Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Hamburg, Shirley
Title:	Shirley Hamburg Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1965-2016
Quantity:	4.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Research files pertaining to various social justice movements Hamburg was involved in and passionate about
Language:	English and Spanish
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Shirley Hamburg (b. 1945) is a Jewish lesbian activist from and residing in Oakland, California.

She was heavily involved in social, economic, and political groups of the latter half of the 20th century and into the 21st century. Some notable groups she was involved with include Line of March (a Marxist/Leninist organization), Jews for Peace, Women Organized for Reproductive Choice, and Zimbabwe Action Campaign, among others. Although she did not publish any writing herself, Hamburg made her impact by donating money, writing letters, and being active in organizations and activities she was an activist in.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Shirley Hamburg Papers consists of research files on the activist topics Hamburg was involved in and cared about.

Research files contain brochures, clippings, correspondence, emails, essays, flyers, newsletters, newspapers, notes, programs, and other printed material. Topics that are covered the most extensively include the Palestine-Israel conflict, race issues, Socialism/ Communism, women’s issues, and Zimbabwe liberation. Notable items include: a Summer 2000 print of North Coast Xpress which handles issues of poverty, death penalty, anti-LGBT, pollution, war criticism, and more; a Ku Klux Klan poster advertising a meeting in Rockmart, Georgia; and emails sent to Shirley in 1999 about then presidential candidate George W. Bush’s supposed family connection with nefarious individuals.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Research files are arranged alphabetically by topics orginally created by Hamburg with miscellanous at the end.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Shirley Hamburg Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2020.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: Reilly Callahan
Date: 2 Feb 2023
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

	Research Files
		Abortion rights
Box 1			Abortion Task Force paper 1981, undated
Box 1			Correspondence 1981-1982, undated
Box 1			Printed material 1979-1982, undated (2 folders)
Box 1		Art in activism 2000-2009, undated
Box 1		Afghanistan and Islam 2001-2010, undated
Box 1		Climate change 1997-2010, undated
Box 1		Imperialism in Africa 1979-1980, undated (2 folders)
Oversize 1		Imperialism in Africa 1978 - one full copy and two individual front page clippings ofThe Guardian
Box 1		International injustice 2009, undated
Box 1		Iraqi conflict 1982-2003
Box 2		Iraqi conflict 2003-2004, undated
Box 2		Jewish issues 1982-2002, undated
Oversize 1		Jewish issues 1983 - a copy of the Sojourner
Box 2		Latino/Latin American issues 1975-2010, undated
Box 2		LGBTQ issues 1982-2013, undated
Oversize 1		LGBTQ issues 2001-2013 - Newspapers include: Ultra Violet, Bay Area Reporter, and East Bay Express
Box 2		Native American issues 1976-2016, undated
		Palestine-Israel conflict
Box 2			Correspondence 2000-2003, undated (2 folders)
Box 3			Notes undated
Box 2			Printed material undated (4 folders)
Box 3			Printed material undated (3 folders)
Oversize 1			Printed material 2001-2002, undated - A Quest for Justice,Berkeley Daily Planet (3 issues), Frontlines and a pull-out poster featuring art from Doug Minkler
		Race issues
Box 3			Printed material 1976-2015, undated (4 folders)
Box 3			Papers on race and Marxism undated (3 folders)
Box 4			Papers on race and Marxism undated
Oversize 1			Newspapers 1979-1981 - Newspapers included: Guardian, Black Liberation Month News (3 issues), and National Council for Black Studies
Box 4		Rights and incarceration 1981-2011, undated
		Socialism
Box 4			Center for Popular Economics undated (2 folders)
Box 4			Line of March 1981, undated (6 folders)
Box 4			Marxist-Leninist education project 1979
Oversize 1			Newspapers 1981 - Newspapers included: Workers Vangaurd and Workers Veiwpoint
Box 5			Printed material undated (6 folders)
Box 5			Welfare reform 2001
Box 5		South African issues 1979-2010, undated (2 folders)
Oversize 1		South African issues 1981 - one copy of The Guardian from March 25, 1981
		Women's issues
Box 5			Correspondence 1981-1982 undated
Box 5			Notes undated
Box 5			Printed material undated
Box 6			Printed material undated (3 folders)
		Zimbabwe liberation
Box 6			Correspondence 1979-1980
Box 6			Notes undated
Box 6			Printed material undated (3 folders)
Box 6		Miscellaneous 1979-2011
Oversize 1		Miscellaneous 1968-1970 - South End newspapers (4 issues)

Return to top