Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Friedman, Walter, d. 1980 |
| Title: | Walter Friedman Photography Archive |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1960-1979 |
| Quantity: | 1.75 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | archive of more than 1200 black-and-white photographs from New York City street photographer Walter Friedman |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Walter Friedman was a street photographer in New York City, active in the 1960s and 1970s. He appears to be largely unknown to galleries or other mainstream photography outlets. He lived in the same building as Don Snyder, a noted "underground" photographer and multimedia artist best known for his photographs of the counterculture, collected in his 1979 book Aquarian Odyssey: A Photographic Trip into the Sixties. Friedman's photographic archive was left with Snyder following Friedman's death due to AIDS in the 1980s.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Walter Friedman Photography Archive consists of more than 1200 silver gelatin prints, 5x7", in small black albums. This archive of candid photographs of everyday people provides an in-depth picture of New York City life, from the outer boroughs to Manhattan. Friedman was particularly interested in people and places on the margins of society, and many of his photographs reflect an unconventional cast of characters.
Arrangement of the Collection
There is no discernible order to either the albums or the photographs themselves. Volume numbers have been randomsly assigned for reference purposes.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Walter Friedman Photography Archive,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 10 Jun 2024
Revision history:
Inventory
| Photographs | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | [Volumes 1 through 8] | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | [Volumes 9 through 16] | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | [Volumes 17 through 22] | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | [Volumes 23 through 25] | ||||||||||