Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Indiana University, Bloomington. -- Department of Afro-American Studies.
Title:	Current Issues in Black Political Activism Recordings
Inclusive Dates:	1972
Quantity:	6 items
Abstract:	A series of lectures on the history, current issues, and future of Black political activism in the United States
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

In the early 1970s, Black activists recognized the urgent need for a fresh wave of Black political activism. To address this need, the first National Black Political Convention was held from March 10 to 12, 1972 in the high school gym in Gary, Indiana. Over ten thousand African-Americans from 50 states attended the convention united around the idea of addressing the need for social and economic changes for the black communities in the United States. The primary objective of the convention was to inspire more Black Americans to run for public office, thereby increasing representation in the public sector and advocating for fundamental political and socio-economic transformations.

At the convention, "The Gary Declaration: Black Politics at the Crossroads" was released. It highlighted the fact that the current political system, predominantly governed by white politicians, is not inclusive and equal towards Black people, and does not adequately address the issues faced by the Black community. One of the key takeaways was that the only way to overcome this problem and transform the political system was through the birth of new independent Black Politics. Renowned attendees included Richard Hatcher, the mayor of Gary; Jesse Jackson, civil rights activist; and Charles C. Diggs Jr., a member of the U.S. House of Representatives. Diggs and Hatcher were the two keynote speakers at the National Black Political Convention.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Current Issues in Black Political Activism Recordings contains six audiotape recordings of talks given by prominent Black activists during the National Black Political Convention in Gary, Indiana in 1972.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The recordings are organized in alphabetical order by the last name of the speaker.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Current Issues in Black Political Activism Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown, 2023.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: IRP
Date: 19 Jul 2023
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

	Recordings
Box 1		Bond, Julian, State Senator, Georgia [1972] (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 82:00) (ID#: curr_iss_bpa_001)
Box 1		Clay, William, U.S. Congressman, St. Louis, Missouri; Stokes, Louis, U.S. Congressman, Cleveland, Ohio [1972] (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 177:00) (ID#: curr_iss_bpa_005)
Box 1		Dellums, Ronald, U.S. Congressman, Berkeley, California; Rangel, Charles, U.S. Congressman, New York [1972] (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 150:00) (ID#: curr_iss_bpa_002)
Box 1		Diggs, Charles, U.S. Congressman, Detroit, Michigan; Hawkins, Augustus [1972] (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 180:00) (ID#: curr_iss_bpa_006)
Box 1		Fauntroy, Walter, U.S. Congressman, District of Columbia; Mitchell, Parren, U.S. Congressman, New York [1972] (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 120:00) (ID#: curr_iss_bpa_004)
Box 1		Hamilton, Charles, Profesor of Political Science, Columbia University [1972] (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 160:00) (ID#: curr_iss_bpa_003)

Return to top