Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Di Prima, Diane.
Title:	Diane Di Prima Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1948-1971
Quantity:	2.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American poet, author, and editor. Correspondence (1960-1971); diaries, playscripts and miscellaneous writings (1948-1966); and original manuscripts by others (Paul Blackburn, Robert Creeley, Ed Dorn, Kirby Doyle, Robert Duncan, Anselm Hollo, Steve Jonas, LeRoi Jones, Allan Kaprow, Kenneth Koch, Joseph LeSueur, Ron Loewinsohn, Clive Matson, David Meltzer, Frank O'Hara, Charles Olson, Stuart Perkoff, Gary Snyder, Norman Solomon, Gilbert Sorrentino, A.B. Spellman, Mike Strong, James Waring, Philip Whalen, Jonathan Williams) submitted for publication in The floating bear.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Diane di Prima, poet, editor and teacher, was born August 6, 1934, in New York City, the daughter of Francis and Emma (Mallozzi) di Prima. She attended Swarthmore College briefly in 1951-1952.

In the late 1950's and early 1960's Diane di Prima became a member of a group of New York poets and writers, frequently known as the "Beats," who were centered in Greenwich Village. There she wrote and published several volumes of verse, and helped to found the American Theatre for Poets. She was co-editor of a literary newsletter, The Floating Bear, with LeRoi Jones (Imamu Amiri Baraka) during 1961-1962, and became the sole editor from 1963 to 1968. She was also the associate editor for Signal Magazine (1963-1065) and contributing editor of Kulchur magazine. She was publisher and printer of her own small-scale publishing houses, The Poets Press (1963-1969) and Eidolon Editions (1972-1976) and taught at Naropa Institute School of Poetics, New College of California, California College of Arts and Crafts, San Francisco Art Institute, and California Institute of Integral Studies.

In addition to founding the American Theatre for Poets, di Prima was the director and co-founder of the New York Poets Theatre (1961-1965) and the San Francisco Institute of Magical and Healing Arts (1983-1990), and founder of the Poets Institute.

Her numerous books include more than thirty collections of poetry as well as plays, short stories, novels, non-fiction, translations, and an autobiographical novel, The Calculus of Variation (1966). She has twice received grants from the National Endowment for the Arts (1973, 1979) and her work has been translated into over twenty languages.

Diane di Prima was married twice, first to actor/director Alan S. Marlowe 1962-1969) and then to poet Grant Fisher (1972-1976). She has five children: Jeanne (b. 1957), Dominique (b. 1962), Alexander (b. 1963), Tara (b. 1967) and Rudra (b. 1970).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Diane di Prima Papers comprise Correspondence, Writings in manuscript and printed form, Manuscripts by other authors, Miscellaneous items, and a file of The Floating Bear newsletter. The papers, which date from 1948 to 1971, are arranged in six archival boxes.

Correspondence (boxes 1-2) dates from 1960 to 1971 and is arranged chronololgically. Incoming and outgoing letters are interfiled, but the bulk of the correspondence is addressed to Diane di Prima. Her correspondents include John Ashbery, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Allen Ginsberg, Denise Levertov, Walter Lowenfels, Charles Olson, Kenneth Patchen, Louis Zukofsky, and other persons notable in contemporary American literature. There are 98 letters, 1969-1971, from Alan Marlowe and 18 letters from Michael McClure. Some of the letters (including those from "Miles Campion," Edwin Denby, Diane Wakoski, "Anton Webern," and John Wieners) were published in The Floating Bear. A complete name index of the letters is appended to this inventory, and a chronological shelf list of the letters is available in the Manuscripts Division.

Manuscripts submitted to The Floating Bear and copies of the published newsletter itself are arranged in box 3. Of the 37 newsletters that were published, the first 35, 1961-1968, are present in the papers. The 86 manuscripts are submission copies of articles, poems, and reviews, arranged alphabetically by the authors' names. Prominent among the authors are Robert Creeley, LeRoi Jones, Kenneth Koch, Frank O'Hara, and Gary Snyder. Details on individual manuscripts appear in the accompanying shelf list; standard abbreviations indicate the physical form of the manuscripts, and dates are listed in the shelf list when they appear on the manuscripts. The number of the newsletter in which the manuscripts appeared is marked on most of them. All manuscripts of Diane di Prima are isolated in the next section, Writings.

Note: Other Floating Bear records are reported at Indiana University.

Writings of Diane di Prima in manuscript and printed form (boxes 3-6) date from 1948 to 1968 and have been organized first by type and then alphabetically by title. These include a diary, nine notebook volumes, four manuscript plays, four reels of recording-tape readings, manuscripts of three groups of collected verse, and two folders of miscellaneous verse. The physical form of the writings is indicated by standard abbreviations.

A group of Miscellaneous material closes the papers in box 6. There is one folder of material on the American Theatre for Poets. Other items relate to the editing of The Floating Bear.

Purchases, 1963, 1968-1971

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Diane Di Prima Papers,
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Library

Finding Aid Information

Created by: FD
Date: May 1972
Revision history: Jul 1979 - unspecified revisions (EL); 14 Sep 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 21 Sep 2006 - bio updated (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		1960-1963, 1965-1970 Mar-Jun (21 folders)
Box 2		1970 Jul-1971 Jun (11 folders)
Box 2		Undated - arranged alphabetically by sender
Box 2		no year - arranged by month and day
		Envelopes not matched with letters
Box 2			1961-1969 (19 items)
Box 2			1970-1971 (23 items)
Box 2			Undated (13 items)

	The Floating Bear
Box 3		The Floating Bear newsletter 1961-1968 - Issues #1-35 (35 folders)

	Manuscripts by others
Box 3, Folder 1		Baker, Richard, "Beer" July 1961 - ts poem signed, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 1		Baker, Richard, "Struggle" June 1961 - ts poem signed, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 1		Blackburn, Paul, "Collecting the mail" - ts, 2 pp.
Box 3, Folder 1		Brecht, George, "Statement for James Goldsworthy" 7/11/60 - typescript carbon, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 2		Creeley, Robert, "The skeleton" - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 3		Dorn, Ed, "In my youth I was a tireless dancer" - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 3		Dorn, Ed, "Nose from newswhere" - ts signed, 3 pp.
Box 3, Folder 3		Dorn, Ed,"The poet lectures famous potatoes" - anno. ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 3		Dorn, Ed, "The song is ended" - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 3		Dorn, Ed, "Time blonde" - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 3		Dorn, Ed, "A wild blue,yonder" - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 3		Doyle, Kirby, "Moon poem" - typescript carbon poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 3		Duncan, Robert, "Night scenes" - ts poem, 3 pp.
Box 3, Folder 4		Elmslie, Kenward, Review of dance works by Yvonne Rainer and Fred Herko - ts, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 4		F[ ], A.M., "'The automobile graveyard' by Arrabel" - ts, 2 pp.
Box 3, Folder 4		Feldman, Morton, letter to the editor of Floating Bear. 1962 Oct 17 - als
Box 3, Folder 4		Hollo, Anselm, "Bertolt Brecht, A letter to his fascist friend Arnolt Bronnen in the summer of 1923" - ts, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 5		Johnson, Ray, untitled review of Claes Oldenburg happening. - ts signed, 1p.
Box 3, Folder 5		Jonas, Steve, "Green" 1958 - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 5		Jonas, Steve, "Reply to Koenig's (Nouvelle Vague) in the 'Bear' 6" 1960 - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 5		Jonas, Steve, "Sub voce" 1961 - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 5		Jones, LeRoi, ("Frank Buck") "Consumer's guide" - ts, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 5		Jones, LeRoi, "Footnote to a pretentious book" - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 5		Jones, LeRoi, "The politics of rich painters" - ts poem, 2 pp.
Box 3, Folder 5		Jones, LeRoi, ("John King") "Rejoinder: Concerning the reviews by Miss Zazeela and Mr. Marlowe in F.B. 16" - ts, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 6		Kaprow, Allan, "The construction of Boston" - anno. holo. signed, 9 pp., with a covering letter to Alan [Marlowe] dated May 20, [1962]
Box 3, Folder 6		Katz, Micheal, "4 short stories for Passover" and postmarked 1963 Apr 11 - four typed cards in an envelope addressed to William Linich
Box 3, Folder 7		Koch, Kenneth, "At the railway station" - anno. ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 7		Koch, Kenneth, "The building of Florence" - anno. ts signed with initials, 3 pp.
Box 3, Folder 7		Koch, Kenneth, "Chiarascuro" - ts poem signed, 1 p. On the same page is the ts poem "Religiously"
Box 3, Folder 7		Koch, Kenneth, "Dostoevski's The Gambler" - ts poem signed, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 7		Koch, Kenneth, "Heanorupeatomos" - ts poem signed, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 7		Koch, Kenneth, "Mateeyanah" - ts poem signed, 1 p. On the same page are the ts poems "Wahego" and "In harmonium"
Box 3, Folder 7		Koch, Kenneth, "The return of Yellowmay" - anno. ts poem signed with initials, 3 pp.
Box 3, Folder 7		Koch, Kenneth, "The revolt of the giant animals" - ts poem signed with initials, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 7		Koch, Kenneth, "Trieste e una donna" - ts poem signed, 1 p. On the same page are the ts poems "Morro rock" and "Schweitzerreich"
Box 3, Folder 7		Koch, Kenneth, "An X ray of Utah" - ts poem signed, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 8		Krim, Seymour, letter to the editor 1962 Feb 26 - tls
Box 3, Folder 8		Landers, Dale, "Of a growth of " - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 8		LeSueur, Joseph, "Random thoughts about recent plays, on and off Broadway" - anno. typescript, 3 pp.
Box 3, Folder 8		LeSueur, Joseph, "Rotten apples" - anno. typescript, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 8		Lima, Frank, "Pudgy" - mimeographed typescript, 2 pp.
Box 3, Folder 8		Loewinsohn, Ron, "Coda: As far as they pass" - anno. typescript, 2 pp. On the same sheet are the ts poems "Corky stupid" and "The footlights"
Box 3, Folder 8		Loewinsohn, Ron, "The world of the lie" 1959-1960 - ts poem, 1 p. Attached are the ts poems "The mendacity of windows," 1 p., 12/59; "The mendacity of radio," 1 p., 3/31/60; and "The mendacity of sculpture," 1 p., 3/31/60
Box 3, Folder 8		McNaughton, Ferencz, "May meeting with C. Coy" - ts, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 9		Matson, Clive, "Mainline to the heart" - anno. typescript, 23 pp., inscribed "For Diane & Alan from Clive Matson" One copy of the Poets Press, 1966 edition is enclosed in the folder.
Box 3, Folder 10		Meltzer, David, "Poem to H.P.Lovecraft" - ts poem, 2 pp.
Box 3, Folder 10		Meltzer, David, "The struggle/Poems for the Muse" - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 10		Meltzer, David, "Heroes: 7/ The comics" - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 11		Nalota, Louise, "Tap City Easter circus report" - holo. signed, 5 pp.
Box 3, Folder 12		O'Hara, Frank, "For the Chinese New Year & for Bill Berkson" 2/14/61 - ts poem, 3 pp.
Box 3, Folder 12		O'Hara, Frank, "Mary Desti's ass" 4/15/61 - ts poem, 2 pp.
Box 3, Folder 12		O'Hara, Frank, "St. Paul and all that" 5/20/61 - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 13		Olson, Charles, "In the face of a Chinese view of the city" 1962 Jan 5 - ts poem, 2 pp.
Box 3, Folder 14		Perkoff, Stuart, "The Christian philo" - typescript carbon poem, 2 pp.
Box 3, Folder 14		Perkoff, Stuart, "Three prayers" - typescript carbon poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 14		Perkoff, Stuart, "The swing" - typescript carbon poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 14		Rainey, Gertrude, "Sissy blues" - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 14		Schneemann, C., "About Claes Oldenburg's 'store'" - ts, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 14		Schulman, Howard, "Jan Müller (1922-58) at the Guggenheim thru 2/25/62" - ts review, 2 pp.
Box 3, Folder 15		Snyder, Gary, "The curse" - ts poem, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 15		Solomon, Norman, "962" - ts, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 15		Solomon, Norman, "A passion play. 1" - ts, 2 pp.
Box 3, Folder 15		Sorrentino, Gilbert, "Review of a review (John Fles, Yugen 1-7, KULCHUR 3)" - typescript, 2 pp.
Box 3, Folder 15		Sorrentino, Gilbert, "Prose of our time" - annotated typescript, 3 pp.
Box 3, Folder 15		Sorrentino, Gilbert, "In quest of Ugendun" - anno. ts signed, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 15		Spellman, A.B., "A home brew" and "Baltimore oriole" both poems dated 11/60 - ts poems, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 15		Stanley, George, "From a letter to Dale Landers" 3/16/61 - ts 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 15		Stanley, George, "The Italian" - ts poem signed, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 15		Strong, Mike, "After" - typescript carbon poem signed, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 15		Strong, Mike, "Mornings" - annotated ts poem signed, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 15		Strong, Mike, "Overture" - annotated ts poem signed, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 15		Waring, James, letter in answer to Diane Wakoski - annotated typescript, 2 pp.
Box 3, Folder 15		Waring, James, letter in answer to [Edwin] Denby 1962 Feb 1 - holo. 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 15		Waring, James, untitled poem 1961 Mar - typescript, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 16		Whalen, Philip, "The art of literature" 1962-63 - ts, 19 pp.
Box 3, Folder 17		Williams, Jonathan, "Best reading list" 1962 Feb - annotated typescript, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 17		Williams, Jonathan, "We take the golden road, to Samar, Kansas..." - typescript carbon, 2 pp.
Box 3, Folder 17		Yu Suwa, "A poem, 1961-1962" - holo. poem signed, 1 p.
		Unidentified authors
Box 3, Folder 18			Aquarian, untitled fragment - annotated typescript, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 18			Aquarian, 1/10 of a minyun, "Best reading list." - annotated typescript, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 18			[ ], John - untitled typescript, including a poem, signed, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 18			[ ], "All Hallows Eve." 1968 - typescript carbon, 1 p., San Francisco
Box 3, Folder 18			[ ], "Canto." 1968 - typescript carbon, 1 p., San Francisco
Box 3, Folder 18			[ ], "A clinging." - typescript carbon, 1 p.
Box 3, Folder 18			[ ], "Cutting loose." 1968 - typescript carbon, 1 p., San Francisco
Box 3, Folder 18			[ ], "Last gift." 1968 - typescript carbon, 1 p., San Francisco, Halloween.

	Writings
Box 3		Diary 1966
		Notebooks - holo.
Box 4			1948-19521956-1958 Jan, (7 volumes)
Box 5			1958-1966 (2 volumes)
		Plays
Box 5			Like 1960 - published version
			Poets Vaudeville
Box 5				Draft A undated - holo.
Box 5				Draft B undated - repro. (2 copies)
Box 5				Draft C 1964 - repro. with covers
Box 5			Untitled play fall and winter 1959 - handwritten manuscript
Box 5			Untitled play autumn 1959 - handwritten manuscript
Box 5			Untitled play fall 1959 - handwritten manuscript
		Readings
Box 5			"The Calculus" undated (2 folders)
Box 5			"The Calculus of Variation" and "Whale Honey" 1963
Box 5			Selections from The Floating Bear 1961
		Short stories
Box 5			"The Boy Who Made Songs" undated - typescript carbon
		Translations
Box 5			Untitled from the Latin. undated - mix of handwritten and typed
		Verse, miscellaneous
Box 5			Typescripts, one signed 1959 undated
Box 6			Typescript, signed 1960-1965
		Verse, collections
Box 6			Early Poems: 1940-1952 1940-1952 - typescript carbon
Box 6			Earthsong: Poems 1957-1959 1968 - typescript with revisions, original and photocopy (2 folders)
Box 6			"Freddie Poems." 1957-1966 - typescript carbon
Box 6		Miscellaneous 1962 - typescript, 3 pp.

	Miscellaneous material
Box 6		American Theatre for Poets 1965
Box 6		Announcements and leaflets undated
Box 6		Announcements of poetry readings
Box 6		Copy and layout for Floating Bear #20 - incomplete, only one page
Box 6		Copy and miscellaneous items for Floating Bear #26
Box 6		Notes, handwritten and typed undated
		Press release regarding the Floating Bear obscenity case 1961

Return to top

Seelcted index to correspondence

Letters are listed alphabetically by sender. An asterisk before a letter's date indicates an accompanying envelope.

• ---, [Steve?] : 1971 Apr 19
• ---, Anthony : 1969 Nov 3
• ---, Becki : 1970 Dec 18 (postcard)
• ---, David and Maria : undated (card)
• ---, David : 1971 Apr
• ---, Diane : * 1971 Mar 5; 1971 Mar 6 (typed note); undated (2 items)
• ---, Donna, Alan, and Nye : 1971 Mar 12
• ---, Ellen : 1971 Mar 4 (postcard)
• ---, Graham : 1971 (postcard)
• ---, Harriet : 1971 Jun 4 (postcard)
• ---, Idell : undated (postcard); 1971 Mar (postcard); * 1971 Mar 11; 1971 Mar 31 (postcard)
• ---, Joby : * 1971 Jan 15
• ---, John : 1968 Jun 18 (postcard); 1971 Apr 21
• ---, Julia : n.y. Mar 28
• ---, Mel : 1968 Apr 15
• ---, Reggie : n.y. Nov 7; * 1970 Jul 23; * 1970 Aug 10
• ---, Rudi : * 1971 Jan 9
• ---, Sam : undated
• ---, Ted : 1970 Nov 28
• ---, Wynn : 1971 Feb 7 (postcard, to Sally, Sam & Sarah)
• Abrams, Sam : 1970 Dec; n.y. Jan 2
• Aldrich, Mike : 1969 Sep 10
• Allen, Don : n.y. Feb 21; * 1961 Sep 5; * 1961 Sep 20; * 1961 Oct 4; * 1961 Oct 20; 1961 Oct 30 (postcard); * 1962 Dec 6 (to Rose & Stephen); * 1963 Mar 6 (to Rose & Stephen); 1963 May 22 (postcard, to Rose & Stephen); * 1963 Aug 8
• Allen, Samuel W. : 1969 Aug 26
• Allen, Samuel : * 1969 May 11
• Anders, Terry Lee : 1971 Mar 19; 1971 Apr 13; 1971 May 19
• Ashbery, John : n.y. Jan 28; * n.y. Oct 19
• Baynard, Ed : * 1970 Oct 13
• Berenson, Betty & Julia : undated (card)
• Bergé, Carol : 1962 Nov 7 (postcard, to Soren Agenoux, c/o Diane Di Prima)
• Berkson, Bill (signed as Minerva Urecal) : * 1968 Jun 28; 1970 Nov 9 (postcard)
• Berman, Wallace : * 1968 Jun 13; 1968 Dec 17 (postcard, to Diane di Prima & Alan Marlowe)
• Bissett, Bill : * 1970 Jul; * 1970 Jul; * 1970 Sep 7; * 1970 Dec 29; * 1971 Feb 2 (short ts note)
• Black, Erin : 1971 (postcard); * 1971 Mar 22
• Borregaard, Angela : * 1971 May 23
• Boyd, Robert : undated (with typescript poem "Jazz & Junkyards Endless Tour" attached)
• Brakhage, Jane : 1970 Nov 10 (postcard)
• Breyer, Chris : * 1970 Aug 13
• Brilliant, Alan : undated (note on an unmailed postcard); * 1970 Aug 21; 1970 Nov 4 (postcard); 1970 Nov 29; 1970 Dec 15; * 1971 Jan 15; 1971 Apr 1; 1971 May 5 (on a poetry postcard); * 1971 May 22; * 1971 Jun 3
• Buchanon, Ann : ca. 1971
• Calise, William J. : 1962 Nov 26 (carbon, to Charles L. Mee, Jr.)
• Campion, Miles (see LeRoi Jones) : undated
• Claremon, Neil : * 1971 May 14
• Clements, Marshall : 1970 Nov 19
• Codrescu, Andrei : 1970 Sep 11; 1970 Dec 28 (postcard)
• Collum, Jack : * 1970 Nov 9; * 1970 Dec 10 (attached are two typescript carbon: "Poem for Summer Solstice" and "Signatura Rerum" by Diane di Prima); 1971 Jan 14; * 1971 Mar 16
• Cooney Seamus : 1970 May 20
• Corman, Cid : 1963 Jun 15
• Creeley [?], Bob : 1968 Dec 24 (postcard)
• Creeley, Bob : * 1963 Jun 16 (with two-page enclosure)
• Cruz, Victor Hernandez : * 1969 May 24
• Currey, Lloyd W. : 1969 Aug 2 (postcard)
• Dawson, Fielding : * 1962 Feb 17; 1962 Apr 18 (postcard)
• DeLoach, Allen : * 1969 Jul 29; * 1970 Aug 12; * 1970 Aug 28; * 1970 Nov 12; * 1970 Dec 18 (on a mimeographed letter of Joan Ford); 1971 Jan 5 (postcard); * 1971 Mar 14
• Denby, Edwin : undated (to Floating Bear [DDP])
• Dine, Jim : 1971 Jan 7 (postcard)
• DiPrima, Diane : undated (to Ol' Bret); undated (postcard, to Jack Collum); undated (to Grant [Fisher]); undated (to "Dearest goon"); undated (from "Lucy" to Zen [Alan Marlowe]); undated (to Grant [Fisher]); undated (postcard, to Grant [Fisher]); undated (to Alan [Marlowe]); undated (postcard, to Tim Buckley); undated (to Tom [ ]); undated (to Tom [ ]); n.y. Jan 29 (to Grant [Fisher]); n.y. Jun 16 (photocopy, to Alan [Marlowe]); n.y. Jul 24 (to Judy [ ]); * n.y. Sep 19 (to Allen [Van Newkirk]); 1965 (to Daddy); 1965 Sep 9 (signed Diane di Prima Marlowe, to Mrs. Lester McEachern); 1965 Sep 19 (carbon) (signed Diane di Prima Marlowe, to Arie Hakkert); 1965 Nov 14 (to Larry [ ]); 1966 Jun 6 (to Bob [ ]); 1967 Aug 12 (to Gene LaRue); 1968 May 31 (carbon, to Bill Bissett); (to DiPrima, Diane); 1968 May 31 (carbon) (to Tram Combs Bookstore); 1968 May 31 (carbon) (to Allen de Loach); 1968 May 31 (carbon) (to Panna Grady); 1968 May 31 (carbon) (to Joseph Le Sueur); 1968 May 31 (carbon) (to Josephine Miles); 1968 May 31 (carbon) (to John B. Nomland); 1968 May 31 (carbon) (to Gil Pomeroy); 1968 May 31 (carbon) (to David Wagner); * 1969 Sep 7 (to "Friend Zen"); * 1969 Dec 5 (to Alan [Marlowe]); * 1969 Dec 20 (to Alan [Marlowe]); 1970 Jan (to Alan [Marlowe]); 1970 Jan (to Alan [Marlowe]); 1970 Jan (holograph note on a three-page printed text, to [Alan Marlowe]); 1970 Jan 17 (postcard, to Alan Marlowe); * 1970 Mar 8 (to Alan [Marlowe]); * 1970 Mar 12 (to Alan [Marlowe], a note written on a page containing "Poem for Debbie Lee's Birthday"); 1970 Jul 11 (to Alan [Marlowe]); 1970 Jul 27 (postcard, to Alan Marlowe); * 1970 Sep (signed "Mini," to Alan [Marlowe]); 1970 Sep 13 (to Alan [Marlowe]); 1970 Dec 7 (postcard #3, to Grant Fisher); 1970 Dec 7 (postcard #4, to Grant Fisher); 1970 Dec 16 (postcard #7, to Grant Fisher); 1970 Dec 16 (postcard #8, from "Di" to Grant Fisher); 1970 Dec 18 (postcard #9, to Grant Fisher); 1971 Jan 25 (postcard, to Grant Fisher); 1971 Jan 25 (postcard, to Grant Fisher); * 1971 Jan 25 (to Grant [Fisher]); 1971 Jan 27 (postcard, to Grant Fisher); 1971 Jan 27 (postcard, to Grant Fisher); * 1971 Feb 2 (to Grant [Fisher]); * 1971 Mar 10 (to Bill Haines, attached is a carbon of William Haines to Dr. Haridas Chaudhuri, 1971 Mar 22); 1970 Jul 22 (to "Grams" [Emma DiPrima]); * 1970 Dec 16 (to "Grams")
• DiPrima, Frankie & Weezie : * 1971 Apr 14
• Doubleday & Co., Anchor Books : * 1971 Apr 13
• Doyle, Mike : undated; 1969 Jul 27; 1970 Aug 26; 1970 Dec 12; * 1971 Jan 5; * 1971 Mar 23; 1971 Apr (note)
• Durand, Bob : * 1971 May 9
• Eigner, Larry : 1961 Oct 27 (postcard, to LeRoi Jones)
• Enslin, Ted : * 1971 Jun 3
• Evergreen Review : see Fred Jordan; see Jack Hoffman
• Ferlinghetti, Lawrence : 1963 Jul 18 (postcard); * 1968 May 22; 1970 Dec 25 (postcard)
• Follett Publishing Co. : see Patricia A. Meehan
• Forrister, Frances : * 1971 Mar 4; * 1971 May 6 (carbon) (to Moses Soyer); 1971 May 6 (carbon) (to Raphael Soyer)
• Fraser, Kathleen : 1969 Jul 29
• Gadd, Maxine : 1969 Jul
• Gervais, C.H. : undated (postcard); 1971 Jan 21 (postcard)
• Ginsberg, Allen : * 1968 Oct 13 (to Alan [Marlowe] and Diane [diPrima])
• Girodias, Maurice : * 1968 Dec 13; * 1969 Oct 29
• Gitlin, David : * 1971 May 23
• Grady, Panna : n.y. Jul 12 (postcard); 1970 Aug 23 (postcard); 1970 Oct 11 (postcard); 1971 Jan 7 (postcard); 1971 Apr 4
• Griffith, E.V. : 1971 Jan 19
• Grove Press : see Claudia Menza
• Guest, Barbara : * 1961 Aug 8; * 1961 Sep 25; 1971 Jan 15 (postcard)
• Hakkert, Arie : 1965 Sep 15 (carbon) (to Mrs. Diane diPrima Marlowe)
• Hall, Barry L. : * 1970 Feb 6; * 1970 Sep 7; * 1971 Apr 15; * 1971 Apr 19
• Hanna, Charles S. : 1970 Aug 20
• Haynes, Michael : 1971 Feb 20 (note on an index card)
• Heinz, Drue : 1969 Apr 21 (to Alan S. Marlowe, enclosed in Marlowe to diPrima, 1969 May 2)
• Heinz, Mrs. [ ] : * 1969 Jun 6
• Henderson, David : 1968 Dec 31; * 1971 Jan 11 (attached are typescript carbon of the poems "to M.," "The Henderson Report on Science Convention in Dallas 1969" (2 pp.) and "Hanging out in the Music, Poem 1," the first two signed by the poet.); 1971 Jan 13
• Herms, George : 1970 Aug 20 (postcard)
• Heyman, George : undated
• Hoffman, Jack : 1970 Sep 18
• Jackrell, T.L. : 1969 Jul 31
• Jones, LeRoi (signed as Miles Campion, pseudonym) : undated (to "Sirs" [Floating Bear, Diane DiPrima])
• Jordan, Fred : 1970 Aug 3; 1971 Jan 6
• Kelly, Aby : * 1969 Jul 26
• Kelly, Robert : * 1961 Jun 12; 1961 Sep 20 (postcard); * 1961 Nov 22; 1970 Dec 26 (postcard)
• Kirby, Brian : 1969 Aug 21
• Knox, Hugh : * 1969 Mar 27
• Kupferburg, Tuli : * 1971 Apr 26
• Lake, Larry : 1971 Feb 17 (postcard); 1971 Mar (postcard); 1971 Apr 6 (postcard)
• Lansing, Gerrit : 1970 Aug 20
• Laughlin, James : 1969 Jul 28 (postcard)
• Lawlor, Deb : * 1971 May 21
• Lee, Deborah & Bob : undated (note)
• Levertov, Denise : 1961 Nov 16 (to LeRoi [Jones], Hettie [Cohen], and Diane [diPrima])
• Loewinsohn,Ron : * 1970 Dec 21
• Longville, Tim : * 1969 Apr 21
• Lowell, Robert : 1961 Dec 2 (postcard)
• Lowenfels, Walter : * 1962 Jan 30 (card); * 1962 Sep 11; 1968 May 23; 1968 Aug 1
• MacAdam, Lewis : undated
• MacDonald, Dwight : 1961 Nov 20
• Malanga, Gerard : * 1969 Apr 9
• Marlowe, Alan ("Daddy") : undated (to Alex); undated Thanksgiving; 1968 (postcard); * 1968 Nov 20 (with two-page typescript poem attached); * 1968 Nov 21; * 1968 Nov 22; * 1968 Nov 25; 1968 Nov 26; 1968 Nov 30; * 1968 Dec 14; 1969 Apr 29 (postcard); 1969 Apr 30; * 1969 May 2 (enclosed: Drue Heinz to Alan S. Marlowe, 1969 Apr 21); 1969 May 3 (postcard); 1969 May 5 (postcard); * 1969 May 7; * 1969 May 9; 1969 May 11 (postcard); 1969 May 12 (postcard); 1969 May 19 (postcard); * 1969 May 29; 1969 Jun 1; 1969 Jun 4; * 1969 Jun 7; 1969 Jun 8 (postcard); 1969 Jun 9 (2 postcards of the same date); 1969 Jun 14 (postcard); 1969 Jun 27 (on postcard of Fields Book Store to Kyle Alexander); * 1969 Jul 4; 1969 Jul 6 (postcard); 1969 Jul 12 (postcard); 1969 Jul 15 (with a two page typescript of poem "For Frank O'Hara"); 1969 Jul 17 (postcard); 1969 Jul 21 (to Brian Kirby); * 1969 Jul 24; 1969 Jul 27; 1969 Jul 27 (postcard); 1969 Jul 28 (postcard); 1969 Jul 29 (postcard); * 1969 Jul 30; 1969 Aug 2 (postcard); 1969 Aug 5 (postcard); 1969 Aug 5 (postcard); 1969 Aug 7 (postcard); 1969 Aug 19 (postcard); * 1969 Sep 2; * 1969 Sep 16; * 1969 Sep 25; 1969 Oct 13; * 1969 Oct 18 (with enclosure); 1969 Oct 23; 1969 Oct 31 (postcard); 1969 Nov 4; 1969 Nov 10; 1969 Nov 12 (postcard); * 1969 Nov 20; * 1969 Nov 25; * 1969 Dec 7; 1969 Dec 9; * 1970 Jan 5; 1970 Jan 8; * 1970 Jan 19; * 1970 Jan 25; 1970 Jan 26; 1970 Jan 29 (postcard); 1970 Jan 30; 1970 Feb 5 (postcard); 1970 Feb 5 (postcard); 1970 Feb 9 (with note card attached); 1970 Feb 17 (postcard); * 1970 Feb 21; * 1970 Feb 25; 1970 Mar 13 (postcard); * 1970 Mar 14; 1970 Mar 16 (postcard); * 1970 Mar 30; * 1970 Apr 4 (with three-page typescript poem attached); * 1970 Jul 2; * 1970 Jul 9; * 1970 Sep 3; * 1970 Sep 11; 1970 Sep 13; * 1970 Sep 17; * 1970 Oct 7; * 1970 Oct 14; * 1970 Oct 24 (with attached typescript of poem "Hard Practice"); 1970 Nov 7; 1970 Nov 12 (postcard); 1970 Nov 17; 1970 Nov 18 (postcard); 1970 Nov 25; * 1970 Dec 9; ?1971 Jan; ?1971 Jan 22; 1971 Feb 2; 1971 Feb 8; 1971 Feb 23
• McClure, Keera : * 1961 Jul 27; 1961 Nov 9 (postcard); * 1962 Mar 28; 1962 Aug 12 (postcard)
• McClure, Michael : * 1960 Sep 15; * 1961 Jan 8; 1961 Mar 23 (postcard); * 1961 Apr 5; * 1961 Apr 15 (includes ts of 5 poems); * 1961 Jun 6; * 1961 Jun 28 (on a card); * 1961 Jul 10 (to Diane [diPrima] and Peter); *1961 Jul 17; 1961 Jul 18 (postcard); 1961 Jul 22 (postcard); * 1961 Jul 27; 1961 Jul 27?; 1961 Dec 15 (postcard); * 1962 Mar 10; * 1963 Mar 7; * 1963 Jul 10 (to Frank O'Hara); * 1963 Jul 24
• McDaniel, Zella : * 1971 Jan 18
• McSilvers [?], Larry : 1971 Mar 25 (postcard)
• Mee, Charles L. Jr. : * 1962 Nov 9
• Meehan, Patricia A. : 1970 Jun 4
• Meltzer, David : * 1961 Sep 14; * 1961 Sep 23; * 1961 Oct 20; * 1961 Nov; 1962 Feb 13 (postcard); 1971 Mar 22 (postcard)
• Menza, Claudia : * 1971 Feb 9
• Merwin, W.S. ("Bill") : 1963 Feb 28 (to Roi [LeRoi Jones])
• Miles, B. : 1969 May 23
• Morris, James Ryan : undated; undated; undated; 1969 May 15 (postcard); * 1969 Oct 1; * 1970 Nov 9; 1971 Jan; 1971 Jan 24; 1971 Feb 9 (postcard); * 1971 Feb 19; 1971 May 5 (postcard)
• Motherwell, Robert : 1962 Feb 10 (postcard)
• Mules, B. : 1969 May 23
• New Directions : 1971 Mar 18; 1971 Mar 24
• Nomland, John : 1968 May 23
• Nunnelee, Mark : 1970 Oct 9; * 1970 Nov 3; 1970 Nov 10 (postcard); * 1970 Dec 17; * 1971 Feb 8 (Attached are photocopies of 2 ts poems, "Swansong" and an untitled "I have tried more than once..."); * 1971 Mar 11; 1971 Apr 12
• Olson, Charles : * 1961 Nov 1 (to Diane [diPrima] and LeRoi [Jones])
• Olympia Press : see Maurice Girodias; see David Young
• Oppen, Mary : 1971 Apr 12 (postcard)
• Parrett, Jerry : * 1969 Apr 17
• Partisan Review : see William Phillips
• Patchen, Kenneth & Mariam : undated (note on an unmailed postcard)
• Perkins, Michael : * 1969 Oct 2; * 1970 Aug 25
• Perkoff, Stuart Z. : 1968 Jan 26
• Phillips, William : * 1969 Jul 17
• Prensky, Paul : * 1969 Jul 24
• Puvapalli, Sontashiri : 1971 Feb (postcard)
• Reed, Sweeney : 1969 Jul 22
• Rexroth, Kenneth : * 1969 Aug 8
• Rumaker, Mike : * 1961 Aug 8
• Silver, Nancy : see Fred Jordan
• Snyder, Don : 1971 Jan
• Sottsass, Pivano : * 1969 Jul 29
• Soyer, Raphael : * 1971 Apr 13
• Soyer, Rebecca & Raphael : undated (on a Christmas card)
• Standard, Michael B. : * 1971 Jan 15
• Su Wa, Yu : see Yu Suwa
• University of North Carolina Library : 1969 Apr 18 (to Poets Press [Diane diPrima])
• Van Newkirk, Allen : * 1969 Jul 7; * 1971 Jan 29; 1971 Mar 1 (postcard)
• Vas Dias, Robert : * 1969 Jun 1
• Villiers Publications, Ltd. : 1971 Jun 1 (to Lawrence [Ferlinghetti])
• Voitlee, Bob : * 1969 May 4
• Wagner, Dave : 1968 May 18 (postcard, to Poets Press [Diane diPrima])
• Wakoski, Diane : 1962 Aug 30 (to Editors, The Floating Bear)
• Waldman, Anne : n.d (postcard); undated (note on an unmailed postcard); * 1968 Dec 13; 1969 Mar 21 (postcard); 1970 Dec 10 (postcard); 1971 Jan 7 (postcard); * 1971 Feb 1; 1971 Feb 9
• Wallrich, Larry & Ruby : 1971 (New Year greeting card, unsigned)
• Wallrich, Larry A. : 1971 Mar 17; 1971 Apr (postcard)
• Waring, J. : * 1962 Nov 22; * 1970 Jun 14
• Webb, Jon & Louise : 1971 Jan 26 (postcard)
• Webb, Jon : 1968 Jan 7 (with an attached enclosure)
• Webern, Anton (signed as) : undated (to Lieber "Bar"); undated
• Whalen, Philip : undated
• Wieners, John : n.y. Apr 1 (to Billy [ ])
• Willems, James R. : * 1971 Mar 24
• Williams, Galen : * 1971 Jan 19
• Wilson, Mark : * 1971 Feb 11
• Wilson, Robert A. : n.y. Dec 8 (postcard); 1970 Aug 25 (postcard)
• Wylie, Andrew : * 1971 Feb 9
• Young, David : * 1970 Aug 17
• Yu Suwa : undated; undated
• Zukofsky, Louis : * 1961 Sep 15; 1962 Mar 17 (postcard); * 1962 Oct 20 (to Diane [diPrima] and LeRoi [Jones])

Return to top