Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Green, Diana L.
Title:	Diana L. Green Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1966-1994
Quantity:	5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers connected to organizations in which Green was active, including the Committee on Southern African Liberation, National Organization for an American Revolution, Socialist-Feminists of Syracuse, and Women's INFOrmation Center.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Diana L. Green is an alumna of Syracuse University and was politically active in the 1970s in a range of feminist and social justice organizations and causes, including the National Organization for an American Revolution (NOAR), Committee on Southern African Liberation (COSAL), Socialist-Feminists of Syracuse, and the Women's INFOrmation Center. She was heavily involved in local social justice issues, such as the Syracuse boycott of Niagara Mohawk (NiMo) power company's rate hike, engaged in different philosophies like Marxism, and kept up to date on liberation movements in many African countries.

NOAR was formed in 1978 by Grace Lee and James Boggs, who co-authored Revolution and Evolution in the Twentieth Century published in 1974 laying out their new evolutionary concept of revolution they developed during the 1960s and early 1970s. "A revolution is not just for the purpose of correcting past injustices," they wrote in their book. "The only justification for a revolution is that it advances the evolution of man/woman." [Information drawn from "A Critical Journal of Black Politics, Culture, and Society," vol. 17, 2015] COSAL was a group of mostly (but not all) Syracuse University students in the Eastern African Studies program that operated independently of the University and was not formally affiliated. In Syracuse, COSAL protested Crucible Steel for its use of imported chrome from Rhodesia (Zimbabwe), fundraised for the Liberation Support Movement (LSM), and hosted speakers from various liberation movements, such as Oliver Tambo of the African National Congress. [Information drawn from African Activist Archive] The Women's Information Center is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting feminist principles of empowering women regardless of age, race, ability, economic status, religion, or sexual orientation. [Information drawn from their Facebook page, July 2023]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Diana Green Papers consists of material relating to four social justice groups of which Green was a member: Committee on Southern African Liberation (COSAL), National Organization for an American Revolution (NOAR), Socialist-Feminists of Syracuse, and Women's INFOrmation Center.

Committee on Southern African Liberation (COSAL) contains many periodicals and a small amount of correspondence, printed material, and memorabilia. Some of the journals include The African Communist, Ufahamu, and Women in the Struggle for Liberation with discussions of the liberation movements in various African countries, such as Angola, Namibia, South Africa, Ethiopia, and Rhodesia. The printed material consist of newsletters, flyers, brochures, and clippings of the organization.

National Organization for an American Revolution (NOAR) includes pamphlets published by the organization and by its founders James and Grace Lee Boggs, internal bulletins, and pre-convention papers.

Socialist-Feminists of Syracuse consists of research material and writings by Green as well as some co-written with others. According to Green, this was a "Marxist study group," which the research topics reflect, like capitalism in the Soviet Union, Nicaragua, liberation theology, and China.

Women's INFOrmation Center consists of newsletters discussing topics important to the Syracuse community from 1979-1985, such as community involvement to enact political and community change.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by social justice group, then by topic and/or type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Also see National Organization for an American Revolution (NOAR), Syracuse Branch, Records.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Diana L. Green Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Diana L. Green, 2022.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: RMH
Date: 24 May 2023
Revision history: 21 Jul 2023 - processed (RMH)

Return to top

Inventory

	Committee on Southern African Liberation (COSAL)
Box 1		The African Communist 1973-1978 (2 folders)
Box 1		Africa Liberation calendar 1976-1978
Box 1		Africa Research Group 1964, 1969
Box 1		Africa Today 1974-1975
Box 1		African Youth 1976
Box 1		Angola 1970-1976 (3 folders)
Box 1		Correspondence 1973-1977
Box 1		Guinea-Bissau 1971, 1974, 1978
Box 2		Liberation Support Movement 1974-1978 (2 folder)
Box 2		Memorabilia undated - organization pins
Box 2		Mozambique 1969, 1972-1977 (3 folders)
Box 2		Namibia 1973, 1976-1978 (2 folders)
Box 2		Printed material 1969-1980 (3 folders)
Box 2		Review of African Political Economy 1974-1975
Box 3		SECHABA: Official Organ of the African National Congress South Africa 1971, 1976
Box 3		South Africa 1966-1975, 1978 (5 folders)
Box 3		Southern Africa 1973-1974, 1978-1980 (4 folders)
Box 4		Ufahamu 1971-1975 (8 folders)
Box 4		Zimbabwe 1974-1978 (2 folders)
Box 5		Miscellaneous topics 1967-1969, 1972-1977 - include: Eritrea, Cape Verde, Kenya, Rhodesia, Ethiopia; Josina Machel, Amilcar Caral, Mangaliso Sobukwe; Guerrilheiro, Black Survival (in a White Society), Women in the Struggle for Liberation (9 folders)

	National Organization for an American Revolution (NOAR)
Box 5		Corporate blackmail 1982
Box 5		Internal Bulletin 1981-1983 (2 folders)
Box 6		Internal Bulletin 1983-1984
Box 6		Leaflets by 1971-1981
Box 6		Letters to contacts 1979-1980
Box 6		Membership 1978-1980
Box 6		Memorabilia undated - organization pins and bumper sticker
Oversize 1		Memorabilia undated - a NOAR green and white flag
Box 6		Niagara Mohawk (NiMo) program 1974, 1982-1985 (2 folders)
Box 6		Pamphlets by 1973-1984 (3 folders)
Box 6		Pamphlets by James and Grace Lee Boggs 1970, 1976, 1981-1982, 1990, 1993-1994, undated (2 folders)
Box 7		Papers 1982 - discussion papers distributed by NOAR
Box 7		Pre-convention papers 1979-1980 (3 folders)
Box 7		PSA's 1982
Box 7		Selected speeches by Grace Lee Boggs 1990
Box 7		Syracuse branch 1979-1984 - conventions, political lines, constitution, structure, etc. (3 folders)

	Socialist-Feminists of Syracuse
Box 7		Research material 1972-1976 - China, Marxism, Palestine, Brownshirts of the seventies, etc. (3 folders)
Box 8		Research material 1974-1978, 1981-1985, undated - capitalism in the Soviet Union, Nicaragua, the U.S. in Haiti, liberation theology, etc. (4 folders)
Box 8		Writings 1976 - by Green and co-written with others

	Women's INFOrmation Center
Box 8		Newsletters 1979-1985, undated (3 folders)

Return to top