Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Greenway Productions
Title:	Greenway Productions Records
Inclusive Dates:	1965-1968
Quantity:	9 linear ft.
Abstract:	Scripts for television and movie productions by Greenway Productions, including those for the television series Batman (1965-1967), The Green Hornet (1966-1967), The Loner (1965-1966), The Tammy Grimes Show (1966) and for the film The Big Bounce; also includes taped lectures by William Dozier (1967-1968).
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Greenway Productions Records contains scripts from four of producer William Dozier's Greenway Productions television shows: Batman (Nov 1965-Dec 1967); The Green Hornet (Jun 1966- Jan 1967); The Loner (Jun 1965-Dec 1966); and The Tammy Grimes Show (Jun-Oct 1966). All the scripts are final and revised drafts of the weekly episodes and are the most original scripts available from the producers. The scripts are arranged alphabetically by program title and within each season alphabetically by script title.

The collection also contains a number of scripts related to production of the film adaptation of Elmore Leonard's novel The Big Bounce. The screenplay was written by Robert Dozier (son of William Dozier), and the 1969 film starred Ryan O'Neal, Leigh Taylor-Young and Van Hefflin. There are multiple versions of the script, reflecting the process of production, including an initial treatment of the novel, the first draft, the estimating draft (and production budget), the final screenplay and the screenplay as filmed. The collection also contains another Robert Dozier penned screenplay, an adaptation of the 1928 novel The Well of Lonliness by Radclyffe Hall. This film was not realized.

In addition to the written manuscripts, there are 32 reel-to-reel audio recordings of lectures given by executive producer and Greenway Productions' founder, William Dozier. Some of these recordings stem from a U.C.L.A. course taught by Dozier, Network Television: The Facts of Life (Theater Arts XL 198A), a course documented in a Time magazine article of 29 Mar 1968. It is not known if all of the taped lectures derive from this particular course. Dozier's lecture spots often featured prominent guests from the television industry, including John H. Mitchell, president of Columbia Pictures television division, Edward Bleier, senior executive at ABC television, and television producer and founder of MTM, Grant Tinker.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Greenway Productions Records,
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Greenway Productions.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: unknown
Revision history: 20 Sep 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 25 Sep 2006 - boxes renumbered (NS/MRR); 8 Feb 2012 - revised and inventory updated: 1968-69 additions incorporated (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

	Television productions
		Batman
			1965 - 1966 Season
Box 1				The Bookworm Turns 14 Feb 1966 - (2cs) final script
Box 1				The Curse of Tut 28 Feb 1966 - (2cs) final script
Box 1				Death in Slow Motion 7 Mar 1966 - (2cs) final script
Box 1				Mr. Freeze 26 Nov 1965 - (2cs) final script
Box 1				Fine Feathered Finks 19 Nov 1965 - (2cs) final script
Box 1				Fine Finny Fiends 25 Mar 1966 - (2cs) final script
Box 2				Hi Diddle Riddle 3 Sep 1965 - revised draft
Box 2				The Joker Goes to School 13 Dec 1965 - (2cs) final
Box 2				The Joker is Wild 8 Dec 1965 - (2cs) final
Box 2				The Joker Trumps on Ace 21 Feb 1966 - (2cs) final script
Box 2				The Penguin Goes Straight 7 Feb 1966 - revised final script
Box 2				Pilot Script 3 Sep 1965 - revised draft
Box 2				The Purrfect Crime 26 Jan 1966 - (2cs) final script
Box 3				A Riddle a Day Keeps the Riddler Away 28 Dec 1965 - (2cs) revised final script
Box 3				The Ring of Wax 9 Feb 1966 - (2cs) final script
Box 3				The Thirteenth Hat 14 Jan 1966 - (2cs) final script
Box 3				True or False Face 5 Jan 1966 - (2cs) final script
Box 3				Zelda the Great 23 Nov 1965 - (2cs) revised draft
			1966 - 1967 Season
Box 4				Batman's Anniversary 27 Dec 1966 - final
Box 4				Black Widow strikes Again 8 Feb 1967 - revised final
Box 4				The Cat's Meow revised 7 Nov 1966 - final script
Box 4				Catwoman Goes to College 16 Jan 1967 - final script
Box 4				The Clock King's Crazy Crimes 20 July 1966 - revised final script
Box 4				Come Back, Shame 3 Oct 1966 - final script
Box 4				The Contaminated Cow 23 Nov 1966 - final script
Box 4				The Devil's Fingers 9 Sep 1966 - final script
Box 4				An Egg Grows in Gotham 11 Aug 1966 - final script
Box 5				The Greatest Mother of Them All 9 Aug 1966 - final script
Box 5				Green Ice revised 20 Sept 1966 - final script
Box 5				Hizzonner the Penguin 31 Aug 1966 - final script
Box 5				Hot Off the Griddle 9 May 1966 - final script
Box 5				Ice Spy 27 Feb 1967 - final script
Box 5				The Impractical Joker 7 Sep 1966 - final script
Box 5				The Jokers Last Laugh 9 Jan 1967 - final script
Box 5				King Tut's Coup 1 Feb 1967 - final script
Box 5				Marsha, Queen of Diamonds 23 Sep 1966 - final script
Box 5				The Minstrel's Shakedown 29 Jul 1966 - revised final script
Box 6				Penguin is a Girl's Best Friend 30 Nov 1966 - final script
Box 6				The Penguin's Nest 9 Jun 1966 - final script
Box 6				A Piece of Action 24 Jan 1967 - final script
Box 6				Pop Goes the Joker 10 Feb 1967 - final script
Box 6				The Puzzles are Coming 17 Oct 1966 - revised final script
Box 6				The Sandman Cometh 7 Nov 1966 - revised final
Box 6				Shoot a Crooked Arrow 29 Jun 1966 - revised final script
Box 6				The Spell of Tut 13 Jul 1966 - sec. revised final script
Box 6				That Darn Catwoman 12 Dec 1966 - final script
Box 6				The Zodiac Crimes 26 Oct 1966 - revised final script
			1967 - 1968 Season
Box 7				Catwoman's Dressed to Kill 18 Oct 1967 - first draft
Box 7				Catwoman's Dressed to Kill 24 Oct 1967 - final script
Box 7				Catwoman's Dressed to Kill - revised pages and shooting schedule
Box 7				The Entrancing Dr. Cassandra 27 Nov 1967 - final script
Box 7				The Entrancing Dr. Cassandra - revised pages and shooting schedule
Box 7				The Great Escape 20 Nov 1967 - first draft
Box 7				The Great Escape 28 Nov 1967 - final draft
Box 7				The Great Escape - revised pages and shooting schedule
Box 7				I'll be a Mummy's Uncle 7 Dec 1967 - final script
Box 7				I'll be a Mummy's Uncle 11 Dec 1967 - revised final
Box 7				I'll be a Mummy's Uncle - revised pages and shooting schedule
Box 7				The Joker's Flying Saucer 14 Nov 1967 - final
Box 7				The Joker's Flying Saucer - revised pages and shooting schedule
Box 7				Minerva, Mayhem and Millionaires 5 Dec 1967 - first draft
Box 7				Minerva, Mayhem and Millionaires 13 Dec 1967 - final
Box 7				Minerva, Mayhem and Millionaires 15 Dec 1967 - revised final
Box 7				Minerva, Mayhem and Millionaires - revised pages and shooting schedule
Box 8				Nora Clavicle and the Ladies Crime Club 6 Nov 1967 - first draft
Box 8				Nora Clavicle and the Ladies Crime Club 7 Nov 1967 - revised draft
Box 8				Nora Clavicle and the Ladies Crime Club 9 Nov 1967 - final draft
Box 8				Nora Clavicle and the Ladies Crime Club - revised pages and shooting schedule
Box 8				Penguin's Clean Sweep 16 Nov 1967 - first draft
Box 8				Penguin's Clean Sweep 24 Nov 1967 - final draft
Box 8				Penguin's Clean Sweep - shooting schedule
		The Green Hornet, 1966 - 1967 Season
Box 9			Ace in the Hole 28 Nov 1966 - (2cs) final draft
Box 9			Alias "the scarf" 14 Dec 1966 - (2cs) final draft
Box 9			Bad Bet on a 459--Silent 2 Dec 1966 - (2cs) final draft
Box 9			Beautiful Dreamer 30 Aug 1966 - revised final draft
Box 9			Crime Wave 14 Jun 1966 - (2cs) final draft
Box 9			Corpse of the Year 16 Nov 1966 - (2cs) final draft
Box 9			Deadline for Death 27 Sep 1966 - (2cs) final draft
Box 9			Eat Drink and be Dead 9 Aug 1966 - (2cs) final draft
Box 10			Freeway to Death 27 Oct 1966 - (2cs) final
Box 10			The Frog is a Deadly Weapon 19 Jul 1966 - final
Box 10			Give 'em Enough Rope 22 Jul 1966 - final
Box 10			The Hornet and the Firefly 8 Nov 1966 - final
Box 10			Hornet Save Thyself 30 Dec 1966 - final
Box 10			The Hunters and the Hunted 20 Sep 1966 - final
Box 10			Invasion from Outer Space 6 Jan 1967 - final draft
Box 10			May the Best Man Lose 12 Oct 1966 - final draft
Box 11			The Preying Mantis 15 Sep 1966 - (2cs) revised final
Box 11			Programmed for Death 3 Jun 1966 - (2cs) revised final
Box 11			The Ray is for Killing 1 Aug 1966 - (2cs) final
Box 11			The Secret of the Sally Bell 5 Oct 1966 - final
Box 11			Seek, Stalk, and Destroy 4 Nov 1966 - (2cs) final
Box 11			The Silent Gun 6 Jul 1966 - (2cs) revised final
Box 11			Trouble for Prince Charming 7 Dec 1966 - (2cs) final
		The Loner, 1965 - 1966 Season
Box 12			The Burden of the Badge 20 Dec 1966 - revised final
Box 12			An Echo of Bugles 11 Jun 1965 - final
Box 12			Escort for a Dead Man 15 Oct 1965 - revised final
Box 12			The Flight of the Arctic Tern 15 Jun 1965 - final
Box 12			The Homecoming of Lemuel Stove 9 Jun 1965 - final
Box 12			The House Rules at Mrs. Wayne 8 Jun 1965 - final
Box 12			Hunt the Man Down 16 Jun 1965 - final
Box 12			Incident in the Middle of Nowhere 26 Nov 1965 - final
Box 12			The Kingdom of the McComb 18 Jun 1965 - final draft
Box 12			A Little Stroll to the End of the Line 18 Nov 1965 - 2nd revised final
Box 12			The Lonely Calico Queen 17 Jun 1965 - final
Box 12			Mantrap shooting 18 Oct 1965 - final
Box 12			The Mourners for Johnny Sharp 5 Nov 1965 - first draft
Box 12			The Mourners for Johnny Sharp 18 Jun 1965 - final draft
Box 13			The Oath 10 Jun 1965 - final
Box 13			One of the Wounded 17 Jun 1965 - final
Box 13			The Ordeal of Bud Windom 17 Aug 1965 - revised final
Box 13			Pick Me Another Time to Die 1 Dec 1965 - revised final
Box 13			A Question of Guilt 5 Nov 1965 - revised final
Box 13			The Sherrif of Fetterman's Crossing 9 Aug 1965 - revised final
Box 13			To Hang a Dead Man 18 Nov 1965 - first draft
Box 13			To the West of Eden 23 Jun 1965 - final draft
Box 13			The Trial in Paradise 2 Nov 1965 - second revised final
Box 13			The Vespers 18 Jun 1965 - final
Box 13			Westward the Showmaker 10 Jun 1965 - final draft
Box 13			Savage on the Evening Stage 18 Jun 1965 - final draft
		The Tammy Grimes Show, 1966 - 1967 Season
Box 14			Diamonds Are a Bird's Best Friend 16 Aug 1966 - final
Box 14			A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Studio 25 Aug 1966 - final draft
Box 14			George Washington Didn't Sleep Here 5 Aug 1966 - revised final draft
Box 14			Give Her Back to the Indians 13 Jun 1966 - first draft
Box 14			The Great Charge Account Way 12 Sep 1966 - final draft
Box 14			He's No Sandy Koufax, But I'll Buy Him 13 Sep 1966 - revised final
Box 14			How to Steal A Girl Even If It's Only Me 14 Jun 1966 - revised final
Box 14			It's in the Bag, Dad 7 Sep 1966 - final draft
Box 14			Officer's Mess 29 June 1966 - final
Box 14			Pilot Script 18 Oct 1965 - revised final
Box 14			Positively Made in Paris 13 Jul 1966 - fourth revised final draft
Box 14			Send a Rich Girl to Camp This Summer 29 Jul 1966 - revised final draft
Box 14			The Ski's the Limit 16 Jun 1966 - final draft
Box 14			Tamantha Nightingale Rides Again 23 Aug 1966 - revised final
Box 14			Tommy's Hits Las Vegas, or Vice Versa 1 Jul 1966 - second revised final
Box 14			Tammy Plays Cupid 31 Aug 1966 - revised final

	Motion Picture Productions
		The Big Bounce, screenplay by Robert Dozier; based on the novel by Elmore Leonard 1968
Box 18			Manuscript of original novel [typewritten copy]
Box 18			Screenwriters scene breakdown of novel
Box 18			First draft screenplay
Box 18			Studio estimating first draft (estimating script) 25 Jan 1968
Box 18			Final draft screenplay (pre-shooting) 29 Apr 1968
Box 18			Final screenplay as filmed 29 Apr-3 Sep 1968
Box 18			All page changes in chronological order up to final screenplay as filmed Mar-Aug 1968
Box 18			Script memos
Box 18			Budget and Revised Budget
		The Well of Loneliness, screenplay by Robert Dozier; from the novel by Radclyffe Hall 25 Nov 1968
Box 15			Estimating script [typewritten copy]

	Lectures by William Dozier (audiorecordings)
		1967 Lectures
			Some tapes note "Haines Hall 213"; lectures recorded on 1/4 inch magnetic tape at 3-3/4 ips
Box 16			Lecture 1 (Parts 1-2) 9 Jan 1967
Box 16			Lecture 2 (Parts 1-2) 16 Jan 1967
Box 16			Lecture 3 (Parts 1-2), Guest: Harve Bennet ABC 23 Jan 1967
Box 16			Lecture 4 (Parts 1-2), Guest: David Levy 30 Jan 1967
Box 16			Lecture 5 (Part 1) 6 Feb 1967
Box 16			Lecture 5 (Part 2) 6 Feb 1967
Box 16			Lecture 6 (Sides 1-2), Guest: John Mitchell 13 Feb 1967
Box 16			Lecture 7 20 Feb 1967
Box 16			Lecture 8 27 Feb 1967
Box 16			Lecture 9, Guest: Ed Bleier ABC-TV 6 Mar 1967
Box 16			Lecture 10 13 Mar 1967
		1968 Lectures
			Lectures recorded on 1/4 inch magnetic tape at 3-3/4 ips.
Box 17			Lecture 1 8 Jan 1968
Box 17			Lecture 2, Dozier and Tinker 15 Jan 1968
Box 17			Lecture 3 22 Jan 1968
Box 17			Lecture 4, Guest: Nicholas Johnson 29 Jan 1968
Box 17			Lecture 5, Dozier and Levy 5 Feb 1968
Box 17			Lecture 6, Dozier and Ackerman 12 Feb 1968
Box 17			Lecture 7, Guest: John Mitchell 19 Feb 1968
Box 17			Lecture 8, Lee Rich [26 Feb 1968]
Box 17			Lecture 9, Guest: Stromberg 4 Mar 1968
Box 17			Lecture 10 11 Mar 1968
Box 17			Lecture 11 18 Mar 1968
		1968 Lectures (Arts and Humanities Extension)
			Lectures recorded on 1/4 inch magnetic tape at 3-3/4 ips
Box 15			Lecture 1, No Guest 7 Oct 1968
Box 15			Lecture 2, No Guest 14 Oct 1968
Box 15			Lecture 3, Guest: Kenneth Cox 21 Oct 1968
Box 15			Lecture 4, Guest: Alan Wagner 28 Oct 1968
Box 15			Lecture 5, Guest: Roy Higgins 4 Nov 1968
Box 15			Lecture 6, Guest: John Mitchell 11 Nov 1968
Box 15			Lecture 7, Guest: Jim Aubrey (one side) 18 Nov 1968
Box 15			Lecture 8, Guest: D. Cramer (side one, after 10-15 minutes, is distorted. Side 2 ok) 25 Nov 1968
Box 15			Lecture 9, Guest: Herb Schlosser 2 Dec 1968
Box 15			Lecture 10, No Guest 10 Dec 1968

Return to top