Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Daboll, John. |
| Title: | John and Patty Daboll Letter |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1812 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Manuscript letter, signed, dated 30 July 1812 from John and Patty Daboll of Aurelius, N.Y., to Richardson Miner of Colraine, Mass., describing the settlement of the region around the Central New York towns of Aurelius, Auburn, and Union Springs in significant detail. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
John Daboll and his wife Patty (real name Martha) were early settlers of the Central New York town of Aurelius. Based on information given in the letter, John was a farmer and woodworker or cabinetmaker. Richardson Miner, the recipient of the letter, was Mrs. Daboll's father.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The John and Patty Daboll Letter consists of a single manuscript letter, signed by both the Dabolls, dated 30 July 1812. The letter is addressed to Mrs. Daboll's father Richardson Miner of Colraine, Mass. The first part of the letter is from John Daboll and describes the town of Aurelius, New York as well as surrounding towns of Union Springs and Auburn. The Dabolls had evidently recently settled in Aurelius:
[We are] in a pretty compact neighborhood inhabitants are mostly Baptist and Congregationalists and appear to be a well-bred group being mostly from Chaddam [Chatham] and Stratford in Connecticut. We have a good library 1/2 a mile distant and a good school 50 rods off...
Daboll goes on to describe the crops, businesses, land, and some of the local residents ("...the springs are the property of Judge Walter Wood a Friend Quaker and very rich..."). The last part of the letter is from Mrs. Daboll, who mentions the friendliness of the people.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
John and Patty Daboll Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchased from Adah C. Blackman Fund, 2012.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 23 Aug 2012
Revision history: