Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Donnelly, Thomas, 1893-
Title:	Thomas Donnelly Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1921-1954
Quantity:	1 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American painter. Collection includes correspondence (1924-1932); exhibition announcements and catalogs; photographs; and printed material, including articles by and about Donnelly, clippings, and scrapbooks (1923-1942).
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Artist Thomas Donnelly was born in 1893. He was a member of the Art Students League of New York, later retaining a position on the Board. He was an early contributor to the Whitney Club and one of the first to the Whitney Museum of American Art. Several of his paintings form part of the Whitney's permanent collection.

His work was exhibited at the Brooklyn Museum, Carnegie Institute, Corcoran Gallery of Art, Art Institute of Chicago, New York Museum of Modern Art, and many others. He also exhibited at the 19th International Art Exhibition in Venice and at the 1939 World's Fair in New York.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas Donnelly Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, subject files, and published material.

Biographical material contains a list of Donnelly's exhibitions from 1923 to 1950. Correspondence, incoming, consists of several letters to Donnelly. Subject files contains announcements of showings, publications of the Art Students' League, exhibition catalogs and admission cards, photographs of the artist and his work. Published material includes books about the Whitney Museum, a magazine article by Donnelly, magazine articles about his work, newspaper clippings and scrapbooks of clippings, studio announcements, exhibition catalogs and miscellanea.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by name; the other three series are arranged alphabetically by type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas Donnelly Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: Feb 1967
Revision history: 6 Jul 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 6 Dec 2021 - disintegrating scrapbooks in Box 2 disbound, clippings photocopied, originals discarded (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical material
Box 1		List of exhibitions 1923-1950

	Correspondence
Box 1		Incoming 1924, 1931-32 (2 folders)

	Subject files
Box 1		Announcements 1931-1933, undated
Box 1		Pamphlets 1921-1922, 1925-1926 - Art Students' League of New York
Box 1		Photographs of Donnelly 1940
Box 1		Photographs of Donnelly's work 1935-1944, undated

	Published material
Box 1		Books about Whitney Museum 1949, 1954, undated
Box 1		Magazine articles by Donnelly 1935
Box 1		Magazine articles about Donnelly (reproductions) 1938, undated
Box 1		Newspaper clippings about Donnelly 1944, 1946, 1950
Box 1		Scrapbook 1923-1931
Box 2		Scrapbook 1931-1934
Box 2		Scrapbook 1935-1936
Box 2		Scrapbook 1938-1942

Return to top