Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Jefferson, Louise E. |
| Title: | "Indians of the U.S.A." map |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1944 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | map by American artist and author Louise E. Jefferson, showing ancestral tribal lands across the United States |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
Louise E. Jefferson (1908-2002) was a Black American artist and author. A graduate of Hunter College and Columbia University, she helped found the Harlem Artists Guild in the 1930s. She worked for Friendship Press in New York, eventually becoming art director for the press, one of the first Black women to hold such a post at a major publishing house. Many of the maps she created for the press documented racial disparities, injustices, and intolerances in American society.
Jefferson retired in 1960 but continued working as a freelance artist. In 1974 she published The Decorative Arts of Africa, containing her research, photographs, and drawings from visits to Cameroon, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan, Uganda, and Zimbabwe.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The "Indians of the U.S.A." map is a full-color map of the United States created by Louise E. Jefferson, illustrating the locations of ancestral tribal lands across the country. Smaller illustrations document persons and events significant to Native American history such as General George Armstrong Custer and the Niobrara Convocation. Around the edges of the map are names of important Native American individuals including Chief Joseph, Tecumseh, and Powhatan.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
"Indians of the U.S.A." map,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2025.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 14 Apr 2025
Revision history:
Inventory
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| SC 897 | "Indians of the U.S.A." map, by Louise Jefferson for Friendship Press 1944 | ||||||||||