Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Fiene, Ernest |
| Title: | Ernest Fiene Artwork |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1963 |
| Quantity: | 1.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Original artwork set up for book illustration |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Ernest Fiene (1894-1965) was a German-American artist.
Born in Germany, Fiene emigrated to the United States in 1912. After studying at the National Academy of Design in NYC and the Beaux-Arts Institute of Design, Fiene began his career as an artist in 1919 with an exhibition at the MacDowell Club. By 1925, his growing success allowed him and his younger brother Paul to build studios in Woodstock, New York. During this time, he painted mostly landscapes, then shifted to urban themes of architecture, industry, and transportation, often focusing on bringing out the humanity of a space while simultaneously deconstructing it into abstract shapes.
During a period of extensive travel both within the United States and abroad, Fiene's painting was influenced by abstract and figurative styles, particularly in Paris at L'Academie de La Grande Chaumiere, and in Italy. By the time he returned, Fiene had gained a distinguished reputation as a modern painter and he was offered several prestigious teaching positions around the country. He also served on numerous boards for art fundraising, such as the Tupperware Art Fund and the Artists Equity Association, and his Complete Guide to Oil Painting was published in 1964. Fiene died of a heart attack in Paris in 1965.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Ernest Fiene Artwork consists of original artwork set up for book illustration.
Artwork contains two series of original oil paintings, created in stages as explanatory illustrations for Fiene's 1964 book Complete Guide to Oil Painting. There are also two sets of diagrams, also intended as illustrations for the book. One of the oil painting series has a set of accompanying captions.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Ernest Fiene Artwork,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unspecified, 1969.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 16 Nov 2010
Revision history: 14 Sep 2022 - collection processed (GU)