Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Duvall, Evelyn Millis, 1906-1998 |
| Title: | Evelyn Millis Duvall Manuscripts |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1964-1966 |
| Quantity: | 0.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Papers of the American family life educator. Collection contains manuscripts for the books Today's Teen-ager, Why Wait till Marriage, The Art of Dating, and Faith in Families. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Evelyn Millis Duvall (1909-1998) was an American author and teacher known for her work on marriage, parenting, and family life. Born in Oswego, New York she graduated from Syracuse University (1927) and studied at Vanderbilt, eventually earning her PhD from the University of Chicago. She worked with the Chicago Association of Child Study and Parent Education (1934-1940), directed the Association for Family Living (1940-1945), and served as executive secretary of the National Council on Family Relations (1945-1951).
Duvall taught courses n the Sociology Department at the University of Chicago, traveled to New Zealand to study divorce rates, spoke at numerous conferences, initiated and served as program director for the Sarasota Institute of Lifetime Learning, and wrote numerous articles and books.
She and her husband Sylvanus Milne Duvall had two children, and collaborated on a syndicated column called "Let's Explore Your Mind."
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Evelyn Millis Duvall Papers consist of the manuscripts of four of Duvall's books.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Evelyn Millis Duvall Manuscripts
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Evelyn Millis Duvall, 1966, 1970.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: -
Date: Dec 1966
Revision history: 8 Mar 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)
Inventory
| Manuscripts | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | The Art of Dating 1966 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Faith in Families | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Today's Teenagers 1966 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Why Wait Till Marriage? 1964 (2 folders) | ||||||||||