Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Jacobs, Harvey, 1930-
Title:	Harvey Jacobs Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1952-1994
Quantity:	4.25 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American science fiction/fantasy author. Manuscripts for Beautiful Soup, The Egg of the Glak and Other Stories, The Juror, and Summer on a Mountain of Spices. Also, manuscript screenplays and stories, and a small amount of correspondence
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Harvey Jacobs was an American science fiction/fantasy author.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1952 to 1994, the Harvey Jacobs Papers comprises manuscripts for published and unpublished short stories, screenplays and commercials, three novels and one short story collection. In addition, there is a small amount of correspondence, memorabilia, and a brief description of the publishing history of his work, by Mr. Jacobs.

Arranged alphabetically by format, Writings (Boxes 1-3) includes manuscript and screenplay versions of Beautiful Soup (1993), and manuscripts and galley copies of The Egg of the Glak and Other Stories (1969), manuscripts of The Juror (1980) and Summer on a Mountain of Spices (1975) as well as manuscripts of a number of short stories. Several include revisions.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The books that originally came with Mr. Jacobs papers have been separately cataloged and integrated with the library's rare book collections. Please search Libraries Search for these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harvey Jacobs Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Harvey Jacobs, 1980, 1994

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PRB
Date: Oct 1994
Revision history: 17 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 17 Feb 2017 - rehoused, inventory expanded (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical Material
Box 1		Biographical Material

	Correspondence
Box 1		Correspondence 1957, 1961-1968, undated

	Writings
		Books
Box 1			Beautiful Soup - manuscript (9 folders)
Box 2			Beautiful Soup - manuscript (cont.) (2 folders)
Box 2			The Egg of the Glak and Other Stories - manuscript, galleys (8 folders)
Box 3			The Egg of the Glak and Other Stories - manuscript, galleys (cont.) (1 folder)
Box 3			The Juror - manuscript (6 folders)
Box 4			Summer on a Mountain of Spices - manuscript (4 folders)
Box 5			Summer on a Mountain of Spices - manuscript (cont.) (1 folder)
		Scripts
Box 5			The Baby Snatch - manuscript
Box 5			Beautiful Soup - manuscript (2 folders)
Box 5			A Room at the Hotel Moon - manuscript
Box 5			Search a Bird on Sunday - manuscript
Box 6			The Wapshot Scandal - manuscript (3 folders)
Box 6			The War of Camp Omongo - manuscript
Box 6			Miscellaneous manuscripts
		Stories
Box 7			"Fisherman's Week" - manuscript
Box 7			"Reasons of Health" - manuscript
Box 7			Miscellaneous manuscripts, A-B
				Academic Freedom Appetite Barnaby's Chair (2 copies) A Break in the Weather Business and Pleasure Bullfight in Brooklyn
Box 7			Miscellaneous manuscripts, C-D
				The Cheese Stands Alone (2 copies) The Christmas Play City Mouse College Humor Continuity The Cyclops in Love The Dark Child (3 copies) The Death of a Fugitive Dirty Pictures Dynamic Tension
Box 7			Miscellaneous manuscripts, E-F
				End Day Exter Eyes Fire in the Forest The First Cool Day (2 copies) The Fisleman [?] Fun
Box 7			Miscellaneous manuscripts, G
				The Girl Who Drew the Gods (2 copies) Gold Golden Gate (2 copies) Gravity Green Thumb
Box 8			Miscellaneous manuscripts, H-K
				His & Hers Humpty-Dumpty (2 copies) The Hungry Man The Hunter Indian Summer (1 page) Juggler's Weekend (1 page) The Kissing Hill
Box 8			Miscellaneous manuscripts, L
				The Laughing Planet The Lion's Share Little Miss Hickups A Little Reunion (2 copies) Lottery Tickets
Box 8			Miscellaneous manuscripts, M
				A Major Loss Marshmallow Man Midnight Supper A Money Game (2 copies) The Monitor (2 copies) A Musical Education (3 copies) My Life as a Peanut
Box 8			Miscellaneous manuscripts, N-Q
				The Negotiators A New York Evening (2 copies) A Night Song (2 copies) A Night With Miss Wellroth The Numbers (3 copies) Nourishing Boovlal On a Sunday Afternoon (2 copies) Peter Pan Poet Blues Polaroid Babies Quartet
Box 8			Miscellaneous manuscripts, R-So
				The Rainmaker Rapunsel Ready When You Are The Shark and the Moon Should I Call Shirley? A Sleep Map of the World A Small Holding Smile, November Solo So Like the Candles (2 copies) Song of the Cat (3 copies)
Box 8			Miscellaneous manuscripts, Sp-T
				Spawning Static The Stimulus Strangers in the Desert The Sweetheart of Delta Chi Sylvie A Temporary Upheaval (3 copies) Tiger, Tiger Twelve to One
Box 9			Miscellaneous manuscripts, V
				A Virile Excursion to the Kingdom of Chic The Virile Midget (2 copies) The Visionary Company (2 copies) A Visit from Princess Ramakaz
Box 9			Miscellaneous manuscripts, W
				The Weekend (2 copies) A Western Story (3 copies) (also known as "Homing") The Wide World of Sports (2 copies) A Wind Age The Witness
Box 9			Fragments
Box 9		Memorabilia

Return to top