Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Title:	Fairfield Collection
Inclusive Dates:	1804-1950
Quantity:	10 linear ft.
Abstract:	Records of Fairfield Academy and Fairfield Medical College, Herkimer County, New York, and the personal papers of Dr. William Mather, Alonzo C. Mather, Albert B. Watkins, and other families and individuals connected with the school and town.
Language:	Most in English, scattered items in French and Spanish
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Fairfield Academy, located in the town of Fairfield in Herkimer County, New York, was incorporated in 1803. The Academy had several instructors in medical subjects, including anatomy, pharmacy, medicine, surgery, and obstetrics. In 1812, 43 students were studying medical subjects and the Academy applied for a charter as a medical college in order to be able to grant M.D. degrees to its students. The charter was granted under the name of "The College of Physicians and Surgeons of the Western District of New York," but the institution was commonly known as Fairfield Medical College. It was the second medical college to be chartered in the state and the 11th in the United States. The faculty was composed of eminent physicians and physician-instructors, and the college acquired an excellent reputation. By 1833 the school had over 200 students and over its life granted more than 600 M.D. degrees, 18 of whom went on to become professors in other medical colleges. (Of the five members of the faculty of the Geneva (N.Y.) Medical College who transferred to the Syracuse University Medical College upon its establishment in 1871, at least three had received their medical training at Fairfield.) Fairfield Medical College closed in 1840, due to competition from other medical colleges opened in New York and surrounding states. In 1812, the trustees of Fairfield Academy, acting on the suggestion of the Rev. Amos G. Baldwin, petitioned Trinity Episcopal Church in Fairfield for a grant of funds to establish a college of liberal culture under Episcopal auspices. This petition was not granted, but in the following year, acting upon another petition suggested by the Rev. Baldwin, the corporation of Trinity church founded a theological school in connection with Fairfield Academy.

The academy was reorganized as the co-educational Fairfield Seminary in 1839, incorporating a "Classical Academy and Female Collegiate Institute," with a teacher training and college preparation curriculum. Its enrollment in 1861 was 551. As new major transportation routes developed in the 19th century, bypassing the town of Fairfield, the academy lost its prominence. It operated as a military academy beginning in 1891 and closed permanently in 1901, largely due to competition from the growing number of high schools in the area.

Dr. William Mather (1802-1890), a descendent of Cotton Mather, was a son of Captain Moses Mather, an early settler of Herkimer County and one of the founders of Fairfield Academy. In 1826, Mather graduated from Fairfield Medical College with the degree of M.D. As he had from boyhood been "an ardent lover of the science of chemistry," he turned his attention to that subject and from 1828 to 1868 was one of the most popular lecturers in this country. He married Mary Ann Buell in 1836, and the two had three children. In 1838 he was appointed instructor in chemistry at the Hamilton (New York) Literary and Theological Seminary and in 1841 was elected professor of chemistry at the Castleton (Vermont) Medical College. From 1852 to 1868 he was professor of chemistry, mineralogy, and geology at Madison (now Colgate) University in Hamilton. He was also the president of Fairfield Seminary for more than a quarter of a century.

Alonzo Clark Mather (1848-1941), an inventor and industrialist, was educated at Fairfield Academy and upon graduation went to work as a clerk in Utica, New York. In 1867 he opened his own mercantile business in Little Falls, New York, and moved to Quincy, Illinois the subsequent year. In 1875 he moved to Chicago and ran a wholesale business under the name Alonzo C. Mather and Company, which imported and manufactured a ladies’ self-lacing glove of his own patent. In 1880, following an incident observing the poor conditions of cattle in railway transport, Mather began work on a more humane stock car, and in the following year started the Mather Humane Stock Transportation Company of Chicago (commonly known as the Mather Stock Car Company) in order to produce these cars. The American Humane Association awarded Mather a medal for the humane treatment of animals in 1883. For many years, Mather endeavored to build a bridge across the Niagara River from Buffalo to Fort Erie, Ontario, which would harness the water currents for electric power; however, a bill from the United States Congress prevented the realization of this idea. He did build Mather Tower in Chicago, which served as the headquarters for the Mather Stock Car Company and is now a Chicago Historic Landmark.

Albert Barnes Watkins (1838-1892), a native of Naples, New York, was a student of Fairfield Seminary who also began teaching at the school. In 1861 he entered Amherst College as a junior and graduated in two years with honors. He returned to Fairfield as a teacher, and in 1863 he married Martha Ann Mather, the daughter of Dr. William Mather. He was the principal of the Hungerford Collegiate Institute in Adams, New York, for twelve years (1870-1882), where he was elected and served two terms as School Commissioner of Jefferson County, and also received the degree of Doctor of Philosophy. In 1882 he became the State Inspector of Teachers' Classes, and from 1884 until his death he served as the Assistant Secretary of the University of the State.

A genealogy of the Buell, Clark, Dresser, Griswold, Mather and Watkins families is available here (if online) or at the end of this finding aid (if in hard copy).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Fairfield Academy series encompasses items relating to the combined history of Fairfield Academy (incorporated 1803), The College of Physicians and Surgeons of the Western District of New York (chartered 1812), and Fairfield Seminary (founded 1813). Included are the correspondence and meeting minutes of the Board of Trustees; materials related to the College of Physicians and Surgeons; items from Fairfield Seminary including a diploma for Burrit D. Case and report cards for Martha Ann Mather; financial material, and published material.

The Fairfield, New York series consists of iems connected to the town of Fairfield, including biographical and genealogical notes from researchers, primarily regarding the Buell and Mather families; legal documents; and materials regarding Trinity Church and the Woman’s Central Association of Relief.

Fairfield Families includes the personal papers of the Buell, Mather, and Watkins families who are connected through the marriages of Dr. William Mather to Mary Ann Buell, whose father Roswell Buell donated land for Fairfield Academy; and of Mather’s daughter Martha Ann to Albert Barnes Watkins. Many of the writers of the letters are already represented in the Library's special collections, especially the Gerrit Smith Collection. No special restrictions.

The Dr. William Mather Papers material contains the personal papers of Dr. William Mather, including his own biographical and genealogical work; family, general and professional correspondence; financial records and writings. There are also many of Dr. Mather's lecture notes in manuscript, including "minutes" of the medical lectures delivered by various doctors at the Fairfield school between 1827 and 1838; account books and journals of the "popular lectures" which he delivered throughout New York State; manuscript notes and letter-press accounts of the history of the Fairfield schools and of the Town of Fairfield, etc. These papers are significant for the revelations they make concerning the early days of the teaching of natural sciences in New York State and the teaching of chemistry in the United States during the first half of the nineteenth century.

The Alonzo C. Mather Papers contain the personal papers of Alonzo Clark Mather, including biographical and genealogical work; family correspondence; general correspondence and subject files; financial material and memorabilia. There is also assorted material related to his various inventions, primarily the humane stock car and the proposed bridge, as well as his professional interests.

The Albert B. Watkins Papers include the correspondence and documents of Albert Barnes Watkins, a notable Fairfield Seminary student and teacher. Among the professional correspondence and the documents are materials relating to Watkins’ capacity as a teacher at Fairfield, as principal of the Hungerford Collegiate Institute in Adams, NY, and as Assistant Secretary of the University of the State.

The Miscellaneous series contains unidentified correspondence and fragments, unsigned manuscripts, assorted printed material, and "Transcripts from Colonial Record” which relates to Edward Griswold (1607-1691), of whom Sarah Buell (née Griswold) (1769-1856) is a descendent.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is divided into the series given above, in ascending chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Smallwood Collection, which concerns Amos Eaton and the teaching of the natural sciences in America previous to 1875; Tip of the Hill, by Thomas C. O'Donnell, an informal history of Fairfield Academy and Fairfield Medical College; and "The Pawnee missionaries," a narrative about Martha Ann Mather Satterlee in The Christian keepsake and missionary annual, edited by John Alonzo Clark.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Fairfield Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mary Anne Loomis Shepard of Palmdale, California, great-granddaughter of George S. Loomis, pioneer resident of the Town of DeWitt, Onondaga County, New York, 1970.

Diploma gift of Sarah Christensen, 2011..

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Feb 1955
Revision history: 28 Oct 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 1 Jun 2010 - updated related material (MRC); 1 Sep 2011 - corrected location (MRC); 24 Apr 2012 - reprocessed collection and updated finding aid (SAH); 17 May 2012 - added English patent (MRC); 26 Oct 2012 - extent revised (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

	Fairfield Academy
		Board of Trustees
Box 1			Correspondence 1844, 1876 (3 items)
Box 1			Meeting minutes 1811, 1842, 1845, undated (10 items)
		College of Physicians and Surgeons
Box 1			Dr. Spalding's Inaugural Address 1814 - An address delivered at Fairfield VII December MDCCCXIII at the inauguration of the officers of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of the Western District of the State of New-York by Lyman Spalding. Contains original and photocopy; an electronic copy is available via Libraries Search . (2 items)
Box 1			Kappa Alpha Phi Society 1826, 1830 (4 items)
Box 1			Miscellaneous 1827, 1830, 1880 (3 items)
		Correspondence
Box 1			Reunion and Memorial 1922-1923 (26 items)
Box 1			Miscellaneous 1864 (4 items)
		Fairfield Seminary
Box 1			Catalogs 1866-1874 (3 items)
Box 1			Debate societies 1862-1865, undated (8 items)
Box 18			Diploma June 22, 1899 - for Burritt D. Case (1 item)
Box 1			Records 1857-1890, undated (11 items)
Box 1			Report cards 1853-1859, undated - for Martha Ann Mather, daughter of Dr. William Mather (8 items)
Box 1		Financial material 1853-1869 (5 items)
Box 1		Published material 1881-1896, 1913, 1950, undated (9 items)

	Fairfield, New York
Box 1		Biography and genealogy material (17 items)
			See also Dr. William Mather Papers: Biographical and genealogical material (Box 7) and Alonzo C. Mather Papers: Biographical and genealogical material (Box 8)
		Correspondence
Box 1			Sale of Martha Watkins' house 1919-1920 (8 items)
Box 1			Town correspondence 1879, 1884 (2 items)
Box 1		Legal material 1831, 1853, 1875, 1877 (4 items)
Box 1		Trinity Church 1837, 1860-1880, undated (17 items)
Box 1		Woman's Central Association of Relief 1864-1865, undated (10 items)
Box 1		Miscellaneous and fragmentary (9 items)

	Fairfield Families
		Buell
Box 2			Buell, Alexander Clark (1845-1880) (son of Alexander H. and Harriet Buell) 1852-1876, undated (11 items)
			Buell, Alexander H. (Hamilton) (1801-1853) (brother of Mary Ann Mather)
Box 2				Correspondence 1827-1851 (6 items)
Box 2				Death of 1853 - includes telegrams and summons (5 items)
Box 2			Buell, Harriet E. (née Gruman) (1819-?) (wife of Alexander H. Buell) 1861-1884, undated (11 items)
			Buell, Mary Ann (1805-1874)
				See Mather, Mary Ann (née Buell)
Box 2			Buell, Sarah (née Griswold) (1769-1856) (mother of Daniel, Sarah, Alexander H., and Mary Buell) 1812-1848 (8 items)
			Buell, Sarah (1798-?)
				See Clark, Sarah (née Buell)
Box 2			Clark, John A. (Alexander) (1833-?) (son of Reverend John Alonzo and Sarah Clark) 1852-1874, undated (12 items)
Box 2			Clark, Reverend John Alonzo (1801-1943) (husband of Sarah Clark) 1831-1834, undated (7 items)
			Clark, Sarah (née Buell) (1798-?) (sister of Mary Buell)
Box 2				Incoming correspondence 1838-1851, undated (8 items)
Box 2				Outgoing correspondence 1839-1855, undated (13 items)
		Mather
Box 2			Mather, A. B. (Albert Barnes) (1845-?) (son of Jairus and Eliza Mather) 1865-1866 (6 items)
Box 2			Mather, Irene (née Argyle Irene Gasper) (1879-1950) (third wife of Alonzo C. Mather) 1914 (13 items)
Box 2			Mather, Jairus (1819-1893) (brother of Dr. William Mather) 1853-1862 (4 items)
			Mather, John Alonzo Clark ("Lon") (1848-1941) (son of Dr. William and Mary Mather)
				See Alonzo C. Mather Papers (Boxes 8-15)
Box 2			Mather, Louise (née Maria Louise Eames) (1840-1920) (second wife of Alonzo C. Mather) 1880-1884, undated (22 items)
			Mather, Martha Ann (1813-1836) (sister of Dr. William Mather)
				See Satterlee, Mrs. Benedict (née Martha Ann Mather) (Box 3)
			Mather, Martha Ann ("Mattie") (1840-1927) (daughter of Dr. William and Mary Mather)
				See Watkins, Martha Ann ("Mattie") (née Mather) (Boxes 4-6)
			Mather, Mary Ann (née Buell) (1805-1874) (wife of Dr. William Mather)
Box 2				Incoming correspondence 1823-1846 (9 items)
Box 2				Outgoing correspondence 1831-1870, undated (10 items)
Box 2			Mather, Martha O. (née Johnson) (?-1879) (first wife of Alonzo C. Mather) 1879 (1 items)
Box 2			Mather, Moses (1774-1832) (father of Dr. William, Jacob Dresser, Martha Ann, and Jairus Mather) 1804, 1814 (2 items)
Box 2			Mather, Sarah (née Dresser) (1779-1843) (mother of Dr. William, Jacob Dresser, Martha Ann, and Jairus Mather) 1853-1858 (10 items)
			Mather, Dr. William (1802-1890)
				See Dr. William Mather Papers (Boxes 7-8)
Box 3			Mather, Dr. William and Mary (collectively) 1856-1874 (6 items)
Box 3			Mather, William Alexander (1837-1908) (son of Dr. William and Mary Mather) 1853-1884, undated (8 items)
Box 3			Satterlee, Mrs. Benedict (née Martha Ann Mather) (1813-1836) (sister of Dr. William Mather) 1828-1835 (12 items)
				Died en route to Oregon with the Marcus Whitman expedition in 1836
Box 3			W[ickham?], Abbie (niece of Sarah Mather) 1834-1867, undated (13 items)
		Watkins
Box 3			General biographical facts (3 items)
			Watkins, Albert Barnes
				See Albert B. Watkins Papers (Boxes 16-17)
Box 3			Watkins, Albert Barnes and Martha Ann 1864-1869 (6 items)
Box 3			Watkins, Arthur (circa 1849-1899) 1863-1869 - brother of Albert B. Watkins (23 items)
Box 3			Watkins, Mrs. E. H. (née Eveline Hamlin, 1816-1900) 1862-1876, undated - mother of Albert Barnes, Frank H., and Arthur Watkins (137 items in 5 folders)
			Watkins, Eva (Evelina/Evelyn Mary) (1866-1932) - daughter of Albert B. and Martha A. Watkins
Box 4				Correspondence 1878-1882 (8 items)
Box 4				Personal documents 1882-1884, undated (5 items)
Box 4			Watkins, Frank Alonzo (1875-?) 1880-1923 - son of Albert B. and Martha A. Watkins (15 items)
Box 4			Watkins, Frank H. (circa 1846-?) 1862-1868 - brother of Albert B. Watkins (36 items)
Box 4			Watkins, Jesse Mather (1868-?) 1879-1923 - son of Albert B. and Martha A. Watkins (7 items)
			Watkins, Martha "Mattie" Ann (1840-1927) - daughter of Dr. William and Mary Mather; wife of Albert B. Watkins
				Correspondence, family
Box 4					Incoming 1853-1867 (30 items)
Box 4					Mather, Alonzo C. (brother) 1864-1914 (4 items)
Box 4					Mather, Mary Ann (mother) 1855-1871 (10 items)
Box 4					Mather, Dr. William (father) 1857-1880 (72 items in 3 folders)
Box 5					Mather, Dr. William (father) 1881-1886, undated (76 items in 3 folders)
Box 5					Parents (collectively) 1864-1874, undated (24 items)
Box 5					Watkins, Albert Barnes (husband) 1859-1862 (25 items in 2 folders)
Box 6					Watkins, Albert Barnes (husband) 1863-1865, undated (12 items)
Box 6					Other family 1852, 1856, undated (4 items)
				Correspondence, general
Box 6					A-W (49 items)
Box 6					Dunn, John King 1853-1855 (10 items)
Box 6					Hockley, Thomas and Annie undated (7 items)
Box 6					Liddell, Mattie (Mrs. J. B. Hull) 1858-1865 (21 items)
Box 6					Perkins, Katie 1856-1867 (33 items)
Box 6					Quinby, Libbie 1862-1869, undated (13 items)
Box 6					Ward, Eliza ("Lizzie") 1853-1864 (25 items)
Box 6					Unidentified (13 items)
Box 6				Printed material (2 items)
Box 6				Writings 1852-1859, undated (29 items)

	Dr. William Mather Papers
		Biographical and genealogical material
			See also Fairfield, New York: Biography and genealogy material (Box 1) and Alonzo C. Mather Papers: Biographical and genealogical material (Box 8)
Box 7			Written by Dr. William Mather (33 items)
Box 7			Obituaries 1890 (2 items)
		Correspondence
			Family
Box 7				Incoming 1836-1882, undated (10 items)
Box 7				General 1830-1851 (5 items)
Box 7				Children (collectively) (5 items)
Box 7				Mather, Mary (wife) 1849-1867 (8 items)
			General
Box 7				A-W 1839-1884 (30 items)
Box 7				Herkimer County National Bank 1875-1882 (6 items)
Box 7				Mather, Horace 1880-1882 (5 items)
Box 7				Silver, N— 1869-1880 (9 items)
			Professional
				A-W 1829-1885, undated (25 items)
Box 7				Outgoing (4 items)
Box 7		Financial records (10 items)
		Lectures
Box 7			Correspondence 1833-1859, undated (10 items)
			Financial records
Box 7				"Memorandums, Accounts, ..." 1851-1857 - bound notebook (1 item)
Box 7				Subscriptions 1837-1847 (9 items)
Box 8			"Notes taken at medical lectures, Fairfield Medical College" 1827-1838 (12 items in 2 folders)
Box 8			Teaching material (20 items)
Box 8		Photograph of Dr. William Mather (1 item)
Box 8		Writings - includes resignation letter to the trustees of the college and "What I remember of James Fennimore (sic) Cooper" (original and copies) (18 items)
Box 8		Miscellaneous (5 items)

	Alonzo C. Mather Papers
		Biographical and genealogical material
			See also Fairfield, New York: Biography and genealogy material (Box 1) and Dr. William Mather Papers: Biographical and genealogical material (Box 7)
Box 8			By Alonzo C. Mather - includes copy of Alonzo C. Mather's brief history of the Mather family and autobiography submitted to Courier-Journal circa 1884 (6 items)
Box 8			By others - includes copies of obituaries, notes about his life, and correspondence regarding the collection (10 items)
		Correspondence
			See also Inventions and Professional Interests for additional correspondence related to specific projects.
			Family correspondence
Box 8				Mather, Mary Ann (mother) 1863-1874, undated (6 items)
Box 8				Mather, Dr. William (father) 1865-1885, undated (63 items in 2 folders)
Box 8				Parents 1866-1872 (5 items)
Box 9				Watkins, Albert Barnes (brother-in-law) 1866 (4 items)
Box 9				Watkins, Martha Ann (sister) 1862-1870, undated (17 items)
Box 9				Miscellaneous 1890-1923 (11 items)
			General correspondence/subject files
Box 9				A-W (53 items)
Box 9				Auto 1899-1901 (10 items)
Box 9				Blackmar, Esbon 1902 - resident of the Alliance (12 items)
Box 9				Buffalo Concrete, Stone and Brick Company 1904 (15 items)
Box 9				Doyle, General P. C. (Peter C.) 1893-1900 (8 items)
Box 9				Electricity and canal boats 1893 (14 items)
Box 9				Fulton, Robert 1893 (5 items)
Box 9				Inventive Age 1893-1894 (4 items)
Box 9				Lazarus, Rosenfeld and Lehmann 1901 (7 items)
Box 9				Mather, Horace E. 1895, 1897 (15 items)
Box 9				Price, J. Edward 1901 - regarding a coat of arms for the Alliance (13 items)
Box 9				Rowland, Edward B. 1916-1918 (10 items)
Box 9				Scott, A. J. 1901-1902 (7 items)
Box 9				Thompson, Ellen B. 1901-1905, undated - regarding commission to copy works of art for Mather's art collection (73 items in 4 folders)
Box 10				The Trumbull Manufacturing Company 1900-1901, 1903 - regarding plans for an automobile (91 items in 3 folders)
Box 10				United States flag proposal 1896 - regarding Mather's design for the new 45-star flag (78 items in 2 folders)
Box 10				Weapon collection 1900-1901 (18 items)
Box 10				Wire nail machinery 1902 (12 items)
Box 10				Yacht 1898-1902 (46 items)
		Financial material
Box 11			Checkbook 1901 (1 items)
Box 11			Correspondence (23 items)
			Invoices
Box 11				General 1900-1906 (19 items)
Box 11				Bowles, Frank (9 items)
Box 11				Walbridge and Company 1902-1903 (17 items)
Box 11			Personal Finances 1922 (6 items)
Box 11			Southern Mutual Investment Company (8 items)
		Inventions
			Humane stock car
				Correspondence/subject files
Box 11					[General] 1881-1892 (30 items)
Box 11					Automatic couplers 1891-1892 (8 items)
Box 11					Gasoline engine 1892-1906 (9 items)
Box 11					Ripley, G. N. 1891 (17 items)
				Financial material
Box 11					"Bills paid on a/c Mather's Humane Stock Trans. Co." 1881 (28 items)
Box 11					Invoices 1888-1889 (6 items)
Box 11					Statements 1920 (17 items)
Box 11				Legal material (12 items)
				Printed material
Box 12					Advertising material (48 items)
Box 12					American Humane Association 1880, 1881 (2 items)
Box 12					Humane Journal clippings (12 items)
				Records
Box 12					"List of Newspapers and Public Men sent Circulars - To Stock Transportation Co." (1 item)
Box 12					Reports of patent and common cars (1 item)
Box 12					Stockyard logs 1923 (12 items)
Box 12				Scrapbook (1 item)
Box 12				Miscellaneous (5 items)
			Patents
				Airplane
Box 12					German patent 1912 (8 items)
Box 12					Notes and sketches (21 items)
Box 13				Pneumatic spring 1894 (3 items)
Box 13				Railroad track 1894 (2 items)
				Self-lacing boot and glove
Box 13					Documents 1883-1886 (11 items)
Box 13					Patents 1883-1884 (13 items in 2 folders)
Map-Case					Patent, England 1883
Box 13				Unidentified patent drawings (8 items)
			Power bridge and water-regulating devices
				includes material relating to Mather's proposed bridge to generate electricity from Niagara Falls, as well as related power-generating technologies
Box 13				Blueprints and patents (10 items)
				Correspondence
Box 13					A-W 1900-1907 (23 items)
Box 13					André Citroën and Company 1908 (3 items)
Box 13					Brill, George M. 1904-1905 (5 items)
Box 13					Chains 1904-1905 (18 items)
Box 13					Churchyard, Joseph J. 1905 (8 items)
Box 13					Corliss, Hon. John B. 1900-1903 - Representative for proposing the bridge (19 items)
Box 13					Cowper, T. D. 1893-1900 (18 items)
Box 14					Dean, Cyrus S. 1906-1907 (23 items)
Box 14					Decker, Arthur W. 1901 (10 items)
Box 14					Levin, A. M. 1905-1906 (15 items)
Box 14					Lockwood, Stephen T. 1896-1900 (10 items)
Box 14					Norris, James L. 1899-1902 - patent lawyer (8 items)
Box 14					O'Keefe and Orbison 1904-1905 (20 items)
Box 14					"Responses to bids for hydraulic cylinders" 1905 (24 items)
Box 14					Wisner, Geo. Y. 1903 (4 items)
Box 14					Outgoing correspondence (8 items)
Box 14				Legislative material 1891, 1893-1900, 1902, undated (30 items)
Box 14				Photographs (8 items)
Box 14				"Plan for power house" (14 items)
				Printed material
Box 14					Advertising material (5 items)
					Clippings
Box 14						International Waterways Commission 1905 (12 items)
Box 14						Mather Power Bridge 1895-1900, 1906 (29 items)
Box 14						Niagara power 1889-1895 (17 items)
		Memorabilia
Box 15			Address book (1 items)
			Clippings
Box 15				Airplanes 1918, undated - includes correspondence regarding suggestions for improvements (20 items)
Box 15				Miscellaneous 1890-1902 (4 items)
Box 15			Notes and sketches (50 items)
Box 15			Photograph of Alonzo C. Mather 1888 (1 items)
Box 15			Writings (2 items)
		Professional interests
			Brewster sanitarium - a project by Dr. Flora A. Brewster to build a sanitarium, which Mather aided financially
Box 15				Correspondence 1899-1905 - primarily between Brewster and Mather (114 items in 3 folders)
Box 15				Documents (8 items)
			Buffalo, New York
Box 15				The Alliance 1900-1909 - apartment building financed by Mather (31 items)
Box 15				"House memo" (5 items)
Box 15				Real estate 1895 (5 items)
				Reciprocity League
					Organization dedicated to promoting free trade
Box 15					Correspondence 1898, 1902-1905 - primarily with Campbell Shaw, secretary of the Lower Lakes Reciprocity League (of which Mather was vice president) (21 items)
Box 15					Clippings 1903 (11 items)
Box 15		Miscellaneous (13 items)

	Albert B. Watkins Papers
		Correspondence
Box 16			Family 1867-1880, undated (26 items)
			General
Box 16				A-Y 1863-1870, undated (89 items in 3 folders)
Box 16				Unidentified (3 items)
			Personal
Box 16				B-Y 1863-1869, undated (32 items)
Box 16				Babbitt, Jas. H. 1863-1867 (17 items)
Box 16				Baldwin, R. S. 1863-1865 (4 items)
Box 16				Cutting, Chas. (Charles) 1863-1868 (14 items)
Box 16				Henderson, J. D. 1865-1867 (5 items)
Box 16				Leggett, C. D. 1867-1870 undated (6 items)
Box 17				Merrill, George R. 1863-1867, undated (17 items)
Box 17				Morrill, G. W. (George Willard) 1863-1866 undated (5 items)
Box 17				Quinby, J. W. 1864-1870 (11 items)
Box 17				Randall, — 1864, undated (5 items)
Box 17				Ward, John 1863-1869, undated (20 items)
Box 17				Wells, George H. (Huntington) undated (5 items)
Box 17		Documents 1863-1880, undated (25 items)

	Miscellaneous
Box 17		Unidentified correspondence and fragments 1836-1898, undated (13 items)
Box 17		Unsigned manuscripts (19 items)
Box 17		Printed material (35 items)
Box 17		"Transcripts from Colonial Record" 1897 (1 item)
			relates to Edward Griswold (1607-1691), of whom Sarah Buell (née Griswold) (1769-1856) is a descendent

Return to top