Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | The Feminists. |
| Title: | The Feminists Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1968-1972 |
| Quantity: | 2 folders (SC) |
| Abstract: | Publications of the second-wave feminist group The Feminists. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The Feminists, initially known as the October 17th Movement, were a New York City-based second-wave radical feminist group. Founded by Ti-Grace Atkinson in 1968, the group took extreme positions against marriage, sex, and pregnancy, advocating for celibacy and political lesbianism in its later years. Atkinson left the group in 1971, and The Feminists disbanded in 1973.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Feminists Collection contains 15 publications by the group, consisting of a literature list and 14 papers. The papers cover topics such as the politics of sex, class structure, marriage, and feminist history.
Please note that this collection contains material that some researchers may find objectionable due to racist and sexual content. This material is preserved and retained with the collection for its historic and research value.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is arranged alphabetically. Literature is arranged chronologically by publication date.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
The Feminists Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: SAB
Date: 26 Mar 2024
Revision history: