box 71					January 1959-April 1960
Box 72					May-September 1960
Box 73					September-December 1960
Box 74					December 1960-May 1961
Box 75					May-October 1961
Box 76					October 1961-February 1962
Box 77					February-May 1962
Box 78					May 1962-February 1963
Box 79					February-September 1963
Box 80					October 1963-September 1964
Box 81					October 1964-August 1965
Box 82					September 1965-November 1966
Box 83					December 1966-April 1967
Box 84					Assorted Extras
Box 84					Editorials
		Speeches
Box 84			Miscellaneous (5 folders)

	Audio-visual
		Business
Oversize 13			Famous Photographers School - record and filmstrip
		N.P.P.A.
			Contest
Oversize 13				Filmstrip, 1957 Newspictures
			Education
Oversize 13				Lecture #3
			Freedom of Information (F.O.I.)
				See also Subject files: NPPA: FOI and Photographs: NPPA: FOI
Oversize 13				Newsreel, Shrunk Verdict
Oversize 13				Tape, Police-Press Panel
			Unidentified
Oversize 13				Movie
Oversize 13				Tapes (2 tapes)

Return to top