Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Hamilton, George W. |
| Title: | George Hamilton Book Collection on Printing and Typography |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1599-2020 |
| Quantity: | 1308 items |
| Abstract: | A collection of printed materials relating to the history of printing and typography. |
| Language: | English and German |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
George William Hamilton is an American printer. Born in the United States, Hamilton has lived in Vienna, Austria for over 50 years, where he has printed on Kelsey and Adana presses. Hamilton previously owned a printing plant in Philadelphia, was an amateur journalist, and worked in radio in the Middle East during the 1960s. He is a longtime printing enthusiast, amassing a large collection of books, rare and otherwise, regarding typography and the history of printing from the 16th century to modern day.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The George Hamilton Book Collection on Printing and Typography contains over 1300 books and publications spanning more than 400 years. The collection has many books on the history of printing, from Gutenberg to hot metal specimens of the twenty-first century, including books on German type designers and calligraphers Jan Tschichold and Hermann Zapf, Austrian type specimen books from the Wiener Werkstatte era, and a very rare Antonio Zatta specimen of 1794. The collection is particularly strong in German specimen books of foundries such as Bauer; Genzsch and Heyse Kingspor; Schelter and Giesecke; and Stemple.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.
Other Related Finding Aids
There is an inventory for this collection but it is not currently available. If you have any questions about its contents, please contact SCRC.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
George Hamilton Book Collection on Printing and Typography,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of George W. Hamilton, 2025
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Dane Flansburgh
Date: 21 Aug 2025
Revision history:
Inventory
The inventory for this collection is not currently available. If you have any questions about its contents, please contact SCRC.