Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Manuel M. Davenport Collection Relating to Albert Schweitzer
A description of the collection at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Davenport, Manuel. |
| Title: | Manuel M. Davenport Collection Relating to Albert Schweitzer |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1960-2000 |
| Quantity: | 6 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Manuel Davenport's materials relating to Albert Schweitzer |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Manuel M. Davenport (1930-2000) was a philosophy professor.
Davenport taught philosophy at Texas A and M University from 1969 until his death in 2000. He was the head of the philosophy department from 1967 until 1976 and was considered largely responsible for building the program during its critical years. He was also a distinguished military ethicist. He served as a visiting professor at the United States Air Force Academy in 1974-1975 and 1980-1981. He had broad philosophy interests, including the work of Albert Schweitzer.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Manuel M. Davenport Collection Relating to Albert Schweitzer includes clippings, correspondence, media, microfilm, photographs, publications, and slides relating to Albert Schweitzer.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Manuel M. Davenport Collection Relating to Albert Schweitzer,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Randy Durham and Marian Davenport, 2022.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: DTF
Date: 18 Jul 2022
Revision history:
Inventory
An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.