Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Craven, Thomas, 1808-1887.
Title:	Thomas Tingey Craven Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1841-1869
Quantity:	1 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American admiral and Office of the Budget official. Correspondence, journal, miscellanea.
Language:	Majority in English, a few items in Spanish and French
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Thomas Tingey Craven (1808-1887) was an American Civil War admiral and instructor at the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis.

Craven was born December 20, 1808 in the District of Columbia. His father, Tunis Craven, who was a native of New Jersey and who early in life was a merchant in Alexandria, Virginia, was a purser in the navy, 1812-1813, and for many years a naval storekeeper, first at Portsmouth, N. H., and later at Brooklyn, N. Y. His mother, Hannah(Tingey) Craven, was a daughter of Commodore Thomas Tingey.

Entering the navy as a midshipman from New Hampshire on May 1, 1822, Craven was made a passed midshipman in 1828, and a lieutenant in 1830. In the last-named grade, he served off the Brazilian coast and in East Indian waters, and later, in 1838-1839, as first lieutenant of the Vincennes, the flagship of the Wilkes exploring expedition. In 1843-1844 he assisted Commodore M. C. Perry in suppressing the slave-trade off the coast of Africa, part of the time as commander of the schooner Porpoise. For almost eight years (1850-1855 and 1858-1860) he was commandant of midshipmen at the Naval Academy. He initiated and elaborated the practise cruise, still regarded as one of the most beneficial features of the course at Annapolis. In 1852 he was promoted commander and in the first year of the Civil War while in command of the Potomac flotilla, he was made a captain. In the following year he commanded the Brooklyn of Farragut's squadron on the Mississippi and had an active share in the stirring events that resulted in the opening of that river.

In 1863 he was made a commodore and was ordered with the steam frigate Niagara to European waters there to perform certain special duties, which included the protection of American commerce. In August 1864 he captured the Confederate steamer Georgia off the coast of Portugal. Eight months later off the coast of Spain near Corunna, the commander of the Confederate ironclad ram Stonewall challenged Craven to a trial of strength in the open sea. In addition to the Niagara the Commodore at this time had under his control the sloop-of-war Sacramento These two wooden ships carried an armament superior in the number of guns, but otherwise much inferior to that of the Stonewall. Craven therefore declined the challenge and allowed the Stonewall to proceed on her way unmolested. His action was much criticized and on his return to the United States he was brought before a court martial composed of nine of the most distinguished officers of the navy, with Vice-Admiral Farragut as president. The court found him guilty of failing to do his utmost to destroy the Stonewall and sentenced him to be suspended from duty for two years on leave-pay. On the ground that the finding was inconsistent, Secretary Gideon Welles set aside the proceedings of the court and discharged Craven from arrest. The Secretary, nevertheless, was of the opinion that the Commodore was too cautious an officer (Diary of Gideon Welles, vol. II, 1911, p. 267).

In 1866 Craven was promoted rear admiral, and, after serving as commandant of the Mare Island navy-yard and commander of the Pacific Squadron, he retired in 1869. The following year he served as port admiral at San Francisco. He died at the Boston navy-yard.

Craven's first wife was his cousin, Virginia Wingate; his second, Emily Truxton Henderson, by whom he had eight children. Three of his sons graduated from the Naval Academy.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas Tingey Craven Papers contains correspondence, a journal, and some miscellanea.

The correspondence consists of letterbooks which have been disbound. Letterbook "A" covers 1841 to 1854 and includes letters and orders, many of which are copies of originals, and copies of sworn testimony. This material relates to the period in which Craven commanded the Porpoise in the African Squadron and contains many letters and orders signed by Matthew C. Perry, the commander of the squadron. It also includes material relating to Craven's service as commandant of midshipmen at the Naval Academy, particularly the practice cruises made by the midshipmen. Much of the material is of a routine nature, but there are some items of special interest: for example, letters, orders, and sworn testimony relating to the murder of the first mate on the brig Uncas, an alleged slave ship captured by the Porpoise in African waters; letters dealing with an incident in which some prisoners were allowed to escape from an officer because of the intervention of a crowd; letters involving payment for musical instruments purchased by Craven while serving at Buffalo, New York; and letters relating to the outfitting, sailing, and administration of the ship used for the practice cruises of the midshipmen.

Letterbook "B" covers 1861 to 1865. Included are letters and orders, many of which are copies of originals and some of which are written in Spanish and French, and copies of diplomatic dispatches. Much of the material is of a routine nature. The correspondence from 1861 was entered at the back of the letterbook and deals with activity on the Potomac at the beginning of the Civil War, when Craven commanded the Potomac Squadron. The bulk of the letterbook deals with the years 1864 and 1865 when Craven commanded the steamer Niagara in European waters, with the majority being letters by diplomatic personnel in Europe relating to such matters as release of British subjects or Portuguese subjects from service in the American navy, the movement of privateers, and relations with the French government and the Spanish government, particularly in regard to the use of the ports of those nations for the equipping of Confederate ships. Most notable among the latter are a series of letters, orders, telegrams, and diplomatic reports which relate to the outfitting of the Confederate ironclad ram Stonewall in a Spanish port.

Craven was responsible for containing her activities and attempting her destruction, for which task he had the assistance of the Sacramento. A telegram from Vice-Admiral Farragut ordering him back to the United States to stand trial for his failure to carry out his responsibility can be found here. The letterbook includes correspondence of Charles Francis Adams (1807-1886), American ambassador to Britain; Gideon Welles, Secretary of the Navy; David G. Farragut, ; Henry Walke, commander of the Sacramento; and W. C. Dayton, an American diplomat in Paris, as well as several other diplomats (Horatio J. Perry in Madrid, James F. Harvey in Lisbon, Benjamin Mason in London, and James S. Pike in Amsterdam)

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged roughly chronologically, in the order which Craven had it in his letterbooks. An index to correspondence, and an index to General Orders and other military communications, appear at the end of this inventory.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas Tingey Craven Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, various.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: ---
Date: circa 1980
Revision history: 1 Sep 2009 - Craven's dates fixed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		1841-1844 (3 folders)
Box 1		1846-1854 (2 folders )
Box 1		1861
Box 1		1863-1865 (11 folders )
Box 2		1866-1869 (7 folders)

	Writings
Box 2		Journal 19 Jun 1855 - cruise in the U.S.S. Congress, T. T. Craven Esq. Commander, New York Navy Yard (161 pp.)

	Miscellanea
Box 2		Depositions and affidavits, with covering letter, in the matter of chiefmate Joseph M. Richardson, charged in the murder of Robert G. Standon on the brig Uncas, December 31, 1843. 1844
			See also Correspondence: 1841-1844; correspondence relating to the murder is filed in 1844.
Box 2		Regulations and rules
Box 2		Other documents

Return to top

Index to correspondence

• Abbott, Joel : 1844 Mar 13, USS Decatur, Cape Palmas; 1844 Apr 25, USS Decatur, Porto Praya, Isl'd of St. Tago, to Francisco de Paula Bastez (copy)
• Adams, Charles Francis : 1864 Jul 8, London, to Legation of the United States; 1864 Jul 23, Legation of U.S., London; 1864 Jul 27, Legation of U.S., London; 1864 Jul 27, Legation of U.S., London; 1864 Jul 27, Legation of U.S., London; 1864 Aug 18, Legation of U.S., London; 1864 Aug 18, Legation of U.S., London (copy); 1864 Aug 26, Legation of U.S., London; 1864 Sep 3, Legation of U.S., London (with 4 enclosures); 1864 Oct 31, Legation of U.S., London; 1864 Dec 24, Legation of U.S., London
• Alden, James : 1868 Oct 13, Vallejo, Calif. (telegram); 1869 May 14, Washington (telegram); 1869 May 14, Washington (telegram); 1869 May 18, Navy Dept., Washington; 1869 Oct 5, Navy Dept., Washington; 1869 Dec 7, Navy Dept., Washington
• Anderson, A. W. : 1844 Jun 15, Monrovia, West Africa, to Matthew C. Perry
• Archer, Pierce, Jr. : 1864 May 1, Philadelphia, to Hiram Paulding
• Bancroft, George : 1846 Feb 19, Navy Dept., (Washington)
• Beckwith, N.M. : 1864 Jun 30, Paris
• Bell, Charles A. : 1866 Nov 30, Navy Yard, N.Y.
• Benedict, Sramueli : 1844 Jul 17, Government Office, Monrovia, West Africa (plus a copy)
• Benjamin, E.M. : 1867 May 14, Navy Yard, Mare Island, to J.C. Hoffmann (a recommendation on a printed form)
• Berry, Francis : 1864 May 1, USS Niagara, to "Mother and Brother" (copy); 1864 May 28, USS Niagara, to Lord Palmerston (copy) (enclosed with Charles Frances Adams to TTC, 1864, Jul 27); 1864 Aug 3, USS Niagara, Liverpool, England, to "Mother" (copy) (enclosed with Charles Francis Adams to TTC, 1864, Sep 3)
• Berthemy (?) : 1868 Mar 16, Washington, to Secretary of State
• Bigelow, George A. : 1864 Sep 3, USS Niagara, Flushing
• Bigelow, John : 1865 Feb 8, Paris, to Horatio J. Perry (copy); 1865 Feb 28, Paris, to "Commodore"
• Bilbado, Rafael : 1865 Mar 24, Madrid, to "Commodore"
• Black (?), Eugene : 1864 Mar 30, USS Niagara at Sea
• Borie, Adolph E. : 1869 Mar 15, Washington (telegram); 1869 Mar 17, Navy Dept., Washington; 1869 Mar 17, Navy Dept., Washington; 1869 Apr 13, Navy Dept., Washington; 1869 Jun 7, Navy Dept., Washington (telegram)
• Bridge, H. : 1844 Mar 4, USS Saratoga, to R. Pettit
• Brightman, Henry A. : 1844 Sep 30, US Brig Mattapoisett, Porto Grande, Island of St. Vincent, to Matthew C. Perry (copy) (enclosed are 5 items, copies of depositions by the Mattapoisett crew on charges against Isaac Dudley for threatening the life of Henry A. Brightman)
• Cassell, Alexander W. : 1864 Mar 29, USS Niagara at Sea, to Henry Erben, Jr.
• Champlin, Stephen : 1846 Sep 29, USS Michigan, Erie, Pa.
• Chapman, G.W. (w/George Maulsby and Robert Pettit) : 1844 Mar 2, US Brig Porpoise at anchor off the Galinas River, W. Coast Africa (plus a copy); 1844 Mar 4, Brigantine Uncas, Mesurado Roads (copy)
• Clark, Samuel B. : 1864 Mar 10, USS Niagara, New York; 1867 Dec 5, Geneva
• Conness, John : 1867 May 15, San Francisco; 1867 Jun 4, Georgetown
• Conrad, Charles Magill : 1851 Jul 18, Navy Dept., Washington, to C.K. Stibling (copy); 1851 Jul 29, Navy Dept., Washington; 1851 Oct 10, Navy Dept., Washington
• Craven, Alfred : 1868 Oct 15, Vallejo, California (telegram)
• Craven, Thomas T. : 1844 Mar 7, US Brig Porpoise, Cape Mesurado, to Josiah Tattnall (copy); 1844 Jun 1, US Brig Porpoise Meduru, West Coast, Africa, to E.C. Ward; 1844 Jun 3, US Brig Porpoise, to George M. Dibble (copy) (inside Dibble to Craven, same date); 1851 Oct 1, US Practice Ship, Preble, Annapolis, Maryland, to C.K. Stibling (copy); 1864 Jan 1, USS Niagara, to Hiram Paulding; 1864 Aug 15, USS Niagara, off coast of Portugal, to Jacob Kimball; 1865 Feb 12, Coruna, Spain, to Horatio J. Perry (telegram); 1865 Feb 13, Coruna, Spain, to Horatio J. Perry (telegram)
• Crawford, A. N. : 1864 Sep 22, Antwerp, Belgium (telegram); 1864 Oct 11, Antwerp, Belgium, to Benjamin Moran (copy); 1864 Oct 14, Antwerp, Belgium; 1864 Oct 25, Antwerp, Belgium (telegram); 1864 Dec 29, Antwerp, Belgium, to [James] Hector (telegram); 1864 Dec 31, Antwerp, Belgium (telegram)
• Cunha Pereira de Sotto Maior, A.M. da : see Sotomaior
• Dahlgren, John A.B. : 1868 Aug 20, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Nov 12, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.
• Dainese, F. : 1864 Jul 20, Alexandria, Egypt, to Capt. Stellwagen (enclosed with his letter of 1864 Jul 27); 1864 Jul 27, Alexandria, Egypt, to Commander of US Squadron in Mediterranean
• Darnall, James M. : 1868 Oct 27, Washington Navy Yard, to [Gideon Welles]
• Day, J. Lawrence : 1844 Jan 17, West Africa
• Day, John : 1844 Jul 12, ?Benley, to [ ]
• Dayton, William Lewis : 1864 Jul 15, Legation of US, Paris (telegram); 1864 Jul 27, Legation of US, Paris, to John A. Winslow; 1864 Jul 27, Legation of US, Paris; 1864 Aug 4, Legation of US, Paris; 1864 Aug 29, Legation of US, Paris; 1864 Sep 23, Legation of US, Paris; 1864 Oct 13, Legation of US, Paris; 1864 Nov 7, Legation of US, Paris
• Denio (?), C.B. : 1867 Jun 3, Mare Island, California, to J.D. Hoffman (a recommendation on a printed form); 1869 Jun 23, Vallejo, California, to John A. Rawlins
• Dibble, George M. : 1844 Jun 3, US Brig Porpoise, at Sea; 1844 Jun 3, US Brig Porpoise, at Sea
• Dobbin, James Cochran : 1854 Jun 9, Navy Dept., Washington D. C., to Louis M. Goldsborough
• Doran, Edward C. : 1866 Nov 30, San Francisco; 1868 Jun 15, San Francisco; 1869 Apr 22, San Francisco; 1869 Oct 9, San Francisco
• Downes, John : 1851 Sep 9, Boston, Massachusetts
• Downs, H. P. : 1869 May 20, Sacramento, California, to G. W. Rollins (copy)
• Dudley, Isaac : see Brightman, Henry A.
• Dudley, Thomas H. : 1864 Jul 10, Liverpool, England, to Benjamin Moran; 1864 Aug 11, Liverpool, England, to American Consul in Lisbon (telegram); 1864 Oct 11, Liverpool, England, printed circular on the new screw steamer Laurel; 1864 Nov 5, Liverpool, England; 1864 Nov 10, Liverpool, England; 1864 Nov 13, Liverpool, England; 1864 Dec 26, Liverpool, England; 1864 Dec 28, Liverpool, England (telegram); 1864 Dec 29, Liverpool, England (telegram); 1865 Mar 3, Liverpool, England, to Horatio J. Perry; 1865 Mar ? 18, Liverpool, England (telegram); 1865 Mar 19, Liverpool, England, to James E. Harvey; 1865 Mar 21, Liverpool, England, to James E. Harvey
• Dulles, Joseph H. : 1868 Jun 25, Office of the Triunfo Mining Co., Philadelphia, to [ ]
• Eastman, Edwin G. : 1864 Jul 18, U. S. Consulate, Cork, to Charles Francis Adams (copy inside Winslow to Craven, 1864 Jul 21)
• Eldridge, Oliver : 1867 Jan 31, San Francisco, Capt. McDougal and Edward C. Doran
• Farragut, David Glasgow : 1869 Aug 6, Vallejo, California
• Faxon, William : 1868 Aug 6, Washington (telegram); 1868 Aug 14, Washington (telegram); 1868 Aug 14, Washington
• Fernandez, Alonso T. : 1865 --, [Ferrol?]; 1865 Feb 15, Ferrol; 1865 Feb 18, Ferrol; 1865 Feb 20, Ferrol; 1865 Feb 21, Ferrol; 1865 Feb 26, Ferrol; 1865 Mar 6, Ferrol; 1865 Mar 20, Ferrol; 1865 Mar 21, Ferrol (telegram); 1865 Mar 21, Ferrol; 1865 Mar 24, Ferrol, to [ ]
• Fillebrown, Thomas S. : 1868 Dec 3, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1869 Jan 6, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.
• Fox, Gustavus Vasa : 1863 Sep 8, Navy Dept., Washington D. C., to Hiram Paulding; 1864 Nov 29, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1865 Feb 25, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1865 Jun 3, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1865 Jun 5, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.
• Fox, Henry : 1865 May 19, Plymouth
• Fuertes, J : 1865 Jul 4, [n.p.]
• Gardner, F. : 1844 May 3, Port Praya, West Africa
• Goldsborough, Louis M. : 1865 Jul 19, US Flag Ship Colorado, Flushing, Holland; 1865 Jul 20, US Flag Ship Colorado, Flushing, Holland; 1865 Jul 21, US Flag Ship Colorado, Flushing, Holland; 1865 Jul 23, US Flag Ship Colorado, Flushing, Holland; 1865 Jul 23, US Flag Ship Colorado, Flushing, Holland
• Goodrich, Aaron : 1864 Oct 1, Brussels
• Graham, William Alexander : 1850 Aug 6, Navy Dept., Washington D. C., to O.S.K. Peck; 1852 Jun 10, Navy Dept., Washington D. C., to C. K. Stribling (copy)
• Green, J. F. : 1865 Sep 22, Navy Yard, Boston
• Greene, B. F. : 1864 Dec 7, Navy Dept., Washington D. C. (on a printed circular)
• Greene, Samuel Dana : 1869 Apr 22, Mare Island, California, to L. C. Sartori
• Hamilton, Philip : 1864 Mar 7, Brooklyn, New York
• Harvey, James E. : 1864 ca. Aug, Portugal; 1864 Aug 12, Portugal; 1865 Mar 5, Lisbon, Portugal; 1865 Mar 29, Lisbon, Portugal, to duque de Loule [Nuno José Severo de Mendoça Rolim de Mourá Barreto]; 1865 Mar 31, Lisbon, Portugal; 1865 Apr 6, Lisbon, Portugal, to duque de Loule [Nuno José Severo de Mendoça Rolim de Mourá Barreto]; 1865 Apr 8, Lisbon, Portugal; 1865 Nov 15, Lisbon, Portugal
• Hector, James : 1864 Sep 10?, (telegram)
• Jenkins, Thornton Alexander : 1868 Jul 18, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Sep 5, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Sep 9, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Sep 14, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Sep 18, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Sep 21, Navy Dept., Washington D. C. (telegram); 1868 Sep 22, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Oct 2, Navy Dept., Washingtion D. C. (telegram); 1868 Oct 5, Navy Dept., Washington D. C. (telegram); 1868 Oct 14, Navy Dept., Washington D. C. (copy); 1868 Oct 14, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Oct 14, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Oct 14, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Oct 16, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Oct 28, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Nov 30, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Dec 2, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Dec 2, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1868 Dec 19, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1869 Jan 1, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1869 Jan 7, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1869 Jan 15, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1869 Jan 16, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1869 Jan 22, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1869 Feb 13, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.; 1869 Feb 17, Navy Dept., Washington D. C.
• Johnson, George C. : 1868 Jun 3?, San Francisco; 1868 Jun 18?, San Francisco
• Kennedy, John Pendleton : 1853 Jan 28, Washington D. C.
• Kimball, Jacob : 1864 Oct 8, Salem
• Kitchen, John S. : 1864 Aug 31, Flushing, to Henry Walke
• Labado, H.? : 1865 Jan 27, Palais Belle-Ile, to Pierre Sisco (with Sisco to Craven, 1865 Jan 31)
• Lenthall, John : 1868 Jan 6, Navy Dept., Washington D. C. (copy); 1868 Nov 21, Navy Dept., Washington, to Gideon Welles (copy)
• Lewis, Robert R. : 1869 Apr 8, USS Resaca; 1869 Apr 18, USS Resaca, San Francisco
• Lockwood, Henry H. : 1851 Oct 12, Annapolis, Maryland
• Loule, duque de [Nuno José Severo de Mendoça Rolim de Mourá Barreto] : 1865 Mar 31, Lisbon, to James E. Harvey
• Luce, Stephen Bleecker : 1869 Mar 6, Mare Island, California
• Ludlow (?), A. : 1864 May 26, Navy Yard, New York
• Mason, John Young : 1844 Dec 2, Navy Department, Washington D. C.; 1844 Dec 6, Navy Department, Washington D. C.; 1847 Mar 25, Navy Department, Washington D. C.; 1844 Apr 9, Navy Department, Washington D. C.
• Maulsby, George : see Chapman, G. W.
• Mayo, J. : 1844 Oct 22, US Macedonian, Porto Praya, West Africa, to Matthew C. Perry
• McCulloch, Hugh : 1869 Jan 28, Treasury Department (copy), to Gideon Welles; 1869 Jan 30, Treasury Department (copy), to Gideon Welles
• Meade, Richard Worsam : 1864 Feb 24, USS North Carolina, to Hiram Paulding; 1869 Apr 3, Victoria (telegram); 1869 Apr 5, Victoria (telegram)
• Millet (?), H. J. : 1864 May 27, [New York]
• Milliken, C. A. : 1846 Sep 19, Buffalo, N. Y.
• Missroon (?), J. S. : 1863 Oct 15, Navy Yard, Boston; 1863 Oct 17, Navy Yard, Boston; 1863 Oct 17, Navy Yard, Boston, to John B. Montgomery; 1863 Oct --, Navy Yard, Boston, to Henry A. Wise; 1863 Oct --, Navy Yard, Boston
• Mitchell, John G. : 1868 Aug 14, Victoria (telegram); 1868 Aug 18, San Francisco (telegram); 1868 Aug 19, San Francisco, to Paul Shirley (telegram); 1868 Sep 16, San Francisco (telegram)
• Montgomery, John Berrien : 1863 Oct 15, Navy Yard, Boston; 1863 Oct 17, Navy Yard, Boston; 1863 Oct 17, Navy Yard, Boston; 1863 Oct 21, Navy Yard, Boston; 1863 Nov 5, Navy Yard, Boston
• Moran, Benjamin : 1864 Jul 20, London, to Henry Walke; 1864 Jul 27, London, to John A. Winslow; 1864 Aug 4, London, to H. Wilding (copy); 1864 Aug 25, London; 1864 Aug 27, London; 1864 Oct 11, London; 1864 Oct 11, London, to Capt. Henry Walke (telegram); 1864 Oct 12, London, to Pierre Sisco (telegram); 1864 Oct 13, London; 1864 Oct 21, London; 1864 Oct 31, London; 1865 Feb 24, London; 1865 Mar 9, London; 1865 Mar 18, London; 1865 Jun 10, London, to Robert Warner
• Moran, William P. : 1863, Navy Department
• Morris, Ann : 1864 Aug 10, Bolton, to Lord Palmerston (copy) (petition, enclosed in Charles Francis Adams to TTC, 1864 Sep 3)
• Morse, Freeman Harlow : 1864 Aug 31, London; 1864 Sep 3, London; 1864 Sep 7, London; 1864 Sep 10, London; 1864 Oct 3, London; 1864 Oct 11, London; 1864 Oct 29, London; 1864 Oct 30, London; 1864 Nov 2, London; 1864 Nov 2, London; 1864 Nov 2, London (copy) (enclosed in Henry Walke to TTC, 1864 Nov 7); 1864 Nov 3, London, to [Henry] Walke; 1864 Nov 29, London; 1865 Jan 2, London (on verso of Vendroux letter of 1864 Dec 29)
• Munro, C. A. : 1864 Aug 13, Lisbon, to U. S. Consulate [n.p.]; 1865 Mar 28, Lisbon
• Nager, W. : 1864 Mar 30, USS Niagara, to [ ]
• Parnell, George : 1869 Jan 16, Treasury Department, Washington, to W. C. S. Smith (copy)
• Patten, William : 1867 Jun 6, Mare Island, California; 1867 Jun 7, Mare Island, California; 1867 Jun 7, Mare Island, California; 1867 Jun 10, Mare Island, California
• Paulding, Hiram : 1863 Jan 2, Navy Yard, New York; 1863 Dec 25, Navy Yard, New York; 1863 Dec 29, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Jan 1, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Jan 2, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Jan 4, Navy Yard, New York, to [James Shedden] Palmer; 1864 Jan 4, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Jan 10, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Jan 11, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Jan 27, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Feb 4, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Feb 5, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Mar 3, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Apr 20, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 May 2, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 May 4, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 May 12, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 May 16, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 May 23, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 May 24, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 May 25, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 May 30, Navy Yard, New York
• Peck, 0. S. K. : 1850 Jul 18, Washington; 1850 Aug 13, Washington
• Pereira de Sotto Maior, A. M. da Cunha : see Sotomaior
• Perry, Horatio J. : 1865 Feb 8, Madrid, Spain, to John Bigelow (copy); 1850 Feb 8, Madrid, Spain, to William H. Seward; 1850 Feb 9, Madrid, Spain, to M. de Mercier (?); 1850 Feb 13, Madrid, Spain (telegram); 1850 Feb 13, Madrid, Spain, to William H. Seward; 1850 Feb 16, Madrid, Spain; 1850 Feb 23, Madrid, Spain; 1850 ca. Mar; 1850 Mar 4, Madrid, Spain; 1850 Mar 5, Madrid, Spain; 1850 Mar 6, Madrid, Spain; 1850 Mar 7, Madrid, Spain; 1850 Mar 18, Madrid, Spain (inside H. G. Wilding to Perry, 1865 Mar 14); 1850 Mar 22, Madrid, Spain; 1850 Mar 23, Madrid, Spain; 1850 Mar 24, Madrid, Spain, to
• Perry, Matthew C. : 1843 Jan 23, Navy Yard, Brooklyn, N. Y., to A. Lewis; 1843 Aug 1, USS Saratoga, Mesurado Roads, West Coast of Africa, to H. S. Stellwagen; 1843 Aug 16, USS Saratoga, Mesurado Roads, West Coast of Africa, to H. S. Stellwagen; 1843 Sep 11, USS Saratoga, Porto Grande, West Africa; 1843 Oct 12, US Frigate Macedonian, Port Praya, West Coast of Africa; 1843 Oct 12, US Frigate Macedonian, Port Praya, West Coast of Africa; 1843 Oct 13, US Frigate Macedonian, Port Praya, West Coast of Africa; 1843 Dec 27, US Frigate Macedonian, at sea West Coast of Africa; 1844 Jan 2, USS Macedonian off Cape Mesurado, West Coast of Africa; 1844 Jan 2, USS Macedonian off Cape Mesurado, West Coast of Africa; 1844 Jan 4, USS Macedonian off Monrovia, West Africa; 1844 Mar 6, Port Praya, West Coast of Africa, to F. Gardner (?) (copy); 1844 Mar 6, Port Praya, West Coast of Africa (2 letters); 1844 Mar 6, US Frigate Macedonian, Port Praya, to To the commander of any US Store Vessel that may arrive at Port Praya with provisions and store for the African Squadron (copy); 1844 Apr 10, Funchal Island off Madeira; 1844 May 22, USS Macedonian, Port Praya, West Africa; 1844 May 22, USS Macedonian, Port Praya, West Africa; 1844 May 22, USS Macedonian, Port Praya, West Africa; 1844 May 24, USS Macedonian, Port Praya, West Africa; 1844 May 24, USS Macedonian, Port Praya, West Africa; 1844 Jun 14, USS Macedonian, Monrovia, West Afica; 1844 Jul 17, USS Macedonian, Monrovia, West Africa; 1844 Jul 21, USS Macedonian, Monrovia, West Africa, to [ ]; 1844 Sep 23, USS Macedonian, Porto Grande Island off St. Vincent (copy); 1844 Oct 1, USS Macedonian, Porto Grande Island off St. Vincent, to Henry A. Brightman (copy); 1844 Oct 21, USS Macedonian, Porto Grande Island off St. Vincent (copy)
• Peters, William H. : 1852 Sep 23, Navy Yard, Gosport
• Pettit, Robert : see Chapman, G.W.
• Pike, James Shepherd : 1864 Jun 27, The Hague, Netherlands ; 1864 Aug 25, The Hague, Netherlands (telegram); 1864 Sep 2, The Hague, Netherlands (telegram); 1864 Sep 2, The Hague, Netherlands (telegram); 1864 Sep 2, The Hague, Netherlands (telegram); 1864 Sep 19, The Hague, Netherlands (telegram)
• Porter, David Dixon : 1869 Mar 13, Navy Department, Washington; 1869 Apr 8, Navy Department, Washington (telegram); 1869 May 15, Navy Department, Washington
• Preble, George Henry : 1869 Apr 22, San Francisco; 1869 Apr 23, USS Pensacola, off San Francisco; 1869 May 25, USS Pensacola off Mexico; 1869 Jun 12, USS Pensacola off San Francisco; 1869 Jun 16, USS Pensacola off San Francisco
• Prince, George A. : 1847 Mar 4, Buffalo, New York, to [John Y. Mason] (copy)
• Radford, William : 1863 Dec 26, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Jan 2, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Feb 24, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Feb 24, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Mar 7, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Mar 9, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Mar 17, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Mar 17, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Mar 22, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Apr 4, Navy Yard, New York; 1864 Apr 16, Navy Yard, New York
• Richardson, A. H. : 1869 Jun 8, San Francisco; 1869 Jun 10, San Francisco; 1869 Jun 12, San Francisco; 1869 Jul 28, Vallejo, California
• Roberts, Joseph Jenkins : 1844 ca. Jan, [ ], to [R. T.] Sims (copy); 1844 Jan 13, Gov't House, Monrovia, W. Africa
• Russell, John Russell, 1st earl : 1863 Jan 15, Foreign Office, London, to Charles Francis Adams ; 1864 Aug 23, Foreign Office, London, to Charles Francis Adams (copy)
• Salter, William D. : 1851 Jun 18, Navy Yard, New York; 1851 Jul 25, Navy Yard, New York; 1851 Jul 29, Navy Yard, New York; 1851 Jul 30, Navy Yard, New York; 1851 Jul 31, Navy Yard, New York; 1851 Aug 4, Navy Yard, New York; 1851 Aug 5, Navy Yard, New York; 1851 Sep 19, Navy Yard, New York
• Sanford, Henry Shelton : 1864 Jun 1, Brussels (telegram); 1864 Jul 1, Brussels; 1864 Jul 14, Brussels; 1864 Oct 15, Brussels (telegram); 1864 Dec 31, Brussels; 1865 Jan 29, Brussels; 1865 Jan 30, Brussels (telegram); 1865 Feb 2, Brussels (telegram); 1865 Feb 5, Brussels (telegram); 1865 Feb 17, Paris (telegram); 1865 Jul 31, Brussels, to William H. Seward
• Sauer, — : 1864 Dec 2, Legation of US, Paris (telegram)
• Savage, Thomas : 1864 Nov 19, Havana, to Gideon Welles; 1864 Nov 20, Havana, to Hiram Paulding
• Shirley, Paul : 1868 Jun 10, USS Pensacola, off San Francisco
• Shufeldt, Robert Wilson : 1864 Mar, [ ], to William Radford
• Simms, John D. : 1841 Sep 27, Navy Dept.
• Simpson, Edward : 1869 Jan 19, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.
• Sims (?), R.T. : 1844 Jan 24, Mesurado Roads, W. Africa, to Joseph Jenkins Roberts (copy); 1844 Jan 29, Cape Palmas, to Matthew C. Perry
• Sisco, Pierre : 1864 Sep 8, Dover, England; 1865 Jan 31, Dover, England (copy) (with Labado to Sisco, 1865, Jan 27)
• Smith, A. N. : 1863 Oct 5, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1863 Nov 11, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Jan 13, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Feb 6, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Feb 8, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Feb 9, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Feb 19, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Feb 25, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Mar 4, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Mar 5, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Apr 7, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Apr 13, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Apr 29, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to Pierce Archer, Jr.; 1864 May 5, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to William Gaston Steele; 1864 May 28, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Sep 28, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1865 Mar 16, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.
• Smith, A. Thomas : 1843 Jun 23, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to Matthew C. Perry
• Smith, G. : 1864 Mar 31, USS Niagara at sea, to Henry Erben
• Smith, James : 1864 Feb 22, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.
• Smith, Joseph : 1865 Sep 27, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.
• Smith, Melancton : 1868 Jul 20, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to Commanding Officer, North Pacific Squadron; 1868 Jul 21, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Jul 28, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to Henry Knot Thatcher; 1868 Jul 31, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Aug 13, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Aug 18, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Sep 1, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Oct 3, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Oct 12, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Oct 13, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Oct 17, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Nov 3, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Nov 4, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Dec 4, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1869 Jan 5, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1869 Jan 7, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1869 Feb 13, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1869 Feb 13, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1869 Feb 17, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.
• Sotomaior, Antonio Maria da Cunha Pereira de : 1864 Feb 17, New York; 1864 Feb 27, New York
• Stellwagen, H. S. : 1843 Oct 24, US Brig Porpoise, Monrovia, W. Africa
• Stillwell, Silas Moore : 1844 Nov 21, US Marshall's Office, S. District of New York
• Stribling, C. K. : 1851 Jul 21, U. S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD; 1851 Jul 29, U. S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD; 1851 Aug 26, U. S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD; 1851 Aug 26, U. S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD; 1851 Sep 6, U. S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD; 1851 Sep 6, U. S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD; 1852 Jun 14, U. S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD; 1852 Jun 18, U. S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD; 1852 Jun 21, U. S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD; 1852 Sep 11, U. S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD; 1852 Sep 11, U. S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD
• Stringham, Silas Horton : 1864 Sep 28, U. S. Navy Yard, Boston; 1865 Sep 22, U. S. Navy Yard, Boston; 1865 Sep 25, U. S. Navy Yard, Boston
• Tabor, J. W. : 1869 Jan 13, Treasury Dept. [Washington], to Gideon Welles
• Tattnall, Josiah : 1844 Mar 8, USS Saratoga, Cape Mesurado, W. Africa, to Charles Heywood, Charles Boggs, & Horatio Bridge (copy); 1844 Mar 11, USS Saratoga, Mesurado Roads, W. Africa, to Matthew C. Perry; 1844 Jun 28, USS Saratoga
• Thatcher, Henry Knox : 1868 Jul 30, USS Pensacola
• Turner, Thomas : 1868 Jul 22, USS Pouhatan on her passage to Payta, Panama; 1869 Sep 25, USS Pensacola off Mare Island, Calif.; 1869 Sep 25, USS Pensacola off Mare Island, Calif.; 1869 Sep 25, USS Pensacola off Mare Island, Calif.; 1869 Sep 27, USS Pensacola off Mare Island, Calif.; 1869 Oct 5, USS Pensacola off Mare Island, Calif.
• Valiant, William Thomas : 1861 Jun 5, Custom House, Baltimore, to Salmon P. Chase (copy)
• Van Dyk, Walter : 1869 Aug 5, San Francisco, to [George M. Robeson] (copy)
• Vendroux, [ ] : 1864 Dec 26, Calais, France, to John Bigelow; 1864 Dec 29, Calais, France, to U. S. Minister at Brussels; 1864 Dec 29, Calais, France, to Consular Agency of the United States; 1865 Jan 5, Calais, France
• Walke, Henry : 1864 Jul 22, USS Sacramento; 1864 Jul 31, USS Sacramento; 1864 Aug 31, USS Sacramento (plus a copy); 1864 Sep 13, France (telegram); 1864 Sep 17, USS Sacramento; 1864 Sep 23, USS Sacramento; 1864 Oct 4, USS Sacramento; 1864 Oct 29, USS Sacramento; 1864 Nov 1, USS Sacramento; 1864 Nov 7, USS Sacramento; 1864 Nov 16, USS Sacramento; 1865 Jan 26, USS Sacramento; 1865 Feb 15, USS Sacramento
• Ward, Edward C., Jr. : 1844 Jun 3, US Brig Dolphin, at sea
• Ward, James Harmon : 1861 Jun 12, Washington, to Gideon Welles (copy)
• Warner, Robert : 1865 Jun 13, Cork
• Warrington, Lewis : 1844 Mar 15, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to Matthew C. Perry (copy)
• Watkins, M. Carrington : 1844 Jun 26, US Brig Porpoise, at sea
• Welles, Gideon : 1861 Apr 27, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to Samuel L. Breese; 1861 May 17, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to William Budd; 1861 May 18, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1861 Jun 5, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to James H. Ward; 1861 Jun 6, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to James H. Ward; 1861 Jun 18, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to James H. Ward; 1861 Jun 18, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to J. C. Rowan; 1863 Feb 17, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to John B. Montgomery (printed circular); 1863 Jun 9, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1863 Jun 22, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1863 Jun 27, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1863 Oct 7, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1863 Oct 13, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1863 Oct 24, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1863 Oct 27, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1863 Oct 30, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1863 Nov 2, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1863 Nov 6, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1863 Dec 1, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1863 Dec 11, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C. (telegram); 1863 Dec 24, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C. (plus a copy); 1863 Dec 29, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Jan 5, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Feb 1, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Mar 8, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Apr 16, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Apr 20, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Apr 30, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 May 24, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 May 30, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Aug 15, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Aug 16, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Aug 16, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Aug 19, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Oct 22, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Nov 28, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Nov 29, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Dec 29, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1864 Dec 29, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1865 Jan 17, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1865 Feb 25, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1865 Sep 26, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1865 Nov 1, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C. (telegram); 1868 Mar 24, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 May 27, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Jul 11, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Jul 15, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Jul 27, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to Henry Knox Thatcher; 1868 Aug 4, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Aug 27, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C. (copy); 1868 Sep 8, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Sep 9, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C. (telegram); 1868 Sep 9, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Sep 11, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Sep 12, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C. (printed circular); 1868 Oct 1, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Oct 7, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Oct 13, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Oct 16, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Oct 22, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Nov 2, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Nov 10, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Dec 3, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Dec 3, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Dec 4, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Dec 7, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Dec 9, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1868 Dec 14, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1869 Jan 6, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1869 Jan 16, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1869 Jan 20, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1869 Jan 27, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1869 Jan 28, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1869 Feb 1, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C., to Hugh McCulloch (copy); 1869 Feb 1, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1869 Feb 4, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C. (telegram); 1869 Feb 6, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.; 1869 Mar 3, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.
• Wilding, H. G. : 1864 Aug 8, Liverpool, England; 1864 Aug 26, Liverpool, England; 1864 Oct 12, Liverpool, England (telegram); 1865 Mar 14, Liverpool, England, to Horatio J. Perry (copy) (with Perry to TTC, 1865 Mar 18)
• Winslow, John Ancrum : 1864 Jul 21, USS Kearsarge; 1864 Jul 28, USS Kearsarge
• Wise, Henry Augustus : 1865 Dec 29, Navy Dept., Washington, D. C.

Return to top

Index to General Orders, notes, etc

• [unidentified] : 1864 Oct 14, Description of the Sea King wood screw steamer
• Craven, Thomas Tingey : 1843 Oct 31, Internal Rules & Reg. on board the US Brig Porpoise, to all those under the command of TTC; 1843 Mar 31, General Order (hereafter G. O.), to All Capts., Commanders, & C. O. of His Majesty's Ships
• Henshaw, David : 1843 Oct 11, Navy Department, Washington D. C., to Matthew C. Perry (copy); 1844 Jan 20, Navy Reg: Undress Uniform & Chaplains Uniform, to ---
• King of Spain : 1861 Jul 29, Proclamation, to Ministry of Foreign Affairs
• Perry, Matthew C., USS Macedonia : 1843 Sep 1, G. O. #7, to C. O. of all US vessels attached to the African Squadron; 1843 Sep 14, G. O. #9, to C. O. of all US vessels attached to the African Squadron; 1843 Nov 18, G. O. #10, to C. O. of all US vessels attached to the African Squadron; 1843 Nov 24, Additional G. O., to C. O. of all US vessels attached to the African Squadron; 1843 Nov 30, G. O. #11, to C. O. of all US vessels attached to the African Squadron; 1843 Nov 6, G. O. #12, to C. O. of all US vessels attached to the African Squadron; 1844 Mar 2, G. O. #13, to C. O. of all US vessels attached to the African Squadron; 1844 Mar 6, G. O. #14, to C. O. of all US vessel attached to the African Squadron; 1844 Sep 16, G. O. #19, to C. O. of all US vessels attached to the African Squadron
• Perry, Matthew C., USS Saratoga : 1843 Jun 21, G. O. #1, to C. O. of all US vessels attached to the African Squadron; 1843 Jul 3, G. O. #2, to C. O. of all US vessels attached to the African Squadron; 1843 Jul 10, G. O. #4, to C. O. of all US vessels attached to the African Squadron; 1843 Jul 31, G. O. #5, to C. O. of all US vessels attached to the African Squadron; 1843 Aug 1, G. O. #6, to C. O. of all US vessels attached to the African Squadron
• Perry, Matthew C. : ---, Extract from letter of Capt. Foote, R. M., to ---
• Rodgers, William P. : ---, US Navy Rules & Reg., Chapter #20, to Submitted to Congress
• Witnesses, US Brig Uncas : 1843 Dec 31, Testimony on the murder of Mr. (Mate) Richardson by Robert G. Standon, to all concerned

Return to top