Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Herbster, Ben M., 1904- |
| Title: | Ben M. Herbster Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1961-1969 |
| Quantity: | 0.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Printed material, sermons, addresses, etc from the American Protestant clergyman and first president of the United Church of Christ. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Ben Mohr Herbster (1904-1984) was an American Protestant clergyman. A native of Ohio, he was active in social issues such as civil rights. In 1961 he was elected the first president of the United Church of Christ, a position he held for eight years. He died in New York on December 16, 1984.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Ben M. Herbster Papers consists of printed material, sermons, addresses and other material.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Ben M. Herbster Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Ben M. Herbster, 1970.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2010
Revision history: 29 Mar 2012 - inventory added (PRB)
Inventory
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Miscellaneous 1967-1968 | ||||||||||
| Writings | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Addresses and speeches 1961-1969, undated (10 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Chatauqua sermons 1962 | ||||||||||
| Synods | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | 4th General 1963 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 5th General 1965 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 6th General 1967 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | 7th General 1969 | ||||||||||