Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Kelly, Fred C. (Fred Charters), 1882-1959.
Title:	Fred C. Kelly Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1867-1966
Quantity:	6.75 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American humorist, journalist, author. Collections contains correspondence, 1892-1959; typescript mss. of articles, books, poems, speeches, and stories; notebooks; photographs; and memorabilia, including clippings, drawings, genealogical material, reviews, a scrapbook, and a subject file relating to Orville and Wilbur Wright, of whom Kelly wrote a number of articles and books. Correspondents include, among others, George Ade, Sherwood Anderson, Norman Angell, Newton D. Baker, Nicholas Biddle, Margaret Bourke-White, Bruce Catton, Winston Churchill, Irvin S. Cobb, Homer Croy, Warren G. Harding, Arthur Hosking, John T. McCutcheon, André Maurois, H.L. Mencken, William Sydney Porter (O. Henry), J. B. Priestley, Clarence Rook, Theodore Roosevelt, Vilhjalmur Stefansson, Ida Tarbell, Booth and Susanah Tarkington, Albert Payson Terhune, Harry S. Truman, Wendell Willkie, P.G. Wodehouse, Orville Wright, and Art Young.
Language:	English, scattered items in French and Japanese
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Fred Charters Kelly (1882-1959) was an American humorist, newspaperman, columnist and author. From 1910 to 1918 he wrote the first syndicated Washington news column. He was the official biographer of the Wright brothers and was active in the efforts to bring the Kitty Hawk to the Smithsonian Institution from the British Museum in London. He also wrote books on George Ade, Kin Hubbard, and various other subjects, and was the author of numerous magazine articles.

Kelly was born in 1882 in Xenia, Ohio and graduated from public school there before attending the University of Michigan from 1900 to 1902. He began his newspaper career at the age of 14 as a local correspondent for a small town newspaper, and then authored a humorous column for the Cleveland Plain Dealer for five years. During his early years in Washington, while writing his column "Statesmen, Real and Near," he began contributing special articles to leading magazines. For 18 months during World War I, he served as special agent for the Federal Bureau of Investigation. After the war, Mr. Kelly bought and operated a farm in Peninsula, Ohio, continued free-lance writing, and began his career as an author. His works include Human Nature in Business (1920), How to Lose Your Money Prudently (1933), The Wright Brothers (1943), and George Ade - Warm Hearted Satirist (1947).

Kelly was a member of the National Press Club, Overseas Writers Club, and the Players Club. He had a son, Fred C. Kelly Jr., with his first wife; with his second wife, Marcelle van den Heuvel, whom he married in 1938, he had two children, Brian and Jeanne.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Fred C. Kelly Papers consist of correspondence, subject files, writings, photographs, and material relating to the Wright brothers. Each of these categories is further subdivided as shown in the shelf list.

Correspondence relates to Kelly's various interests and writings and to personal matters. His correspondents include George Ade, Claude Bowers, Andre Maurois, Max Lerner, William Borah, William Sydney Porter, Warren Harding, 0.0. McIntyre, and E.L. Mencken. Included are more than one hundred letters from Booth Tarkington (1918-1945). Mr. Kelly's letters from Orville and Milton Wright are separated from this category and filed with the Wright brothers material. The scrapbook of clippings in Oversize 1 also contains some correspondence, including that of Henry Allen, Governor of Kansas, and George Ade.

Subject files include ephemera, biographical and genealogical material, drawings and newspaper clippings, both loose and compiled in a scrapbook.

Writings includes manuscripts, proof sheets and printed copies of articles; books; notebooks; notes; outlines; a playlet; poems; short stories; and speeches.

Photographs includes pictures of Mr. Kelly, his family and friends.

The subject of the Wright brothers was important to Mr. Kelly. In addition to writing a book, The Wright Brothers, and various articles, Kelly was also the editor of a book of letters, Miracle at Kitty Hawk (1951), and How We Invented the Airplane, by Orville Wright. Wright Brothers material includes letters to Mr. Kelly from Orville and Milton Wright; photostatic copies of correspondence of the Wrights with each other and to and from others; diagrams; legal documents; photographs and writings by and about the Wrights.

German and French political posters (1934-1936) and an etching mentioned in the original finding aid cannot be located as of 2/27/09.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author and the outgoing is arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject or type; clippings about and by Mr. Kelly are arranged chronologically, and clippings of reviews of his books are arranged alphabetically by book title. Writings are arranged alphabetically by type; within that, articles and books are arranged alphabetically by title and manuscripts of other authors are arranged alphabetically by author.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Fred C. Kelly Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Fred C. Kelly, 1949-1959.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MA
Date: Mar 1968
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); 9 Dec 2009 - biog correction (MRC); 17 Nov 2015 - 2d folder of outgoing correspondence added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence, incoming
		See also Scrapbook in Oversize 1.
Box 1		A, B 1900-1959
Box 1		Ade, George 1907, 1909, 1942
Box 1		Ade, George, re Kelly's book about 1946-1950
Box 1		Atlantic Monthly 1933-1959
Box 1		Anderson, Sherwood
Box 1		Angell, Norman 1952
Box 1		Baker, Newton D. 1916-1923
Box 1		Beard, Charles
Box 1		Biddle, Nicholas 1927
Box 1		Blythe, Samuel G. 1911, 1922
Box 1		Bok, Edward 1918
Box 1		Borah, William E. 1933
Box 1		Bourke-White, Margaret 1933
Box 1		Bowers, Claude G. 1936-1957
Box 1		Brisbane, Arthur 1924
Box 1		Burnside, Cameron
Box 1		C 1907-1950
Box 1		Catton, Bruce 1956
Box 1		Cobb, Irvin S.
Box 1		Corey, Madison
Box 1		Cox, James 1913, 1920
Box 1		Croy, Homer 1958, 1959
Box 1		D, E, F 1935-1959
Box 1		Davis, Robert 1913-1939
Box 1		DeWoody, Charles 1918, 1921
Box 1		Elliott, Edward C. 1932-1945
			See also Purdue University (Box 2).
		Family
			See Kelly children (Box 1).
Box 1		Fitzgerald, Barry 1944
Box 1		Ford Motor Co. 1956
Box 1		G, H 1900-1958
Box 1		Gardner, Lester 1942, 1945
Box 1		Greene, Franklin L. 1920, 1924
Box 1		Harcourt, Brace 1941
Box 1		Harding, Warren G. 1921, 1922
		Henry, O.
			See Porter, William Sydney (Box 2).
Box 1		Hollis, Henry F. 1938-1948
Box 1		Hosking, Arthur N. 1947
Box 1		Howe, Will D. 1945
Box 1		Hull, Cordell 1938
Box 1		Hull, Josephine
Box 1		Hutton, Graham 1938, 1946
Box 1		I, J, K 1917-1950
Box 1		Insull, Samuel 1933
Box 1		Janis, Elsie
Box 1		Kelly children 1919
Box 1		Kettering, C.F. 1943, 1946
Box 1		Klein, Julius 1933
Box 1		L, M 1895, 1907-1959
Box 1		Lane, Franklin K. 1915
Box 1		Lasky, Jesse L. 1943
Box 1		Lattimore, Owen 1957
Box 1		Leacock, Stephen
Box 1		Lepla, A. 1930
Box 1		Lerner, Max 1946
Box 1		J.B. Lippincott Co. 1959
Box 1		Little-Brown Co. 1932
Box 2		MacFarland, Marvin W. 1953, 1958
Box 2		MacMillan Book Co. (Plagiarism) 1953
Box 2		Marshall, Thomas R. 1914
Box 2		Maurois, André
Box 2		Mayfield, Earle B. 1958, 1959
Box 2		Mayfield, John S. 1959
			See also Curator's correspondence re Kelly to Mayfield, John S. (Box 3) and Writings: Books: My Father, Santa Claus and Me (Oversize 1).
Box 2		McCulloch, Carlton B. 1944
Box 2		McCutcheon, John T.
Box 2		McIntyre, O. O.
Box 2		Mencken, H. L. 1928-1945
Box 2		Moley, Raymond 1935
Box 2		Morgan, Byron 1907-1959
Box 2		Mowrer, Paul Scott 1941
Box 2		[re] My Father, Santa Claus and Me 1959
Box 2		N, O 1909-1956
Box 2		Nenni, Pietro 1920-1946
Box 2		Newton, Byron 1927
Box 2		Oumansky, C. 1939-1944
Box 2		P, R 1910-1958
Box 2		Palmer, Frederick 1945
Box 2		Peary, Robert E. 1911
Box 2		Phillips, John Sanburn 1943, 1945
Box 2		Porter, William Sydney (O. Henry)
			See also Writings: Articles by Kelly: "Concerning Mr. O. Henry" (Box 9).
Box 2		Priestly, John B.
Box 2		Purdue University 1933, 1946
			See also Elliott, Edward C. (Box 1).
Box 2		Putnam, G. P. 1928, 1929
Box 2		Reed, Thomas R. 1942
Box 2		Rogers, Bruce 1945-1952
Box 2		Romain, Jules 1940
Box 2		Rook, C.A. 1912, 1913
Box 2		Roosevelt, Theodore, Jr. 1941
Box 2		S, T 1900-1958
Box 2		Saturday Evening Post 1911
Box 2		Schuster, M. Lincoln 1939
Box 2		Smithsonian Institution 1938-1948
Box 2		Snow, Edgar 1945
Box 2		Stanley, Lee 1949
Box 2		Stefansson, Vilhjalmur 1939-1958
Box 2		Sullivan, Mark 1915
Box 2		Tarbell, Ida M. 1897, 1925
		Tarkington, Booth
Box 2			1918-1945 (4 folders)
Box 3			Typescript copies 1923-1945
Box 22-24			Duplicates of Tarkington material 1918-1945
Box 3		Tarkington, Susanah 1931
Box 3		Terhune, Albert Payson 1925
Box 3		Thomas, Norman 1938
Box 3		Truman, Harry S. 1957
Box 3		U, V, W, Y 1915-1956
Box 3		Vail Loon, Hendrik Willem 1922
Box 3		Webster, Harold T. 1921-1943
Box 3		West, Rebecca 1947
Box 3		Willkie, Wendell 1943
Box 3		Wodehouse, P.G. 1947-1958
Box 3		Woodring, Harry H. 1955
Box 3		Young, Art 1934-1943
Box 3		Unidentified 1911-1959
Box 3		Outgoing correspondence 1941-1959 (2 folders)
Box 3		Curator's correspondence re Kelly to Mayfield, John S. 1958-1968
			See also Mayfield, John S. (Box 2).

	Subject files
Box 4		Addresses, calling cards, names 1893, 1954
Box 4		Ade, George, holograph manuscript in French
Box 4		Advertisements re Kelly's works 1911-1952
Box 4		Air flight 1943-1957
Box 4		Animals 1913-1959
Box 4		Articles by others, A-W, unknown 1927-1953
Box 4		Bicycle craze 1888-1896, 1953-1955
Box 4		Biographical material 1905, 1958-1959
Box 4		Book list 1953
Box 4		Brochures and handbooks 1940-1957
Box 4		Charters family, genealogy 1881
		Clippings
Box 4			About Kelly 1909-1956, undated
Box 5			By Kelly 1904-1956, undated
Box 5			By and about others 1910-1957
Box 4			Duplicates 1909-1956, undated - clippings about Kelly
Oversize 1			Scrapbook 1920-1930 - mostly clippings about Kelly, also contains a few items of correspondence
		Book reviews of books by Kelly
Box 5			David Ross, Modern Pioneer 1946
Box 5			The Fun of Knowing Folks 1923
Box 5			George Ade - Warm Hearted Satirist 1947
Box 5			How Shrewd Speculators Win 1932
Box 5			How to Lose Your Money Prudently 1933
Box 5			The Life and Times of Kin Hubbard 1952, 1953
Box 6			One Thing Leads to Another 1936
Box 6			The Permanent Ade 1947
Box 6			Why You Win or Lose 1930
Box 6			The Wisdom of Laziness 1924
Box 6		Book reviews by Kelly 1949
Box 6		Letters to the editor, by Kelly 1941-1958
Box 6		Play reviews re "Kin Hubbard," based on biography by Kelly 1951
Box 6		College course outlines, printed 1900
Box 6		Curator's file 1959, 1968
			See also Curator's correspondence re Kelly to Mayfield, John S. (Box 3).
Box 6		Drawings, original of and about Kelly 1919-1943
Oversize 1		Etching (missing as of 2/26/09)
Box 6		European Trips 1926-1929, 1932-1938
Box 6		Farm records, Akron, Ohio 1913-1955
Box 6		Financial 1901-1957
Box 6		Government publications 1947-1955
		Hat / Churchill memorabilia
Box 6A			Hat, autographed by Churchill, and associated photograph
Box 6			Related correspondence, manuscripts and printed material 1901-1966
Box 7		Hubbard, Kin
Box 7		Hosking, Arthur N. 1898, 1948
Box 7		Kelly family 1867-1897
Box 7		Laughhead, Bill - drawings
Box 7		Legal documents 1911-1947
Box 7		Medal 1943
Box 7		Membership cards 1913-1939
Box 7		Memorial service and death notices, for Kelly May 1959
Box 7		Newton, Byron Rufus 1917
Box 8		Personal items of Kelly
Box 8		Plagiarism 1953
Oversize 1		Poster
			Original finding aid also lists French and German posters; these are missing as of 2/27/09
Box 8		Programs 1900-1955
Box 8		Russian trip 1933, 1934
Box 8		Stationery
Box 8		Tarkington, Booth 1957
Box 8		Weather 1954

	Writings
		Articles
Box 9			"Ambassador as Democrat" printed in Esquire April, 1937
Box 9			"An American Promoter" printed in Coronet November, 1936
Box 9			"Are You the Right Mr. Ross?" printed in Woman's World Magazine (2 copies)
Box 9			"The Astrology Nonsense"
Box 9			"At Last the Pre-fabs are Here"
Box 9			"Battling for Beauty" printed in The Land
Box 9			"Been Playing the Market" printed in Cosmopolitan September, 1928
Box 9			"Beyond College by Armchair" printed in Coronet September, 1939
Box 9			"Bill Nye Found Humor in Laramie" printed in The Westerners 1956
Box 9			"Bill Nye's Humor" printed in The Quarterly Review Autumn, 1947 (2 copies)
Box 9			"Booth Tarkington Tells Why Our Young Folks Are So Wild" printed in Colliers, photostat July 28, 1923
Box 9			"A Boy Who Hated School" printed in Colliers Oct. 6, 1923
Box 9			"Business Profits and Human Nature" printed in Japanese (2 copies)
Box 9			"Can You Escape Rheumatism?" printed in Coronet December,1939
Box 9			"Can Your Dog Reason?" printed in The Dearborn Independent June 18, 1927
Box 9			"Capitalizing Vanity" printed in Saturday Evening Post September 16, 1916
Box 9			"Charles F. Brush" Printed in Quarterly Review (2 copies)
Box 9			"Chic Sale Makes Us Laugh At Ourselves" printed in The American Magazine 1923 (2 copies)
Box 9			"Clues We All Leave"
Box 9			"College for Cops" printed in Coronet January 1941
Box 9			"College Thoughts After Twenty Years" printed in The Michigan Chimes December 1921 (3 copies)
Box 9			"The Commercial Genius of 'Worms Jones'"
Box 9			"Common Mistakes in Making a Will"
Box 9			"Concerning Mr. O. Henry" 1910 - typescript essay, includes letter from Clarence L. [last name illegible]
Box 9			"Conversational Sample" printed in Esquire March, 1936
Box 9			"A Date With Destiny"
Box 9			"Detectives Can Guess Our Behavior"
Box 9			"Dictaphone Episode"
Box 9			"Discovering the Plans of Old Ironsides" 1956 (6 copies)
Box 9			"Do Men Marry Red Hair?" printed
Box 9			"Do We Like to be Fooled?" printed in Cosmopolitan March, 1921 (3 copies)
Box 9			"Do You Really Know About Things?" printed in The American Magazine
Box 9			"Ever Try to Stand on Two Feet?"
Box 9			"Explaining Your Dogs Behavior" The Dearborn Independent June 4, 1927 - proof copy (2 copies)
Box 9			"Fallacies Nobody Questions"
Box 9			"A Famous Spy Case of the F.B.I."
Box 9			"Financial Bubbles Ancient and Modern"
Box 9			"Flying the First Plane" printed in Catholic Digest 1951
Box 9			"Following the Crowd" printed in The Saturday Evening Post July 21, 1917
Box 9			"Foolish Questions Asked in Schools" printed in The American Magazine
Box 9			"Footsteps in Times Square"
Box 9			"Forecasting Honesty"
Box 9			"Forecasting Your Marriage Risks"
Box 9			"For Clearer Thinking"
Box 9			"Foretelling Human Behavior" (3 versions)
Box 9			"Foretelling Our Theatrical Tastes"
Box 9			"Funny Adventures of a Smoker Abroad" printed in Every Week Magazine 1935
Box 9			"The French Are Polite" reprint from Esquire December, 1939 (2 copies)
Box 9			"George Ade, Master of Warm Hearted Satire" printed in Michigan Alumnus 1955
Box 9			"Getting the Site for the Rockefeller Center" 1958 (2 copies)
Box 9			"Giving the Youngsters a Chance" printed in The Commentator
Box 9			"The Gloom of Humor" printed in Harper's
Box 9			"The Greatest Cause of Disability" (2 copies)
Box 9			"Handwriting and Murder" (2 copies)
Box 9			"Have We Enough Stupidity?" printed in The Commentator
Box 9			"Have You an Almanac or Only a Thermometer?" - reprint
Box 9			"Have You a Put or Call?"
Box 10			"He Gets Acquainted"
Box 10			"Hotel Men Know What to Expect" (2 copies)
Box 10			"How Detectives Work" (2 copies)
Box 10			"How Does a Detective Trail His Man?" printed in Ladies Home Journal March, 1919
Box 10			"How Fast Can You Think Straight?"
Box 10			"How Five Dollars Started a Revolution"
Box 10			"How General Marshall Became Chief of Staff" (2 versions)
Box 10			"How Long Can You Live?" 1921
Box 10			"How Perseverance Caught a Spy"
Box 10			"How Tecumseh Brought in Prosperity"
Box 10			"How Tecumseh Transformed Itself" (3 copies)
Box 10			"How to Choose the Right Stocks"
Box 10			"How to Handle Problem Children"
Box 10			"How to Protect Your Innards Diplomatically" (2 copies)
Box 10			"How to Recognize Liars"
Box 10			"How to Simplify Life"
Box 10			"How to Spot Liars"
Box 10			"Human Nature in Business" printed in Japanese
Box 10			"I, Being of Sound Mind," printed in Nation's Business May, 1948
Box 10			"I Sold Gold Bricks to Bankers" (2 copies)
Box 10			"I Was a Funny Man," printed copy, The Commentator
Box 10			"If You Want to Manage People," printed in Your Life 1943
Box 10			"In My Home Town" (2 copies)
Box 10			"I'd Like to Try it Over"
Box 10			"Inflation - What is It?"
Box 10			"Inspecting a Harem"
Box 10			"International Finance"
Box 10			"Is Better Health Due to the Doctors?" printed in The New York Times Current History 1923
Box 10			"Is the Supreme Court a Court?"
Box 10			"It Isn't Easy to Disappear" (2 versions)
Box 10			"It Sometimes Happens"
Box 10			"It's Easy to Fool People"
Box 10			"Jokes That Tickled Grandpa" (3 copies)
Box 10			"Kin Hubbard Has Won Fame By Writing Two Sentences a Day" printed in The American Magazine
Box 10			"Know Your Own Talents," printed in Coronet October, 1944
Box 10			"Lawyers and Liars" printed in Coronet September, 1938
Box 10			"Learn to Think Straight" printed in Your Life (2 copies)
Box 10			"A Life of John D. Rockefeller" (2 copies)
Box 10			"Love in the Gay Nineties" (2 copies)
Box 10			"Mail Order Companies Outguess the Customers," (2 copies)
Box 10			"Making Friends as a Business Asset," printed in Leslie's Weekly, November 6, 1920
Box 10			"The Man Who Played Too Much" printed in McClure's, January, [1919]
Box 10			"A Man Who Wouldn't Make Enemies," printed in McClure's, December 1919
Box 10			"The Man Who Wouldn't Make Friends" printed in McClure's November, 1919 (2 copies)
Box 10			"Man's Triumph Over the Prostate" printed in Esquire November (2 copies)
Box 10			"A Master At Spotting Fraud" (2 copies)
Box 10			"Mastering Appearance With Color Schemes," printed in People's Favorite Magazine (2 copies)
Box 10			"Misunderstood Moscow" printed in Coronet February, 1937
Box 10			"Monkey Sense," printed in Coronet, August 1938
Box 10			"The Most Famous Patent Case," printed in Michigan Alumnus 1957 (2 copies)
Box 10			"My Adventure in Surgery," printed in a pamphlet (3 copies)
Box 10			"My Battle Against Roadside Eyesores"
Box 10			"My Bout With Santa Claus," printed in Coronet December, 1943
Box 10			"My Discovery of a Great Humorist"
Box 10			"My Friend 'Chic Sale'"
Box 10			"My Struggle For Compactness," printed copy
Box 10			"Myths of Aviation"
Box 10			"New Soaps and Old Habits"
Box 10			"A New Plague," 1952
Box Box 10 10			"Oldest and Biggest Fake - Astrology"
Box 10			"Our Number Prejudices"
Box 11			"Overcoming the Objections to Being Human," printed in Cosmopolitan April, 1922
Box 11			"A Path to Clearer Thinking," printed in Coronet June, 1939
Box 11			"A Patriotic Burglary," 1957 (2 copies)
Box 11			"Phone Companies Have Your Number," (2 copies)
Box 11			"A Plea For Fat Gals"
Box 11			"Postal Inspectors Get Their Man"
Box 11			"Predicting How Weather Affects Us," (2 copies)
Box 11			"Predicting Customers' Behavior," (2 copies)
Box 11			"Predicting Success at Salesmanship," (2 copies)
Box 11			"A Primer of Economics," printed in Esquire November, 1935
Box 11			"A Psychic Mystery of Aviation," printed in Michigan Alumnus 1958 (3 copies)
Box 11			"Psychology of Shoppers' Behavior," (2 copies)
Box 11			"A Quick Glimpse at Ireland," printed
Box 11			"Reflections on Farming," printed in The American Mercury
Box 11			"Rhode Island Postpones Its Resolution"
Box 11			"Royal Historian of Oz," printed in Michigan Alumnus 1953 (2 copies)
Box 11			"Saving a Circus Parade"
Box 11			"Seek Not Blue Ribbons But Traits," (2 copies)
Box 11			"The Shoestring Headline," printed in Coronet October, 1939
Box 11			"Short Cuts to Friend-Making," printed in Coronet May, 1939
Box 11			"Simplify Your Letter Writing," reprint from Coronet July, 1939 (5 copies)
Box 11			"The Social Lobby in Washington," printed in The Dearborn Independent May 14, 1927 (2 copies)
Box 11			"A Soft Spot For Hardware," printed in The Rotarian December, 1958 - includes first proof copy (5 copies)
Box 11			"Speeding Up Your Senses," printed in Cosmopolitan October, 1921 (2 copies)
Box 11			"Spotting Fraud in Documents"
Box 11			"Strokes, The Methodical," printed in All-Story Weekly
Box 11			"The Story of the Rise of the Kerosene King" - galley with corrections
Box 11			"Suckers in Oil"
Box 11			"Tabloid Detective Tales"
Box 11			"A Talk With Henry Ford"
Box 11			"Teach Yourself to Travel," printed in Coronet March, 1939
Box 11			"That Molineux Murder Case," (3 copies)
Box 11			"They're Wondering What You'll Read"
Box 11			"This Ambassador's a Real Democrat"
Box 11			"Thoughts on Waste Effort," printed in Coronet January, 1938
Box 11			"To Find Dog Intelligence," printed copy in Esquire August, 1939
Box 11			"Understanding Your Dog," printed in The Dearborn Independent May 28, 1927 (2 copies)
Box 11			"Want to Live on a Farm?" printed in Coronet August, 1952
Box 11			"We Americans in Europe," printed in Coronet November, 1939
Box 11			"We Can All Be Detectives"
Box 11			"We Can Read Ourselves Educated"
Box 11			"We Have With Us This Evening"
Box 11			"Weather For U.S. Army"
Box 11			"Weather Wise for Merchandise," printed in The American Legion Monthly September, 1932
Box 11			"What Happens When You Sell Short"
Box 11			"What Hokum do You Practice?"
Box 11			"What Makes Girls 'Bad' and 'Good'," printed copy
Box 11			"What Technocracy Means to the Utilities," printed in Public Utilities Fortnightly February 2, 1933
Box 11			"Wheels and the Law"
Box 11			"When All Highways Were Disgraceful," printed in Michigan Alumnus May, 1957 (2 copies)
Box 11			"When Grunewald Was a Spy Chaser," (3 versions)
Box 11			"When Old Boys Succeed With Young Women"
Box 11			"When the Senate Opens," printed in Harper's Weekly May, 1914
Box 11			"When You Get Up to Talk," printed in Coronet August, 1939
Box 12			"Where Science Overtakes Criminals"
Box 12			"Where to Watch Your Step in Stocks"
Box 12			"Which Words Do You Use Most?" printed in The American Magazine
Box 12			"Who Lands Good Jobs - And Why" (2 copies)
Box 12			"Who Shall Spend Your Money?" printed in Collier's Feb. 2, 1924
Box 12			"Why Criminals Can Be Taught"
Box 12			"Why Gossips Are Good Neighbors"
Box 12			"Why I Am Pro-Russian," reprint from Digest and Review Magazine 1944 (3 copies)
Box 12			"Wine Detective," printed copy from Coronet April, 1937
Box 12			"A Woman's Grip"
Box 12			"You Always Can Tell," printed in The American Legion April,1932
Box 12			"Your Dog's Instincts," printed in The Dearborn Independent June 11, 1927
Box 12			"Your Strategy on a Trip to Europe," European Travels 1933-1934 (18 manuscripts)
Box 22-24			Duplicates
			Untitled manuscripts
Box 12				by Peter Grim as told to Fred C. Kelly
				by pseudonyms
Box 12					Allison, Oscar
Box 12					Hicks, Elwood
Box 12					Miscellaneous short articles 1917 - 1953
Box 12					Fragments of articles
		Books
Box 12			American Adventure
Box 13			The Bastard Who Invaded England - typescript carbon, 2 copies; typescript, final (2 folders)
Box 13			The Best of Kin Hubbard, collected by Kelly
Box 14			The Bicycle Book - Chapters I-IV, incomplete, 2 versions
Box 14			George Ade
Box 14			The Life and Times of Kin Hubbard
			My Father, Santa Claus and Me
Box 14				Proof sheets 1958
Oversize 1				Published edition in slipcase 1958 - hand-colored illustrations on cover and title page; inscribed and dedicated to John S. Mayfield
			One Born Every Minute
Box 14				Chapters I-XIX
Box 15				Chapters XX-XXXIV
Box 15				Chapters I-XVII, section 1
Box 15				Chapters XVIII-XXXIII, section 2
Box 15				Incomplete version
Box 15			Seeing Russia is Fun
Box 16			Untitled European trip
Box 16			Chapters, extracts, fragments 1933
		Columns
			Kellygrams
Box 16				Proofs 1925, 1926, 1927, 1929 (2 folders)
Box 16				Proofs and manuscripts undated
Box 16			Nation's Business, printed 1925-1932
		Newspapers
Box 16			The Omnigraph, high school paper edited by Kelly, holograph and printed 1896, 1899
		Notebooks
Box 16			School chemistry
Box 16			School English
Box 16			School English history
Box 17			Story ideas
		Notes
Box 17			General
		Outlines
Box 17			General
		Playlets
Box 17			The Country Editor 1913
		Poems
Box 17			General
		Press releases
Box 17			"Abroad at Home" 1935
		Short story
Box 17			Untitled
		Speeches
Box 17			General 1900
		Writings of others
			Articles about Kelly
Box 22-24				Duplicates
Box 17			Brownell, William C., untitled manuscript
Box 17			Chapman, William Carlton, T. Jefferson Plum, Unofficial Diplomatist
			Corey, Herbert
Box 17				Article
Box 17				Books, A Hard Old Man and It's Been a Good Show
Box 18			Hubbard, Kin, article, "Kin Hubbard Autobiography"
Box 18			Kelly, William Byron, article
Box 18			Post, Geoffrey, article
Box 18			Sale, Charles (Chic), article

	Photographs
Box 18		Animals 1895, 1896
Oversize 1		Deming, Zell Hart - inscribed to Fred Kelly
Box 18		Europe 1934, 1946
Box 18		Friends 1927, 1933
Box 18		Homes, buildings
Box 18		Kelly, adult 1920, 1929
Box 18		Kelly and friends 1909, 1956, 1958
Box 18		Kelly, infant and child 1894
Box 18		Kelly, young man 1904
Oversize 1		Kelly's mother
Box 18		Kelly, parents and grandparents, brother 1889, 1904
Box 18		Tintypes and very early photos
Box 18		Wife and children 1955
Box 18		Unidentified
Oversize 1		Unidentified man in hat

	Wright Brothers material
		Correspondence to Kelly
Box 19			From Orville Wright 1939-1948
Box 19			From Milton Wright 1951
Box 19		Correspondence of Orville and Wilbur Wright to and from others, and to each other, photostats 1895-1946
		Clippings
Box 20			About the Wrights 1943-1953
			Book reviews
Box 20				How We Invented the Airplane, by O. Wright, introduction by F. C. Kelly 1953-1954
Box 20				Miracle at Kitty Hawk, by F. C. Kelly 1951
Box 20				The Wright Brothers, by F. C. Kelly 1943-1945
Box 20		Diagrams, Kitty Hawk 1906, 1913
Box 20		Flight, research material 1904-1949
Box 20		Langley Affair 1921-1944
Box 20		Legal documents 1948, 1951
Box 20		Maps
Box 20		Photographs 1897-1909, 1948
		Writings about the Wrights by F. C. Kelly
Box 21			Articles, manuscript and printed 1940-1953
			Book, The Wright Brothers
Box 21				Galley proof
Box 21				Page proof (one page)
Box 21				Notes and Synopses, photostats 1948
		Writings about the Wrights by others
Box 21			Articles, photostats and printed material 1909-1954
Box 21			Book, The Kitty Hawk, by Rose and Shavelson, mimeographed 1955
Box 21		Writings by Orville Wright, printed and photostats 1889, 1921-1948
Box 21		Writings by Wilbur Wright 1902 - manuscripts and photostats

Return to top