Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Hamovitch, Susan. |
| Title: | Susan Hamovitch Recordings |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1991-2006 |
| Quantity: | 6 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Video and audio recordings related to Hamovitch's film Without Apology |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
Susan Hamovitch is an independent filmmaker, producer, and director based in Brooklyn, New York. She received her Bachelor of Arts from the University of Chicago and a Master of Fine Arts in Television and Radio from Brooklyn College. Films she directed include Without Apology, a film about her brother with developmental disabilities, and Stood for the Storm, a film about a woman’s experience as a New Orleans native following Hurricane Katrina. Her films are released through her own production company, One-EyedCat Productions. She has taught classes at The New School’s documentary studies program in New York City and contributed to publications such as the Museum of Broadcast Communications’ Encyclopedia of Television.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Susan Hamovitch Recordings consists of video and audio recordings related to the film Without Apology (2004), a documentary about Hamovitch's brother Alan who in 1958 was sent to live in a state-run institution called Letchworth Village, located in the hamlet of Thiells in Rockland County, New York. The film explores the closure of Letchworth Village and the process of Hamovitch and her family reconciling their relationship with Alan. For the film, Hamovitch interviewed family members and former staff and residents of Letchworth Village. Notable interviewees include University of Southern California Dean of Social Work Maurice Hamovitch (Susan Hamovitch's uncle), professor and filmmaker Melinda C. Levin, Queens College professor William (Bill) Hamovitch (Susan Hamovitch's father), paleontologist Stephen Jay Gould, academic Wolf Wolfensberger, and New York State sports director for the Special Olympics Charles “Bones” Jones, Jr. Hamovitch also interviews members of organizations such as the Welfare League of New York, which supported Letchworth Village, and Rights, Equality at Letchworth (REAL), which advocated for Letchworth's closure.
Audiovisual recordings contains field recordings, including interviews, establishing shots, b-roll footage, and bonus features. About half of the recordings are on 30-minute Betacam: SP tapes, while the other half are on tape formats commonly used for video recording at the time, including MiniDV cassettes, Hi8 cassettes, and DVCAM cassettes. There are a few audio recordings in the collection as well, and those are either on audio cassettes or DAT cassettes. Most of the tapes have Hamovitch's handwritten title or description, as well as an identification number assigned by Hamovitch for tracking purposes. Titles assigned by processing staff are given in square brackets.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by the title and description written on the item. Hamovitch's original ID numbers are given in parentheses at the end of each item. For example, the first item listed is titled "Alan and father [Bill Hamovitch] (20-a)."
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Access to recordings or computer media requires advance notice to produce a working copy.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
For additional information on the film, including clips, personnel, and reviews, please see the Without Apology website.
Subject Headings
Persons
Hamovitch, Alan.
Hamovitch, Maurice (Maurice B.).
Hamovitch, Susan.
Hamovitch, William.
Lampros, Spiro.
Sinkler, Scott.
Corporate Bodies
New York (State). -- Letchworth Village.
One-Eyedcat Productions.
Subjects
Autism.
Documentary films.
People with disabilities -- Institutional care.
People with disabilities -- United States.
Women motion picture producers and directors.
Places
New York (State)
Genres and Forms
Audiocassettes.
Betacam-SP.
Digital audio tapes.
Hi-8.
Mini-DV.
Sound recordings.
Video recordings (physical artifacts)
Videocassettes.
Occupations
Motion picture producers and directors.
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Susan Hamovitch Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Susan Hamovitch, 2023.
Processing Information
The collection is arranged alphabetically.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 17 Jan 2025
Revision history: 9 Oct 2025 - media processed (ZP)
Inventory
| Audiovisual recordings | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Alan and father [Bill Hamovitch] (20-a) 11/20/2000 (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_088) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Alan and Susan photo session with David Spindell (27-a) Aug. 12 1999 - Letchworth Village scenes; Shop Rite (MiniDV; running time 33:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_095) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan at ARC (22C) 2/4/99 - day program (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_071) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan at ARC (23C) 2/4/99 - day program (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_072) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan at ARC, puzzles, Bruce's birthday party (2) Nov 5 1991 (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_002) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Alan at Pearl River (29-a) 2001 (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_097) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Alan at Pearl River (32-a) 3/24/99 (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_100) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan at Smith Hill, ARC, first day (1) July 31, 1991 - 1) Smith Hall; 2) ARC: pre. voc. (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_001) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Alan Hamovitch and Susan Hamovitch, hike (24-a) June 27, 2001 (DVCAM; running time 40:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_092) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Alan Hamovitch and Susan Hamovitch, hike #2 (23-a) June 27, 2001 (DVCAM; running time 40:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_091) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Alan Hamovitch and Susan Hamovitch, hike #3 (22-a) June 27, 2001 (DVCAM; running time 32:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_090) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan in hospital (29C) June/00 - "Alan received heart surgery; the decision to have surgery became a discussion" (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_078) | ||||||||||
| See also hamovitch_s_076, hamovitch_s_079. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan in hospital, pre surgery (30C) June 4 2000; June 5 2000 (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_079) | ||||||||||
| See also hamovitch_s_076, hamovitch_s_078. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan R. Hamovitch Award, Queens College (11C) June 4, 1997 - "an award established by filmmaker’s family for outstanding student in disability studies" (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_062) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Alan Suffern visit (25-a) 3/07/2001 (DVCAM; running time 32:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_093) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan visit to ARC with family, picnic with family (4) 1992 (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_004) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan walking with father; photos taken by Susan Hamovitch in the 1980s (14) undated - narration (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_014) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Alan, dishwasher (28-a) 2001 (DVCAM; running time 40:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_096) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan, records; telecon with Suresh [Assistant Director of the Hudson Valley Developmental Disabilities Service Office]; Nani (25C) Fall '99 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_074) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan, trip to buy chair (2C) 3/15/96 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_055) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan, trip to circus and Friendly's; IOTA college (21C) 10/15/1998 - "La Cirque; some of the cottages at Letchworth Village were named with Greek letters, others with Latin letters; the last cottage Alan lived in was Cottage G" (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_070) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan, trip to circus/Smith Hill (19C) 9/10/96 - "La Cirque" (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_069) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan, visit with dad [Bill Hamovitch] (7C) fall 99 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_060) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan, visit with father [Bill Hamovitch] (18B) 12/24/95 (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_043) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Alan, with Alan in Town (26-a) 3/07/2001 (DVCAM; running time 32:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_094) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Alan's case review (21-a) 5-20-2002 (DVCAM; running time 40:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_089) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan's case review (24C) 5/13/99 - "Smith Hill, the name of the group home where Alan moved in '92 after the closure of Letchworth Village" (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_073) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Alan's departure in 1958 (3C) Mar. 17, 1996 - "dramatization, Alan taken to Letchworth Village, at age 8" (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_056) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Alan's records (BE-40) 05/05/97 - Susan Hamovitch exploration; Palisades drive (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_158) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Alan's records (BE-41) 05/05/97 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_159) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Alan's records (BE-42) 05/05/97 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_160) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Alan's records (BE-43) 05/05/97 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_161) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Alan's records (BE-44) 05/05/97 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_162) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Alan's records (BE-45) 05/05/97 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_163) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Ann Guthrie interview (17C) 12.13.97 - "worked at Letchworth Village in the 80's and speaks kindly about the experience; later ran the Sibling Support Service for AHRC [Association for the Help of Retarded Children]" (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_067) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Anna B., museum tour and interview (BE-63) undated - TC start 12:00 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_182) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Aunt Mim (19B) 1/96 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_044) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Aunt Sylvia interview; Letchworth Village grounds interior (14C) 10/1997 (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_065) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Bill [Hamovitch] interview (14-a) 10/16/96 (DAT; running time 124:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_086) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Bill Flynn [Director of Staff Education] interview; John Mackie [Letchworth staff] interview (BE-53) undated - TC start 7:00 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_172) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Bill Flynn [Director of Staff Education] office interview (22) Feb 8, 1995 (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_021) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Bill Flynn [Director of Staff Education], interview continued, shower demo (21) Aug 2 [no year] - Flynn in basement shower (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_020) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Bill Flynn [Director of Staff Education], lecture (23) Feb 8, 1995 (MiniDV; running time 90:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_022) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Bill Flynn [Director of Staff Education], lecture (24) 7/23/96 - tapes 1+2 (MiniDV; running time 90:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_023) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Bill Flynn [Director of Staff Education], lecture (BE-13) 7/23/96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_130) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Bill Flynn [Director of Staff Education], lecture conclusion (BE-14) 7/23/96 - Director of staff training and development; Letchworth Village (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_131) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Bill Flynn [Director of Staff Education], tour (19) Oct. 28 1994 (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_019) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Bill Hamovitch (father) interview (15) 9/12/94 - at Bill's home in Great Neck, NY (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_015) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Carmine interview (BE-03) 1/4/96 - resident of Letchworth Village (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_120) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Carmine interview; exteriors in winter (BE-04) 1/4/96 - resident of Letchworth Village (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_121) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Case Review Meeting (8B) June 22, 1995 - camera: Art Pugach (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_033) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Case Review, Smith Hill (28C) 5/22/00 - "the largest change in terms of decision making power came with the advent of case reviews. Nothing like individual or family involvement was made available while Alan lived at Letchworth Village; 1. case review May 2000; 2. narration, revenge inserts; sib version 6/00" (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_077) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Charles "Bones" Jones, Jr. interview (BE-25) Dec 03, 1998 - Head of Recreation, Letchworth Village, tape 1 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_143) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Charles "Bones" Jones, Jr. walking interview in woods (BE-24) 1996 - Head of Recreation, Letchworth Village (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_141) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Consumer move; over shoulder photos in Stewart Hall [Letchworth Village] (BE-01) 11/20/95 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_118) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Corporate Players, acting troupe (4C) 3/24/96 - "drama troupe performing at NYC ARC [Association for Retarded Citizens] office - AHRC [Association for the Help of Retarded Children]" (Hi8; running time 10:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_057) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Cottage F [Letchworth Village]; Records; Boxes, etc. the closure (BE-15) 7/23/96 - plus cutaways for Bill Flynn's lecture (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_132) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Court Documents (42-a) 8/29/02 (DVCAM; running time 40:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_110) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Cynthia (31-a) undated (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_099) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Dave Hamovitch interview (12C) Oct. 17, 1997 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_063) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Don Baisley interview (BE-67) 12/3/98 - "former staff [Letchworth Village] who knew Alan" (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_185) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Don Baisley interview (BE-68) 12/3/98 - "former staff [Letchworth Village]; cam - S. Newman" (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_186) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Don Baisley interview (BE-69, window dub) Oct. 1998 - "former staff [Letchworth Village]" (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_187) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Don Baisley interview (BE-70, window dub) Oct. 1998 - "former staff [Letchworth Village]" (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_188) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Don Baisley interview (BE-71, window dub) Oct. 1998 - "former staff [Letchworth Village]" (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_189) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Don Baisley interview (BE-72, window dub) Oct. 1998 - "former staff [Letchworth Village]" (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_190) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Donald Babcock interview (25) 4/19/95 - Letchworth Village staff oral history; barber for Letchworth Village (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_024) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Drawing over the shoulder (1C) 2/16/96; 3/10 [no year] (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_054) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Driving in car with father [Bill Hamovitch] (16) 12/17/94 (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_016) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Elana Messer (27B) 4/01 (DVCAM; running time 32:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_052) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Elana Messer and Leora Messer interview (26B) April '01 - cousin (DVCAM; running time 32:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_051) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Eleanor and Rose (BE-32) Aug 1, 1996 - former residents of Letchworth Village; time code 4:30-4:59 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_150) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Eleanor and Rose interview (BE-16) Aug 1, 96 - former residents of Letchworth Village; tape 1 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_133) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Eleanor and Rose interview (BE-17) Aug 1, 96 - former residents of Letchworth Village (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_134) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Eleanor and Rose interview (BE-18) Aug 1, 96 - former residents of Letchworth Village; time code 3:00-3:30 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_135) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Eleanor, driving through Letchworth Village grounds (BE-19) Summer 1996 - former residents of Letchworth Village; concluding interview with Rose (2 min) (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_136) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Evelyn, President of Letchworth Village, interview (8) 8/30/1995 - 08:00-08:59 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_008) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Exteriors, Letchworth Village (BE-05) 1/4/96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_122) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Father [Bill Hamovitch] interview (19-a) 4/25/01 (DVCAM; running time 32:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_087) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Father interview #2 (8C) 10/16/96 - Great Neck, NY, audio on DAT (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_061) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Filling out Smith Hill form requested by Hudson Valley DDSO [Developmental Disabilities Service Office] (17) 7/94 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_017) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Gene Vertefuella [former resident of Letchworth Village], interview (22B) Nov. 9, 1995 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_047) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Gene Vertefuella [former resident of Letchworth Village], interview (23B) 2001 (DVCAM; running time 32:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_048) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Gene Vertefuella [former resident of Letchworth Village], interview (24B) 2001 (DVCAM; running time 32:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_049) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Gene Vertefuella [former resident of Letchworth Village], interview (25B) 1/26/2001 (DVCAM; running time 32:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_050) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Group Coffee at Paul's (5B) 5/11/95 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_030) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Gunnar Dybwad [professor of Disability Studies, Brandeis University] (37C) 1/26/97 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_084) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Gunnar Dybwad [professor of Disability Studies, Brandeis University] (38C) 1/26/97 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_085) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Holsappel interview (BE-58) undated - Recreation; TC start 2:00 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_177) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Holsappel interview (BE-59) undated - Recreation; TC start 3:00 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_178) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Holsappel interview (BE-61) undated - Recreation; TC start 4:00 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_180) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Holsappel interview in [Letchworth Village] Museum (BE-60) undated - Recreation; TC start 1:00 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_179) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Interview with filmmaker [SH], DVD materials (45-a) 07/06 [no year] (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_113) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Interview with MOI, filmmaker [SH] (44-a) undated (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_112) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Izzy Hammer interview [former resident of Letchworth Village] (BE-33) 10/08/96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_151) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Izzy Hammer interview [former resident of Letchworth Village] (BE-34) 10/08/96 - time code 4:30:00:00-5:00:00:00 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_152) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Joe and Peter, Letchworth Village residents, barbecue (11) 8/2/95 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_011) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Joe and Peter, Letchworth Village residents, barbecue (12) 8/2/95 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_012) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Joe and Peter, Letchworth Village residents, interview (10) 8-20-1995 - 10:00-10:59 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_010) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Joe Scott interview (15B) 9/18/95 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_040) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | John Hanlon [Letchworth Village staff] (BE-87) 2/10/99 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_205) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | John Hanlon [Letchworth Village staff] (BE-88) 2/10/99 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_206) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | John Hanlon [Letchworth Village staff] (BE-89) 2/10/99 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_207) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | John Hanlon [Letchworth Village staff] (BE-90) 2/10/99 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_208) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | John Hanlon [Letchworth Village staff] (BE-91) 2/10/99 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_209) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | John Hanlon [Letchworth Village staff] (BE-92) 2/10/99 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_210) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | John Mackie [former staff, Letchworth Village], interview (BE-54) 10/96 - TC start 8:00 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_173) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | John Schukle [former Director of Physical Therapy], interview (BE-56) undated - TC 10:00 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_175) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | John Schukle [former Director of Physical Therapy], interview (BE-57) undated - TC start 9:00 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_176) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Julia, former resident of Letchworth Village, interview (13) 8-20-95 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_013) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Kerwin McCarthy interview (20B) Nov. 6, 1995 - Audio/visual director, Hudson Valley Developmental Disabilities Service Office, and self-taught historian on Letchworth Village (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_045) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Kerwin McCarthy interview (21B) Nov. 6, 1995 - Audio/visual director, Hudson Valley Developmental Disabilities Service Office, and self-taught historian on Letchworth Village (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_046) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Kerwin McCarthy interview, Stewart Hall [Letchworth Village] (11B) Sept. 95 - Audio/visual Director, Hudson Valley Developmental Disabilities Service Office (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_036) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Keynote address materials; Sibling materials (30-a) undated (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_098) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Lester Berman [former resident at Letchworth Village] (BE-28) 10/1/96 - driving/walking; tape 1 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_146) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Lester Berman [former resident at Letchworth Village] (BE-29) 10/1/96 - in cottage (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_147) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Lester Berman [former resident at Letchworth Village] (BE-30) 10/1/96 - outside cottage (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_148) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Lester Berman [former resident at Letchworth Village] (BE-31) 10/1/96 - Letchworth Village ruin (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_149) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Letchworth Cottage, G; F (10B) undated - Letchworth Village Physical Plant Cottage (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_035) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Letchworth Lake (Secor Pond) and Geese; Cemetery (BE-64) 10/23/96 - "Secor Pond was source of ice in winter used for refrigeration; residents went nameless in cemetery"; TC start 10:30 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_183) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Letchworth Village Cemetery, hill unit; Anna B., museum tour (BE-62) undated - TC start 11:00 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_181) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Letchworth Village closing ceremony (BE-36) 6-5-96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_154) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Letchworth Village closing ceremony (BE-37) 6-5-96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_155) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Letchworth Village closing ceremony (BE-38) 6-5-96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_156) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Letchworth Village closing ceremony (BE-39) 6-5-96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_157) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Letchworth Village Crafts Fair (7) 10/3 [no year] (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_007) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Letchworth Village Drive; Swing (17B) Aug. 30, 1994 - beauty shots (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_042) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Letchworth Village, exteriors from car; Stream (BE-55) 12/22/96 - exteriors from car, salon women's side; photos by Margaret Bourke-White, internationally renowned photographer (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_174) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Letchworth Village, swinging, beauty shots (18) 8/30/94 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_018) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Linda and Alan (46-a) April 9, 2001 - tape 1 (MiniDV; running time 32:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_114) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Linda and Alan (47-a) April 9, 2001 - tape 2 (MiniDV; running time 32:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_115) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Maurice (Maurie) Hamovitch interview (5C) Aug. 10, 1996 - "filmmaker's uncle, Dean of Social Work at USC (now deceased). Remarked to filmmaker on the refrigerator mother theory, which filmmaker's mother had been a victim of" (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_058) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Maurice (Maurie) Hamovitch interview (6C) Aug. 10, 1996 - "filmmaker's uncle, dean of social work at USC, now deceased. Remarked to filmmaker on the refrigerator mother theory, which filmmaker's mother had been a victim of" (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_059) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Maurice, resident of Letchworth Village, interview (9) 8-30-95 - 09:00-09:59 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_009) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Melinda Levin interview (37-a) '06 - filmmaker interview (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_105) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Melinda Levin interview (38-a) '06 - filmmaker interview (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_106) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Melinda Levin interview (39-a) '06 - filmmaker interview (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_107) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Melva Turek (48-a) 5/19/02 - Syracuse University; parent (MiniDV; running time 40:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_116) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Melva Turek (49-a) 5/19/02 - Syracuse University; parent (MiniDV; running time 40:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_117) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Meta interview (15C) Oct. 18, 97 - "mother's cousin" (Hi8; running time 15:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_066) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Monty Berger [SH's uncle], interview (12B) 9/11/95 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_037) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Myra Sincoff [former President of the Welfare League], interview (BE-78) 2/27/99 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_196) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Myra Sincoff [former President of the Welfare League], interview (BE-79) 2/27/99 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_197) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Myra Sincoff [former President of the Welfare League], interview (BE-80) 2/27/99 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_198) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Myra Sincoff [former President of the Welfare League], interview (BE-81) 2/27/99 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_199) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Myra Sincoff [former President of the Welfare League], interview (BE-82) 2/27/99 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_200) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Nancy Hueben [former Letchworth Village resident], interview (BE-06) 1/26/96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_123) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Nancy Hueben [former Letchworth Village resident], interview (BE-07) 1/26/96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_124) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Nancy Hueben [former Letchworth Village resident], interview; Shirley Rose interview (BE-08) undated (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_125) | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Natural sounds, woods; Letchworth Village exteriors buildings (BE-66) 12/3/97 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_184) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | New Beginnings, roundtable discussion (4B) 5/10/95 - "moderated by Mary Wolfe" (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_029) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Owego Experimental TV Center (33-a) 2000 (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_101) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Palisades Cutaways (18C) 8/15/97 - "the main road from NYC to Letchworth Village" (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_068) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Photos; Cottage G (BE-02) 11/20/95 - cottage where Alan lived during the last years residing at Letchworth Village (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_119) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Picnic at Cooper Hewitt Manor (9B) June 22, 1995 - camera: Art Pugach (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_034) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Poems read (36-a) Jan '06 (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_104) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Post Gould cutaways; 1st annual report (BE-12) undated (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_129) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | REAL [Rights, Equality Always at Letchworth] Marcella (33C) 10/30/99 - activist parents organization committed to closing Letchworth Village (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_080) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Reverend Hendrickson, Christmas service at Hope Chapel (BE-47) 12/22/96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_165) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Reverend Hendrickson, interview (BE-46) 12/22/96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_164) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Reviewing the files with Sue Jones (BE-49) 12/16/96 - Case Manager; TC: 1:30-1:59 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_167) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Reviewing the files with Sue Jones (BE-50) 12/16/96 - Case Manager; TC: 3:00-3:30 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_168) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Rich Fox, interview (BE-26) 11/97 - Team leader (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_144) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Rich Fox, interview (BE-27) 11/97 - team leader (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_145) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Rockland County Historical Society (6B) June 7, 1995 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_031) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Rockland County Historical Society, II (7B) June 7, 1995 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_032) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Rockland Museum, Letchworth Exhibit (43-a) June 7, 1995 - side A labeled "Joe"; side B labeled "ladies" (Audio cassette; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_111) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Ron Litke, shoot at the New School (34-a) 04/20/2005 (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_102) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Rose Valley Senior Center (BE-20) 9/17/96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_137) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Rose Valley Senior Center; Lester Berman (BE-21) 9/17/96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_138) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Rose Valley Senior Center; Lester Berman (BE-22) 9/17/96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_139) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Rose Valley Senior Center; Roaming interviews (BE-23) 9/17/96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_140) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Sam and Evelyn interview (13C) Oct. 17, 1997 - SH's uncle and his wife (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_064) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | SH Tracking; documents and miscellaneous (26C) 12/1999 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_075) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Shirley Rose and Nancy Hoeber interview, Cottage G (13B) 9/18/95 - former residents, Letchworth Village (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_038) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Shirley Rose and Nancy Hoeber interview, Cottage G (14B) 9/18/95 - former residents (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_039) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Shirley Rose, interview (BE-09) undated - former resident, Letchworth Village; BE-08 has first tape (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_126) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Shirley Rose, interview; exteriors, Cottage G (BE-10) undated - former resident, Letchworth Village (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_127) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Sibling speech, ARC Conference (35-a) 10/19/05 - Holiday Inn conference center, Fishkill, NY (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_103) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Stairway, "Revenge at 70" (16B) March 30, 1995 - "scene from 'Revenge at 70,' short story written by [SH]'s mother" (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_041) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Stanley and Donna Messer (28B) 4/01 (DVCAM; running time 32:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_053) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Stephen Jay Gould, interview (BE-11) undated (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_128) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Suresh [former Assistant Director, Letchworth Village], interview (1B) Mar. 7, 1995 (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_025) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Suresh [former Assistant Director, Letchworth Village], interview (2B) Mar 7, 1995 - SH - room tone; MU College (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_026) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Suresh [former Assistant Director, Letchworth Village], interview (3B-1) Feb 8, 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_028) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Suresh [former Assistant Director, Letchworth Village], interview (3B) Feb 8, 1995 (Hi8; running time 120:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_027) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Susan and Alan in Harriman State Park (3) May 14, 1994 - Steve Bull on camera (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_003) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Suzanne Saubasson [former Letchworth Village staff], interview (BE-73) 12/9/98 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_191) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Suzanne Saubasson [former Letchworth Village staff], interview (BE-74) 12/9/98 - driving over Tappanzee Bridge (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_192) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Teleconferences with surgeons (27C) 2000 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_076) | ||||||||||
| See also hamovitch_s_078, hamovitch_s_079. | |||||||||||
| SH notes on this tape that "In 2000 Alan underwent heart valve replacement surgery; until a research surgeon at NYU agreed, after much discussion, to take on Alan as a patient, other surgeons flatly refused to operate on him." See also hamovitch_s_078, hamovitch_s_079. | |||||||||||
| Box 4 | The Kallikaks 11/17/98 - film on the Eugenics theory of Henry H. Goddard (Digital Betacam; running time 3:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_142) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Tom [social worker at Letchworth Village], interview (BE-76) 12/9/98 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_194) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Tom [social worker at Letchworth Village], interview (BE-77) 12/9/98 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_195) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Tom [social worker at Letchworth Village], interview; Farm Letchworth Village photos (BE-75) 12/9/98 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_193) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Tom, inside cowbarn (BE-48) 12/16/96 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_166) | ||||||||||
| Box 8 | Welfare League (BE-83) 3/28/95 - parents' organization in favor of keeping Letchworth Village open (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_201) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | Welfare League (BE-84) 3/28/99 - parents' organization in favor of keeping Letchworth Village open; group interview (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_202) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | Welfare League (BE-85) 3/28/99 - parents' organization in favor of keeping Letchworth Village open; group interview (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_203) | ||||||||||
| Box 9 | Welfare League (BE-86) 3/28/99 - parents' organization in favor of keeping Letchworth Village open; group interview (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_204) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Welfare League at Letchworth Village (5) 6/5/1994 - parents organization; installation (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_005) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Welfare League at Letchworth Village (6) 6/5/94 - parents organization; installation (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_006) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Welfare League, Luncheon and Christmas Party (34C) Dec 11, 1999 - parents' organization committed to keeping Letchworth Village open (MiniDV; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_081) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Willowbrook panel (35C) undated (MiniDV; running time 90:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_082) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Without Apology, DVD materials (40-a) 4.13.06 (DVCAM; running time 40:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_108) | ||||||||||
| Contents: 1. The three poems that wrote the film; 2. History of an institution; 3. The Eugenics theory of Henry H. Goddard. | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Without Apology, DVD materials (41-a) 4.06 (DVCAM; running time 40:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_109) | ||||||||||
| Contents: interview with filmmaker, extra lines. | |||||||||||
| Box 6 | Wolf Wolfensberger [disabilities scholar], interview (BE-51) 1/24/97 - TC: 3:00-3:30 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_169) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Wolf Wolfensberger [disabilities scholar], interview (BE-52-a) undated (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_171) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Wolf Wolfensberger [disabilities scholar], interview (BE-52) undated - TC: 3:00-3:59; at Boston hotel (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_170) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Wolf Wolfensberger [disabilities scholar], Lecture at Aquinas (36C) 1/23/97 (Hi8; running time 60:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_083) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Workshop Director interview; Bill Flynn interview (BE-35) October 1996 (Betacam: SP; running time 30:00) (ID#: hamovitch_s_153) | ||||||||||
| According to the note written on the case: an interview with the Workshop Director in an old cow barn, first five minutes audio only, second part on camera interview with Bill Flynn in doorway of tau; time code 6:00. | |||||||||||