Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Fotoescultura Example |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1950? |
| Quantity: | 1 item |
| Abstract: | photograph applied to wood base, an example of Mexican folk art known as fotoescultura |
| Language: | N/A |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
Fotoescultura is a Mexican folk art form that flourished from the late 1920s through the early 1980s. The objects were commemorative or devotional in nature, honoring individuals or important events. Fotoesculturas typically consist of a hand-tinted portrait photograph, trimmed closely around the face and shoulders and then glued to a carved wooden base of the same shape, the whole surrounded by a carved wooden frame.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Fotoescultura Example consists of a single item, a head-and-shoulders photograph of a girl or young woman, hand-colored, mounted to a wooden base of the same head-and-shoulders shape, surrounded by a carved wooden frame. Neither the subject of the photograph, nor the photographer, nor the artist, are identified.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Fotoescultura Example,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2025.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: ## creator of finding aid content (full name)
Date: 15 Apr 2025
Revision history: