Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Holstein, Alexander. |
| Title: | Alexander Holstein Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1954-2012 |
| Quantity: | 3 linear feet |
| Abstract: | Correspondence and printed material of Alexander Holstein, an American industrialist and civic leader. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Alexander Holstein (1924-2020) was an industrialist and civic leader that was the Vice President of Operations at Syracuse Ornamental Company (SYROCO).
Holstein graduated from the College of Engineering at Syracuse University and received his master’s degree from the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry. Alex worked at SYROCO, a company that was founded by his grandfather in 1890, as Vice President of Operations. He was also heavily engaged in philanthropy and local civic endeavors. Holstein was on the board for Crouse Irving Memorial Hospital for 25 years, chair of the New York State Hospital Trustees Advisory Board, founder and first Chair of the Jewish Community Foundation of Central New York, member of the Syracuse Jewish Federation Board of Directors, and served on the board of the Interreligious Council of Central New York (Interfaith Works).
Holstein married Charlotte “Chuckie” Holstein in 1946 and they were married for 74 years. They had three children. He died on October 3, 2020.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Alexander Holstein Papers contains correspondence and printed material related to his philanthropic and community work.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Alexander Holstein Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Chuckie Holstein, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Dane Flansburgh
Date: 3 Sep 2024
Revision history:
Inventory
An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.