Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Datz, A. Mark (Abraham Mark), 1889-1969
Title:	A. Mark Datz Papers
Dates:	1916-1969
Quantity:	9.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence (1926-1965), limited to a very few letters; exhibition catalogs and announcements for one-man and group shows (1926-1963); 12 journals (1943-1969); photographs and negatives of Datz's work; 80 etchings on 77 copper plates; and clippings (1916-1941).
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

American Jewish painter, etcher. Born in Russia 1889, emigrated to the United States in 1903.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Note: Boxes 2-6 are VERY HEAVY. Handle with care.

Spanning 1916 through 1969, the A. Mark Datz Papers comprises biographical material, correspondence, artwork, memorabilia, and writings of the American painter and etcher (1889-1969). A Russian Jew by birth, Abraham Mark Datz emigrated to the United States in 1903. The collection provides insight into his Jewish heritage as well as his personal life and artistic career.

Arranged chronologically, the Correspondence is limited to a few incoming letters, predominantly from the 1960s. Correspondents include art-related institutions (American Federation of Arts, Birmingham Museum of Art, Evansville Museum of Arts and Science), photographer Hans Namuth, and writer Richard C. Rothschild.

Artwork encompasses copper and zinc plates, negatives and photographs of Datz's paintings, and a reproduction of "Martha Pollak" incorporated into a Carnegie Recital Hall announcement. Despite occasional gaps in Datz's numbering system and the presence of a few unnumbered etchings, Copper and zinc plates are arranged numerically. There is a total of 80 etchings on 77 plates, 3 of which bear images on both sides. An alphabetical index of etching titles follows the box list. Photographs, primarily undated, are organized alphabetically by titles supplied by Datz, and followed by a number which are untitled.

Memorabilia includes one photograph of Datz, printed material, and a typescript review by Richard C. Rothschild. Printed material contains newspaper clippings (1916-1941), exhibition catalogs and announcements of group (1928-1963) and one-man shows (1926-1946), in addition to several art periodical reviews (1936-1952).

Writings consists of twelve journals (1943-1969) which, with few exceptions, Datz updated daily.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

A. Mark Datz Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: ASE
Date: Apr 1993
Revision history: 5 Jun 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 17 Oct 2018 - rehoused (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical material
Box 1		Miscellaneous

	Correspondence
Box 1		A-Z 1926-1965 (1 folder)
			See also Selected Index to Correspondence

	Artwork
		Copper and zinc plates
			See also Alphabetical Index of Etchings
Box 2			Numbers 2-5, 7-13, 15, 17-18 (15 etchings, 14 folders)
Box 3			Numbers 20-21, 23-26, 28-29/30, 30-31, 33/34, 36-38 (16 etchings, 14 folders)
Box 4			Numbers 39, 43, 50, 55-59, 61-62, 65-66, 68-69 (14 etchings, 14 folders)
Box 5			Numbers 70, 74, 76-81, 83-86 (12 etchings, 11 folders)
Box 6			Numbers 87-93, unnumbered - some of the unnumbered have titles, some have no numbers or titles (14 etchings, 14 folders)
Oversize 1			Numbers 19, 40, 47, 54, 73
Oversize 2			Numbers 75, 82, unnumbered - some of the unnumbered have titles, some have no numbers or titles
		Drawings
Box 1			Pen and ink (6 folders)
Oversize 3			Pen and ink
Box 7			Pencil, pen and ink, pastels
Oversize 3			Pencil
Box 7			Sketchbooks (3 volumes)
		Negatives
Box 7			Miscellaneous undated (72 items)
		Photographs of paintings
Box 7			By title, A-S 1959-1963 (5 folders)
Box 8			By title, T-Y 1959-1963
Box 8			Untitled undated
		Reproductions
Box 8			Martha Pollak 1945, 1949, 1956 - paintings of Pollak, used by her in her recital programs at Carnegie Hall

	Memorabilia
Box 8		Photographs 1962, undated
Box 8		Scrapbook of photographs undated
		Printed material
Box 8			Clippings 1916-1941, undated
			Exhibition catalogs, announcements
Box 9				Group shows 1928-1935
Box 9				Group shows 1936-1963, undated (2 folders)
Box 9				One-man shows 1926-1946
Box 9			Reviews 1936-1952
Box 9			Miscellaneous 1926 - Yiddish publication "Teater Shtern" (Theater Star) with article about Datz
Box 9		Reviews (typescript) undated

	Writings
Box 10		Journals 1943, 1947, 1948, 1952-1953 (4 volumes)
Box 11		Journals 1954-1957 (2 volumes)
Box 12		Journals 1958-1962 (2 volumes)
Box 13		Journals 1962-1965 (2 volumes)
Box 14		Journals 1965-1969 (2 volumes)

Return to top

Alphabetical index of etchings

• (Miniature with Smoke Stack) (#84) :
• A Man Descending (#50) :
• Americana (#54) :
• Anticipation (#33 or #34) :
• Birds Over the Reservoir (#82) :
• Bookplate (Richard C. Rothschild) (#66) :
• Boy in Bed (unnumbered, Box 10) :
• Boy with Mandolin (#31) :
• Boys with Kite (#18) :
• Bride (#5) :
• Chinese Lantern (#30) :
• City Retreat (#56) :
• Day of Atonement (#93) :
• Day of Rest (#47) :
• Desert Mountains (#91) :
• Evening (#40) :
• Excavation (#83) :
• Exquisite Self (#79 or #80) :
• Field Day (#75) :
• Fountain at Bryant Park (#37) :
• Gargoyle and Birds (#58) :
• Golfers (#57) :
• Harlem River Bridge (#3) :
• Hillside (#77) :
• Hudson River Piers (#13) :
• Humid Day (#88) :
• Hungry Eyes (#87) :
• Impulses (#73) :
• Impulses (#74) :
• Iron Age (#36) :
• Mothers Prayer (#68) :
• Needy People (#9) :
• Nude (#29) :
• On the Roof (#8) :
• Oracle Road (#89) :
• Palm Trees (#92) :
• Peace on the Roof (#61) :
• Pelham Bay Bridge (#26) :
• Picnickers (#2) :
• Portrait of an Artist (#33 or #34) :
• Prancing Horse (#7) :
• Prelude (unnumbered, Box 11) :
• Promenade (#38) :
• Reflections (#69) :
• Riverdale (#28) :
• Riverside or Towers (#19) :
• Riverside Park (#17) :
• Roman Celebration (#11) :
• Sanctuary Hill (#55) :
• Self Portrait (#62) :
• Self Portrait (#76) :
• Silent Moments (#59) :
• Sitting Figure (#20 or #21) :
• Sleeping Outdoors (#10) :
• Snowballs (#43) :
• Solitary Mood (#81) :
• Speakeasy (#20 or #21) :
• Spring (#65) :
• Street Scene (#24) :
• The Belfry (#12) :
• The Harvester (#10) :
• The Old Pride (#90) :
• The Organ Grinder (unnumbered, Box 10) :
• The Pagoda (#70) :
• The Park Vendor (#15) :
• The Sculptress (#25) :
• The Shrine (#79 or #80) :
• The Shrine (#85) :
• Towers or Riverside (#19) :
• Van Cortlandt Lake (#78) :
• Waiting for Lefty (#39) :
• Whisper & Glances (#86) :
• Woman Reading (#30) :
• Woman Reading on the Roof (unnumbered, Box 10) :
• Woman with Bird (#23) :
• Woman with Fruit (#4) :

Return to top

Selected index to correspondence

• American Federation of Arts : 1962 Feb. 6
• Birmingham Museum of Art : 1962 May 11 (to Dorothy Paris); 1962 June 13 (to Dorothy Paris)1961 Oct. 51963 Oct. 101965 Feb. 171940 Feb. 2

Return to top