Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Harris, Marguerite.
Title:	Marguerite Harris Papers
Dates:	1901-1978
Quantity:	2.25 linear ft.
Abstract:	Spanning 1901 to 1978, the Marguerite Harris Papers comprises correspondence, writings, and memorabilia of the American avant-garde poet and editor (1898 or 9-1978). An active member of the Poetry Society of America, Marguerite Harris bridged the gap between two generations of poets: the Imagist and Surrealist writers, and the Beats. The collection not only reflects her professional career, but also offers a unique insight into the life and work of a number of young poets of the 1950s, 60s and 70s.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

American poet and editor (1898 or 9-1978).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Composed of incoming letters and outgoing carbons from 1955 through 1977, the Correspondence/Subject Files (Boxes 1-2) forms the bulk of the collection. Much of the correspondence centers around Harris' work as an organizer of poetry readings for Dr. Generosity's Poetry Pub and the Woodstock Poetry Festival, and as the editor of a number of poetry anthologies, including Emily Dickinson: Letters from the World (1970), Loves, etc. (1973), and A Tumult for John Berryman (1976). Correspondence of greatest depth and duration includes that with Helen Adam, Carol Berge, James Clifford, Richard Eberhart, Isabella Gardner, Alonzo Gibbs, William Kinter, Wendell Metzger, Joe Rosenblatt, and the Poetry Society of America. Other correspondents include Conrad Aiken, Daisy Aldan, Margaret Atwood, Robert Bly, Louise Bogan, William Bronk, Andrei Codrescu, Robert Creeley, Diane Di Prima, John Duffy, Theodore Enslin, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Barbara Guest, Langston Hughes, David Ignatow, Colette Inez, Jackson Mac Low, William Meredith, Marianne Moore, Walter Quirt, Margaret Randall, William Safire, Stevie Smith, William Stafford, Gerd Stern, May Swenson, Eve Triem, Diane Wakoski, Jonathan Williams, Celeste Turner Wright, and Jean Wrolson. In addition, there is a small amount of family correspondence.

Anthology and periodical appearances, books, letters to editors, speeches, and manuscript and published poems, many of which appeared in Harris' The Risk of the Vine (1965), A Reconciling of Rivers (1972), and Time of the Playback (1977), constitute Writings (Boxes 3-4). Arranged by title, manuscript poems (occasionally interspersed with tear sheets) include holograph and typed worksheets indicating numerous revisions. Several periodical issues and anthologies in which Marguerite Harris' work appears have been retained with the collection, while others have been integrated with the Library's rare book collections.

Memorabilia (Box 5) encompasses artwork for one of Harris' poetry projects, photographs, printed material, and manuscript and published reviews. Printed material includes books, bulletins of the Poetry Society of America, clippings about both Harris and the poetry readings she organized, and programs.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Marguerite Harris Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Marguerite Harris, 1966-1977.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PRB
Date: Aug 1994
Revision history: 13 Jun 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 5 Jun 2017 - "Time of the playback" added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence/Subject Files
Box 1		Biographical material/Inventory
Box 1		Adam, Helen 1970-1977, undated
Box 1		Aiken, Conrad 1967-1970
Box 1		Aldan, Daisy 1966
Box 1		Anderson, Chester G. 1973
Box 1		Ansley, Delight 1964, undated
Box 1		Antin, Eleanor 1968
Box 1		Arizona State University 1975
Box 1		Atheneum Publishers 1964
Box 1		Atwood, Margaret 1972
Box 1		Berge, Carol 1971-1977, undated
Box 1		Bishop, Elizabeth 1974
Box 1		Bly, Robert and Carol 1960-1974, undated
Box 1		Bogan, Louise 1956-1968
Box 1		Books Abroad 1966-1967
Box 1		Bornstein, Diane 1975-1976, undated
Box 1		Braymer, Nan undated
Box 1		Bronk, William 1975
Box 1		Browne, Michael Dennis 1973, undated
Box 1		Buchman, Marion 1969
Box 1		Buckingham, Walter S. undated
Box 1		Bullock, Marie 1970
Box 1		Caraher-Manning, Doreen 1971-1972
		Casement, Douglas
			See The Sparrow
		Choice Magazine
			See Kessler, Milton
Box 1		Clifford, James L. and Virginia 1975
Box 1		Codrescu, Andrei 1967
Box 1		Cohen, Joe 1970
Box 1		Cohen, William Howard undated
Box 1		Congdon, Kirby 1971, 1974
Box 1		Coolidge, Clark undated
Box 1		Corman, Cid 1972
Box 1		Coudert, Jo 1975
Box 1		Counter/Measures 1972-1974
Box 1		Creeley, Robert 1961-1970
Box 1		Cunningham, John Vincent 1973
Box 1		Damascus Road 1970, 1975
Box 1		Danzig, Allan 1962
Box 1		Day, Wesley undated
		Deitz, Paula
			See The Hudson Review
Box 1		Desy, Peter undated
Box 1		Diederich, Lynn - cover designs undated
Box 1		Di Prima, Diane 1972
Box 1		Dr. Generosity's Poetry Pub (New York, N.Y.) 1970-1975, undated
Box 1		Dorn, Alfred 1964
Box 1		Dragonette, Ree 1963, 1971
Box 1		Duffy, John 1975
Box 1		Eaton, Charles Edward 1973
Box 1		Eberhart, Richard 1967-1969, undated
Box 1		Elizabeth Press 1964
		Emily Dickinson Bulletin
			See Morey, Frederick L.
Box 1		Enslin, Theodore 1964
Box 1		Enzenberger, Hans Magnus 1974
Box 1		Farrar, Straus & Giroux, Inc. 1966-1975
Box 1		Ferlinghetti, Lawrence 1965-1968
Box 1		Ferrell, Wilfred A. 1975
Box 1		Flute 1977
Box 1		Forum (University of Houston) 1962
		Friedlaender, Marc
			See Atheneum Publishers
Box 1		Gardner, Isabella 1954-1976, undated
Box 1		Gibbs, Alonzo 1970-1977, undated
Box 1		Gill, John 1974
Box 1		Glaze, Andrew 1964-1973, undated
Box 1		Goodman, Paul undated
		Griffith, E. V.
			See Poetry Now
Box 1		Gross, Ronald undated
Box 1		Guest, Barbara 1970
		Hanna, Charles Shahoud
			See Damascus Road
		Hernandez, Julio (pseudonym)
			See Codrescu, Andrei
Box 1		Hershon, Robert undated
Box 1		Hollander, John undated
		House of Anansi Press
			See Atwood, Margaret
Box 1		The Hudson Review 1974
Box 1		Hughes, Langston 1966
Box 1		Hunting, Constance 1970
Box 1		Ignatow, David 1964, 1973
Box 1		Inez, Colette 1972-1973
		Jargon Books
			See Williams, Jonathan
		Jewish Dialog
			See Rosenblatt, Joe
		Kennedy, X. J.
			See Counter/Measures
Box 1		Kessler, Milton 1974-1976
Box 1		Kinter, William 1964-1975, undated
Box 1		Koch, Kenneth 1964
Box 1		Kray, Elizabeth 1964-1965
		Krenis, Linda
			See The New York Quarterly
Box 1		Kroll, Ernest 1975
Box 1		Kunitz, Stanley 1971
Box 2		Lachman, Vera undated
Box 2		Lezak, Iris undated
Box 2		Lieberman, Elias 1963-1965
Box 2		Lorenz, Konrad 1970
Box 2		Lourie, Dick 1973
Box 2		Lowenfels, Walter 1961, 1964
Box 2		McCord, Howard 1972
Box 2		McCullough, Frances Monson 1972-1973
Box 2		Mac Low, Jackson 1963-1973
Box 2		Mally, Louise undated
Box 2		Martin, Herbert 1964, undated
Box 2		Matson, Clive 1972
Box 2		Matthews, William 1971, 1975
Box 2		Mayo, Edward L. 1966
Box 2		Mele, Frank 1967
Box 2		Meredith, William 1973-1976, undated
Box 2		Merwin, William Stanley 1974
Box 2		Metzger, Wendell 1969-1971, undated
Box 2		Meyer, Gerard Previn 1964
Box 2		Montgomery, George 1969
Box 2		Moore, Marianne 1958-1972, undated
Box 2		Morey, Frederick L. 1970, undated
Box 2		Morgan, Frederick 1975
Box 2		Moss, Howard 1972
Box 2		Mulch 1972
Box 2		The Nation 1972-1975
Box 2		New York Public Library 1965-1971
Box 2		The New York Quarterly 1971
Box 2		The New York Times 1970-1975
Box 2		Newton, Violette 1973
Box 2		Norris, Ken undated
Box 2		North, Charles 1974
Box 2		Oden, Gloria C. 1973, 1975
Box 2		Olson, Toby 1975
Box 2		Oppen, George undated
Box 2		Owens, Rochelle undated
		Packard, William
			See The New York Quarterly
Box 2		Pennant, Edmund 1964-1965
Box 2		Phelps, Donald 1975, undated
Box 2		Poetry Now 1974-1976
Box 2		Poetry Society of America 1956-1977, undated
Box 2		Poets and Writers (New York, N.Y.) 1972-1977, undated
Box 2		Polgar, Antoine J. 1964
Box 2		Pottle, Frederick 1962-1975
Box 2		Prising, Robin 1965-1977
Box 2		Quarterly Review of Literature 1964
Box 2		Quasha, George 1964
Box 2		Quirt, Walter and Eleanor 1967, undated
Box 2		Randall, Margaret 1964-1972, undated
Box 2		Redgrove, Peter 1975
Box 2		Regan, Robert 1970
Box 2		Roseliep, Raymond 1966-1974
Box 2		Rosenblatt, Joe 1964-1976, undated
Box 2		Rosenthal, Macha L. 1963
Box 2		Ross, David 1966-1967
Box 2		Rosten, Norman 1966
Box 2		Rudolf, Anthony undated
Box 2		Safire, William undated
Box 2		Sanders, Ed 1965-1975
Box 2		Schulman, Grace 1977, undated
Box 2		Shetline, Leonard undated
Box 2		Silverman, Herschel 1964-1970, undated
Box 2		Simmons, Ted undated
Box 2		Simpson, Peter L. undated
Box 2		Smith, Jared 1974
Box 2		Smith, Stevie 1964-1968, undated
Box 2		The Sparrow undated
Box 2		Stafford, William 1972-1977
Box 2		Stepanchev, Stephen 1966
Box 2		Stern, Gerd 1966
Box 2		Strachan, William 1972
Box 2		Sutherland, Edwin 1972-1973
Box 2		Swarts, William 1977
Box 2		Swenson, May undated
Box 2		Thomas, Ronald Stuart undated
Box 2		Triem, Eve 1967-1971
Box 2		Turco, Lewis 1974
Box 2		Tusiani, Joseph 1966
Box 2		University of Pittsburgh Press 1970
Box 2		Valentine, Jean undated
		Vas Dias, Robert
			See Mulch
Box 2		Wade, John Stevens 1964
Box 2		Wakoski, Diane 1966-1976, undated
Box 2		Wallenstein, Barry 1976
Box 2		Warnke, Frank J. 1966
		Weil, J. L.
			See Elizabeth Press
		Weiss, Theodore
			See Quarterly Review of Literature
Box 2		Wesleyan University Press 1961
Box 2		Wheelock, John Hall 1967
Box 2		Widdemer, Margaret 1964
Box 2		Wieners, John 1972
Box 2		Wild, Peter 1970
Box 2		Williams, Jonathan 1960, 1964
Box 2		Williams, Oscar undated
Box 2		Woodstock Times 1975, 1977
		Wormwood Review
			See Montgomery, George
Box 2		Wright, Celeste Turner 1967, 1970
Box 2		Wrolsen, Jean 1972, 1976
Box 2		The Yale Literary Magazine 1956-1966
Box 2		Young, Al 1972
Box 2		Zimmer, Honora M. (Sister) 1971
		Zimmer, Paul
			See University of Pittsburgh Press
Box 2		Family correspondence 1961-1970, undated
Box 2		Unidentified correspondence

	Writings
		Anthology appearances
Box 3			1960 The Golden Year
Box 3			1961 Art and the Craftsman
Box 3			1963 A Garland for Dylan Thomas
Box 3			1972 The Venice Poetry Company Presents
		Books
Box 3			Coffee House Crumbs 1976
Box 3			Loves, etc. 1973 - edited by Marguerite Harris
Box 3			Time of the playback 1975 - typescript; includes letter from Harris to Merrill Leffler (publisher) and from William Stafford to Marguerite Harris
Box 3		Letters to editors 1973-1976, undated
		Periodical appearances
Box 3			1954 The Yale Literary Magazine v. 122, no. 2
Box 3			1958 Wisconsin Poetry Magazine v. 3, no. 6
Box 3			1960 Forum (University of Houston) v. 3, no. 5
Box 3			1962 The Nation v. 195, no. 4
Box 3			1963 El Corno Emplumado/The Plumed Horn no. 6
Box 3			Forum (University of Houston) v. 4, no. 2
Box 4			1964 Joglars v. 1, no. 2
Box 4			Marrahwanna Quarterly no. 2
Box 4			1965 Wormwood Review v. 5, no. 1
Box 4			1966 The Yale Literary Magazine v. 134, no. 5
Box 4			1967 Damascus Road no. 3
Box 4			1969 Wormwood Review v. 9, no. 2
Box 4			1971 The New York Quarterly no. 7
Box 4			1972 Damascus Road no. 4
Box 4			Dialog Passover Hymn Anthology v. 3
Box 4			1974 13th Moon v. 1, no. 2
Box 4			1975 Cross Country no. 1
Box 4			1976 Street Magazine v. 2, no. 2
Box 4			undated For Now no. 14
Box 4		Poetry (by title) (5 folders)
Box 4		Speeches 1971, undated
Box 4		Miscellaneous undated

	Memorabilia
Box 5		Artwork for Emily Dickinson: Letters from the World - original drawings
Box 5		Photographs 1901-1971, undated
Box 5		"Poetry Party" 1955
		Printed material
			Books
Box 5				O to Be a Dragon / Marianne Moore
Box 5				Signals
			Bulletins
Box 5				Poetry Society of America 1961-1970
			Clippings
Box 5				About Marguerite Harris 1935-1978
Box 5				Poetry readings
Box 5			Programs 1975, 1977
			Publicity
Box 5				Poetry readings
Box 5				Miscellaneous
Box 5			Reviews, manuscript and published
Box 5			Miscellany

Return to top