Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Creative Film Foundation. |
| Title: | Creative Film Foundation Records |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1945-1961 |
| Quantity: | 1.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Administrative materials, correspondence, event records, financial materials, and grant management materials of the experimental film organization. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The Creative Film Foundation was formed by American experimental filmmaker Maya Deren to broaden support for experimental film. Members of the foundation’s Board of Directors included writer and mythologist Joseph Campbell, book publisher Barney Rossett of Grove Press, and Cinema 16 founder Amos Vogel, among other writers and artists.
Upon its incorporation as a non-profit organization in 1955, the Foundation offered equipment loans and grants for production, exhibition, and educational activities. This support was available to filmmakers whose work was concerned with creative experimentation and development in film techniques and form. In 1956, they held a series of forums dedicated to exploring the relationship of film to dance, music, myth, plastic arts, poetry, and art. From 1956 to 1960, in collaboration with Cinema 16, the Foundation presented annual awards to independent experimental filmmakers.
The Creative Film Foundation is no longer active.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Creative Film Foundation Records contain administrative materials, correspondence, event records, financial materials, and grant management materials.
Administrative materials includes founding documents, meeting announcements and minutes, memos, and reports.
Correspondence contains communications relating to the foundation’s advisory board, film forums, legal representation, press, and member opinion surveys.
The Events series contains voting records and promotional materials for the Annual Creative Film Awards and programs for a series of film forums.
Financial materials consists of contracts, member contribution records, fundraising materials, tax exemption records, and a ledger.
The Grant management series includes forms and procedures for applicants, grant inquiries, approved and rejected applications, and correspondence with the grantees.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Creative Film Foundation Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Grove Press.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2013
Revision history: 06 March 2024 - collection fully processed (SAB)
Inventory
| Administrative materials | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Brochure and addenda 1958 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Founding documents 1954-1955 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Letterhead and directory undated | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Mailing book 1956-1959 (4 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Meeting announcements and minutes 1955-1959 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Memorandums 1955-1956 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Press releases 1954-1956 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Purposes and procedures 1956 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Reports 1955-1958 | ||||||||||
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Advisory board 1954-1956 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Film forums 1956 | ||||||||||
| Grants | |||||||||||
| See Grant management, grantee correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Legal 1954-1956 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Press 1955-1956 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Surveys and questionaires 1956 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Miscellaneous A-Z 1955-1961 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Events | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Annual Creative Film Awards 1956-1958, 1960 (4 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Film forum series 1956 | ||||||||||
| Financial materials | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Contributions 1956 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Fundraising efforts 1956 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Ledger book 1955-1959 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Sales contracts 1945-1959 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Taxes and exemption 1957-1958, 1961 | ||||||||||
| Grant management | |||||||||||
| Box 3 | Forms and procedures 1954-1956 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Grantee correspondence 1954-1957 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Grants approved 1956 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Grants rejected 1955-1956 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Grants satisfied 1955 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Inquiries 1955-1957 | ||||||||||