Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Emery, Walter H. |
| Title: | Walter H. Emery Photographic Journal |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1901-1926 |
| Quantity: | 0.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Photographs (gelatin silver and cyanotype) with accompanying handwritten booklets, taken by photographer and painter Walter H. Emery |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Walter H. Emery (1872-1937) was an American painter and photographer based in upstate New York. Self-taught, he did his own developing and printing.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Walter H. Emery Photographic Journal consist of photographs and writings which document Emery's 25-year process of self-education as a photographer. The photographs are of natural scenery and landscapes, and outdoor informal portraits of chldren and friends. They are mounted in 33 small handwritten booklets, in which Emery describes the subject of the photograph, details the photographic process used, and states what he had aimed to achieve artistically. Most of the photographs are silver gelatin prints; three are cyanotypes. The collection is housed in a small cardboard box bearing an "enlarged portrait of old photo of my mother" and the handwritten legend "Pictures from the Long Age - Emery." A full list of photographs is filed with the collection.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Walter H. Emery Photographic Journal,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 8 Apr 2024
Revision history:
Inventory
| Photographs | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Photographic journal circa 1901-1926 - 54 photographs with 33 accompanying handwritten booklets | ||||||||||