Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Francis, Robert, 1901-1987.
Title:	Robert Francis Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1926-1967
Quantity:	5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American poet, author. Correspondence with Robert Frost, John Holmes, Theodore Morrison, and others; writings including typescript poems, essays, and book manuscripts; printed/published material, including articles and poems; and four audiorecordings.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives

Biographical History

Robert Francis (1901-1987) was an American poet and author.

Born in Upland, Pennsylvania in 1901, the son of Ebenezer Francis, a minister, his childhood was spent in towns in New Jersey and New York states until 1910, when the family moved to Massachusetts. Francis graduated from Harvard College (B.A., 1923) and then taught in the preparatory school of the American University of Beirut, Lebanon, for a year. He returned to attend Harvard University, where he received an Ed. M., followed by a year of teaching high school English in Amherst (1926).

Francis began writing "with a view to publication" about the time he moved to Amherst. By living economically and by doing all his own chores, he has been able to live without salaried positions and to devote much of his time to writing. He held occasional positions as a violin teacher, as an English teacher at Mount Holyoke College, and as a teacher at summer writers' conferences. In 1940, Francis moved alone in a one-man house called Fort Juniper, in Amherst, Massachusetts and subsequently adopted the juniper as his "coat-of- arms."

Francis received numerous awards over his career, including the Shelly Memorial Award and the Golden Rose of the New England Poetry Club. He held fellowships at the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference and in Rome from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His poems have appeared in Saturday Review, The New Yorker, Forum, Yankee, and other national literary magazines. His prose works include We Fly Away (1948), The Satirical Rogue on Poetry (1968), and The Trouble With Francis (1971). His six volumes of poetry include Come Out Into the Sun (1965), The Orb Weaver (1960), The Face Against the Glass (1950), The Sound I Listened For (1943, 1944), Valhalla and Other Poems (1938), and Stand With Me Here (1936). Other works include Rome Without Camera (1958) and What a Witch Told Me (1956).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Francis Papers contain biographical material, correspondence, writings, and recordings. Notices of awards for Mr. Francis's poetry, published material about personal appearances, biographical material, 1939-1967.

Biographical materialcontains a folder of awards, and correspondence about awards, won by Francis, and a small amount of correspondence between Francis amd his publisher(s) and archives where his work is held.

Correspondence includes both incoming and outgoing. Here are letters to critics, words of congratulation and criticism about Francis's books of poetry, correspondence with fellow writers, and personal letters between friends. Notable correspondents include the American Academy of Arts and Letters, Borestone Mountain Poetry Awards, Gerald Warner Brace, Robert Frost, John Holmes, Houghton Mifflin Company, Amy Lowell Poetry Traveling Scholarship, The Massachusetts Review, Theodore Morrison, David Morton, New England Poetry Club, and Mary P. Sears Trust.

Writings contains notes, drafts, worksheet, original typescripts and manuscripts, published items, book reviews and so on, pertainining to Francis's books, essays, and poetry. Books include poetry collections, novels, and an autobiography. Essays consists primarily of newspaper clippings of columns written for the "Home Forum Page" of the Christian Science Monitor; in some cases the clippings are interspersed with letters from readers in response to particular pieces. Poetry contains worksheets and drafts for poems not included in any of his published collections. Francis' writings are also present im Published material, below.

Writings about contains a typescript carbon, in English, of a lengthy essay on Francis's poetry by a French scholar.

Published material contains issues of Forum that contain contributions by Francis, a Harvard Film Service catalogue listing several recordings of Francis reading his poetry, "Magazines containing poems not included in my volume," and a volume of American poetry which contains six pieces by Francis. There is also considerable published material in Writings, above.

Recordings contains four audiorecordings of Francis reading his poetry, issued by Harvard University under their Harvard Vocarium label.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is subdivided into incoming and outgoing, each arranged alphabetically. Writings are arranged alphabetically by type and within that by title; writings about Francis appear at the end of this series. Most of the writings are worksheets of poems revised by the author; these are arranged alphabetically under the title of the book in which the poems appeared, as are printed versions of some of the poems. Notes about the revisions and publication of the poems are filed with the poem, though in some cases these notes were grouped together and called "Histories" by the author. Published material is arranged alphabetically. The oversize package of tape recordings is in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Francis Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Robert Francis, 1968 and 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: RT
Date: 24 Jan 1969
Revision history: 28 Aug 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 14 Oct 2024 - box numbers corrected in inventory; 7 Nov 2025 - 0.5 linear ft. added, media processed, collection rehoused, inventory updated/corrected (MRC/IRP)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical material
Box 1		Awards 1939-1967 - includes correspondence, programs, etc.
Box 1		Correspondence 24 Aug.-14 Nov. 1960

	Correspondence
Box 1		Incoming 13 July 1936-13 June 1966 - "copies of his letters, mostly from fellow-writers"; includes alphabetical list of correspondent names, with dates of letter(s), created by Special Collections Research Center staff
Box 1		Outgoing 13 July 1926-13 June 1966

	Writings
Box 1		Address, "New England Anthology: An Expression in Poetry [1954] - typescript and published version
Box 1		Bibliography - typescript
Box 1		Book reviews, list of - "Check list of reviews of all books except The satirical roguetypescript, annotated
		Books
			Come Out Into the Sun
				Worksheets of poems
Box 1					"Ambush" 7 June 1962
Box 1					"Aphrodite" 8 Mar. 1962
Box 1					"The articles of war" - original typescripts revised, notes
Box 1					"Astronomer" - original typescripts revised, notes
Box 1					"The Black Hood" - notes
Box 1					"Coin diver 10 July 1961
Box 1					"Condor"
Box 1					"Dolphin" 22 Oct. 1961
Box 1					"Edith Sitwell" 21 Mar. 1961
Box 1					"Enviable (Observation)" 19 Nov. 1960 - original typescripts revised
Box 1					"The Forced Forsythia" 7 Jan. 1960
Box 1					"He Is The Boy" 27 Feb. 1956
Box 1					"Icicles"
Box 1					"Idyll of Lake Reedy" 14 Aug. 1964
Box 1					"Metal and Mettle" 1 Apr. 1964
Box 1					"My Teachers Are the Centripetal Ones"
Box 1					"Old Man's Confession of Faith" 29 Jan. 1963
Box 1					"Old Men"
Box 1					"The Packing Case" 29 Nov. 1960
Box 1					"Skier"
Box 1					"Sniper" [Sept. 1960]
Box 1					"Thoreau in Italy"
Box 1					"Time and the Sergeant"
Box 1					"Watching Gymnasts"
Box 1				Published versions of poems [1] - "These magazines contain first appearances of the poems later collected in the first section..."
					"The Articles of War," "The Eagle Plain" in The Massachusetts Review, vol. 6, no. 4 (Autumn, 1965), pp. 690-691 "The Black Hood" in Harvard Alumni Bulletin, vol. 62, no. 17 (2 July 1960), pp. 740 "Come", "Emergence" in Commonweal, vol. 81, no. 19 (5 Feb. 1965), p. 605
Box 2				Published versions of poems [2] - "These magazines contain first appearances of the poems later collected in the first section..."
					"Eagle" in Kentucky Writing, no. 3 (1960), p. 11 "The Forced Forsythia" in The Lyric, vol. 41, no. 2 (Spring, 1961), p. 31 "Hallelujah: A Sestina," untitled c. 1959 "In Memoriam: Four Poets" news clipping, untitled 6 Mar. 1965 [MISSING] "Old Men" in Commonweal, vol. 82, no. 15 ( 2 July 1965), p. 468
Box 2				Published versions of poems [3] - "These magazines contain first appearances of the poems later collected in the first section..."
					"Stellaria" in The Massachusetts Review, vol. 3, no. 1. (Autumn, 1961), p. 35 "Thoreau in Italy", "Sniper", "Cinna", "Edith Sitwell Assumes the Role of Luna of If you Know What I Mean Said the Moon," "The Packing Case", "Dolphin", "Observation", "Coin Diver" in the Massachusetts Review, vol. 3, no. 3 ( Spring, 1962), pp. 475-480 "Watching Gymnasts" in Syracuse 10, vol. 3, no. 3 ( Mar., 1961), p. 7
Box 2				Setting copy - mix of typescript and printed versions of poems, with corrections and typesetting instructions (2 folders)
Box 2				Reviews
			The Face Against the Glass
				Worksheets of poems
Box 2					"Amanita"
Box 2					"Babylon and Babel" 13-14 Aug. 1944
Box 2					"The Big Tent" May 1948 - includes published material
Box 2					"The Buzz Plane" 3 Sep. 1947
Box 2					"The Dandelion Gatherer" 4 Mar. 1950
Box 2					"The Faultless Dead" 7 Aug. 1947
Box 2					"Fortune"
Box 2					"Gloria" 20 Dec. 1948
Box 2					"The Heiress" 9 June 1947
Box 2					"Here by the Sea" 1947-1950
Box 2					"Museum Birds" 10 Sept. 1945
Box 2					"Oh World of Toms" 1948
Box 2					"Part for the Whole" 1 Feb. 1945
Box 2					"Peace" 8 May 1946
Box 2					"Portrait" 9 June 1947
Box 2					"The Spy" 27 Oct. 1947
Box 2					"Strewing Herbs" 2 May 1948
Box 2					"Superior Vantage" 15 July 1948
Box 2					"Thistle Seed in the Wind" 28 Oct. 1947
Box 2					"Two Words"
Box 2					"Weathervane" 3 Mar. 1948
Box 2				Published versions of poems [1] - "First appearances of some poems later collected in The face against the glass"
					"The Big Tent," "Portrait" in Poetry, vol. 73, no. 2 ( Nov. 1948), pp. 84-85 "Here by the Sea" in The New Yorker, vol. 24, no. 19 ( 3 July 1948), p. 57 "Superior Vantage" in The New Yorker, vol. 26, no. 19 ( 1 July 1950), p. 22
Box 2				Published versions of poems [2] - "First appearances of some poems later collected in The face against the glass"
					"Two Words", "His Wealth", "Fortune", "The Oxen", "The Hawk", in Poetry, vol. 63, no. 5 ( Aug., 1946), pp. 246-248
Box 2				Published book, The face against the glass 1950
			The Orb Weaver
				"Precursors of poems"
Box 3					"Eagle"
Box 3					"Poison Ivy"
Box 3					"Sun"
				Worksheets
Box 3					"The Aloof Peak" 22 Oct. 1954
Box 3					"Beyond Biology" 6 Mar. 1951
Box 3					"Boy Riding Forward Backward" [Spring, 1955]
Box 3					"Burial" [22-28 Jan. 1955]
Box 3					"Catch" [13-14 Jan. 1950]
Box 3					"Come Out Into the Sun", [1955]
Box 3					"Confession"
Box 3					"Demonstration" 1 Aug. 1950
Box 3					"Desiring to Give All" 18 Aug. 1946
Box 3					"Dog Day Night" 8 Aug. 1947
Box 3					"Dry Point" 7 Jan. 1952
Box 3					"The Eagle in Retreat" ("The Retiring Eagle")
Box 3					"Epitaph"
Box 3					"Farm Boy After Summer" 22 July 1953
Box 3					"High Diver" 26 June 1952
Box 3					"Monadnock" 1 May 1948
Box 3					"Remind Me of Apples" 6 Aug. 1947
Box 3					"The Revelers" [1955]
Box 3					"The Rock Climbers" 28 Aug. 1957
Box 3					"Sailboat, Your Secret"
Box 3					"Squash in Blossom" 17 July 1950
Box 3					"Three Darks Come Down Together" 6 Oct. 1955
Box 3					"With the Year's Cooling" 16 Sep. 1952
Box 3				Published versions of poems [1] - "...magazines in which 20 of the poems in The orb Weaver first appeared"
					List, "First appearances of poems in The orb weaver" "Boy Riding Forward Backward" in Saturday Review, vol. 39, no.10 (Mar. 10, 1956), p 13 "Colo" in Poetry, vol. 84, no. 5 (Aug. 1954), p. 271 "Come Out Into the Sun" in The New Yorker, vol. 31, no. 7 (Apr. 2, 1955). p. 40 "Desiring to Give All" in Forum, vol. 107, no. 5 (May, 1947), p. 457 "Dog Day Night" in Yankee, vol. 14, no.10 (Oct. 1950), p. 74
Box 3				Published versions of poems [2] - "...magazines in which 20 of the poems in The orb weaver first appeared"
					"Encounter", Part for the Whole" in Poetry, vol. 66, no. 3 (June, 1945), pp. 126-127 "Exclusive Blue" in Saturday Review, vol. 36, no. 12 (Mar. 21, 1953). p. 22 "The Faultless Dead"," The Base-Stealer" in Forum, vol. 109, no. 6 (June, 1948), p. 346 "Gold" in The New England Galaxy, vol. 1, no. 2 (Fall, 1959), pp. 16-17 "Hide-and-Seek" in Voices, no. 127 (Autumn, 1946), p. 33
Box 3				Published versions of poems [3] - "...magazines in which 20 of the poems in The orb weaver first appeared"
					"My Teachers are the Centripetal Ones", "Past Tense", in The Lyric, vol. 33, no. 3 (Summer, 1953), p. 208 "The Orb Weaver" in Forum, vol. 105, no. 2 (Feb, 1946), p. 525 "Remind Me of Apples" in The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 24, no. 4 (Autumn, 1948), p. 557
Box 3				Published versions of poems [4] - "...magazines in which 20 of the poems in The orb weaver first appeared"
					"The Revelers" in The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 32, no. 3 (Summer, 1956), pp. 376-379 "Sailboat, Your Secret" in Poetry, vol. 86, no. 4 (July, 1955), p. 233
Box 4				Published versions of poems [5] - "...magazines in which 20 of the poems in The orb weaver first appeared"
					"The Seed-Eaters" in Saturday Review, vol. 36, no.14 (Apr. 3, 1954), p. 22 "The Strewing Herbs", "Monadnock", "Geology", "Glass", "Two Figures" in The Lyric, vol. 28, no. 4 (Winter, 1949), pp. 146-148 "Swimmer" in Saturday Review, vol. 36, no. 28 (July 11, 1953), p. 14 "With the Year's Cooling" in Saturday Review, vol. 36, no. 42 (Oct. 17, 1953), p. 24
Box 4				Book jacket
Box 4				"Histories of all poems in The orb weaver"
Box 4				Reviews 1960-1961, 1966-1967
			Satirical rogue
Box 4				Setting copy - mix of typescript and printed versions of poems, with corrections and typesetting instructions
			The Sound I Listened For
				"Precursors of poems"
Box 4					"Flower and Bee"
Box 4					"The Mouse"
Box 4					"October Summer"
				Worksheets
Box 4					"Afternoon Drive"
Box 4					"Altitude" [6-10 Mar. 1940]
Box 4					"Answer" [11-26 Sep. 1941]
Box 4					"April Thunder"
Box 4					"As Easily as Trees"
Box 4					"As Near to Eden"
Box 4					"Bluejays" [late summer or early autumn, 1942]
Box 4					"Boy Sleeping"
Box 4					"Clairvoyance"
Box 4					"Dedication Poem" [Dec., 1942?]
Box 4					"Distance and Peace"
Box 4					"Evening Ride"
Box 4					"Excellence"
Box 4					"Fair and Unfair"
Box 4					"Five Silver Foxes" [1943]
Box 4					"Flower and Bee" [1943]
Box 4					"The Four"
Box 4					"Fruit"
Box 4					"The Goldfish Bowl"
Box 4					"The Good Life"
Box 4					"Good Night Near Christmas"
Box 4					"His Own" [1943]
Box 4					"If We Had Known"
Box 4					"Indoor Lady"
Box 4					"Interrupted Fern"
Box 4					"It May Not Comfort You"
Box 4					"The Laughers"
Box 4					"Nothing is Far"
Box 4					"Now That Your Shoulders Reach My Shoulders"
Box 4					"Old Man Feeding Hens" [spring or summer of 1943]
Box 4					"The Old of the Moon in August"
Box 4					"Old Roofs"
Box 4					"On That Cool Plane" [22 Aug.-14 Sept. 1943]
Box 4					"Past and Future" [1937?]
Box 4					"Poverty Grass" [Summer, 1943]
Box 4					"Preparation" [Feb. 1939]
Box 4					"The Reading of the Psalm" [1941]
Box 5					"Rocking Boulder" [1943]
Box 5					"Salt"
Box 5					"Serpent as Vine" [29 Aug. 1943]
Box 5					"Shadows"
Box 5					"Sight"
Box 5					"Sing a Song of Juniper" [18 Nov. 1941]
Box 5					"Socrates and the Crowd"
Box 5					"The Sound I Listened For"
Box 5					"Statement"
Box 5					"Summons"
Box 5					"The Thief"
Box 5					"Two Glories"
Box 5					"Unanimity"
Box 5					"The Wasp"
Box 5					"What Has To Be"
Box 5					"While Sunday Morning"
Box 5					"Who Comes As Light"
Box 5					"Willow Woman"
Box 5					"Winter"
Box 5				Published versions of poems [1] - "First appearances of some poems later collected in The sound I listened for"
					"Answer" in The Catholic World, vol. 150, no. 944 (Nov., 1943), p. 171 "Evening Ride" in Poetry, vol. 56, no. 5 (Aug., 1940), p. 253 "The Laughers" in The Lyric, vol. 23, no. 4 (Winter, 1944), p. 93 "Perspective" in Voices, no. 112 (Winter, 1943), p. 16
Box 5				Published versions of poems [2] - "First appearances of some poems later collected in The sound I listened for"
					"Poems for James Harker" in Voices, no. 107 (Autumn, 1941), pp. 23-25 "Statement" in Poetry, vol. 55, no. 2 (May, 1942), p. 64 "Winter" in The Lyric, vol. 20, no.3 (Autumn, 1940), p. 89
Box 5				"Histories of all poems in ... "
Box 5				Notes about other poems
Box 5				Reviews 1943-1945
Box 5				Published books 1943, 1944 - self-published softcover; Macmillan hardcover
			Stand With Me Here
				Worksheets
Box 5					"Apple Gatherers"
Box 5					"Days"
Box 5					"Dirge"
Box 5					"Diver"
Box 5					"Earthworm"
Box 5					"Fall"
Box 5					"February Snow"
Box 5					"Firewarden on Kearsarge"
Box 5					"Gargoyle (First Sister)"
Box 5					"Grotesque (Second Sister)"
Box 6					"Iron Effigy (Third Sister)"
Box 6					"Hay"
Box 6					"The Hound"
Box 6					"Legend of Orient Point"
Box 6					"Pitch Pine"
Box 6					"Portraits"
Box 6					"Prophet"
Box 6					"Soldierhood"
Box 5				Published versions of poems [1] - "First appearances of some poems later collected in Stand with me here"
					"A Boy's November", in The Target, vol. 96, no. 45 (7 Nov. 1936), p. 2 "The Comet" in Christian Science Monitor (2 Sept. 1930), p. 8 "Homeward", "Mountain Blueberries", "Artist", "Prophet", "Identity", Before", Pitch Pine" in The Lyric, vol. 16, no. 2 (Summer, 1936), pp. 19-21 "The Hound" in Harper's Magazine, no. 1036 ( Sept., 1936) p. 385 "Iron Effigy" in Voices, no. 66 ( Oct.- Nov., 1932), pp. 29-31
Box 6				Published versions of poems [2] - "First appearances of some poems later collected in Stand with me here"
					"Night Train" in Christian Science Monitor (7 Aug. 1936), p. 8 "Roots" in The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 10, no. 4 (Oct. , 1934), p. 558
Box 6				Reviews 11936-1937
			The trouble with Francis - autobiography
Box 6				Setting copy (4 folders)
			Valhalla
Box 6				Published versions of poems - "First appearance of some poems later collected in"
					"Balance" in Christian Science Monitor (15 Aug. 1938), p. 12 "Blue Winter" in Christian Science Monitor (15 Sept. 1936), p. 7 "Bonfire on the Snow" in New York Times (7 Sept. 1938), p. 24 "Dwight" in New York Times (17 May 1938), p. 22 "The Name of Gold" in Christian Science Monitor (11 May 1938), p. 7 "White Throated Sparrow in Massachusetts" in Christian Science Monitor (16 June 1938), p. 20
Box 6				Reviews 1938-1939
			We Fly Away
Box 6				Reviews 1948-1949
		Essays
Box 7			"Home Forum" columns 1938-1944, 1946-1954 - clippings from the Christian Science Monitor, pasted onto scrapbook pages, occasionally interspersed with letters from readers about a particular piece (7 folders)
Box 7			"The Muse Not Wholly Serious" in The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 42, no. 2, pp. 272-278 Spring, 1966
Box 7			"On Robert Frost" by R. Francis, C.W. Cole, R. L. Cook in The Massachusetts Review, vol. 4, no. 2, pp. 237-239 Winter, 1963
Box 8			"The Satirical Rogue" in The Massachusetts Review, vol. 6 no. 3, pp. 151-466 Spring-Summer, 1965
Box 8			"Ten Below Ezra" in the New England Galaxy, vol. 19, no. 2, pp. 22-25 Fall, 1976
Box 8			"Wild But Polished" in Bits and Several Pieces from the Cranbrook Writing Conference , pp. 9-14. 18-20 Aug. 1967
		Poetry
			Original folder noted that these were drafts and typescripts "suitable for publication." They appear to be poems that were not included in any of his collections.
Box 8			"Aurea Apprehensio"
Box 8			"The Base Stealer" [1 Aug. 1947]
Box 8			"Bluejay" [21 Jan. 1956]
Box 8			"The Bull dozer" 9 July 1960
Box 8			"Cromwell" 14 Oct. 1966
Box 8			"Delicate The Toad" [9 Mar. 1962]
Box 8			"Hide-and-Seek" [22 July 1944]
Box 8			"Light Casualties" 5 Dec. 1965 - holograph
Box 8			"Sniper" [17 Sept. 1960]
Box 8			"Stellaria"
Box 8			"Two Young Women on a Late-Winter Holiday Morning" 22 Feb. 1966

	Writings about
Box 8		The Poetry of Robert Francis / Max Delhomme, Universite de Bordeaux May, 1962 - typescript carbon, 86 pp.

	Published material
Box 8		Forum 1946-1947 - issues containing Francis's poetry and essays; includes list of items (5 folders)
Box 9		Forum 1947-1950 - issues containing Francis's poetry and essays (6 folders)
Box 9		Harvard Film Service catalogue of phonograph records, educational films, [and] reading films 1945 - lists two phonodisc recordings of Francis reading his own poetry, p. 9
Box 9		"Magazines containing poems not included in my volumes" (3 folders)
			The Lyric, vol. 34, no. 1 (Winter, 1954), p. 11, "Late Cricket" The Lyric, vol. 35, no. 2 (Spring, 1955) p. 53, "Weather" The Malahat Review, no. 4 (Oct. 1967) p.118, "The Hawk" The New England Galaxy, vol. 3, no. 4 (Spring, 1962), p. 43, "The Old Peppermint Ladies" The New Yorker, vol. 29, no. 24 (Aug. 1, 1953), p. 27, "Mr. Eliot's Day" The New Yorker, vol. 32, no. 24, (Aug. 4, 1956), p. 28, "A Tribute to W. H. Auden and his Vocabulary" The Yale Review, vol. 43, no. 4 (June, 1954), p. 534, "The Net"
Box 9		New Poems by American Poets, ed. Rolfe Humphries, New York 1953 - contains RF's pieces "High Diver", "Swimmer", "Pitcher", "Beyond Biology", "Picasso and Matisse", "Apple Peeler"
Box 9		Miscellaneous

	Recordings
Oversize 1		Poetry reading by Robert Francis, WFCR: Five College Lecture Hall 17 Jul 1967 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: francis_r_004)
			According to information in the WFCR Radio Broadcast Collection (MS 741), Special Collections and University Archives, University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries, this took place at that institution's Summer Arts Program. A digitized version is available in that collection.
Oversize 1		Robert Francis reading his poems . . . . . . June 14-15, 1960 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: francis_r_001)
			A typed note accompanying the item reads "Poems of the Harvard 1960 recording" and lists the contents as follows: Side A: Pitcher; The Rock Climbers; High Diver; Sailboat, Your Secret; True North; Seagulls; The Wasp; The Mouse Whose Name is Time; and Hallelujah: [A Sestina]. Side B: The Black Hood; Cypresses; Blue Jay; The Orb Weaver; Burial; The Disengaging Eagle.
Oversize 1		Robert Francis reading his own poems [from the collections Stand with me here and Valhalla] (Vinyl record) (ID#: francis_r_002)
			Harvard Vocarium Recording. Recorded for The Poetry Room, Harvard University Library. Side A, P-1074: Onion Fields; A Broken View. Side B, P-1075: Blue Winter; Bonfire on the Snow; Mountain Blueberries; White-Throated Sparrow in Massachusetts; Sheep; The Two Uses from Valhalla.
Oversize 1		Robert Francis reading his own poems [from the collection The sound I listened for] - Harvard Vocarium Record (Vinyl record) (ID#: francis_r_003)
			Harvard Vocarium Recording. Recorded for The Poetry Room, Harvard University Library. Side A, P-1076: Recording contains: Side A: The Sound I Listened For; Light Against Light; The Thief; Fair and Unfair; Seagulls from The Sound I Listened For. Side B, P-1077: Juniper; Interrupted Fern

Return to top