Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Marguerite de Falsen Collection Relating to Claudia de Lys
An inventory of the collection) at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | de Falsen, Marguerite |
| Title: | Marguerite de Falsen Collection Relating to Claudia de Lys |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1950-1985 |
| Quantity: | 0.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Correspondence, photographs, and printed material related to the American anthropologist and author |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Claudia de Lys ( -1990) was an American anthropologist and author of numerous books on customs, folklore, palmistry, and superstition.
Marguerite de Falsen was evidently a close friend and perhaps acted as an assistant. There may be references in the collection to her daughter, Yolande Tomiuk, and her granddaughters Diana, Kitty, and Tania (Mrs. Frank Shamy).
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Marguerite de Falsen Collection Relating to Claudia de Lys consists of correspondence, photographs, and printed material.
Correspondence, which forms the bulk of the collection, consists of letters, cards, and postcards from Claudia de Lys. Most were sent to Marguerite de Falsen, who apparently acted as her assistant at one time. A few of the later items are to Tania Shamy, de Falsen's granddaughter. many of the letters contain clippings, notes, and other enclosures.
Photographs include de Lys in her New York City apartment at 162 West 56th Street, as well as a formal portrait photo and a copy of a portrait drawn by A. Egea-Lopez, 1927, which hung in her apartment.
Printed material contains two items: a publicity sheet marketing de Lys as a speaker, and a small advertisement for French language instruction by de Lys and Andree Rondel de Possel.
Arrangement of the Collection
Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Material in the other series is in no particular order.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
A few books were transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Marguerite de Falsen Collection Relating to Claudia de Lys,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Tania Tomiuk Shamy (Mrs. Frank Shamy), 2022.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 16 Feb 2023
Revision history:
Inventory
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | de Lys 1950-1985 (13 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Others 1990 - note to Tania Shamy about de Lys' death; letter from Shamy with reminiscences of her and her sisters' friendship with de Lys | ||||||||||
| Photographs | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | of Claudia de Lys 1947, [1950s?] | ||||||||||
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Miscellaneous circa 1955 | ||||||||||