Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Forbes, B. C. (Bertie Charles), 1880-1954.
Title:	Bertie Charles Forbes Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1892-1964
Quantity:	9.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American journalist, founder and editor of Forbes. Collection includes business and family correspondence (1897-1964); manuscript and/or published articles, biographical sketches, books and pamphlets, magazine and newspaper columns, novels, stories, speeches; and memorabilia, including clippings, photographs, and scrapbooks. Notable correspondents include Bruce Barton, Calvin Coolidge, Robert Dollar, George Eastman, Thomas Edison, Benjamin F. Fairless, James A. Farley, William Randolph Hearst, Herbert Hoover, Eddie Rickenbacker, John D. Rockefeller, Charles M. Schwab, Wendell Willkie, Owen D. Young, and others.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Bertie Charles Forbes (1880-1954) was an American journalist and the founder and editor of Forbes magazine. He was born May 14, 1880 in New Deer, Aberdeenshire, Scotland to Robert and Agnes (Moir) Forbes. At the age of thirteen he taught himself shorthand and at fourteen began work as a printer's devil. In 1897 he began his journalistic career as a reporter for the Dundee Courier and during the next two years he progressed to sub-editor and editorial writer. At the same time he attended night school at University College in Dundee.

In 1901 Forbes left Scotland for South Africa, and he worked there as a reporter for various papers, including the Rand Daily Mail, which he also helped to establish. Three years later, he went to New York, where he found a position on the Journal of Commerce. By 1906 he was financial editor of that paper, as well as an editorial contributor to the Commercial and Financial Chronicle. He retained these positions until 1911 when he left to become the business and financial editor of the New York American. In 1916 he resigned that position in order to start his own business and financial magazine, Forbes, though he continued to write a syndicated column for the Hearst papers until 1942. The magazine was a success, reaching a circulation of 100,000 in the 1940s. It contained analyses of business trends and the economic situation of the country, as well as Forbes' personal style of business journalism. He pioneered the writing of personal profiles of business leaders and it was this for which he was most well-known.

In 1940-1941 Forbes served on the school board of Englewood, New Jersey, where he lived, creating controversy with charges that the social science textbooks used in the schools and one of the teachers were subversive. Beginning in 1942, he devoted his time to organizing Investor's League Inc., which protected and promoted the interests of stockholders and insurance policy-holders. He served as president of the group until 1949 and held the chairmanship of the board from 1949 until 1950, at which time he retired, after having attempted to resolve certain internal problems that had developed. During this period he began to withdraw from an active role in the publication of his magazine, turning over responsibility instead to his sons, Malcolm and Bruce.

Forbes married Adelaide Stevenson on April 20, 1915 and they had five sons: Bruce C., Malcolm S., Gordon B., Wallace F., and Duncan, who, as a young man, was killed in an automobile accident. Forbes died on May 6, 1954.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Bertie Charles Forbes Papers consist of correspondence, memorabilia, writings and miscellany.

Though Forbes was acquainted with many important men in business, finance, and government, and on intimate terms with some of them, very little or economic and political significance is found in the Correspondence, 1897-1964. The majority of the letters have no more than personal significance. Of particular interest, however, are a letter from F.D. Underwood, president of Erie Railroad, arguing that federal regulation of the railroads is necessary for their profitability; a letter from Bernard Baruch which discusses the experience of American business during W.W.I; a 1934 letter of Wendell Willkie discussing T.V.A.; 1942 letters from Herbert Hoover and Wendell Willkie politely refusing to head up Forbes' Investors League project; and letters from Roy Garvin, of the Afro-American newspapers, relating to Forbes' comments on the Detroit riots. Noteworthy also are xerox copies -- the original letters are not included in the collection -- of a series of 1923 letters between Herbert Hoover and Forbes with respect to Hoover's Toledo speech on war debts; and a 1920 series of correspondence between Forbes and Thomas A. Edison with respect to a story about Edison's bribing a sheriff to postpone a judgment. Of lesser significance are letters during 1931 which relate to a controversy over Sears, Roebuck's advertising of tires, and letters during 1940 which relate to Forbes' attempt, as a member of the Board of Education of Englewood, New Jersey, to ban as subversive the social science textbooks of Dr. Harold Rugg. Finally, the correspondence of the years 1930-1939 contains many letters from average American citizens expressing their experiences of the Depression, their analyses of the reasons for it, and their suggested solutions. The bulk of the correspondence for 1931 relates to Forbes' illness with pneumonia, and that for 1947 concerns the 30th anniversary of Forbes Magazine. There are short series of letters from Forbes to his sons Malcolm, 1942-1943, Gordon, 1943-1953, and Wallace, 1945-1953, and correspondence between Forbes and his friends and relatives in Scotland. The correspondence of 1954 through 1964 is made up essentially of letters to Forbes' sons, Malcolm and Bruce, regarding his death or containing reminiscences of his life.

Of significance are letters from the following with the inclusive dates of their correspondence:

• Edward L. Doheny, 1924
• Robert Dollar, 1922-1931
• Thomas Alva Edison, 1920-1924
• Benjamin Fairless, 1937-1953
• Roy Garvin, 1944-1945
• E.G. Grace, 1923-1952
• Charles J. Hardy, 1943-1950
• William Randolph Hearst, 1914-1915
• Paul Hoffman, 1939-1953
• William Holler, 1934-1955
• Herbert Hoover, 1923-1953
• Percy H. Johnston, 1919-1953
• W. Alton Jones, 1934-1953
• K.T. Keller, 1936-1950
• Leroy A. Lincoln, 1939-1954
• E.V. Rickenbacker, 1934-1952
• John D. Rockefeller, Jr., 1939-1953
• Charles M. Schwab, 1926-1938
• F.D. Underwood, 1918
• A. Vanderzee, 1940-1954
• Thomas J. Warson, 1934-1952
• Wendell Willkie, 1934-1942
• Thomas E. Wilson, 1919-1952
• Owen D. Young, 1922-1952

Of lesser research significance are letters from Bruce Barton, 1931-1946, Calvin Coolidge, 1929, George Eastman, 1916-1919, James A. Farley, 1939, Will H. Hayes, 1921-1940, Otto Kahn, 19141916, A.W. Mellon, 1929, Eugene Meyer, 1931-1934, Arthur Murray, 1938-1952, Robert A. Taft, 1949, Margaret Truman, 1950-1952, and John Wanamaker, 1917.

Memorabilia, 1892-1954, relate to various periods in Forbes' life in Scotland, South Africa and the United States. His early life in and continuing relationship to Scotland is represented by notebooks and copies of exams from his school days, statements by village officials recognizing his achievements and proficiency in shorthand, newspaper clippings detailing his visits to his old home and his generosity to the children who attended his old school, and letters of recommendation from newspapers for which he worked. An oversized scrapbook of clippings is filed at the end of the collection. His work as a reporter in South Africa is represented by some personal mementos, some notebooks, one of which includes observations apparently made on the trip to South Africa and another which contains impressions probably recorded on the extended trip he took in going from South Africa to the United States and letters of recommendation from the newspapers for which he worked. His life and work in the United States are represented by a large number of newspaper clippings which detail his travels, his speeches, and his views and opinions. A sizeable quantity of newspaper clippings which relate to the controversy on the Englewood Board of Education over the Rugg textbooks and an allegedly subversive teacher have been retained separately. Also found here are programs, invitations, advertisements and special issues of Forbes Magazine, publicity relating to awards Forbes gave and received and to special occasions, obituaries and other material relating to his death, two issues of magazines which relate to Forbes' career, and some scripts of radio appearances which he made. This United States material also includes seven scrapbooks: four containing newspaper clippings, one photographs (compiled after Forbes' death), one clippings of Forbes' obituaries, and one the cards Forbes received during the Christmas and New Year's season of 1953-1954. The latter two are oversized and have been placed at the end of the collection.

Writings, 189?-1953, include articles, books and pamphlets, magazine columns, newspaper columns, novels, short stories, and speeches. The dates of the materials are given when known. In addition, the magazine columns are grouped together according to the magazine in which they appeared and these groups are arranged alphabetically. In the case both of the magazine and newspaper columns, manuscript versions have been separated from and placed prior to the printed versions. The articles section contains both a scrapbook of a number of printed versions of an article Forbes wrote about California as it was published in various papers throughout the state and a copy of The American Dream, an anthology of articles, one of which was written by Forbes, that appeared in American Magazine. The books and pamphlets are all published versions. The newspaper columns do not constitute a complete run. The novel is an incomplete and unpublished typescript and appears to have been written prior to 1915. The short stories include both manuscript and printed versions of published and unpublished stories which Forbes wrote early in his career, none appearing to be later than 1920. The speeches contain both typescript and printed versions of the addresses given by Forbes. Included at the end of this material are four bound scrapbooks containing articles, sketches and interviews which span the years 1900-1910.

Miscellany, 1937, includes a typescript copy of John D. Rockefeller's memoirs, which were later published by Doubleday, and a typescript copy of a speech by George M. Verity on receiving Forbes' "Humanizer of Business" award.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically, with a folder of undated letters, arranged alphabetically by correspondent, at the beginning. Also included in the undated folder are a number of typewritten lists of correspondents and correspondence which seem to have been prepared by Forbes' secretary. Memorabilia is arranged with general biographical materials first, followed by materials relating to his life in Scotland, South Africa and the United States. Writings are arranged alphabetically by type and then by title, with the exception of newspaper columns, which are arranged chronologically. Untitled materials are arranged alphabetically by subject matter and placed at the end of their respective sections.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Bertie Charles Forbes Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Forbes, Inc., 1964 and 1966.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EFB
Date: Jul 1970
Revision history: 29 Aug 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 11 Jan 2012 - box number revised and integrated small accession (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Undated
Box 1		1897-1931 (19 folders)
Box 2		1932-1946 (15 folders)
Box 3		1947-1953 (9 folders)
Box 4		1954-1964 (7 folders)

	Memorabilia
		General
Box 4			Allan, Douglas, "B.C. Forbes", in Building Careers (Newark, N.J.: Lowden Publishers, 1934), 44-51
Box 4			Biographical sketches - holograph, typescript, typescript revised, typescript copy, typescript copy revised
Box 4			"People, What They Are Doing: B.C. Forbes," Magazine World, II ( December 1945), 32, 34
		Scotland
Box 5			Letters of recommendation 1901 - typescript copy
			Notebooks
Box 5				Agricultural notes 1892? - holograph
Box 5				English history notes, notes on salt - holograph
Box 5				Literary clippings - printed material
Box 5				Shorthand notes 1892-1893, 1896 - holograph (2 folders)
Box 5			Personal mementos
Oversize 1			Scrapbook of events in Scotland 1917-1954
Box 5			Trips to Scotland - printed material
		South Africa
Box 5			Letters of recommendation 1904 - typescript, typescript copy,
			Notebooks
Box 5				Literary notes 1902 - holograph
Box 5				Travel notes - holograph
Box 5			Personal mementos (includes Forbes' own list)
		United States
Box 6			Announcements of speeches
Box 6			Board of Education, Englewood, New Jersey
Box 6			Columns and editorials containing comment on Forbes Invitations
Box 6			Obituary and posthumous tributes 1954
Box 6			Personal mementos
Box 6			Photographs and personal mementos (Vol. 1) 1935-1954
Box 7			Research report on readership of San Francisco Examiner financial writers 1941
Box 7			Register of funeral home visitors, list of memorial contributions, New Jersey Assembly resolutions in memory of B.C. Forbes, New York State Saint Andrew's Society statement of sympathy 1954
Box 7			Sales Executive Club of New York "Applause Award" to B.C. Forbes, miscellaneous publicity material 1953
			Scrapbooks
Oversize 1				Cards sent to Forbes during holiday season 1953-1954
Oversize 1				Forbes obituaries 1954
Box 7			Scripts of radio appearances 1934, 1951
Box 7			Sears, Roebuck tire controversy, India Rubber and Tire Review, XXXI, 2 February 1931
Box 7			Surveys of newspaper column readership, lists of newspapers publishing Forbes' columns
Box 7			Textbook controversy, Board of Education, Englewood, N.J. 1940-1941 - printed material (4 folders)
Box 7			30th anniversary banquet, Forbes Magazine 1947 - programs, publicity, etc.
			Trips and Speeches
Box 7				Miscellaneous printed material 1920-1953, undated (4 folders)
Box 8				Scrapbook (Vol. 2) 1921-1934
Box 8				Scrapbook, Trip to West Coast (Vol. 3) 1925
Box 8				Scrapbook, Trips to California, Seattle, Texas (Vol. 4) 1928
Box 8				Scrapbook, Trip to Canada and Pacific Coast (Vol. 5) 1930
			Miscellaneous
Box 9				Advertisements containing Forbes' endorsements
Box 9				Advertisements of books and newspaper columns
Box 9				Forbes Magazine, early and special issues
Box 9				Publicity material relating to Forbes Magazine Business Awards
Box 9				Reports relating to business trips 1934-1946

	Writings
		Articles
Box 9			"American Banking's National Program," Banking Feb 1936
Box 9			"Are you a Job-Holder or a Result-Getter," American Magazine - printed material annotated
Box 9			"B.C. Forbes Tells How and Why Chains Fit Into Modern Scheme of Business," Chain Store Review Apr 1928
Box 9			"Better Times Are Coming Now," Liberty Magazine 1935
Box 9			"A Boy From the Ozarks: James L. Dalton" - typescript copy revised
Box 9			"Builds Success Stone Upon Stone", Forbes Magazine Oct 14, 1919
Box 9			"Bulldozing by Wanamaker," Forbes Magazine 1921
Box 9			"Business Improvement Forecast by Security Market", Forbes Magazine May 13, 1922
Box 9			"Can You See Through Other Men's Eyes?" American Magazine 1923 - research material, typescript revised, typescript copy; draft A, typescript copy; draft B, typescript copy revised; printed material (4 folders)
Box 9			"Charles M. Schwab: A Real Leader", Chicago Herald and Examiner Apr 29, 1921
Box 9			"Courage Fathered Yellow Taxis; Service Made 'Em Grow," Forbes Magazine 1924 - draft, typescript copy; printed material (2 folders)
Box 9			"The Criminal Railroads," Hearst's Magazine Sep 1914 - fragment
Box 9			"Durant's Spectacular Effort to Stage Big Comeback," Forbes Magazine Feb 15, 1925
Box 9			"Earns Public Goodwill As Well As Dividends," Forbes Magazine Oct 14, 1922
Box 9			"Edison Working on How to Communicate With the Next World," American Magazine - printed material
Box 9			"Edward R. Stettinius, Buyer of $3,000,000,000 War Supplies," Forbes Magazine - printed material
Box 9			"The Etiquette of High Finance," Every Week, vol. 3, no. 20 Nov 13, 1916
Box 9			"Everybody Pays - you and you and you!" Cosmopolitan 1935
Box 9			"A Faith that Removed Mountains," Earning Power Apr 1917
Box 9			"Fifty Millionaires," McClure's Magazine 1928
Box 9			"From Bank Clerk to Bank President," Forbes Magazine Oct 5, 1918
Box 9			"'Gene' Grace - Whose Story Reads Like a Fairy Tale," American Magazine Jul 1920
Box 9			"A Genius Who Never Walked A Step," American Magazine Apr 1920
Box 9			"Getting Big Men to Talk," Frank Woolworth, Forbes Magazine 1917
Box 9			"Getting Big Men to Talk," George Eastman, Forbes Magazine 1917
Box 9			"Giannini: The Story of an Unusual Career," Forbes Magazine, Nov 10, 1923
Box 9			"Give Me The West!" American Magazine May 1920 - printed material revised
Box 9			"The Grand Old Man of the Pacific," Service Magazine - typescript copy
Box 9			"He Built Success From Failures," Hearst's Magazine Apr 1921 - fragment
Box 9			"He Heads Two Gigantic Enterprises," Forbes Magazine 1919
Box 9			"He Recognizes His Men," Hearst's Magazine 1918?
Box 9			"Heads Billion - Dollar Corporation at 39 - Recipe For Success," Forbes Magazine Jun 15, 1930 - draft, typescript copy revised; printed material (2 folders)
Box 9			"Here is Good Cheer," Independence Sep 1922
Box 10			"His Novel Rules for Reaching Top," Forbes Magazine 1920
Box 10			"Hoover Tells How to Preserve American Living Standards," (an interview), Forbes Magazine Apr 29, 1922
Box 10			"How American Red Cross Is Binding Europe's Wounds," Forbes Magazine Jan 15, 1918
Box 10			"How Big Businessman Grew Rich: V. George Eastman," Hearst's Magazine Feb 1920
Box 10			"How Big Businessman Grew Rich: VIII. Percy H. Johnston," Hearst's Magazine Nov 1920
Box 10			"How Big Men Grew Rich: XVI. James S. Alexander," Hearst's Magazine 1921?
Box 10			"How Big Businessman Grew Rich: James A. Alexander," Hearst's Magazine 1921? - typescript copy
Box 10			"How 20 Million People Drove Wall St. Wild," McClure's Magazine 1928
Box 10			"How Forbes Gets Big Men to Talk," Forbes Magazine Sep 15, 1917
Box 10			"How Is This For Rapid Climbing?" Forbes Magazine Jan 24, 1920
Box 10			"How Paul Shoup Made His Mark," Forbes Magazine Oct 13, 1923
Box 10			"I Tried to be a Quitter," Forbes Magazine Jun 1, 1946
Box 10			"Initiative Keynote of His Success," Forbes Magazine 1919
Box 10			"Introducing the New Head of Our Biggest Bank," Forbes Magazine Jan 15, 1933
Box 10			"John L. Lewis: A Short Review of His Life" 1937 - typescript copy revised,
Box 10			"Labor To Become Capital! Owen D. Young's Vision," Forbes Magazine 1927
Box 10			"Let Well Enough Alone" 1922 - printed material
Box 10			"The Man Who Puts Investments Through the 'Third Degree,'" Forbes Magazine Oct 1, 1924
Box 10			"Master at Handling Railway Men," Forbes Magazine 1920 - draft, typescript revised; draft fragment, typescript revised; printed material
			"Men Who Are Making America" series in Leslie's Illustrated Weekly Newspaper
Box 10				Dr. Alexander Graham Bell Apr 19, 1917
Box 10				Albert J. Earling Oct 6, 1917
Box 10				Thomas A. Edison May 24, 1917
Box 10				Henry Ford Apr 26, 1917
Box 10				John Hays Hammond Feb 22, 1917
Box 10				Cyrus H. McCormick May 31, 1917
Box 10				John Pierpont Morgan Apr 5, 1917
Box 10				John D. Ryan May 10, 1917
Box 10				John G. Shedd Mar 8, 1917
Box 10				Cornelius Vanderbilt, III Apr 19, 1917
Box 10				Frank W. Woolworth Mar 15, 1917
Box 10			"My Adventures In Self-Reliance," American Magazine 1920
Box 10			"New Business Star: Harriman the Second," Forbes Magazine Oct 30, 1920
Box 10			$1,250 For A Shine," American Magazine Mar 1922 - draft; typescript copy revised; printed material
Box 10			"Our Termite Taxes," Hearst's International Cosmopolitan - Oct 1936
Box 10			"Owen D. Young: A Revolutionary Capitalist," McClure's Magazine - draft, typescript revised; printed material
Box 10			"To Reach the Top Be the Best Man at the Bottom," Hearst's Magazine - printed material
Box 10			"Review of 1913 and Outlook for 1914," Business and Finance, reprinted from New York American 1913?
Box 10			"The Rise of Percy H. Johnston," Personal Efficiency Jan 1920
Box 10			"Robert Dollar: Founder, Dollar Steamship Lines," Forbes Magazine 1923 - typescript revised, printed material revised
Box 10			"A Romance of the Rubber Industry," Forbes Magazine Jun 26, 1920
Box 10			"Savings: the Motive Power of Industry," Independence Jun 1922
Box 10			"Scotch Spendthrifts," McClure's Magazine 1929 - draft, typescript copy revised printed material
Box 10			"Seven Master Keys to Successful Selling," Salesman's Digest, vol. 1, no. 1, 1953
Box 10			"The Smithy" (unpublished and incomplete) 189? - holograph notes,
Box 10			"Stirring Adventures, Then Fortune," Forbes Magazine - printed material revised
Box 10			"They All Knew He Would Reach the Top," Forbes Magazine Jan 15, 1940
Box 10			"Tips to Young Money Managers," College Humor 1932?, 1933? - draft; typescript copy; printed material
Box 10			"Toil, Smile and Listen!" Hearst's Magazine 1918
Box 10			"Was Duke, Tobacco King, A Success or a Failure," Forbes Magazine - typescript copy revised
Box 10			"Ways to Win in 1932" Premier Rayon Review Apr 1932
Box 10			"'We Face the Future Without Fear, With Faith' - Sloan," Forbes Magazine March 29, 1924
Box 10			"'We Must Improve It,' Is Bassett's Motto," Forbes Magazine Nov 1, 1924 - draft, typescript copy revised; printed material
Box 10			"What Big Men Tell Me About Success," Every Week Apr 2, 1917
Box 10			"What Chance Has the Office Boy?" Every Week, IV, 2 Jan 8, 1917
Box 10			"What the Oil Industry Must Do," Forbes Magazine Jun 1, 1930
Box 10			"Why Knock the Supreme Court, Mister Editor?" The American Press Feb 1936
Box 10			"Why Woolworth's Has Succeeded," Forbes Magazine 1919
Box 10			"Will America Ever See Real Prosperity Again?" Cosmopolitan 1935
Box 10			"The Women of Wall Street," Every Week, vol. 4, no. 9 Feb 26, 1917
Box 10			"A Wonderful Scotchman's Story and Advice - Robert Dollar," in The American Dream, John K.M. McCaffrey, ed. 1964 - published material
Box 11			"World - Famous After Many Defeats," Forbes Magazine May 31, 1919
			Untitled
Box 11				On Andrew Carnegie, Hearst's Magazine - typescript copy
Box 11				On Brotherhood of Man (with one page fragment) 189? - holograph revised,
Box 11				On Cecil John Rhodes - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On Charles Anceney 1923 - typescript revised, holograph
Box 11				On Clarence Edward Groesbeck, Forbes Magazine 1933 - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On Clarence W. Barron - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On Coleman Du Pont (Interview) - typescript copy
Box 11				On Edward G. Acheson - draft A, holograph, typescript revised; draft B, typescript copy revised
Box 11				On Elbridge Amos Stuart, Forbes Magazine - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On F. Wayland Ayer - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On George B. Cortelyou, Forbes Magazine - typescript revised
Box 11				On George I. Cochran, Forbes Magazine - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On George M. Reynolds - typescript revised, holograph
Box 11				On Gerard Swope - typescript copy annotated
Box 11				On Henry L. Doherty, Hearst's Magazine - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On James B. Duke - typescript copy
Box 11				On James Couzens - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On John D. Rockefeller, Cosmopolitan - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On Joseph F. Sartori - typescript
Box 11				On Money, McClure's Magazine 1928 - typescript copy
Box 11				On Philanthropy, Cosmopolitan Magazine 1931 - typescript copy
Box 11				On Robert A. Irvin, Forbes Magazine - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On Robert Dollar - typescript copy
Box 11				On Robert Dollar - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On Robert H. Treman, Forbes Magazine - draft A, holograph revised; draft B, typescript copy
Box 11				On Samuel Zemurray, Forbes Magazine 1938 - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On Thomas A. Wilson, Hearst's Magazine - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On Thomas W. Lamont, Forbes Magazine - typescript revised
Box 11				On Waldorf - Astoria 1938 - draft A, typescript copy revised; raft B, typescript copy revised
Box 11				On Wall Street, Cosmopolitan Magazine - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On Walter P. Chrysler (incomplete) - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On Walter C. Teagle, Forbes Magazine - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On Wendell L. Willkie 1936 - typescript revised
Box 11				On Wigginton E. Creed - typescript copy revised
Box 11				On William S. Knudsen 1937 - typescript copy
Box 11				Writings in South African newspapers 1900 and after (28 items)
		Books and pamphlets
Box 13			The Salesman's Diary 1938
				All other books and pamphlets previously in BOX 12 have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. There is no longer a BOX 12. Please refer to the Classic Catalog for a complete listing.
		Magazine columns
			Electrical Dealer
				Manuscripts
Box 13					On Being Busy 1931 - typescript copy
Box 13					On Carefulness 1931 - typescript copy
Box 13					On Cooperation 1931 - typescript copy
Box 13					On Discord undated - typescript copy
Box 13					On Friends 1931 - typescript copy
Box 13					On Playing Fair 1931 - typescript copy revised
Box 13					On Reaching Goals 1928 - typescript copy
Box 13				Printed material 1928-1933
			Forbes Magazine
				Manuscripts
Box 13					"The Child's Pet Toy: Are We All Children?" Jan 25, 1919 - typescript
Box 13					"Do Things Go Like This For You Sometimes?" 1918 - typescript
Box 13					"Does This Experience Ever Come To You?" Sep 20, 1919 - typescript
Box 13					"Don't Consider Only the Cost" - typescript copy
Box 13					"Swope Points Way to Industry" - typescript copy
Box 13					"Touching Life at Many Points" Jun 28, 1919 - typescript
					Untitled
Box 13						On Being Simple 1926 - typescript reproduction
Box 13						On Senator Joseph McCarthy 1954 - holograph
			Hearst's Magazine
				Printed material
Box 13					"Finance" 1912-1914
			Tea Man
				Manuscripts
Box 13					"Make Sales Rise in the Fall" - draft A, typescript revised; draft B, typescript copy
Box 13					"Make Summer a Hummer" - typescript copy revised
Box 13					"Recent Changes Strengthen Our Company" - typescript copy
Box 13					"To Sell More, Talk More About Savings" - typescript copy revised
					Untitled
Box 13						On Goodwill - typescript copy
Box 13						On Henry L. Jones 1923 - typescript annotated
Box 13						On Inner Rewards (incomplete) - typescript copy
Box 13						On Salesmen - typescript copy revised
Box 13						On Tact - typescript copy revised
Box 13				Printed material 1923-1924, undated
		Newspaper columns
			New York American
				Manuscripts
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy Feb 1925?
Box 13					Draft fragment, typescript copy revised Dec 27, 1932
					Draft, typescript copy, Oct 1934
			New York Journal and American (result of merger of New York American and New York Journal)
				Manuscripts
Box 13					Draft, typescript revised 1941
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy revised Jun 26, 1941
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy revised Jun 27, 1941
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy revised Oct 1, 1941
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy revised Nov 22, 1941
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy revised Dec 6, 1941
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy revised Dec 27, 1941
Box 13					Draft (by David Sarnoff), typescript copy Feb 12, 1942
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy Feb 24, 1942
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy revised Mar 7, 1942
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy Mar 12, 1942
Box 13					Draft, typescript revised reproduction Apr 4, 1942
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy revised Apr 9, 1942
Box 13					Draft, typescript revised, reproduction May 1, 1942
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy revised May 13, 1942
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy Jun 2, 1942
Box 13					Draft, typescript copy revised Oct 4, 1943
Box 13				Miscellaneous extracts - typescript
			New York American
				Printed material
Box 13					1914-1929, undated (12 folders)
Box 14					1930-1936 (7 folders)
			New York Journal and American
				Printed material
Box 14					1937 (2 folders)
Box 15					1938-1942 (7 folders)
		Novels
			Robert B. Ogilvy (incomplete and unpublished)
Box 16				Chaps. 1-4, typescript revised
Box 16				Chaps. 5-9, typescript revised, typescript copy revised
Box 16				Chaps. 11, 14, 16, holograph revised, typescript copy
Box 16				Draft revisions, chaps. 5, 9, typescript revised
Box 16				Draft fragments, holograph
		Short Stories
Box 16			"Buchan's Greatest Sensation, or Turned Tables" 1900? - holograph revised
Box 16			"The Clerk's Tale" 189? - holograph annotated
Box 16			"Diary of a Young Lady," Peterhead Sentinel Jan 21, 1911
Box 16			"The Hero of Poverty Flats," Forbes Magazine 1917
Box 16			"The Honeymoon Couple" 19--? - printed material
Box 16			"Lorenzo Lignwood's Marriage, or the Tables Turned" 19--? - holograph
Box 16			"Queen of Flirts Abdicates" 19--? - printed material
Box 16			"Vaulting Ambition, or a Novelist's Lovemaking" 189-? - holograph
Box 16			"Vengeance: A Tragedy" 19--? - printed material
Box 16			"A Woman's Sin: A Local Christmas Story" 19--? - printed material
Box 16			Untitled (2 folders)
		Speeches
Box 16			"America's Future Brightness" 1938 - printed material
			"The Book Industry Needs Overhauling"
Box 16				Mimeo copy 1952
Box 16				Publisher's Weekly, CLXI, 23, pp. 2351-2359 Jun 7, 1952
Box 16			"Facing the Forties" 1940 - printed material
Box 16			"The Future of the American Economic System" - typescript revised
Box 16			"How to Face the Future" 1938 - printed material
Box 16			"Most Critical Battle Won" 1938 - draft, typescript copy; draft, typescript copy revised (transcript of address as given)
Box 16			"The Outlook for 1940" 1940 - printed material
Box 16			"The South's Long Term Outlook" 1940 - printed material
Box 16			"They Ought to be Told" 1938 - typescript revised
Box 16			"Where Should America Go From Here" 1934 - printed material
			Untitled
Box 16				On Business Journalism - typescript revised
Box 16				On Investment 1942? - typescript revised
Box 16				On Outlook for 1936 1936 - typescript revised
Box 16				On Outlook for 1939 1938 - typescript revised
Box 16				On Presentation of Award to George F. Johnson 1939 - typescript
Box 16				On Reception of Applause Award of Sales Executives Club 1953 - typescript
Box 16				On Retail Business (incomplete) - typescript revised
Box 16				On Roosevelt Administration 1938? - typescript revised
		Miscellaneous
Box 16			Newspaper articles and pamphlets 1932-1942 - printed material
Box 17			Sketches, articles, and interviews (Vols. 6-9) 1900-1910? - printed material

	Miscellany
Box 17		Rockefeller, John D., Random Reminiscences of Men and Events - typescript
Box 17		Verity, George M.,"Response to B.C. Forbes' Presentation" 1940 - typescript
Box 17		Legacy Clippings/In Memoriam 1971 - printed material

Return to top