Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Hansl, Eva vB. (Eva vom Baur).
Title:	Eva vom Baur Hansl Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1918-1968
Quantity:	11 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American author, journalist, radio producer, and lecturer (1899-1978). Collection includes biographical material, correspondence, radio broadcasts files, speeches, and writings. Bulk relates to the radio programs for which Hansl was program supervisor (1939-1940): Women in the making of America, broadcast in cooperation with the WPA's Federal Theatre Radio Division, and Gallant American women, with the support of the U.S. Office of Education. Hansl later produced Womanpower (1943-1944), in cooperation with the War Manpower Commission.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Eva Elise vom Baur Hansl, woman's editor and pioneer in women's radio broadcasting, was born to Elise Urchs and Carl Max vom Baur on 29 Jan 1889 in New York City, the youngest of five daughters and a son. She attended the New York Collegiate Institute and after graduating from Barnard College in 1909 became a member of the Intercollegiate Bureau of Occupations, one of the earliest organizations concerned with employment for women. From 1911-1916 she reported the progress of the early feminist movement for the New York Tribune and the New York Evening Sun; at the latter she was editor of the women's page from 1912-1916. In 1915-1916 she directed a course of public lectures at New York University on vocations for women, and from 1916-1918 she organized the League for Women's Vocational Opportunities. She was an associate editor of Parents magazine and organized play-schools and parents' study groups in Princeton and Summit, New Jersey and in Greenwich, Connecticut.

In 1916 she married Raleigh Hansl, from whom she was later divorced. When her two children, Barbara and Raleigh, were grown, she returned to journalism with the Education Department of the New York Times. Her efforts on behalf of the education and employment of women continued for the next four decades. In 1936 she founded Trend-File, a reference service on women's interests and activities, which she maintained for many years. Her long interest in women's activities led to broadcasting when she supervised the research, promotion, and production of three network radio series: "Women in the Making of America" and "Gallant American Women"for NBC, in cooperation with the U.S. Office of Education (1939-1940), and "Womanpower," for CBS in cooperation with the War Manpower Commission (1942-1943).

In 1941 Hansl left New York City to work in Washington with the War Manpower Commission, but after that returned to New York City which remained her home for the rest of her life. From 1947-1950 she was a member of the committee of the World Center for Women's Archives, Inc. in New York City. She lectured at New York University and Columbia University, and wrote several books including Minute sketches of great composers (1931), Artists in music today (1933), Trends in part-time employment of college trained women (1949), and many articles in popular periodicals.

Eva vB. Hansl died on 11 Apr 1978.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eva vom Baur Hansl Papers comprise biographical material, correspondence, radio broadcasts files, speeches, and writings, with one box of miscellaneous material. The papers date from 1918-1968 but her years in radio broadcasting are the most heavily represented. There is relatively little material from her early career as newspaper women's page editor. Her lifelong interest in women's vocational opportunities and guidance is reflected in the correspondence, speeches, and writings.

The collection begins with a small amount of Biographical material . Correspondence covers 45 years (1923-1968).

Radio files contains indexes to all three of Hansl's radio programs, production files, and promotional material. Research files contains research material for the radio programs; topcs include freedom of speech, suffrage, women explorers, businesswomen, and more. The collection also includes Scripts and Radio Broadcast Files for more than 40 episodes.

Speeches span Hansl's entire career (1921-1968) and include also Hansl's notes. Other Writings include articles, book reviews, book outlines, and a small amount of verse, as well as a few items written by others.

Legal and financial contains copyright and insurance information, and a small amount of Memorabilia completes the collection.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Radio files are arranged alphabetically. Research files are in chronological order according to broadcast date of the episode for which the material was gathered. Scripts and Broadcast files are also in broadcast date order. Speeches and writings are in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Eva vom Baur Hansl Collection of Women's Vocational Materials, an extensive and comprehensive collection of research material and publications on women and employment, including topics such as conferences, continuing education, general education, history, home and family issues, international and foreign women, women during the war years, and "womanpower" (as analogous to "manpower").

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eva vom Baur Hansl Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: ca. 1968
Revision history: 21 Aug 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical material
Box 1		Miscellaneous

	Correspondence
Box 1		Jan 1923 - Jun 1940 (25 folders)
Box 2		Jul 1940 - Jun 1957 (23 folders)
Box 3		Jul 1957 - Dec 1961 (13 folders)
Box 4		1962-1968 (15 folders)
Box 4		Undated
Box 4		No year
Box 4		Fragments

	Radio files
		Indexes
Box 4			Master list
Box 4			"Women in the Making of America" series
Box 4			"Gallant American Women" series (3 folders)
Box 4			"Womanpower" series 1942-1943
		Production files
Box 5			Audition script
Box 5			Office of war information 1942 - printed material
Box 5			Consultants
Box 5			Contracts and agreements
Box 5			Copyright
Box 5			Outlines
Box 5			Clippings about the series
Box 5			Memoranda
		Promotional material
Box 5			Book outline
Box 5			Posters
Box 5			Promotion lists
Box 5			Publicity releases
Box 5			Name lists
Box 5			Miscellaneous

	Research files
Box 5		Bibliographies
Box 5		Synopses on women
Box 5		Preliminary research notes for "Gallant American Women'
Box 5		Biographies, historical - general (2 folders)
		Biographies, historical - specific people
Box 5			A
Box 6			B-Z (10 folders)
Box 7		Freedom of Speech and Assembly (2 folders)
Box 7		Freedom of Education (2 folders)
Box 7		Women in politics and government, including suffrage (2 folders)
Box 7		Women as homemakers
Box 7		Agriculture
Box 8		Women in industry (2 folders)
Box 8		Women in the arts
Box 8		Women in social welfare
Box 8		Peace
Box 9		Women on the land
Box 9		Women the providers
Box 9		Refugee women
Box 9		Suffrage
Box 9		Law (2 folders)
Box 9, 10		Seafaring women (2 folders)
Box 10		Women of learning
Box 10		Women as teachers
Box 10		Women explorers
Box 10		Women of letters
Box 10		Mothers of great Americans
Box 10		Fashions in sentiment
Box 11		Bronze Tablet
Box 11		Ladies in journalism
Box 11		Women of the opera
Box 11		Women in medicine
Box 11		Women in fashion
Box 11		Nursing (2 folders)
Box 12		Women in science
Box 12		Theatre (2 folders)
Box 12		Children First
Box 12		Women in Aviation
Box 12		The American home
Box 13		Through Space and Time
Box 13		Sports
Box 13		Businesswomen (3 folders)
Box 14		Libraries
Box 14		Dance
		Gallant American Women
Box 14			Miscellaneous notes
Box 14			Quick reference file for scripts, A-M
Box 15			Quick reference file for scripts, N-Z
Box 15			Miscellaneous notes, A-Z (5 folders)
Box 15			Colonial period, 1607-1775
Box 15			Revolution and after, 1775-1800
Box 15			Young republic, 1800-1865
Box 16			Post Civil War, 1865-1900
Box 16			Modern times, 1900-1940

	Scripts
Box 16		Cavalcade of American Women May 19, 1939
Box 16		Freedom of Worship May 26, 1939
Box 16		Freedom of Assembly June 2 1939
Box 16		Freedom of Speech June 9, 1939
Box 16		Freedom of Education June 16, 1939
Box 16		Freedom of Citizenship June 23, 1939
Box 16		Women in Politics & Government June 30, 1939
Box 16		Women as Homemakers July 7, 1939
Box 16		Women in Agriculture July 14, 1939
Box 16		Women in Industry July 21, 1939
Box 16		Women in Arts and Crafts July 28, 1939
Box 16		Women in Social Welfare Aug. 4, 1939
Box 16		Women for Peace Aug. 11, 1939
Box 16		These Freedoms Oct. 31, 1939
Box 16		Women for Peace Nov. 7, 1939
Box 16		Women on the Land Nov. 14, 1939
Box 16		Women the Providers Nov. 21, 1939
Box 16		Refugee Women Nov. 18, 1939
Box 16		Women are People Dec. 5, 1939
Box 16		Laws and the Women Dec. 12, 1939
Box 16		Women in the Law Dec. 19, 1939
Box 16		Women of the Sea Dec. 26, 1939
Box 16		Women of Learning Jan. 2, 1940
Box 16		Women as Teachers Jan. 9, 1940
Box 16		Women Explorers Jan. 16, 1940
Box 16		Women of Letters Jan. 13, 1940
Box 16		Mothers of Great Americans Feb. 6, 1940
Box 16		Fashions in Sentiment Feb. 13, 1940
Box 16		Women who Saved Mount Vernon Feb. 20, 1940
Box 16		Ladies of the Press Feb. 27, 1940
Box 17		Women of the Opera Mar. 5, 1940
Box 17		Women in Medicine Mar. 12, 1940
Box 17		Women in Fashion Mar. 19, 1940
Box 17		Women in Nursing April 2, 1940
Box 17		From Tavern to Tearoom April 9, 1940
Box 17		Women in Science April 16, 1940
Box 17		Behind the Footlights
Box 17		Children First April 30, 1940
Box 17		Women with Wings [aviation] May 7, 1940
Box 17		The American Home May 13, 1940
Box 17		Women in Politics and Government May 20, 1940
Box 17		Through Space and Time May 27, 1940
Box 17		Wives of Great Americans June 3, 1940
Box 17		Women in Sports June 10, 1940
Box 17		Women in Commerce and Trade June 17, 1940
Box 17		On With the Dance July 1, 1940
Box 17		Women in Government Arms Plants / Women in Washington Government Offices Aug 2, 1942; Aug 9, 1942
Box 17		Women in the Naval Reserve / Women in Aircraft Production Aug 16, 1942; Aug 23, 1942
Box 17		Women who Feed War Workers / Women in the Labor Movement Aug 30, 1942; Sept 6 , 1942
Box 17		Report to the Nation Feb 17, 1942
Box 17		"General" Jun 7, 1942
Box 17		Women on the Land Jun 14, 1942
Box 17		Women in Government Plants / Women in the War Industries undated
Box 17		Womanpower / Protection of Workers' Children Jul 19, 1942, Jul 26, 1942
Box 17		Women in Science / Women in the U.S. Employment Service Sept 13, 1942, Sept 20, 1942
Box 17		Women in Army Ammunitions / Womanpower in Air Power / Women in Recreation for War Workers undated
Box 17		Women in Public Health Nursing / Women Who Build Ships [transportation] undated - includes interview
Box 17		[war efforts] / [food purchasing] / interviews with D. Stratton and M.E. Switzer

	Radio Broadcast Files
Box 17		Cavalcade of American Women May 19, 1939
Box 18		Freedom of Worship May 26, 1939
Box 18		Freedom of Assembly June 2 1939
Box 18		Freedom of Speech June 9, 1939
Box 18		Freedom of Education June 16, 1939
Box 18		Freedom at Citizenship June 23, 1939
Box 18		Women in Politics & Government June 30, 1939
Box 18		Women as Homemakers July 7, 1939
Box 18		Women in Agriculture July 14, 1939
Box 18		Women in Industry July 21, 1939
Box 18		Women in the Arts July 28, 1939
Box 18		Women in Social Welfare Aug. 4, 1939
Box 18		Women for Peace Aug. 11, 1939
Box 18		These Freedoms Oct. 31, 1939
Box 18		Women for Peace Nov. 7, 1939
Box 19		Women on the Land Nov. 14, 1939
Box 19		Women the Providers Nov. 21, 1939
Box 19		Refugee Women Nov. 18, 1939
Box 19		Women are People Dec. 5, 1939
Box 19		Laws and the Women Dec. 12, 1939
Box 19		Women in the Law Dec. 19, 1939
Box 19		Seafaring Women Dec. 26, 1939
Box 19		Women of Learning Jan. 2, 1940
Box 19		Women as Teachers Jan. 9, 1940
Box 19		Women Explorers Jan. 16, 1940
Box 19		Women of Letters Jan. 13, 1940
Box 19		Mothers of Great Americans Feb. 6, 1940
Box 19		Fashions in Sentiment Feb. 13, 1940
Box 19		The Bronze Tablet Feb. 20, 1940
Box 19		Ladies of the Press Feb. 27, 1940
Box 19		Women of the Opera Mar. 5, 1940
Box 19		Women in Medicine Mar. 12, 1940
Box 19		Women in Fashion Mar. 19, 1940
Box 19		Women in Nursing April 2, 1940
Box 19		From Tavern to Tearoom April 9, 1940
Box 19		Women in Science April 16, 1940
Box 19		Behind the Footlights
Box 19		Children First April 30, 1940
Box 19		Women in Aviation May 7, 1940
Box 19		The American Home May 13, 1940
Box 19		Women in Politics and Government May 20, 1940
Box 20		Through Space and Time May 27, 1940
Box 20		Wives of Great Americans June 3, 1940
Box 20		Women in Sports June 10, 1940
Box 20		Women in Commerce and Trade June 17, 1940
Box 20		Librarians and Curators June 24, 1940
Box 20		On With the Dance July 1, 1940
Box 20		Transcripts of two interviews with Eva vB Hansl, on "Let's Talk it Over" 1928

	Speeches
Box 20		The American woman's heritage / Contribution of the educated woman to the life of today and tomorrow / Education for parenthood 1947, 1927, 1923
Box 20		Life careers for women 1958
Box 20		Making the most of vacations / Parenthood and colleges undated, 1921
Box 20		Shortages / Utilization of womanpower 1956, 1952
Box 20		What 1937 has meant to women of the USA / Wives, mothers and education 1937, 1927
Box 20		Perspective on American women from colonial to modern times 1968
Box 20		The woman mess 1964
Box 20		Womanpower / Women as family labor / Women on the 1938 horizon 1943, 1944, 1938
Box 20		On woman's progress 1953
Box 20		Notes for untitled speeches 1921-1936, undated (2 folders)

	Writings
Box 20		Article outlines
Box 20		List of E. vB. Hansl's published writings post-1962
Box 21		Articles (3 folders)
Box 21		Book reviews
Box 21		Notes on interviews with Charles and Mary Beard, Harriet Stanton Blatch, Sophie Lewis Drinker
Box 21		Reminiscences - "Jottings on Journalism" 1919
Box 21		Verse
Box 21		Fragments
		Miscellany
Box 21			Book outline
Box 21			Sketches of composers' early lives
Box 21			Miscellaneous
		Of others
Box 21			Beard
Box 21			Catt, Carrie Chapman
Box 21			Hatcher

	Legal and financial
Box 21		Copyright and insurance

	Memorabilia
Box 21		1918-1960, undated

Return to top