Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Farrar, John Chipman, 1896-1974 |
| Title: | John Chipman Farrar Letter |
| Inclusive Dates: | Undated |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | A letter sent while Chipman was editor of The Bookman. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
John Chipman Farrar (1896-1974) was an American editor and publisher. From 1916 to 1927 he was the editor of The Bookman, a book review magazine published by George H. Doran Company of New York. In 1928, he help co-founded the publishing house of Farrar and Rinehart, and later in 1946 he also founded Farrar, Straus and Giroux.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The John Chipman Farrar Letter is a four page letter addressed to William B. M. Button. The letter is undated, but on George H. Doran Company letterhead, indicating that it was probably written while Farrar was editor of The Bookman. Farrar discusses various authors in the letter, including Sinclair Lewis.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Associated Titles
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
John Chipman Farrar Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Finding Aid Information
Created by: LMD
Date: 31 Mar 2010
Revision history: