Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Falk, Richard A.
Title:	Richard A. Falk Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1954-1991
Quantity:	40 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American author, specialist in international law and justice. Collection includes extensive professional correspondence (1962-1991); manuscript and/or published articles, books, essays, lectures, speeches and other material on international law, war, the environment, nuclear weapons, the Middle-East, and population; and research material.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Richard A. Falk (1930- ) is an American author and professor specializing in international law and justice. Born in New York City, he studied at University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School and graduated in 1952 with a B.S. in Economics. He attended Yale Law School, graduating in 1955 with an L.L.B., as well as Harvard Law School, earning his J.S.D. in 1962. Over his career he has been a faculty member at the College of Law, Ohio State University; the Albert G. Milbank Professor of International Law and Practice (now Professor Emeritus) at Princeton; Distinguished Visiting Professor of Law at Chapman University School of Law; and Visiting Distinguished Professor in Global and International Studies at the University of California, Santa Barbara (2001-2004). In addition to this distinction, Professor Falk has also been cited as a McCash Faculty and Ford Foundation Fellow.

Professor Falk is the author, co-author, or editor of more than thirty books and numerous essays, including The Six Legal Dimensions of the Vietnam War (1968), A Global Approach to National Policy (1975), Revolutionaries and Functionaries (1988), On Humane Governance: Toward a New Global Politics (1995), Crimes of War: Iraq (2006), and Achieving Human Rights (2008). He is a member of the editorial board of the American Journal of International Law, Foreign Policy, The Nation, and The Progressive, and editor of the Journal of Conflict Resolution. He is Chair of the Board of the Nuclear Age Peace Foundation and a member of the World Federalist Institute, the Independent International Commission on Kosovo, and the Advisory Board for the American Movement for World Government.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard A. Falk Papers consist of correspondence, personal material, printed material, published material, subject files, writings, and memorabilia. The collection at present consists of three separate accessions which have not been physically integrated; however, all material is listed in logical order below, so box numbers are not always sequential.

Correspondence contains a number of letters from well-known Congressmen and other public figures (a partial list of names of such people can be found in the finding aids file). The bulk of material found in printed material, published material and subject files deals with law and with the Vietnam War. Writings contains law-related works, many of which are in rough draft form. A selected index to correspondence listing notable figures (mainly members of Congress), appears at the end of the inventory; note that this index covers the main part of the collection ONLY (boxes 1-35). Correspondence from later additions (boxes 36-38) is not included in this index.

Personal material includes awards, correspondence, government employment information, photographs, and legal, medical, and financial papers.

Printed material includes business cards, newsletters, photocopies of articles, press releases, reports, transcripts, and other items.

Published material includes articles, clippings, galley proofs, magazines, pamphlets, photocopies, reprints, and other items.

Subject files consists of files on various topics related to Falk's areas of interest. Topics represented include -- but are by no means limited to -- noncitizens (much of this content uses the then-common term "aliens"), arms control, the Carnegie Corporation, the Center for International Studies, coercion, disarmament, impeachment, indirect aggression, the Institute for World Order, international law, non-military foreign aid, nuclear proliferation, personal responsibility, reciprocity, South Africa, subversion, the United Nations, Vietnam, and war crimes.

Writings includes among other things articles, books, essays, galley proofs, lectures, and speeches. Also here are rough drafts and typescripts of dozens of pieces written by Falk.

Memorabilia contains conference material, printed material, publicity, and some miscellany.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is divided into general (organized chronologically) and specific (organized alphabetically by subject). Personal material, Subject files and Memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by topic, while Printed material is arranged alphabetically by type.

Published material and Writings present something of a challenge. These series are arranged inconsistently due to the three main sets of material not yet being physically integrated. Particularly problematic is the writings section, in which some items are categorized by type of material (essays, lectures, pamphlets), some are categorized by writing stage (proofs, typescripts, drafts), and still others are placed alphabetically by their topic. Researchers are encouraged to make a thorough reading of this section of the inventory.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds more than 60 volumes by Falk in its circulating collection; please refer to Libraries Search for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard A. Falk Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Richard Falk, 1969-1992.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CMV
Date: Apr 1980
Revision history: Dec 1991 - additions (JOD); May 1992 - additions (JOD); 12 Nov 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 12 Dec 2016 - index code corrected (MRC); 2 Oct 2019 - "Role of Domestic Courts..." book material added (MRC); 13 Jan 2022 - scopecontent updated to reflect the term "noncitizens" (DTF)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		[Chronological] 1962-1973 (26 folders)
Box 2		[Chronological] 1970-1972 (21 folders)
Box 3		[Chronological] 1972-1973 (18 folders)
Box 4		[Chronological] 1973-1975 (20 folders)
Box 5		[Chronological] 1975, 1977-1978, (4 folders)
Box 36		[Chronological] 1984-1987
Box 37		[Chronological] 1991
Box 5		[Chronological] undated (2 folders)
Box 5		A (3 folders)
Box 5		American Foreign Law Association, Inc.
Box 5		American Friends Service Committee
Box 5		American Political Science Association Panel 1973
		ASIL (American Society of International Law)
Box 5			Covert Intervention
Box 5			Executive Committee
Box 5			War-Peace Arena
Box 5		Amnesty International Conference 1968
Box 5		Arab-Israeli
Box 5		Arms Control Disarmament Agency Study
Box 5		Atlantic Council
Box 5		B (4 folders)
Box 5		Batra, Tarlok Singh
Box 5		Bishop, William J., Jr.
Box 5		Board of Review and Development (2 folders)
Box 5		C (4 folders)
Box 6		Cambridge, International, etc.
Box 6		Catholic Association for International Peace Conference 1967
Box 6		Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Studies
Box 6		Center of International Studies
Box 6		Clergy and Laymen Concerned About Vietnam (2 folders)
Box 6		Columbia Society of International Law
Box 6		Commission to Study the Organization of Peace
Box 6		Commitments
Box 6		Conference on Future of International Law
Box 6		Conference Sites for Peace Talks
Box 6		Council on Foreign Relations (2 folders)
Box 6		Crown, Joseph
Box 6		D (4 folders)
Box 6		Dayal, Rajeshwar
Box 6		E (2 folders)
Box 6		F (4 folders)
Box 6		Fisheries Conference
Box 6		Foreign Policy Association
Box 6		Bruce Franklin
Box 6		Fund for Peace
Box 6		G (3 folders)
Box 6		H (4 folders)
Box 6		Haiphong Letter
Box 6		Hammarskjold Forums 1967
Box 6		Hanoi and Paris 1968
Box 6		Human Rights Committee
Box 7		I
Box 7		Incoming 1960
Box 7		Institute for Global Concerns
Box 7		Institute for World Order
Box 7		International Affairs Seminars
Box 7		International Law Association
Box 7		International Law Society
Box 7		International League for the Rights of Man
Box 7		International Procedures to Protect Private Rights Research Project
Box 7		International Society 1968
Box 7		J
Box 7		Japan
Box 7		Journal of Conflict Resolution
Box 7		K (2 folders)
Box 7		Kunz Volume
Box 7		L (3 folders)
Box 7		Lawyers' Committee on American Policy Toward Vietnam
Box 7		Legal Advisor's Office
Box 7		Legal Order in a Violent World
Box 7		Letter from a Soldier in Vietnam
Box 7		J.B. Lippincott Company
Box 7		London Times article
Box 7		M (5 folders)
Box 7		Mc
Box 7		McCosh Fellowship
Box 7		Mendlovitz-Falk
Box 7		The Middle East in the Contemporary World 1967
Box 7		Miscellaneous personal correspondence 1962
Box 7		N (3 folders)
Box 7		National Council of the Churches of Christ
Box 7		Neutralization
Box 7		Neutralization Revision
Box 8		New York Bar Association Committee of International Law
Box 8		New York Times
Box 8		New York University Conference on Norms
Box 8		Nobel Peace Prize
Box 8		Nuremberg Threshing Group
Box 8		O (2 folders)
Box 8		Observer's Report-South Africa
Box 8		Outgoing correspondence
Box 8		P (3 folders)
Box 8		Pandora's Halo - poems
Box 8		Princeton Press
Box 8		Princeton University Conference
Box 8		Procedural Aspects International Law Institute
Box 8		Politics 317
Box 8		Public Broadcast Laboratory
Box 8		Q
Box 8		R (4 folders)
Box 8		Reader in International Law and International Organization
Box 8		Recommendations (2 folders)
Box 8		References 1963
Box 8		Rhodesia
Box 8		Rockefeller Foundation
Box 8		S (6 folders)
Box 8		Seminar on Law and World Order 1968
Box 8		South Africa, Bishop Mize
Box 8		South West Africa
Box 9		Harold Sprout
Box 9		The Status of Law in International Society
Box 9		Julius Stone
Box 9		Stress
Box 9		Student Forum on International Order and World Peace
Box 9		Student Recommendations
Box 9		Syracuse book
Box 9		T (2 folders)
Box 9		Tax Protest
Box 9		Theory
Box 9		Tshombe Case
Box 9		U
Box 9		U.S. Sponsoring and Policy Review Council
Box 9		University Conference on Disarmament
Box 9		V
Box 9		Vanderbilt University Lecture 1968
Box 9		Vietnam, letters
Box 9		Vietnam, Lawyer's Committee
Box 9		W (4 folders)
Box 9		World Bank
Box 9		World Conference of Lawyers for Vietnam 1968
Box 9		World Law Fund (2 folders)
Box 9		World Law Fund Conference 1968
Box 9		World Order Models Project [WOMP]
Box 9		World Order Studies Project
Box 9		Quincy Wright Festschrift
Box 9		X-Y-Z

	Personal
Box 9		Awards
Box 9		Correspondence 1954-1975
Box 9		Curriculum Vitae 1961-1971
Box 9		Financial 1962-1974
Box 9		Government employment information 1961-1962
Box 9		Legal and medical 1962-1969
Box 37		Personal files
Box 9		Photographs

	Printed material
Box 9		Application for Review of Judgement No. 158 of the United Nations Administrative Tribunal
Box 9		Articles (2 folders)
Box 10		Articles
Box 10		Business cards
Box 10		Co-Existence and Common Existence
Box 10		Education for a Planet in Peril
Box 10		Invitations
Box 10		Miscellaneous (15 folders)
Box 11		Miscellaneous (7 folders)
Box 11		Newsletters 1962-1975 (2 folders)
		Photocopies
Box 11			International Law and the Deprivation of Foreign Wealth
Box 11			Miscellaneous (5 folders)
Box 12			Miscellaneous (9 folders)
Box 12			Ocean Sciences, Technology, and the Future International Law of the Sea
Box 12			The Relevance of International Law to Emerging Trends in the Law of Outer Space
Box 12			The Relevance of International Law to the Processes of Economic and Social Development
Box 12			The South West Africa Cases 1966
Box 12			Transcripts (3 folders)
Box 13			Transcripts (5 folders)
Box 13		Press Releases
Box 13		Printed stationery
Box 13		The Procedural Aspects of International Law Institute Reports 1966
Box 13		Reports 1966-1973 (2 folders)
Box 13		Toward Minimizing the Use of Nuclear Weapons
Box 13		Transcripts 1970
Box 13		Work, Wages, and Apartheid
Box 13		World Order Models Project State of the Globe Message 1975 (2 folders)

	Published material
Box 13		Articles (2 folders)
Box 13		Bloc activities
Box 13		Wm. [William F. ] Buckley
		Clippings
Box 13			London Times
Box 13			Magazine 1968-1975
Box 13			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 13			Pentagon Study
Box 13		Cuba-Latin America
Box 13		Death on the High Seas
		Galleys
Box 13			International Law
Box 13			Sex, Love, and Human Relationships
		Magazines
Box 14			Miscellaneous 1964-1973
Box 14			Miscellaneous 1967-1975
Box 14			Miscellaneous 1969-1973
Box 14			The Nation 1964-1966
Box 14		Miscellaneous
		Miscellaneous publications
Box 14			1963-1971
Box 14			1964-1974
Box 14			1966-1972
Box 14			1967-1970
Box 14			1967-1972
Box 14		Monroe Doctrine
Box 14		National Interest-World Order
		Newspaper clippings
Box 14			1962-1975
Box 14			1962-1971
Box 14			1970-1972
Box 14			1971-1973
Oversize 1		Newspapers 1974
Box 14		Pamphlets
Box 14		Peace
Box 14		Peace in Vietnam
		Photocopies
Box 14			After Songmy
Box 14			Aquarius (2 folders)
Box 14			Army Field Manual Provisions
Box 14			Articles
Box 15			Brussels Convention
Box 15			Dyson
Box 15			Eichmann Prosecution
Box 15			FDR
Box 15			Jackson Opening Statement
Box 15			Korematsu (2 folders)
Box 15			Lewy
Box 15			London Charter
Box 15			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 15			Moscow Declaration
Box 15			Nurnberg Judgement
Box 15			Reel
Box 15			Reviews of RAF
Box 15			Tokyo Judgement
Box 15		Problems of Infranational Character
		Recognition
Box 15			Admission
Box 15			Diplomatic Protests
Box 15		Regionalism Functions
Box 15		Reprints 1957-1971
Box 15		Social problems
Box 15		Treaty arrangements
		Vietnam
Box 15			The Constitutional issue
Box 15			Internal politics
Box 15			Internal War, Laos
Box 15			Other Conflict Reactions
Box 15			War Crimes
Box 15			Vietnam as Civil War

	Subject files
Box 36		Academic material
Box 15		Act-State
Box 15		AFSC, war crimes
Box 15		Aliens
Box 15		American Journal of International Law - book reviews
		ASIL
Box 15			Ad Hoc Committee on Policy Positions
Box 15			Committee on Governance
Box 15			Covert Intervention
Box 15			General (2 folders)
Box 15			Panel II: Government Decision-Making
Box 15			Proposal: International Environmental Programs
Box 15		Analogies to International Relations
Box 15		Anshen Institute
Box 15		The Apollo Complex
Box 15		Arms Control at Princeton
Box 15		Arms Control, Disarmament, and World Order
Box 15		Artists Seminar
Box 15		Berlin, Germany
Box 15		Berrigan, general information
Box 15		Biological and chemical warfare
Box 15		Boehm Study
Box 15		Carnegie Corporation
Box 15		Carnegie Discussion on the General Assembly
		CIS (Center for International Studies)
Box 15			Acting Director R.A. Falk
Box 15			Ad Committee
Box 15			Affiliation
Box 15			Miscellaneous
Box 15			Subcommittee
Box 15		Citizen's Commission
Box 15		Civil Defense
		Civil War
Box 15			A-Z (5 folders)
Box 15			Memos
Box 15			Panel 1967
Box 15			Studies: Guidelines
Box 15			Studies: Names and Titles
Box 15			Study Group Addresses
Box 15		Coercion
Box 15		Columbia Course 1963
Box 16		Commission on the Organization of the Government
Box 16		Committee of Liaison
Box 16		Computer course
Box 16		Conference of Laws
Box 16		Consultative Council
Box 16		CONTACT
Box 16		Convocation, World Environment
		Courses
Box 16			[General] 1966
Box 16			Middle East
Box 16			P.A. 545 1964
Box 16			Pol. 317 (5 folders)
Box 16			Politics 545 1967
Box 16			Politics Generals
Box 16			Politics of Disarmament
Box 16			Public Affairs 559 1973
Box 16			World Order
Box 16		Creative Arts and World Order
Box 16		The Dependence of Peace Upon Disarmament
Box 16		Diplomatic Immunities
Box 16		Disarmament, general
Box 16		Disarmament without inspection
Box 16		Domestic Implication of the Cold War for Administration of Law
Box 16		The Ecology Culture
Box 16		EP Comments
Box 16		Faculty Committee on Ph.D. Programs
Box 16		Faculty Council on Vietnam
Box 16		Foreign Policy Consensus
Box 16		Fund for Peace, Trustees Meeting
Box 16		Future of WOMP [World Order Models Project] 1973
Box 16		Future Society
Box 16		General Assembly Resolutions
Box 16		General and Complete Disarmament
Box 16		Global Goals, Thomas Jones
Box 16		Grand Jury
Box 16		Greece, Civil War
Box 16		Greece, Lebanon, etc.
Box 16		Herman, Chomsky
Box 16		Human rights (2 folders)
Box 17		Ideology
Box 17		Impeachment
Box 17		Indirect aggression
Box 17		Individual
Box 17		The Individual and the Government
Box 17		Individual SWO
Box 17		Institute for Global Concerns (2 folders)
		Institute for World Order
Box 17			Executive Committee
Box 17			Miscellaneous (4 folders)
Box 17		International Adjudication
Box 17		International Aspects of Federalism
Box 17		International Law and US Military Practices
Box 17		International Law and War
Box 17		International Law Committee
Box 17		International Law of International Travel
Box 17		International Relations
Box 17		Kennedy
Box 17		Kissinger confirmation
Box 17		Law and Foreign Policy
Box 17		Law and Public Affairs
Box 17		Law, war, morality, etc.
Box 17		Legislative intervention by United Nations
Box 17		Mathmatica
Box 17		McDougal
Box 17		Military Assistance
Box 17		Morse, Ed
Box 17		National Parks and Conservation Association 1975, 1976 (2 folders)
Box 17		New States
Box 17		Nigeria
Box 17		Non-Aligned Nations
Box 17		Non-Member Issue
Box 17		Non-Military Foreign Aid
Box 17		Nuclear Proliferation
Box 17		Nuclear Testing
Box 17		Nuclear Warfare and Moral Responsibility
Box 17		Obstacles to Disarmament
Box 17		Ohio State University
Box 17		Outer Space and International Law
Box 17		Peace Research and Education
Box 17		Peace, System Change
Box 17		Pentagon Papers Case
Box 17		Personal Responsibility and War
Box 18		Politics Department
Box 18		Politics of Law in International Society
Box 18		Population Control
Box 18		Population Effects
		Princeton University
Box 18			Burlingham
Box 18			Course and Faculty Information 1964-1968 (2 folders)
Box 18			Courses, etc.
Box 18			Conference on World Order
Box 18			Miscellaneous (4 folders)
Box 18			World Order Studies Program
Box 18		Possible Candidates for World Order Program
Box 18		Procedural Aspects of International Law Institute
Box 18		Proliferation
Box 18		Quotations
Box 18		Rand-McNally and Company
Box 18		Reciprocity
Box 18		Recommendations 1963-1965 (2 folders)
Box 18		Redress
Box 18		Redress Conference 1973
Box 18		Regionalism (2 folders)
Box 18		Regional Meetings
Box 18		Rosenau
Box 18		Select Vietnam Reading List
Box 18		Self-Determination
Box 18		Shimoda Book
Box 18		Sixth Committee ILC
Box 18		Social Problems
Box 18		South Africa
Box 18		State As Obsolete Statement
Box 18		State of the Globe Message
Box 18		State of the Globe Overview
		Steel Seizure
Box 18			Miscellaneous
Box 18			Youngstown Sheet and Tube (3 folders)
Box 18		Subversion
Box 18		Tape of Panel Discussion 1975
Box 18		Theory
Box 18		Thon, War Crimes Book
Box 18		Threats
Box 18		Trade, WOMP [World Order Models Project]
Box 18		Unilateral Claiming Processes
Box 18		UNITAR Project
		United Nations
Box 19			Financing
Box 19			Intervention
Box 19			Miscellaneous
Box 19			Report on Appreciation of International Law
Box 19			Versus Fasla
Box 19			World Population Conference 1974
Box 19		United States Disarmament Agency
Box 19		University Regulations
		Vietnam
Box 19			And International Law
Box 19			Bowen vs. US (3 folders)
Box 19			Duffy Interrogation
Box 19			Elections
Box 19			Frances Fitzgerald
Box 19			Ashley King Letter
Box 19			Lawyers' Committee
Box 19			Levy vs. US Army (2 folders)
Box 19			Miscellaneous
Box 19			Mitchell vs. US
Box 19			Mora vs. McNamara
Box 19			Moratorium
Box 19			Nixon on My Lai 1969
Box 19			Noyd (3 folders)
Box 19			Owens (3 folders)
Box 19			Roger Priest Case
Box 19			Princeton Alumni Panel
Box 19			Princeton University General Assembly
Box 19			Protest: The Moral Issues
Box 19			Reitemeyer vs. McCrea
Box 19			Scripts and Time Sheets
Box 19			Sisson vs. US
Box 19			Statement by Canadian Lawyers
Box 19			Torture
Box 19			US vs. Mitchell
Box 19			Tran Van Dinh
Box 19			Vermont
Box 19			Welsh vs. US
Box 19		War Crimes
Box 19		War Crimes Reader
Box 19		War and National Responsibility 1970
Box 19		War Prevention
Box 19		Warsaw Convention
Box 19		War System
		Woodrow Wilson School
Box 20			Curriculum Committee
Box 20			General
		World Law Fund
Box 20			Editorial Committee
Box 20			Miscellaneous
Box 20		World Order Conference Papers
		WOMP [World Order Models Project]
Box 20			[General] 1970
Box 20			Northfield Conference 1973
Box 20			Specific notes
Box 20		WOMP II [World Order Models Project]
Box 20		World Order Studies
Box 20		Yale Lecture 1962

	Writings
Box 20		Anarchism and World Order
		Articles
Box 20			Circle of Responsibility
Box 20			The Revolution in Peace Education
Box 20			United States Versus Russo
Box 20		A World Order Perspective on Authoritarian Tendencies
Box 20		Book jacket, A Global Approach to National Policy
Box 20		Book jacket, This Endangered Planet
		Books
Oversize 2			Book information (oversize)
Box 36			Explorations at the Edge of Time - manuscript draft
Box 39			The Role of Domestic Courts in the Development of International Legal Order - setting copy for front matter and 7 chapters (8 folders)
Box 20			Viet II Permissions
Box 20		Cambodia and International Law
Box 20		Civil War
Box 20		Consensus
Box 20		Correspondence Concerning Future of the International Legal Order
Box 20		Course Notes
Box 20		Design for a Preferred World in the 1900's
Box 20		Earlier Version of Chapters 1-6
Box 20		End of War Statements
Box 20		Endangered Planet Lecture
		Essays
Box 38			"After the Cold War: Rules of the Game" / Richard Falk and Tom Farer - manuscript draft, manuscripts
Box 36			"An American View of the Perugia Convention" Peace & Democracy News - Winter 1984-1985
Box 38			"Democracy Died at the Gulf" - manuscript draft
Box 38			"Framing the Postmodern Mindset" - research material, ms draft
Box 36			"The Gulf War and the Underside of Democracy: Some Reflections" - manuscript draft
Box 38			"Israeli-occupied Territories, International Law, and the Boundaries of Scholarly Discourse: A Reply to Michael Curtis" - manuscript draft
Box 36			"Letters from Prison, American Style: The Political Vision and Practice of Noam Chomsky" - manuscript drafts
			"Lybia's Remedies in 1990 for Unexploded Land Mines from World War II and in Relation to Colonial Rule" - manuscript
Box 38			"The Making of Global Citizenship: Learning from the Gulf Crisis" - manuscript
Box 36			"Nuclear Weapons and the Renewal of Democracy" - manuscript draft
Box 38			"Positive Prescriptions for the Near Future: a World Order Perspective" / Richard Falk and Albert G. Milbank - manuscript
Box 38			"Reflections on the Gulf War Experience: Force and War in the United Nations System" - manuscript
Box 38			"The Role of the International Court of Justice" in International Relations - Understanding Global Issues / Peter G. Toma, Robert F. Gorman, editors - photocopy
Box 36			"The Terrorist Foundations of Recent US Foreign Policy" - drafts
Box 38			"The Terrorist Foundations of Recent U.S. Foreign Policy" in Western State Terrorism - proof
Box 36			"Theory, Realism, and World Security" - draft
Box 38			"Theory, Realism, and World Security" - proof
Box 36			"Vietnam and International Law: The Past Recalled and the Future Challenged" - manuscript drafts
Box 38			"World Order After the Cold War: Learning from the Gulf Crisis" - manuscript
Box 38			"World Order Prospects After the Cold War" - manuscript
Box 20		Evidence
		Excerpts
Box 20			US State Department Legal Memo
Box 20			Quincy Wright
Box 20		W. Friedmann
Box 20		Galley Proofs, Nation
		Galleys
Box 20			American Journal of International Law
Box 20			A New Paradigm for International Legal Studies: Prospects and Proposals
Box 20			Book review
Box 20			The Future of the International Legal Order (Vol. III) (2 folders)
Box 20			The Status of Law in International Society (2 folders)
Box 21		History of International Law of Civil War
Box 21		International Courts
Box 21		International Effects: Population
Box 21		International Law and Legal Positivism
Box 21		International Law Seminar
Box 21		Interviews
Box 21		The Irrational
Box 21		ISA: ICJ Namibia
Box 21		Henry Kissinger manuscript
Box 21		Law and Justice
		Lectures
Box 36			"The Antarctica Treaty System: Are There Viable Alternatives?" - manuscript drafts
Box 21			Conference on Impeachment
Box 36			"The Logic and Spirit of Reassurance in Relation to the Biological Weapons Convention of 1972" - manuscript draft
Box 21			New Trends in International Law
Box 21			Stevens Lectures
Box 21			War Lecture
Box 21			War or Peace: The State of the Globe
Box 21		Legislative Intervention
Box 21		Miscellaneous
Box 21		New States Revision
Box 21		Notes 1958
Box 21		Notes 1961
Box 21		Notes, miscellaneous (4 folders)
Box 21		Notes, Vietnam War and International Law
Box 21		Oil and Power
Box 21		Outline
Oversize 2		Page proofs (oversize)
Box 21		Permissions for Legal Order in a Violent World
		Photocopies
Box 21			Academy for the Advanced Study of World Community Values: A Proposal Comparative Protection of Human Rights 1978
Box 21			Contribution to Commentary Symposium
Box 21			Global Approach to National Policy (2 folders)
Box 21			Global Conception of National Policy
Box 21			The Global Environment and International Law 1974
Box 21			International Law Aspects of Prisoner Repatriation During Hostilities
Box 21			The Knot With Four Folds (2 folders)
Box 22			Miscellaneous (6 folders)
Box 22			New Directions for US Foreign Policy
Box 22			Nuremberg: Past, Present, and Future
Box 22			The Prisoner of War Issue: Whose Crime?
Box 22			Redress Remarks
Box 22			Renunciation of Nuclear Weapons Use
Box 22			Responding to Severe Violations
Box 22			The Role of Law in Future International Systems
Box 22			The Role of Law in World Society (2 folders)
Box 22			Study of Future Worlds (2 folders)
Box 22			Toward A New World Order
Box 22			Toward Equilibrium in the World Order System
Box 22			What's Wrong With Henry Kissinger
Box 22			What's Wrong With Henry Kissinger's Foreign Policy
Box 22			World Order in the 1990's
Box 22			World Order Models Project [WOMP] (2 folders)
Box 22		Poetry
Box 22		Politics of Law in International Society
		Published articles
Box 22			[General] 1966-1974 (2 folders)
Box 23			[General] 1968-1975 (3 folders)
Box 23			The Knot With Four Folds
Box 23			Law as a Contributor to the Maintenance of a Peaceful World
Box 23			Miscellaneous
Box 23			The Relations of Law to Culture, Power, and Justice
Box 23			Relevance of Contending Systems of a Public Order
Box 23			Towards a Warless World
Box 23			The US and the Doctrine of Non-Intervention 1959
Box 23		Regionalism
Box 23		The Relevance of Political Context to International Law
Box 23		Reviews of The Role of Domestic Courts
Box 23		Revisions
		Rough drafts
Box 23			A Balance Sheet of Regional Integration
Box 23			America Menaced: The Military-Industrial Complex
Box 23			A Mosaic for an Endangered Planet
Box 23			A New World Order for the 1990's (2 folders)
Box 23			An Explanation of the Extraterritorial Extension of American Antitrust Regulation (2 folders)
Box 23			The Authority of the United Nations to Control Non-Members
Box 23			The Beirut Raid (2 folders)
Box 23			Bipolarity and the Future of World Society
Box 23			The Cambodian Operation and International Law (3 folders)
Box 23			Kenneth S. Carlston
Box 23			Charybdis Responds: A Note on Treaty Interpretation
Box 23			The Complexity of Sabbatino
Box 23			Confrontation Diplomacy
Box 23			The Continuing American Failure in Vietnam
Box 24			Domestic Courts, International Law, and Foreign Acts of States (2 folders)
Box 24			The Ecological Crisis of Our Age
Box 24			The Exclusion of Nuclear Catastrophe
Box 24			Extraterritorial Extension of American Anti-Trust Regulation
Box 24			Wolfgang Friedmann
Box 24			The Four Dimensions of Planetary Danger
Box 24			The Future of Regionalism
Box 24			The Future of the International Legal Order
Box 24			Global Conception of National Policy (6 folders)
Box 24			The Global Environment and International Law
Box 24			Hazards of Freedom at the Global Level
Box 24			Individual Responsibility under International Law
Box 24			International Implications of a Technological Society
Box 24			Introduction to International Law and Civil War
Box 24			Morton A. Kaplan and Nicholas de B. Katzenbach
Box 24			Korea Article
Box 24			The Legitimacy of Zone II
Box 24			Meeting the Challenges of the World Environment
Box 24			Miscellaneous (3 folders)
Box 25			Miscellaneous (15 folders)
Box 26			Miscellaneous (13 folders)
Box 27			Miscellaneous (16 folders)
Box 28			Miscellaneous (20 folders)
Box 29			Miscellaneous (6 folders)
Box 29			New Approaches to the Study of International Law
Box 29			Notes on Transition and World Order
Box 29			The Nuremberg Defense in the Pentagon Papers Case
Box 29			Observations on Political Loyalty
Box 29			On the Quasi-Legislative Competence of the General Assembly
Box 29			On Treaty Interpretation and the New Haven Approach (2 folders)
Box 29			Population Pressure: Malthus and Beyond
Box 29			The Prospects for World Order: Models of the Future
Box 29			The Province of Law in International Relations
Box 29			Quest for World Order and the Vietnam War
Box 29			The Question of War Crimes
Box 29			The Recently Independent States: A Framework for Systematic Inquiry
Box 29			Reforming World Order: Zones of Consciousness and Domains of Action
Box 29			Regional Processes and World Order
Box 29			The Renunciation of Nuclear Weapons
Box 29			The Renunciation of Nuclear Weapons Use
Box 29			The Role of Law in Future International Systems
Box 29			The Role of Law in World Society (2 folders)
Box 29			The Sabbatino Litigation and After
Box 29			Sartre: Freedom and the Law
Box 29			Settling Ocean Fishing Conflicts
Box 29			Some New Approaches to the Study of International Law
Box 29			Some Thoughts on Identifying and Solving the Problem of Compliance with International Law
Box 29			The South West Africa Cases
Box 29			The South West Africa Cases: An Appraisal
Box 30			Struggle in the Middle East
Box 30			Study of Future Worlds (2 folders)
Box 30			This Endangered Planet (2 folders)
Box 30			Toward Equilibrium in the World Order System
Box 30			The Trouble with Galileo's Victory
Box 30			Unilateral Claims to Use of Outer Space
Box 30			Unilateral Claims to Use Outer Space and the Development of World Legal Order
Box 30			The United Nations: Notes on a Systemic Variation
Box 30			United States Arms Policy: 1970-2000
Box 30			Vietnam and the Future of American Policy in Asia (2 folders)
Box 30			War Crimes and Individual Responsibility
Box 30			Why Impeachment
Box 30			World Order Activism: First Steps
Box 30			World Order Today: Patterns, Trends, Prospects
Box 30			Zone II as a World Order Construct
Box 30		Security in Disarmament
Box 30		Southern Africa
		Speeches
Box 38			"The Americanization of the World and the Japanese Challenge" - manuscript
Box 30			Church Center Address
Box 38			"Extremist Perspectives on the Gulf War" - manuscript
Box 38			"Global Problems and the Need for a New Global Order" - manuscript
Box 38			"Group Claims and the Nation-State within the United Nations System" - research material, manuscript draft
Box 30			Hearing Committee on Human Environment
Box 38			"Religion and Politics: Verging on the Postmodern" - research material, manuscript drafts, manuscript; other working titles include "The Renewed Relevance of Religion to International Relations" and "The Postmodern Challenge in the Setting of Public Policy"
Box 30			United States and the United Nations
Box 30		Stanley Foundation
Box 30		Statement on Population Growth and Environmental Policy
Box 30		Strategy of World Order
Box 30		Student notes
Box 30		Student papers (2 folders)
		Typescripts
Box 30			A Comment on the Question of Two Chinas
Box 30			An Argument to Expand the Traditional Sources of International Law
Box 30			A Plea for Systematic Procedures of Inquiry
Box 30			Arms Control, Foreign Policy, and Global Reform
Box 30			A Study of Future Worlds (3 folders)
Box 31			A World Order Approach to National Policy
Box 31			Basis of Moral and Legal Responsibility of Corporations
Box 31			The Beirut Raid: A Case Study in the International Law of Retaliation
Box 31			Bipolarity and the Future of World Society
Box 31			The Cambodian Operation and International Law
Box 31			Comparative Protection of Human Rights
Box 31			Conflict of Laws
Box 31			Confrontation Diplomacy
Box 31			The Design of a New World Order System
Box 31			Documents on Dispute Between Malaysia and Indonesia
Box 31			Environmental Warfare and Ecocide
Box 31			The Future of the International Legal Order I (5 folders)
Box 31			Gaps and Biases in Contemporary Theories of International Law
Box 31			The Global Environment and International Law 1974
Box 31			Individual Responsibility in the Setting of Larger Scale Counterinsurgency Warfare
Box 31			International Effects of Population Trends
Box 31			International Law and the Conduct of the Vietnam War
Box 31			International Law in Domestic Courts 1965
Box 31			International Legal Order (2 folders)
Box 31			The Interplay of Westphalia and Charter Conceptions of International Legal Order (2 folders)
Box 31			The Knot with Four Folds: Unraveling the Future
Box 31			Law, Lawyers, and the Conduct of American Foreign Relations
Box 31			The Legal Status of the United States Involvement in the Vietnam War
Box 32			The Legitimacy of Zone II as a Structure of Political Domination 1969
Box 32			Meeting the Challenges of the World Environment (2 folders)
Box 32			Miscellaneous (16 folders)
Box 32			Neutralization in Southeast Asia 1966
Box 32			New Approaches to the Study of International Law (2 folders)
Box 32			The New States New Trends in International Law 1969
Box 32			Notes on the Consequences of Revolutionary Activity for the Quality of International Order
Box 32			Notes on Transition and World Order
Box 32			Observations on Political Loyalty at a Time of World Crisis
Box 32			Observer's Report on the Trial of the State vs. Eliaser Tuhadeleni and Others 1968
Box 32			On Just Wars: The Case of World War II (3 folders)
Box 32			On Regulating International Propaganda
Box 32			Pandora's Halo
Box 33			Pandora's Halo
Box 33			The Prisoner of War Issue: Whose Crime?
Box 33			The Quest for World Order and the Vietnam War
Box 33			Realistic Horizons for International Adjudication
Box 33			Redress Remarks
Box 33			Reforming World Order: Zones of Consciousness and Domains of Action
Box 33			Regional Politics and World Order
Box 33			Relations of Law
Box 33			Relevance of Political Context to the Nature and Functioning of International Law (2 folders)
Box 33			The Revolution in Peace
Box 33			Settlement of the War in Vietnam
Box 33			Settling Ocean Fishing Conflicts
Box 33			The Significance for World Legal Order of the 1961 Draft Program of the Soviet Communist Party
Box 33			Significant General Assembly Resolutions Since 1966 on the Status of South West Africa
Box 33			The Six Legal Dimensions of the Vietnam War (10 folders)
Box 33			Some Thoughts on Identifying and Solving the Problem of Compliance with International Law
Box 33			Some Thoughts on the Jurisprudence of Myers vs. McDougal
Box 33			Son My: War Crimes and Individual Responsibility
Box 33			The South West Africa Cases (2 folders)
Box 33			The Status of Law
Box 34			The Status of Law (8 folders)
Box 34			Stress-Seeking and the Legal Order
Box 34			Theoretical Foundations of Human Rights
Box 34			This Endangered Planet (8 folders)
Box 34			Toward A New World Order
Box 34			Underlying Causes
Box 34			The United Nations: Various Systems of Operation (2 folders)
Box 35			Vietnam IV
Box 35			The Vietnam War and International Law
Box 35			War Crimes and Individual Responsibility
Box 35			Why Impeachment
Box 35			World Legal Order (3 folders)
Box 35			World Order
Box 35			World Order Today
Box 35			World Order Today: Patterns, Trends, Prospects,
Box 35		Uncorrected Proof of This endangered planet
Box 35		Violence and the International Order
Box 35		WOMP VI [World Order Models Project]
Box 35		Yale Ecology Chapter

	Memorabilia
Box 36		Conference material
Box 38		Conference material
Box 36		Printed material - periodicals, miscellaneous
Box 38		Printed material - miscellaneous
Box 36		Publicity
Box 36		Miscellaneous

Return to top

Selected index to correspondence

This index covers the MAIN ACCESSION ONLY (boxes 1-35). Correspondents from later additions (boxes 36-38) is not included here.

• Abzug, Bella : 1971; 1972
• Bayh, Birch : 1971
• Brooke, Edward : 1969
• Bush, George : 1971
• Case, Clifford : 1971
• Cerf, Bennet : 1971
• Chomsky, Noam : 1971
• Church, Frank : 1970
• Eagleton, Thomas : 1971; 1972
• Fulbright, J.W. : 1971
• Harris, Fred : 1972
• Hartke, Vance : 1972
• Hatfield, Mark : 1971
• Hughes, Harold :
• Humphrey, Hubert : 1971
• Kennedy, Edward : 1970
• Kissinger, Henry : 1967
• McGovern, George : 1968
• Muskie, Edmund : 1971; 1972
• Spock, Benjamin : 1971
• Stennis, John : 1971
• Udall, Stewart : 1971
• Vanoeur, Sander :
• Weintraub, Joseph :

Return to top