Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	G.P. Putnam & Sons
Title:	G. P. Putnam and Sons Correspondence
Inclusive Dates:	1887-1930
Quantity:	12 items (SC)
Abstract:	Incoming letters, mostly from authors
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

G. P. Putnam & Sons began as bookseller Wiley & Putnam in 1838 but soon expanded into publishing. In 1848 Wiley left and Putnam continued the company under his own name, publishing notable authors such as William Cullen Bryant, Nathaniel Hawthorne, James Fenimore Cooper, and Edgar Allan Poe. After the Civil War Putnam's son Major George Haven Putnam joined the business, soon followed by his brothers John Bishop Putnam and Irving Putnam. Today known as Putnam's Sons, the company's roster of best-selling fiction and non-fiction uthors includes Tom Clancy, Clive Cussler, William Gibson, J. D. Robb, Amy Tan, Kurt Vonnegut, Lance Armstrong, and Maureen Dowd.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The G. P. Putnam and Sons Correspondence consists mostly of incoming business correspondence from authors, including Elizabeth W. Champney, James Barnet Fry, and Charles F. Richardson. There are also two letters are from lawyer Reverdy Johnson in his capacity as executor of the estate of Elizabeth S. Kennedy, widow of author John Pendleton Kennedy.

One letter, to George Haven Putnam from Francis Burton Harrison, concerns the Currier Bill (also known as the Reciprocity Bill) then before Congress; the bill related to copyright issues.

Finally, there are two letters of recommendation from George Palmer Putnam, for two individuals applying for residence in the Barbizon Plaza Hotel.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is in alphabetical order by sender.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

G. P. Putnam & Sons Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Sep 1987
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
SC 45		Champney, Elizabeth Williams undated (2 items)
SC 45		Fry, James Barnet 12 Feb 1887
SC 45		Harrison, Francis Burton 22 Nov 1904
SC 45		Johnson, Reverdy 1890 (2 items)
SC 45		Richardson, Charles Francis 1895-1898
SC 45		Miscellaneous 1930 (letters of recommendation) (2 items)

Return to top