Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Hendrickson, Robert C. (Robert Clymer), 1898-1964.
Title:	Robert C. Hendrickson Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1916-1964
Bulk Dates:	1938-1958
Quantity:	51 linear ft.
Abstract:	Collection contains professional correspondence, political, military and diplomatic records and legal case files of the American lawyer and Republican legislator (U.S. Senator from New Jersey).
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Robert Clymer Hendrickson was an American lawyer and U.S. Senator from New Jersey. He also served on the New Jersey Constitutional Revision Commission and, as a senior legal officer in the U.S. Army in North Africa, Italy and Austria, worked on the re-establishment of civil rights and local courts, the implementation of de-nazification programs and the care of displaced persons.

Born on August 12, 1898, the son of Daniel and Emma (Megary) Hendrickson, he attended high school in Woodbury, New Jersey. After graduating, he enlisted in the United States Army, serving as an ambulance driver in World War I and receiving unit citations and the Medal of Verdun for service in the Meuse-Argonne, St. Mihiel and Aisne-Marne offensives. Following the war he obtained a law degree from Temple University, was admitted to the New Jersey bar in 1922 and began his career as lawyer, legislator and diplomat.

During the 1920s and 1930s Hendrickson was corresponding attorney and a director of the Suburban Homes Building and Loan Association of Woodbury. In 1928 he founded Hendrickson and Company, a real estate insurance firm. As a specialist in municipal and public law, he entered a long partnership with John B. Wick, also of Woodbury, and together they acted as municipal attorneys for cities and towns in Gloucester, Sussex, Cumberland and Hudson counties for more than thirty years.

Hendrickson entered politics in 1934 when he was appointed to fill the unexpired term of a New Jersey state senator. He campaigned successfully for the same office in 1939 and 1941, gaining prominence as Republican Majority Leader and President of the Senate. Between 1938 and 1943 he represented New Jersey on the Council of State Governments, of which he was elected chairman in 1941. He was also an original member of the New Jersey Constitutional Revision Commission.

As the Republican nominee, Hendrickson was unsuccessful in his campaign for the governorship in 1940, but won re-election to the New Jersey Senate in the following year. A joint session of the legislature elected him State Treasurer in 1942 and again in 1946.

In 1943 Hendrickson asked for a leave of absence to join the armed forces. As a senior legal officer he followed allied armies through North Africa, Italy and Austria. Among his duties were the re-establishment of civil rights and local courts, the implementation of de-nazification programs and the care of displaced persons. He left the Army as lieutenant-colonel early in 1946, having been awarded the European-African-Middle East Theatre Service Medal with four bronze stars, the Army Commendation Ribbon and the Allied Government Medal.

Hendrickson returned to state politics and remained in New Jersey until 1948 when he was elected to the United States Senate. His most active committee work was performed in the Judiciary Committee and the Committee on Rules and Administration. A determined anti-Communist, Hendrickson nevertheless was among the first congressmen to oppose the conduct of Senator Joseph R. McCarthy of Wisconsin. Though a defender of American free enterprise, Senator Hendrickson voted for rent controls, federal aid to education, restricted use of injunctions against labor unions, an end to segregation in public housing, Point Four and extensions of the Marshall Plan. Youth in Danger (1955), Hendrickson's book which grew out of his chairmanship of the Subcommittee on Juvenile Delinquency, traced the roots of crime to "slums of incredible squalor" and the "derelictions of our older generation."

Hendrickson did not seek re-election to the United States Senate, claiming that he had lost party support in his home state by concentrating on his work in Washington. In 1955 President Eisenhower appointed him Ambassador to New Zealand. After directing the American embassy in Wellington for two years, Hendrickson returned to his law practice in Woodbury, New Jersey.

Robert Hendrickson married Olga Bonsal in 1919; they had four daughters and a son. Hendrickson was a vestryman of Christ Episcopal Church, Woodbury; treasurer of the Gloucester County Bar Association; and a charter member of the William Stokes Bonsal Post of the American Legion. He died on December 7, 1964.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert C. Hendrickson Papers consist of professional correspondence, political, military and diplomatic records and legal case files. The papers span 1916 to 1964, with a concentration between 1938 and 1958. The collection is divided into four series.

Communications and writings (Boxes 1-63) consists of correspondence files, press releases, speeches and published writings of Robert C. Hendrickson. There are more than 40,000 letters, telegrams and postcards. The shelf list below serves as an index of important correspondence. Another list of correspondents is available from the card index (Package 1) used by the Hendrickson staff. Most of the letters are to or from Robert C. Hendrickson. A small number were also addressed to his wife Olga, a brother, Daniel, who was head of the National Cash Register Company, and to members of the Hendrickson office staffs in Woodbury, New Jersey and Washington, D.C. The most significant correspondence dates from Hendrickson's years in the United States Senate, 1949-1955.

The press releases (Boxes 58-59) stem from Hendrickson's work as Treasurer of New Jersey and his campaigns for governor and United States Senator. There is a large file of political speeches, holograph and typescript, presented mainly between the years 1940 and 1954 (Boxes 60-63). The subjects include campaign issues, regional planning, parimutuel racing, taxation and finance and other matters of significance to New Jersey voters. During the Washington years, Hendrickson's speeches were on the topics of national defense, European recovery, federal-state relations and juvenile delinquency. The senator's statements and insertions in the Congressional Record were gathered into four large scrapbooks by his staff in Washington. There are three phonodiscs of Hendrickson's radio interviews in 1952 and 1953. Publications (Box 63) consist of about ten magazine articles and a typescript of Youth in Danger (1955).

Organization records are subdivided into Private Agencies, New Jersey, United States Army, United States Senate and United State Department of State. New Jersey records (Boxes 63-69) concentrate on financial policies, interstate relations and a revision of the state constitution. Hendrickson's campaign files and scrapbooks, which date from 1940, are rich in anti-New Deal literature, such as pamphlets, handbills and broadsides which identify the Roosevelt administration with radicalism, pacifism, socialism and communism. Items of interest among his military records (Box 69) include refugee investigations, de-nazification policies and monthly histories of United States military government units in Austria.

The papers from Hendrickson's term as a United States senator (Boxes 70-80) exceed all other organizational records in quantity and general interest. There is one box of legislative bills written or sponsored by Senator Hendrickson between 1949 and 1954. Several of the bills are annotated and accompanied by supporting data. A card index of Hendrickson bills is included among the papers. There are miscellaneous papers and transcripts of hearings for each of the committees to which Hendrickson was appointed, among them the Commission on Intergovernmental Relations; the Judiciary Committee with its subcommittees on the Bricker Amendment, Immigration and Naturalization, Internal Security, Refugees and Escapees, and Juvenile Delinquency; the Committee on Small Business and the Committee on Rules and Administration with its Subcommittee on Privileges and Elections. As a member of this last committee, Hendrickson acquired the report of a preliminary investigation into the conduct of Republican Senator Joseph R. McCarthy of Wisconsin. An inquiry was set in motion when William Benton (D-Conn.) rose to denounce McCarthy in the Senate on August 6, 1951. This report, about one hundred pages long and dated January 1952, is identified as "Copy 3" of eight copies distributed to members of the Subcommittee on Privileges and Elections.

The most important materials among Hendrickson's State Department records (Box 81) relate to the Baguio Conference (March 1955) in the Philippines and the Tokyo Conference (March 1956) but in each instance the quantity is slight. A folder labeled "Social Functions" provides an insight into the entertainment expense borne by the embassy staff in Wellington.

Legal records (Boxes 82-277) contained municipal files and client files. The municipal files were accumulated by the firm of Hendrickson and Wick, which was retained as solicitor and municipal finance officer for ten cities and towns in New Jersey, and comprised several types of documents relating to municipal affairs, such as public utility contracts, budgets, deeds, applications to state agencies, annual debt statements, bills, by-laws, resolutions, assessments, tax notices, affidavits, bankruptcy files and street maps. The client files (Boxes 109-277) contained papers created by the private practice of Hendrickson and Wick. All legal records in boxes 82-277 were originally closed until the year 1990, but were destroyed in their entirety in 1991 to preserve attorney/client privilege.

Memorabilia (Boxes 278-281) contain Hendrickson's appointment books between 1933 and 1961, awards and citations, biographical data, itineraries, newspaper clippings, both unmounted and in oversize scrapbooks, and a small number of photographs.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically, then chronologically, under the names of the writers. Approximately half of the correspondence is filed in general initialed folders, while correspondence of significance or quantity is placed in individual folders which carry the names of the correspondents. Press releases and speeches are arranged chronologically. Writings are subdivided into articles and books and within that arranged alphabetically by title. Organization records and Memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by topic or title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert C. Hendrickson Papers ,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Olga Bonsai Hendrickson, 1965. Additional Portia Spears correspondence, gift of Leonard C. Dill, 2004.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: JJ
Date: Jan 1971
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); Mar 2009 - Spears corr. adds (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Communications and writings
		Correspondence
Box 1			Miscellaneous 1937-1962
Box 1			Aam-Ait 1937-1955
Box 1			Ala-Alv 1931-1964
Box 1			Ama-Ame 1937-1962
Box 1			Ame-And 1941-1958
Box 1			Ang-Art 1938-1959
Box 2			Asb-Aym 1937-1958
Box 2			Abbott, Ransford J. 1948-1951
Box 2			Abrahams, Albert E. 1953-1964
Box 2			Adams, A. Virginia 1948-1954
Box 2			Adams & Peck 1942-1947
Box 2			Adams, Sherman 1952-1956
Box 2			Addonizio, Hugh J. 1949-1961
Box 2			Aiken, George D. 1939-1954
Box 2			Aitken, Bertram R.B. 1948
Box 2			Alampi, Alex C. 1941-1953
Box 2			Albright, William H. 1937-1942
Box 2			Allen, Philip K. 1953-1954
Box 2			American Bar Association 1937-1963
Box 2			American Legion 1938-1962
Box 2			American Red Cross 1950-1957
Box 2			Amritt, Robert S. 1951
Box 2			Anderson, Clinton P. 1951-1954
Box 2			Arens, Richard 1952-1955
Box 2			Armstrong, C. Wesley 1946-1948
Box 2			Asbury Park Chamber of Commerce 1950-1954
Box 2			Aspinall, Wayne N. 1951
Box 2			Atkinson, Russell E. 1938-1954
Box 2			Atlantic Union Committee 1950-1951
Box 2			Auchincloss, James C. 1948-1961
Box 3			Baa-Bal 1937-1959
Box 3			Bal-Bar 1939-1963
Box 3			Bar-Bau 1937-1958
Box 3			Bau-Bec 1938-1962
Box 3			Bec-Ber 1937-1956
Box 3			Ber-Bis 1936-1964
Box 3			Bis-Bla 1942-1958
Box 4			Bla-Boa 1939-1964
Box 4			Boa-Bos 1943-1962
Box 4			Bot-Bra 1939-1956
Box 4			Bra-Bre 1936-1959
Box 4			Bri-Bro 1938-1955
Box 4			Bro-Bro 1938-1956
Box 4			Bru-Bur 1939-1958
Box 4			Bur-Byr 1937-1956
Box 5			Bacharach, Harry 1938-1948
Box 5			Baches, Theodore 1942-1947
Box 5			Baird, David, Jr. 1941-1953
Box 5			Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Co. 1942
Box 5			Bank of America 1949-1952
Box 5			Barbour, W. Warren 1939
Box 5			Barlow, Stephen H. 1947-1956
Box 5			Barrett, Frank 1952-1954
Box 5			Bartlett, E. L. 1950
Box 5			Barton, Charles K. 1946-1948
Box 5			Beall, J. Glenn 1952-1954
Box 5			Beaser, Herbert W. 1954
Box 5			Becker, George W. 1947-1953
Box 5			Bell, Arthur S. 1948-1951
Box 5			Bennett, Charles E. 1954
Box 5			Bennett, Wallace F. 1951-1955
Box 5			Benton, William 1950-1955
Box 5			Bergen County (New Jersey)Republican Committee 1942-1954
Box 5			Berger, S. D. 1955-1957
Box 5			Biddle, A. J. Drexel 1959
Box 5			Biehl, George 1946-1948
Box 5			Boardwalk National Bank, Atlantic City, N.J. 1942-1947
Box 5			Bobo, James H. 1955
Box 5			Bodine, Samuel L. 1944-1954
Box 5			Bonsall, Thomas 1942-1949
Box 5			Borchers, Henry 1939-1954
Box 5			Boswell, Arthur E. 1953-1954
Box 5			Boswell, John E. 1941-1964
Box 5			Bowring, Eva 1954
Box 5			Boy Scouts of America 1947-1964
Box 5			Boyd-Clark, John 1955-1957
Box 5			Bradley, Omar N. 1963
Box 5			Bradshaw, Aaron Jr. 1945-1948
Box 6			Bradshaw, Aaron Jr. 1949-1964
Box 6			Brams, Herman W. 1948-1954
Box 6			Brennan, William J. 1957-1959
Box 6			Brewer, D. L. 1950-1961
Box 6			Brewster, Owen 1949-1954
Box 6			Bricker, John A. 1948
Box 6			Bricker, John W. 1953-1957
Box 6			Bridges, Styles 1948-1954
Box 6			British-American Cooperation Movement 1955-1957
Box 6			Brophy, Joseph A. 1943-1946
Box 6			Brown, Thomas H. 1943-1954
Box 6			Brownell, Herbert, Jr. 1948-1955
Box 6			Brumund, Robert E. 1954-1964
Box 6			Bunker, Ellsworth 1952-1956
Box 6			Burdette, Franklin L. 1954
Box 6			Bush, Prescott 1952-1954
Box 6			Butler, Hugh 1949-1953
Box 6			Butler, John Marshall 1951-1957
Box 6			Buttle, Edgar Allyn 1953-1954
Box 6			Byrd, Harry Flood 1950-1957
Box 6			Byrd, Richard E. 1955-1956
Box 6			Byrd, Richard E. Jr. 1958-1964
Box 6			Byrd, Robert C. 1956
Box 6			Cah-Cam 1937-1959
Box 7			Can-Car 1939-1957
Box 7			Cas-Cav 1938-1964
Box 7			Cel-Chu 1938-1959
Box 7			Cil-Civ 1939-1962
Box 7			Cla-Clo 1941-1961
Box 7			Cof-Col 1937-1957
Box 7			Com-Cop 1938-1956
Box 8			Cor-Cra 1937-1955
Box 8			Cra-Cry 1936-1959
Box 8			Cul-Cyw 1937-1964
Box 8			Commission for Austrian Flood Relief and Rehabilitation 1954
Box 8			Cafiero, A. J. 1947-1953
Box 8			Cahill, William T. 1958-1964
Box 8			Cain, Harry P. 1950-1954
Box 8			Camden County (New Jersey) Chamber of Commerce 1950-1954
Box 8			Camden County (New Jersey) Republican Committee 1952-1954
Box 8			Caldwell and Company, Philadelphia, Penn. 1951-1955
Box 8			Calver, George W. 1948-1954
Box 8			Camden Trust Company, Camden, N.J. 1942-1948
Box 8			Campbell, Edgar 1939-1953
Box 8			Campbell Soup Company, Camden, N.J. 1950-1953
Box 8			Canfield, Gordon 1949-1957
Box 8			Capehart, Homer E. 1950-1954
Box 8			Capitol Hill Club 1951-1954
Box 8			Carey, Robert 1938-1951
Box 8			Carpenter Alva C. 1954
Box 8			Case, Clifford 1948-1964
Box 9			Case, Francis 1951-1954
Box 9			Casey, Lawrence J. 1951-1954
Box 9			Celler, Emmanuel 1952-1954
Box 9			Central Railroad Company of New Jersey 1941-1947
Box 9			Chapman, Alfred 1948
Box 9			Chapman, Virgil 1950
Box 9			Charlier Roger H. 1950-1952
Box 9			Charlton, John J. 1951-1952
Box 9			Chase National Bank 1948
Box 9			Chavez, Dennis 1950-1952
Box 9			Chennault, Claire L. 1952
Box 9			Christ Episcopal Church, Woodbury N.J. 1945-1957
Box 9			Church, Marguerite S. 1952-1956
Box 9			Church World Service Inc. 1950
Box 9			Cigdemoglu, Macit 1954
Box 9			City Title Insurance Corporation, New York N.Y. 1952-1964
Box 9			Civil War Centennial Commission 1958-1959
Box 9			Clark, William 1941-1952
Box 9			Clarke, Bruce C. 1955-1956
Box 9			Clay, Lucius D. 1948-1950
Box 9			Clee, Lester H. 1938-1954
Box 9			Clement, Mrs. William 1941-1942
Box 9			Clements, Earle C. 1951-1954
Box 9			Clendenen, Richard 1951-1955
Box 10			Cohan, Albert A. J. 1948-1952
Box 10			Colonial Life Insurance Company, East Orange N.J. 1950-1951
Box 10			Columbia Broadcasting System 1948-1953
Box 10			Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, Washington D.C. 1953-1954
Box 10			Connelly, Matthew 1950-1951
Box 10			Connery, Thomas F. Jr. 1957-1963
Box 10			Cook, Fred J. 1955-1956
Box 10			Cooper, John Sherman 1951-1955
Box 10			Cornell University Ithaca N.Y. 1942-1958
Box 10			Corotis, A. Charles 1948-1953
Box 10			Cotter, Paul J. 1953
Box 10			Cotton, Charles Camp 1943-1959
Box 10			Council Against Communist Aggression 1951-1963
Box 10			Council of State Governments 1937-1953
Box 10			Cresse, Wadsworth 1949-1959
Box 10			Crippen, Huston D. 1946-1954
Box 10			Crispin, Alvin S. 1938-1951
Box 10			Crispin, Lawrence L. 1942-1953
Box 10			Cross, C. Spencer 1953-1957
Box 10			Culbertson Ely 1951-1956
Box 11			Dac-Day 1937-1962
Box 11			DeA-Dey 1937-1964
Box 11			DeB-Don 1937-1963
Box 11			Don-Dru 1937-1957
Box 11			Dub-Dzi 1942-1964
Box 11			D'Agostino, Dewey 1948-1954
Box 11			Daniel, Price 1952-1957
Box 11			Darby, Harry 1950-1964
Box 11			Delaware State Chamber of Commerce 1952-1954
Box 11			Delaware County Pennsylvania Authority 1946
Box 11			Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad 1942
Box 11			Delaware River Ferry Company 1937-1963
Box 12			Delaware River Joint Commission 1939-1952
Box 12			Delaware River Port Authority 1951-1959
Box 12			Derby, Harry L. 1943-1956
Box 12			DeValliere, J. Lindsay 1947-1948
Box 12			Devoe, Fred W. 1938-1957
Box 12			Dewey, Thomas E. 1948
Box 12			Dickerson, John J. 1946-1957
Box 12			Dickinson College Carlisle Penn. 1950-1951
Box 12			Diffley, Peter J. 1949-1954
Box 12			DiGiacomo, Frank 1946-1951
Box 12			Dillon, Douglas 1953-1957
Box 12			Diocese of New Jersey 1947-1957 (2 folders)
Box 12			Dirksen, Everett McKinley 1950-1957
Box 12			Disabled American Veterans 1947-1954
Box 12			Doherty, Jerome 1942-1952
Box 12			Dominion Farmer's Institute 1956-1958
Box 12			Donato, Mitchel F. 1949-1950
Box 13			Douglas, Paul H. 1948-1954
Box 13			Dow, Wilber E. 1953-1954
Box 13			Downer, William A. 1938-1953
Box 13			Downey, Sheridan 1950
Box 13			Driscoll, Alfred 1937-1963 (6 folders)
Box 13			Dufek, George 1956-1957
Box 13			Duke, Joseph C. 1949-1957
Box 13			Dulles, John Foster 1953-1957
Box 13			Dumont, Wayne, Jr. 1948-1950
Box 14			Dvorin, Robert M. 1954
Box 14			[E. I.] Dupont DeNemours Company 1942-1962
Box 14			Durand, Frank 1937-1947
Box 14			Dworshak, Henry C. 1949-1962
Box 14			Dwyer, Florence 1948-1961
Box 14			Eag-Elm 1937-1961
Box 14			Emb-Esc 1938-1963
Box 14			Earley, Charles W. 1950-1954
Box 14			Eastland, James 0. 1953-1962
Box 14			Eastwood, Howard 1939-1959
Box 14			Eaton, Charles 1943-1954
Box 14			Economic Cooperation Administration 1948-1951
Box 14			Edge, Walter 1939-1956
Box 14			Edison, Charles 1941-1952
Box 14			Eisenhower, Dwight D. 1952-1963
Box 14			Eisenhower, Mamie Doud 1956-1957
Box 14			Elder, Alex H. 1941-1948
Box 14			Elizabeth (New Jersey) Chamber of Commerce 1948-1953
Box 14			Elizabeth National State Bank of New Jersey 1946-1947
Box 14			Elks 1949-1957
Box 14			Ellender, Allen J. 1954
Box 14			Ellin, Christopher Hall 1946-1953
Box 14			Ellis, Edgar 1943-1948
Box 14			Ellis, William J. 1938-1943
Box 14			Ellsworth, Harris 1951
Box 15			Encyclopaedia Britannica 1952-1954
Box 15			Enos, Joseph H. 1948-1953
Box 15			Erdman, Charles R. 1938-1954
Box 15			Essex County (New Jersey) Republican Committee 1940-1954
Box 15			Evered, Carl R. 1941-1955
Box 15			Fac-Faz 1937-1957
Box 15			Fec-Fio 1937-1955
Box 15			Fir-Fit 1938-1956
Box 15			Fle-Flu 1939-1953
Box 15			Fon-Fra 1939-1953
Box 16			Fre-Fyf 1937-1954
Box 16			Farley, Frank S. 1942-1953
Box 16			Farley James A. 1955-1956
Box 16			Farmer's National Cooperative Union of America 1951-1954
Box 16			Federal Power Commission 1947
Box 16			Federal Trade Commission 1953
Box 16			Federal Works Agency 1941
Box 16			Ferguson, Homer 1948-1957
Box 16			Fidelity Union Trust Company 1938-1949
Box 16			Fine, John S. 1951
Box 16			First Mechanics Bank Building 1938-1943
Box 16			Fiorella, Pasquale 1950
Box 16			Fisler, Mary I. 1952-1954
Box 16			Fitch, Mrs. Robert 1957-1964
Box 16			Flanders, Ralph 1950-1954
Box 16			Forbes, Malcolm S. 1957
Box 16			Fox, William F. 1954
Box 16			Frear, J. Allen 1949-1957
Box 16			Freeman, Clayton E. 1940-1957
Box 16			Frelinghuysen, Joseph S. 1955-1961
Box 16			Frelinghuysen, Peter Jr. 1952-1954
Box 16			Frye, Arnold 1938-1953
Box 16			Fuhrman, Joseph H. 1939
Box 16			Fulbright, J. William 1955-1956
Box 16			Gab-Gaz 1937-1960
Box 16			Gea-Gev 1939-1953
Box 17			Gib-Giu 1947-1962
Box 17			Gla-Gou 1937-1962
Box 17			Gra-Gro 1937-1962
Box 17			Gue-Gru 1937-1954
Box 17			Galloway, George B. 1952-1954
Box 17			Garnett, Earle W. 1946-1947
Box 17			Gehman, William M. 1947-1954
Box 17			George, Walter F. 1949-1954
Box 17			George, William 1951-1954
Box 18			Gifford, E. Garfield 1948-1952
Box 18			Gillette, Guy M. 1952-1954
Box 18			Gloucester County (New Jersey) Bar Association 1950-1957
Box 18			Gloucester County Clerk's Office 1948-1954
Box 18			Gloucester County Historical Society 1948-1951
Box 18			Gloucester County Probation Office 1948-1954
Box 18			Gloucester County Republican Executive Committee 1938-1964 (4 folders)
Box 18			Goldsmith, Howard C. 1947-1957
Box 18			Goldwater, Barry M. 1952-1961
Box 18			Goodwin, Angier 1949
Box 18			Gore, Albert 1952-1961
Box 18			Graham, Billy 1952-1954
Box 18			Graham, Frank P. 1950-1952
Box 18			Green, Theodore Francis 1952-1954
Box 18			Greenberg, Harry A. 1947-1948
Box 18			Grubb, Lily M. 1953-1954
Box 18			Gruber, Karl 1954-1956
Box 18			Gumb, Irving 1955-1961
Box 18			Grundy, Joseph Owen 1939-1948
Box 19			Gurney, Chan 1950
Box 19			Hab-Ham 1937-1961
Box 19			Han-Han 1942-1963
Box 19			Har-Har 1937-1954
Box 19			Har-Hea 1939-1954
Box 20			Her-Hit 1938-1957
Box 20			Hoa-Hoo 1942-1964
Box 20			Hop-How 1941-1961
Box 20			Hoy-Hym 1934-1963
Box 20			Hague, Frank 1941-1942
Box 20			Haines, Charles H. 1955-1958
Box 20			Hancock, Howard 1948
Box 20			Hand, Kenneth C. 1948-1953
Box 20			Hand T. Millet 1946-1954
Box 20			Hannoch, Herbert 1941-1951
Box 21			Hannold, Harold W. 1938-1957
Box 21			Hanrahan, William G. 1947-1948
Box 21			Harper and Brothers Publishing Company 1953
Box 21			Hart, Edward J. 1949-1954
Box 21			Hartigan, John D. 1946-1958 (2 folders)
Box 21			Hathaway, Edward N. 1955
Box 21			Hartshone, Richard 1937-1959
Box 21			[Ira] Haupt and Company 1942-1948
Box 21			Hawkes, Albert W. 1942-1953
Box 21			Hawkins, Delafield and Wood 1938-1951
Box 21			Hayden, Carl 1949-1962
Box 21			Heaton, Vivian 1947-1960
Box 21			Henderson, Loy W. 1955-1956
Box 22			Hendrickson, Daniel J. P. 1939-1955 (4 folders)
Box 23			Hendrickson, Daniel J. P. 1956-1964 (3 folders)
Box 23			Hendrickson, F. Lynn 1941-1963
Box 23			Hendrickson, Olga 1943-1950
Box 23			Hendrickson, Robert C. 1940-1942
Box 23			Hendrickson, Robert C. Jr. 1945-1964
Box 23			Hendrickson, Sara P. 1962-1964
Box 23			Hendrickson Family 1837-1956
Box 24			Hennings, Thomas C. Jr. 1951-1958
Box 24			Herbert, Stanley 1946-1954
Box 24			Hermann, Albert B. 1945-1953
Box 24			Herr and Fischer 1937-1954
Box 24			Herter, Christian A. 1960
Box 24			Hickenlooper, Bourke B. 1950-1956
Box 24			Higgins, William A. 1941
Box 24			Hilldring, J. H. 1946
Box 24			Holland, Spessard L. 1950-1956
Box 24			Holston, J. Sennett 1943-1964
Box 24			Hood, Warren S. 1946-1948
Box 24			Hoover, Herbert, Jr. 1953-1956
Box 24			Hoover J. Edgar 1951-1954
Box 24			Hopewell National Bank, Hopewell N.J. 1942-1948
Box 24			Horan, Eugene L. 1939-1953
Box 24			Hornstein, Isadore 1946-1962
Box 24			Howell, Charles R. 1949-1954
Box 24			Hruska, Roman L. 1957
Box 24			Hudson County New Jersey 1937-1950
Box 24			Hudson and Manhattan Railroad Company 1941-1942
Box 24			Hudson News 1938-1940
Box 24			Hudson Trust Company 1942-1947
Box 24			Hull, Cordell 1939
Box 24			Humphrey, Hubert H. 1951-1959
Box 24			Hunt, Leigh 1956-1964
Box 24			Hunt, Lester C. 1951-1954
Box 24			Ill-Ita 1937-1952
Box 24			Ilott, John 1955-1962
Box 25			Infantile Paralysis Fund Campaign 1946
Box 25			International Christian Leadership, and International Council for Christian Leadership 1949-1956
Box 25			Interstate Commission on Crime 1941-1942
Box 25			Interstate Commission on the Delaware River Basin 1937-1959 (6 folders)
Box 25			Irvington Varnish and Insulator Company 1950-1951
Box 25			Ives, Irving M. 1949-1962
Box 25			Jac-Jer 1937-1961
Box 26			Jer-Joh 1939-1958
Box 26			Joh-Jus 1937-1961
Box 26			Jameison, Crawford 1939-1953
Box 26			Jenner, William E. 1948-1954
Box 26			Johnson, Edwin C. 1951-1964
Box 26			Johnson, Lyndon Baines 1951-1964
Box 26			Johnson, Robert L. 1949-1961
Box 26			Johnson, Robert Wood 1938-1961
Box 26			Johnson and Johnson, New Brunswick, N.J. 1949-1950
Box 26			Johnston, Eric 1949-1953
Box 26			Johnston, Felton M. 1951
Box 26			Johnston, Olin D. 1950-1955
Box 26			Joint Committee on Atomic Energy 1953
Box 26			Joint Executive Committee for the Improvement and Development of the Philadelphia Port Area 1949-1954
Box 26			Jones, Catesby L. 1948-1951
Box 26			Jones, Howard P. 1953-1961
Box 26			Jones, J. Webster 1954
Box 26			Joyce, Louis C. Jr. 1939-1952
Box 26			Judd, Walter 1955-1956
Box 26			Jurik, Maria 1946-1949
Box 27			Kac-Kef 1937-1961
Box 27			Kei-Ker 1942-1951
Box 27			Kes-Kip 1937-1958
Box 27			Kir-Klo 1937-1957
Box 27			Kna-Kov 1937-1962
Box 27			Kra-Kwa 1937-1953
Box 27			Kanter, Elias A. 1941-1942
Box 27			Katchen, Julius 1955
Box 27			Kavanaugh, John M. 1955-1958
Box 28			Kean, Robert W. 1948-1958
Box 28			Kefauver, Estes 1949-1955
Box 28			Kelly, Frank S. 1938-1939
Box 28			Kem, James P. 1948-1951
Box 28			Kemper, James S. 1960
Box 28			Kennedy, John F. 1952-1954
Box 28			Kerney, James Jr. 1947-1952
Box 28			Kerr, Robert S. 1950-1954
Box 28			Keruse, Stephen 1962-1964
Box 28			Kieb, Ormonde A. 1956-1957
Box 28			Kiefer, Homer W. 1952
Box 28			Kierner, William F. 1951
Box 28			Kilgore, Harley M. 1951-1954
Box 28			King, Reuben R. 1951-1954
Box 28			Klaisz, R. Edward 1938-1964
Box 28			Klein, Alfred M. 1953
Box 28			Knowland, William F. 1949-1958
Box 28			Kotz, Howard and Mary 1949-1959
Box 28			Kuebler, Paul Charles 1947-1948
Box 28			Laboon, John F. 1945-1948
Box 28			Lab-Lar 1938-1954
Box 28			Las-Led 1937-1963
Box 28			Lee-Lev 1937-1955
Box 29			Lew-Lio 1942-1959
Box 29			Lip-Lon 1939-1958
Box 29			Lor-Lou 1937-1952
Box 29			Lov-Lus 1941-1959
Box 29			Langer, William 1951-1954
Box 29			Larcombe, J. Russel 1938-1964
Box 29			Lawrence, Robert L. 1955-1956
Box 29			Lawson, Alexander R. 1948-1962
Box 29			Lawson Robert S. 0. 1943-1948
Box 30			League of Women Voters of New Jersey 1947-1959
Box 30			Lee, O. Pierre 1948-1956
Box 30			Lehigh Railroad Company 1941-1942
Box 30			Lehman, Herbert H. 1951-1952
Box 30			Lend-Lease Administration Office 1942
Box 30			Levy, Joseph W. 1942-1961
Box 30			Lewis, Arthur W. 1946-1961
Box 30			Liakas, Elias 1949-1957
Box 30			Linke, Julian P. 1952
Box 30			Lindsay, John V. 1955
Box 30			Lodge, Henry Cabot, Jr. 1948-1953
Box 30			Logan James A. 1938-1946
Box 30			Loizeaux, Charles E. 1938-1943
Box 30			Long, Russell B. 1949-1954
Box 30			Lourie, Samuel Anatole 1951
Box 30			Lowe, Donald V. 1941-1948
Box 30			Lucas, Scott W. 1950-1954
Box 30			Luce, Claire Booth 1953
Box 30			Lukashewich, Olga 1955-1960
Box 30			Lum, Ralph E. 1941-1942
Box 30			Lynn, David 1949
Box 30			Mac-Mac 1943-1956
Box 30			McA-McE 1942-1958
Box 30			McF-McS 1936-1957
Box 31			Mac-Mag 1941-1955
Box 31			Mah-Mar 1942-1959
Box 31			Mar-May 1939-1956
Box 31			Mea-Mer 1937-1958
Box 31			Mer-Mid 1938-1960
Box 31			Mie-Mil 1938-1956
Box 31			Min-Mon 1942-1961
Box 32			Moo-Mor 1941-1964
Box 32			Mor-Mun 1937-1959
Box 32			Mur-Myr 1938-1963
Box 32			MacArthur, Douglas 1951-1957
Box 32			Macfarlane, Ivor H. 1939-1960
Box 32			McCaffree, Mary Jane 1957
Box 32			McCampbell, Theron 1940-1944
Box 32			McCarran, Pat 1949-1954
Box 32			McCarter, English and Studer 1947-1954
Box 32			McCarthy, Joseph R. 1951-1954
Box 32			McClellan, John L. 1957
Box 32			McCraith, Charles E. 1942-1948
Box 32			McCrary, Tex and Jinx Falkenburg 1954
Box 32			McFarland, Ernest W. 1949-1951
Box 32			McGeehan, John B. 1939-1948
Box 32			McGraith, Howard 1951
Box 32			McGraw-Hill Publishing Company 1948-1951
Box 32			McKee, Frank S. 1946-1949
Box 33			McMahon, Brien 1950-1951
Box 33			McManus, Robert Cruise 1941-1953
Box 33			Mack, Ted 1951
Box 33			Mackay, R. W. G. 1951
Box 33			Magee, Arthur 1938-1940
Box 33			Magnuson, Warren G. 1950-1954
Box 33			Malone, George W. 1948-1954
Box 33			Mandel, Benjamin 1953-1954
Box 33			Mansfield, Mike 1952-1954
Box 33			Marsh, Lloyd B. 1943-1951
Box 33			Martin, Edward 1942-1957
Box 33			Martin, J. H. Thayer 1938-1953
Box 33			Martine, Leroy M. 1950
Box 33			Mazengarb, Oswald C. 1955-1956
Box 33			Meadows, Nathan R. 1955-1958
Box 33			Megary, William M. 1947-1952
Box 33			Mehorter, Hugh L. 1939-1964
Box 33			Mehorter, Samuel A. 1943-1955
Box 33			Melniker, Aaron A. 1937-1955
Box 33			Mennite, Joseph 1950-1953
Box 33			Mercer County (New Jersey) Clerk's Office 1951-1954
Box 33			Mercer County Republican Committee 1950-1954
Box 33			Meyner, Robert B. 1957-1961
Box 33			Military Government Association 1947-1954
			Miller, Albert F.
Box 33				1941 Jan-Aug
Box 34				1941 Sep-1948
Box 34			Miller, Morris 1949-1953
Box 34			Miller, Spencer Jr. 1943-1950
Box 34			Miller, William A. 1939-1951
Box 34			Millikin, Eugene D. 1948-1954
Box 34			Milton, Hugh M. II 1955
Box 34			Minard, Duane E. 1942-1952
Box 34			Mitchell, C. Bayard II 1957-1960
Box 34			Mitchell, James P. 1955
Box 34			Moody, Blair 1951-1952
Box 34			Moore, Hervey S. 1938-1949
Box 34			Moran, Viola 1955-1956
Box 34			Morris, Robert 1953-1963
Box 34			Morse, David A. 1952-1958
Box 34			Morse, Wayne 1950-1951
Box 34			Mudd, Arthur 1938
Box 34			Mudge, Vernon 1955
Box 34			Mundt, Karl E. 1950-1955
Box 34			Munro, Leslie 1955-1957
Box 34			Murray, Frank J. 1938-1940
Box 34			Murray, James E. 1955-1966
Box 34			Musmanno, Michael A. 1938-1960
Box 34			Myers, Herbert F. Jr. 1942-1953
Box 34			Nac-Nat 1939-1955
Box 34			Nat-Nat 1948-1963
Box 34			Nat-Nav 1950-1964
Box 35			Nea-New 1939-1954
Box 35			New-Nyb 1938-1963
Box 35			Nash, Walter 1959-1961
Box 35			National Association for the Advancement of Colored People 1949-1953
Box 35			National Association of Postmasters 1950-1954
Box 35			National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers and Treasurers 1947-1953
Box 35			National Banks of New Jersey 1942-1954
Box 35			National Civil Service Reform League 1941
Box 35			National Committee for Support of the Public Schools 1962-1964
Box 35			National Draft MacArthur Committee 1952
Box 35			National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis 1953-1954
Box 35			National Labor Relations Board 1949-1954
Box 35			National Meteorological Disaster Defense and Investigation Council 1954
Box 35			National Municipal League 1943-1959
Box 35			National Republican Club 1948-1953
Box 35			Nester, Alfred T. 1952
			New Jersey
				Miscellaneous associations and state agencies
Box 35					Association-Council 1937-1954
Box 36					Daughters-Hospital 1937-1956
Box 36					Institute-Rifle 1937-1959
Box 36					Savings-State Dental 1938-1958
Box 36					State Federation-Young 1937-1954
Box 36				Agricultural Experiment Stations 1947-1954
Box 36				American Federation of Labor 1942
Box 36				Association of Real Estate Boards 1942-1949
Box 36				Bankers Association 1938-1954
Box 36				Bar Association 1937-1960
Box 36				Board of Pharmacy 1942-1948
Box 36				Board of Public Utilities Commissioners 1937-1946
Box 36				Chamber of Commerce 1941-1963
Box 36				Civil Service Commission 1938-1942
Box 37				Commission on Interstate Cooperation 1937-1950
Box 37				Commission on Revision of the New Jersey Constitution 1941-1948
Box 37				Commission on Statutes 1941-1943
Box 37				Committee for Constitutional Convention 1941-1947
Box 37				Committee for Polish Relief 1940
Box 37				Constitutional Convention Association 1951-1963
Box 37				Council of Christian Churches 1952
Box 37				Democratic State Committee 1940
Box 37				Department of Agriculture 1947-1953
Box 37				Department of Banking and Insurance 1942-1954
Box 37				Department of Conservation and Development 1938-1954
Box 37				Department of Defense 1942-1954
Box 37				Department of Economic Development 1946-1952
Box 37				Department of Education 1946-1962
Box 37				Department of Institutions and Agencies 1942-1954
Box 37				Department of Labor 1941-1951
Box 37				Department of Law and Public Safety 1948-1954
Box 37				Department of Weights and Measures 1938-1948
Box 37				Department of Taxation and Finance 1946-1954
Box 37				Employees' Retirement System 1938-1948
Box 37				Highway Department 1937-1952
Box 38				League of Municipalities 1937-1964
Box 38				Legislature's Bonus Commission 1946-1949
Box 38				Military District 1955
Box 38				Motor Vehicle Department 1937-1961
Box 38				Municipal Aid Administrator 1941-1942
Box 38				Office of the State Auditor 1942-1948
Box 38				Office of the State Treasurer 1942-1957
Box 38				Planning Boardq 1941
Box 38				Republican State Committee 1939-1962
Box 38				Republican Executive Finance Committee 1948-1960
Box 38				Sinking Fund Commission 1948
Box 38				State Patrolmens' Benevolent Association 1939-1954
Box 38				State Tax Department 1937-1942
Box 38				Taxpayers' Association 1938-1954
Box 38				Unemployment Compensation Commission 1938-1949
Box 38				World's Fair Commission 1939
Box 38				New York, Susquehanna and Western Railroad Company 1941-1954
Box 39			Newark, N.J. 1939-1954
Box 39			Newell, Forrest C. 1949
Box 39			Newsweek 1952-1955
Box 39			New Zealand-American Association 1957-1961
Box 39			Nixon, Richard M. 1951-1960
Box 39			Noce, Daniel 1947-1954
Box 39			Nolte, Donald 1950-1963
Box 39			North American Airlines 1954
Box 39			Norton, Mary T. 1933-1949
Box 39			Nyburg, Willard L. and Olga 1946-1962
Box 39			Oat-Ols 1946-1954
Box 39			O'Ma-Oxf 1942-1959
Box 39			O'Brien, Lawrence F. 1963
Box 39			Old Guard, City of Philadelphia Inc. 1953-1958
Box 39			Olson, Ann M. 1953-1958
Box 39			O'Mahoney Joseph C. 1949
Box 39			Orben, C. Milford 1941-1948
Box 39			Osmers, Frank 1939-1961
Box 39			Ostertag, Harold C. 1941-1950
Box 39			Paa-Par 1937-1959
Box 39			Par-Pay 1937-1954
Box 39			Pea-Per 1942-1964
Box 40			Per-Pez 1949-1959
Box 40			Pfe-Phi 1938-1961
Box 40			Pic-Pit 1937-1959
Box 40			Pla-Por 1939-1959
Box 40			Pos-Pow 1939-1959
Box 40			Pra-Pry 1939-1955
Box 40			Pub-Pyn 1940-1963
Box 40			Palmieri, Edmund L. 1948-1955
Box 40			Parsons, Theodore D. 1949-1953
Box 40			Pascoe, Herbert J. 1938-1948
Box 40			Paterson Evening News 1946-1954
Box 41			Paul, Joseph C. 1940-1950
Box 41			Paul, Winston 1943-1952
Box 41			Payne, Frederick K. 1953
Box 41			Peaslee, Amos J. 1946-1959
Box 41			Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company 1946-1959
Box 41			Pennsylvania Railroad 1939-1957
Box 41			Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore Lines 1939-1947
Box 41			Peterson, Henry W. 1940-1958
Box 41			Philadelphia Penn. 1949-1959
Box 41			Pickering, W. B. 1938-1958
Box 41			Pierson, Arthur N. 1938-1948
Box 41			Powers, D. Lane 1941-1954
Box 41			Prentice-Hall Inc. 1959
Box 41			Prescott, John Parker 1953-1957
Box 41			Price, Mark 1961
Box 41			Prickett, Clarence D. 1947-1964
Box 41			Princeton University 1939-1953
Box 42			Proctor, Haydn 1939-1951
Box 42			Purtell, William A. 1952-1956
Box 42			Pyro Plastics Corporation 1953-1954
Box 42			Quackenbush, Granville A. 1943-1957
Box 42			Raa-Ray 1942-1963
Box 42			Rea-Rei 1937-1955
Box 42			Rei-Rif 1937-1955
Box 42			Rig-Roe 1937-1954
Box 42			Rog-Rot 1937-1954
Box 43			Rot-Ryk 1947-1961
Box 43			Ralston, Wayne M. 1946-1963
Box 43			Rathblott, Albert 1953-1954
Box 43			Redding, George A. 1947-1948
Box 43			Reichenstein, Harry S. 1950-1964
Box 43			Republican National Committee 1948-1964
Box 43			Reserve Officers Association of the U.S. 1949-1957
Box 43			Rey, Harry Robert 1943-1950
Box 43			Reynolds & Co. 1942-1947
Box 43			Richardson, Ralph G. 1941-1943
Box 43			Rigging, Albert J. 1946-1957
Box 43			Rippel, Julius A. 1942-1948
Box 43			Roberson, Horace K. 1937-1952
Box 43			Robertson, A. Willis 1949-1954
Box 43			Robertson, Walter S. 1956-1957
Box 43			Rockefeller, Nelson A. 1953-1960
Box 43			Roebling, Mary G. 1947-1963
Box 43			Roesti, Max F. 1947-1953
Box 43			Rogers, Leslie W. 1946-1962
Box 43			Rogers, William P. 1953-1958
Box 43			Roosevelt, Eleanor 1951
Box 43			Rothman, S. 1955-1956
Box 43			Russell, Francis H. 1957-1959
Box 43			Russell, Richard B. 1951-1956
Box 44			Rutgers University 1938-1953
Box 44			Sab-Say 1938-1961
Box 44			Sca-Sch 1941-1962
Box 44			Sch-Scr 1939-1955
Box 44			Sea-Sgo 1937-1956
Box 45			Sha-She 1938-1954
Box 45			She-She 1937-1956
Box 45			Sib-Sil 1937-1956
Box 45			Sim-Siz 1937-1952
Box 45			Ska-Sko 1937-1953
Box 45			Sla-Sly 1937-1954
Box 45			Sma-Smy 1937-1954
Box 45			Sne-Sny 1943-1953
Box 45			Soc-Sow 1940-1963
Box 45			Spa-Spr 1941-1963
Box 46			St. A-Sta 1937-1955
Box 46			Ste-Ste 1942-1954
Box 46			Ste-Ste 1939-1959
Box 46			Sti-Sto 1938-1962
Box 46			Str-Str 1942-1963
Box 46			Stu-Sty 1948-1961
Box 46			Sub-Suy 1946-1964
Box 46			Swa-Swi 1941-1958
Box 46			Syk-Sym 1938-1956
Box 47			Sabatino, Louis A. 1946-1964 (3 folders)
Box 47			Saltonstall, Leverett 1949-1954
Box 47			The Salvation Army 1947-1964
Box 47			Sarnoff, David 1948
Box 47			Saul, Walter Biddle 1946-1954
Box 47			Schlesinger, Joel L. 1951-1961
Box 48			Schoeppel, Andrew F. 1957
Box 48			Seaton, Fred A. 1957
Box 48			Securities and Exchange Commission 1952
Box 48			Senate Armed Services Committee 1953
Box 48			Seventeenth Ward Club 1948
Box 48			Sholl, John G. 1943-1955
Box 48			Singh, Tara 1951-1953
Box 48			Sirota, Nathan H. 1947-1955
Box 48			Skillman, George G. 1941-1954
Box 48			Smidley, Clarence E. 1946-1948
Box 48			Smith, H. Alexander 1939-1961 (3 folders)
Box 48			Smith, Carl V. 1955-1956
Box 48			Smith, Elaine D. 1955-1956
Box 48			Smith, Margaret Chase 1951-1963
Box 48			Smith, Willis 1951-1953
Box 49			Snook, Russell A. 1945-1963
Box 49			Snyder, Howard 1956-1957
Box 49			Sobell, Helen 1954-1955
Box 49			Socony-Vacuum Oil Company 1941-1954
Box 49			Society of the Cincinnati in the State of New Jersey 1949-1959
Box 49			Somerset County (New Jersey) Historical Society 1953-1955
Box 49			South Jersey Port Commission 1946-1953
Box 49			Sparkman, John J. 1950-1954
Box 49			Spears, Mrs. William H. 1950-1955 (2 folders)
				The second folder contains photocopied letters; some, but not all, are duplicates of letters in the first folder.
Box 49			Springer, Elizabeth B. 1950-1953
Box 49			Stassen, Harold 1955
Box 49			State Society of the Battleship New Jersey 1944-1952
Box 49			Steineder, R. J. 1947
Box 49			Stennis, John C. 1955-1956
Box 49			Stewart, Raymond J. 1949-1950
Box 49			Stichel, Fred G., Jr. 1942-1954
Box 49			Storrie, William R. 1939-1943
Box 49			Stout, Richard W. 1942-1954
Box 49			Strain, Eric 1955-1956
Box 49			Struble, Clyde W. 1947-1948
Box 49			Stryker, Tams and Horner 1945-1951
			Suburban Homes Building and Loan Association of Woodbury, N.J.
Box 49				1923-1931 (3 folders)
Box 50				1942-1960
Box 50			Summerfield, Arthur E. 1955-1958
Box 50			Summerhill, John M. Jr. 1938-1948
Box 50			Swedesboro Trust Company 1943-1948
Box 50			Symington, Stuart 1952-1955
Box 50			T-Ten 1937-1964
Box 50			Ten-Thu 1937-1960
Box 50			Tie-Ton 1948-1955
Box 50			Too-Tri 1937-1961
Box 50			Tri-Tys 1937-1963
Box 51			Taft, Robert A. 1950-1953
Box 51			Taggart, Thomas D. Jr. 1937-1938
Box 51			Tate, Marion S. 1946-1947
Box 51			Taylor, Harry A. 1937-1952
Box 51			Television Code Review Board 1954
Box 51			Temple, Ralph R. 1947-1948
Box 51			Temple University 1940-1964 (2 folders)
Box 51			Tilghman, M. T. 1951
Box 51			Thompson, Geraldine L. 1942-1954
Box 51			Thompson, Mary I. 1942-1951
Box 51			Thye, Edward J. 1949-1954
Box 51			Tien Fang Cheng 1955-1956
Box 51			Tobey, Charles W. 1950-1951
Box 51			Towe, Harry L. 1942-1954
Box 51			Todd, Webster B. 1948-1961
Box 51			Trenton Banking Company 1942-1946
Box 51			Trenton Times 1942-1958
Box 51			Trenton Trust Company 1942-1946
Box 51			Trice, J. Mark 1948-1953
Box 51			Troast, Paul L. 1953
Box 51			Truman, Harry S 1950-1952
Box 51			Turpanjian, M. Martin 1955
Box 51			Uni-Uni 1938-1954
Box 51			Uni-Urg 1938-1956
Box 52			United Auto Workers 1953-1954
Box 52			United Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers of America 1949-1954
Box 52			United Properties 1945-1956
Box 52			United Services Organizations 1952-1962
			United States
Box 52				Civil Service Commission 1943-1958
Box 52				Coast Guard Auxiliary 1941-1958
Box 52				Department of the Air Force 1949-1954
Box 52				Department of the Army 1950-1955
Box 52				Department of Commerce 1948-1953
Box 52				Department of Defense 1943-1954
Box 52				Department of the Interior 1939-1954
Box 52				Department of Justice 1949-1958
Box 52				Department of Navy 1948-1955
Box 52				Department of State 1949-1956
Box 52				Department of the Treasury 1952-1955
Box 52				Immigration and Naturalization Service 1951-1959
Box 52				Military Academy 1953-1959
Box 52			U.S. Army Ambulance Service Association 1946-1963
Box 52			U.S. Steel Corporation 1953
Box 52			United World Federalists of New Jersey Inc. 1947-1959
Box 52			Vai-Vez 1937-1964
Box 52			Via-Vuk 1942-1954
Box 52			Valenti, Jack 1964
Box 52			VanAlstyne, David Jr. 1947-1957
Box 52			VanBuskirk, W. D. 1947-1948
Box 53			Vanderbilt, Arthur T. 1940-1954
Box 53			VanGelder, John H. 1942-1956
Box 53			VanIngen B. J. & Co. Inc. 1942-1948
Box 53			VanWinkle, Winant 1938-1942
Box 53			Veterans Administration 1947-1958
Box 53			Veterans of Foreign Wars 1946-1954
Box 53			Vreeland, Albert L. 1950-1957
Box 53			WRC-Wal 1942-1961
Box 53			Wal-War 1937-1955
Box 53			War-Wea 1942-1957
Box 53			Wea-Wel 1942-1959
Box 54			Wel-Whi 1942-1963
Box 54			Whi-Wil 1942-1964
Box 54			Wil-Win 1942-1962
Box 54			Wis-Wom 1938-1964
Box 54			Won-Woo 1938-1963
Box 54			Woo-Wos 1939-1964
Box 54			Wre-Wyn 1937-1963
Box 54			Waesche, Donald M. 1942-1949
Box 55			Wall Street Journal 1944-1948
Box 55			Warburton, Herbert B. 1953
Box 55			Warren, Earl 1948-1962
Box 55			Waterbury, C. E. 1943-1951
Box 55			Watkins, Arthur V. 1950-1954
Box 55			Watson, Marie J. 1946-1954
Box 55			Watson, R. E. and A. D. 1938-1953
Box 55			Weber, John K. 1946-1963
Box 55			Webster, Warren 1948-1956
Box 55			Wedemeyer, A. C. 1952
Box 55			Wellbrock, George W. 1942-1964
Box 55			Wellford, John and Marion 1942-1962
Box 55			Wherry, Kenneth S. 1948-1951
Box 55			Whipple, Henry W. 1948-1959
Box 55			Whyte, James C. 1948-1952
Box 55			Wick, John B. 1942-1956
Box 55			Widnall, William B. 1946-1961
Box 55			Wilentz, David T. 1941-1943
Box 55			Wiley, Alexander 1949-1955
Box 55			Wilkie, Wendell L. 1943
Box 55			Williams, John J. 1949-1954
Box 55			Williams, Paul P. 1939-1961
Box 55			Williamson, Edgar 1942-1954
Box 55			Wilmer, Richard H. 1948-1964
Box 55			Wilmer, Gordon 1950-1961
Box 55			Wilson, Gill Rob 1942-1950
Box 55			Wilson, Charles E. 1954-1955
Box 56			Wise, Irvin C. 1953-1954
Box 56			Wolverton, Charles A. 1936-1958
Box 56			Women's State Republican Club of New Jersey Inc. 1948-1954
Box 56			Woodbury Daily Times 1948-1964
Box 56			Woodbury Trust Company 1942-1959
Box 56			Woolman, J. Reuben 1952-1953
Box 56			Works Progress Administration 1931-1938
Box 56			Yac-You 1942-1958
Box 56			Yale, Wosley 1949-1954
Box 56			Yeiter F. Sherman 1942-1956
Box 56			Young Men's Christian Association 1941-1958
Box 56			Young Republicans of New Jersey 1943-1954
Box 56			Zab-Zys 1937-1953
Box 56			Zachariasiewicz, Wladyslaw 1948-1954
Box 56			Zink, Homer C. 1938-1950
Box 56			Unidentified undated
Box 57			Cross reference sheets 1953-1956
			Form letters
Box 57				Miscellaneous 1937-1958
Box 57				On the Bricker Amendment 1954
Box 57				On Senator Joseph R. McCarthy 1954
Package 1			Index of correspondents, 3x5-inch card files 1938-1964
		Press Releases
Box 58			1938-1940
Box 58			1940
Box 58			1951-1952
Box 58			1943-1949 (4 folders)
Box 59			1950-1964 (5 folders)
		Speeches
			Miscellaneous
Box 59				1929-1930
Box 60				1940-1950 (5 folders)
Box 61				1950-1953 (4 folders)
Box 62				1953-1964 (4 folders)
			Phonodiscs
				Hendrickson, Robert C.
Box 62					Interview
Package 2					Presentation of Placard by New Jersey to the U.S. Naval Academy in Commemoration of the Battleship New Jersey 1953
				Hendrickson, Robert C. and H. Alexander Smith
Package 3					Interview circa 1952
			Speeches, Statements and Insertions in the Congressional Record 1949-1954
Box 62				Miscellaneous
Package 4				Scrapbooks (vol. 1) 1949 Jan-Oct
Package 5				Scrapbooks (vol. 2) 1950 Jan-1951 Jan
Package 6				Scrapbooks (vol. 3) 1951 Jan-Oct
Package 7				Scrapbooks (vol. 4) 1950-1954
		Writings
			Articles and essays 1939-1955
Box 63				"British-American Responsibilities in the Pacific," Pacific Neighbors, X 1955 - draft and pr. mat.
Box 63				"The Legislator's Viewpoint," New Jersey Municipalities, XVI 1939
Box 63				"The New Treason: Corruption in Government," Newark Star-Ledger undated
Box 63				"Soil and Erosion," Avalon Yacht Club Magazine 1951
Box 63				"State Resources Reserve Fund a Bulwark," The Republican Bulletin 1943
				Untitled
Box 63					in The Republican Bulletin 1948
Box 63					in The Shield 1950
			Books, nonfiction
Box 63				Youth in Danger 1955 - chapters II-XVI

	Organization records
		General 1962-1964
			Private agencies
Box 63				Christ Episcopal Church of Woodbury, N.J.
Box 63				National Committee for Support of the Public Schools
Box 63				Suburban Homes Building and Loan Assn 1923-1932
			Public agencies
Box 63				Municipal Credit Survey of Atlantic City 1942
Box 63				Woodbury Public Library 1961
		New Jersey
Box 63			Miscellaneous 1941-1949
Box 63			Board of Public Utilities 1939-1946
Box 64			Chamber of Commerce 1946-1947
Box 64			Child Labor Policies and Regulations 1942
Box 64			Commission on Interstate Cooperation 1941-1948
Box 64			Commission on State Administrative Reorganization 1948
Box 64			Commission on Tax Law Revision 1937-1940
			Constitutional Conventions
Box 64				Miscellaneous
Box 64				1935-1946 (2 folders)
Box 65				1947-1958 (2 folders)
Box 65			Council of State Governments 1940-1947
Box 65			Delaware River Port Authority 1953
Box 65			Executive Department 1938-1952
Box 65			Financial Assistance Commission 1937-1939
Box 65			Gloucester County Tunnel Authority 1946-1947
Box 66			Highway Department 1939-1958
			Interstate Commission on the Delaware River Basin
Box 66				Miscellaneous 1941-1952
Box 66				Meetings 1941-1949
Box 66				Reports 1947-1953
Box 66				Statements and Press Releases 1947-1952
Box 66			Island Beach National Monument Committee 1949-1950
			Legislature
Box 66				Miscellaneous 1937-1945
Box 66				Acts, bills and resolutions 1938, 1941-1942 (2 folders)
Box 67				Bonus Commission 1946-1947
Box 67				Senate Conferences 1938-1939
Box 67				Senate Investigating Committee 1942
Box 67				State Pensions 1938
			Monmouth Beach
Box 67				Municipal Credit Survey 1943
			Republican Party
Box 67				Miscellaneous 1936-1953
Box 67				"Case for Senator" 1954
Box 67				"Driscoll for Governor" 1949
Box 67				"Eisenhower for President" 1952
				"Hendrickson for Governor" 1940
Box 67					Miscellaneous
Box 68					Itineraries
				"Hendrickson for Senator" 1948
Box 68					Miscellaneous
Box 68					Itineraries
Package 8				Scrapbooks (vols. 5-6) 1948 (2 volumes)
Box 68			South Jersey Port Commission 1935-1946
			Treasury Department
Box 68				Miscellaneous 1937-1948
Box 68				Appropriations 1938-1948
Box 68				Memoranda 1947-1948
Box 68				Pari-Mutuel Racing 1937-1946
Box 69				Railway Taxation 1941-1942
Box 69				Unemployment Compensation Commission 1947
		U.S. Army
Box 69			Consultant Duty, Germany 1947
			Military Government
Box 69				Miscellaneous 1943-1951
Box 69				Executive Orders 1945
Box 69				Reports 1945
		U.S. Senate
Box 70			Miscellaneous 1951-1953
			Acts, Bills and Resolutions
Box 70				1949-1953 (5 folders)
Box 71				1953-1954 (2 folders)
Box 71			On the Atlantic Union Committee 1949
Box 71			Bills introduced, index 1949-1954
Box 72			Calendar of Business 1953-1954
			Commission on Intergovernmental Relations 1954
Box 72				Miscellaneous
Box 72				Meetings
Box 72				Reports (3 folders)
Box 73				Reports
			Committees
				Armed Services
Box 73					Miscellaneous 1953-1954
Box 73					Subcommittee on Public Works 1953
Box 73				Government Operations 1949-1954
				Judiciary
Box 74					Miscellaneous 1951-1954
Box 74					Bricker Amendment 1953-1954
Box 74					Subcommittee on Civil Rights 1953-1954
Box 74					Subcommittee on Immigration and Naturalization 1953
					Subcommittee on Internal Security
Box 74						Miscellaneous 1952-1954
Box 74						Reports 1951-1953
					Subcommittee on Juvenile Delinquency
Box 74						Miscellaneous 1953-1954
Box 74						Executive Sessions 1953-1954
Box 74						Finances 1953-1954
Box 74						Memoranda 1953-1954
Box 74						Reports 1953-1954
Box 75						Testimony 1953-1954
						Transcripts of hearings
Box 75							1953 Nov-Dec (4 folders)
Box 76							1953 Dec-1954 Jan (6 folders)
Box 77							1954 Jan-Sep (7 folders)
Box 78							1954 Sep
Box 78					Subcommittee on Refugees and Escapees 1951-1952
					Subcommittee on Trading With the Enemy Act 1953
Box 78						Miscellaneous
Box 78						Final Report
				Rules and Administration
					Subcommittee on Privileges and Elections
Box 78						Miscellaneous 1952-1953
Box 78						Report of Preliminary Investigation of Senator Joseph R. McCarthy 1952
						Transcripts of Hearings
Box 78							1951 Apr-1952 May
Box 79							1952 Jul
				Small Business 1951-1954
Box 79					Miscellaneous 1954
					Reports 1953
Box 79						Annual 1952, 1953 (2 folders)
Box 79						On Military Procurement 1954
Box 79						On Tax Problems 1953
Box 80						Transcript of Hearings 1951
Box 80			Compendium on the Recall of Gen. Douglas MacArthur 1951
			Memoranda
Box 80				Hendrickson staff 1951-1954 (2 folders)
Box 80				Library of Congress: Legislative Reference Service 1949-1954
Box 80				On wire tapping 1951
Box 80			Military Academies: Appointments 1954
Box 80			On presidential recall 1951
Box 80			Republican Policy Committee 1953-1954
Box 80			Strasbourg Conference Between Delegations of the U.S. Congress and Council of Europe 1951
Box 80			Tributes to Hendrickson 1954
		U.S. Department of State
Box 81			Miscellaneous 1944
			American Embassy, Wellington, New Zealand
Box 81				Miscellaneous 1955-1956
Box 81				Baguio Conference 1955
Box 81				Memoranda 1955-1956
Box 81				Social Functions 1955-1956
Box 81				Tokyo Conference 1956

	Legal records
Box 82-108		Municipal records
			Closed until 1990; destroyed in their entirety, 1991, to protect attorney/client privacy
Box 109-277		Client files
			Closed until 1990; destroyed in their entirety, 1991, to protect attorney/client privacy

	Memorabilia
Box 278		Bonsal, Thomas F. 1943-1944 - biographical material
Box 278		Hendrickson, Olga Bonsal 1955
		Hendrickson, Robert C.
Box 278			Miscellaneous 1922-1964
Box 278			Address lists 1938-1956
			Appointment books
				Personal
Box 278					1943-1951 (Vols. 7-10) (4 volumes)
Box 278					1953-1956 (Vols. 11-14) (4 volumes)
Box 278					1957-1960 (Vols. 15-19) (4 volumes)
Box 279					1961-1962 (Vols. 20 and 21) (2 volumes)
				Office
Box 279					1948-1949 (Vols. 22 and 23) (2 volumes)
Box 279					1950-1951 (Vol. 24) (2 volumes)
Box 279					1955-1964 (Vols. 25 and 26) (2 volumes)
Box 280			Awards and citations 1945-1964
Box 280			Biographical material 1919-1956
Box 280			Financial papers 1936-1956
Box 280			Itineraries 1938-1960
			Newspaper clippings
Box 280				1940-1944
Box 281				1945-1964 (3 folders)
Box 281			Photographs 1948-1956
			Scrapbooks - newspaper clippings
Package 9				1943-1947 (vol. 27)
Package 10				1949-1952 (vol. 28)
Package 11				1952-1953 (vol. 29)
Package 12				1953-1954 (vol. 30)
Box 281			Visitors' register (Vol. 31) 1949-1953

Return to top