Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Kent, Norman, 1903-1972.
Title:	Norman Kent Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1920-1971
Quantity:	13.75 linear ft.
Abstract:	The papers of the American printmaker, watercolorist, and editor of American Artist include correspondence, artwork, writings, and memorabilia.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Artist and art educator Norman Kent (1903-1972) graduated from the Rochester Institute of Technology in 1925. He began his career as a Buffalo-based illustrator before teaching at Hobart and William Smith colleges in Geneva. He later served as the editor of American Artist magazine for more than 25 years. Kent was best known for his woodcuts and watercolor landscapes. [From http://artoncampus.rit.edu/artist/64/]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1920 to 1971, the Norman Kent Papers comprise a Correspondence-subject file, Artwork, Writings, and Memorabilia of the American wood-engraver, illustrator, printmaker, and watercolorist (1903-1972). The collection reflects Kent's personal and professional life as an educator, working artist, author, and editor of American Artist.

Arranged alphabetically, the Correspondence-subject file (Boxes 1-24) constitutes the largest portion of the collection, and contains biographical material, family correspondence, and personal and professional correspondence and related material, much of the latter in connection with American Artist. Throughout his career Norman Kent corresponded with artists (John Taylor Arms, Ralph Avery, Isabel Bishop, Charles E. Burchfield, John DePol, James D. Havens, Roy M. Mason, Coulton Waugh, Edward Winter, Andrew Wyeth); libraries and art collections (Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Archives of American Art, Library of Congress, Metropolitan Museum of Art, National Gallery of Art, Old Town Galleries, Rochester Memorial Art Gallery); educational institutions (Art Students League of New York, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Pratt Institute, Rochester Institute of Technology, Syracuse University); art organizations (American Institute of Graphic Arts, American Watercolor Society, Prairie Print Makers, Print Club of Rochester); and the editorial staff of American Artist (Arthur Guptill, Janice Lovoos, Henry Pitz, Ernest W. Watson, Frederic Whitaker). The correspondence also records the frequent confusion by others of Norman Kent with artists Rockwell Kent and Norman Rockwell, an example of which may be seen in the A. N. Marquis Company's erratum sheet issued for the 1968 edition of Who's Who in America (Box 14).

Artwork (Box 25) contains inventories and lists of Kent's work, 16 of his drawings and prints, and six examples of the work of unidentified artists. The inventories and lists pertain to works that Kent loaned for exhibition, those consigned for sale at a commercial gallery, and collections in which he is represented.

Writings (Box 25) features drafts and published essays as well as book review manuscripts. Most of the writings appeared in American Artist or other periodicals, and exhibition catalogs. Also included in this section are a journal which Kent kept on a 1963 trip to Scandinavia and an undated notebook with drafts of miscellaneous writings.

Memorabilia (Boxes 25-28) includes calendars, financial material, photographs, and printed material. Diary and appointment calendars (1920-1970) document, with only a few short gaps, Kent's student days through his first year of retirement. Financial material (1926-1970) records Kent's art sales, personal finances, and royalty statements. Printed material consists of clippings about Kent or those which were of interest to him. Also included are exhibition announcements and catalogs of Kent's one-man and group shows as well as those of other artists.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Norman Kent Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Norman Kent, 1965-1975.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: JOD
Date: Nov 1992
Revision history: 20 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (AMCon)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence-subject file
Box 1		Biographical material
		Family correspondence
Box 1			Kent, Carl H., Jr. (brother) 1955
Box 1			Kent, Carl H., Sr. (father) 1933
Box 1			Kent, Suzanne (daughter) 1948-1971, undated
Box 1			Miscellaneous relatives
Box 1		A (7 folders)
Box 1		Abbe, Elfriede Martha 1956-1960
Box 1		Abeles, Sigmund 1964
Box 1		Abell, Walter 1943-1944
Box 1		Harry N. Abrams, Inc. 1955-1964, undated
Box 1		Addison Gallery of American Art 1957-1967
Box 1		Ades, Harold 1966-1970
Box 1		Adler, Elmer 1929-1959
Box 1		Aiken, Charles A. 1964-1969
Box 1		Albany Institute of History and Art 1944-1966, undated
Box 1		Albright-Knox Art Gallery 1930-1964
			See also Hekking, William M.
Box 1		Allied Publications, Inc. 1960-1966
Box 1		Altman, Harold 1958-1967
Box 1		The Amateur Artist 1955-1956
Box 1		American Academy of Art 1960-1961
		American Artist
Box 2			Financial 1955-1960
Box 2			Form letters
Box 2			Mailing list
Box 2			Office memoranda 1947-1970, undated
Box 2			Press releases 1948-1959
Box 2			Readers' comments - excerpts
Box 2			Resumes
Box 2			Staff meetings 1955-1959, undated - minutes
Box 2			Miscellaneous 1952-1971, undated
Box 2		American Artists Group, Inc. 1941-1964
		American College Society of Print Collectors
			See Reitzel, Marques E.
Box 2		American Institute of Graphic Arts 1933-1956
Box 2		American National Committee of Engraving 1940-1941
		American Society of Bookplate Collectors and Designers
			See Baer, Carlyle S.
Box 2		American Society of Wood Engravers 1947-1948, undated
Box 2		American Watercolor Society 1939-1966, undated
Box 2		Anderson, Ernfred 1936-1961
Box 2		Angelo, Valenti 1935-1969, undated
Box 2		Archives of American Art 1956-1965
Box 2		Arellanes, Audrey 1963-1969
Box 2		Arms, John Taylor and Dorothy 1932-1953, undated (2 folders)
Box 2		Aronson, Irene 1959-1968
		Art Academy of Cincinnati
			See Barnett, Herbert P.
Box 2		Art Association of Indianapolis, Indiana 1956-1966
Box 2		The Art Digest 1943-1951
Box 2		Art Directors Club (New York, N.Y.) 1953-1962
Box 2		Art News 1956-1965
Box 2		Art Students League (New York, N.Y.) 1935-1967
Box 2		Arthur, Revington 1957-1960
Box 2		Artist Publishing Company 1956-1959
Box 2		Artists and Writers Guild, Inc. 1952-1957
Box 2		Artists' Fellowship, Inc. 1954-1971
Box 2		Ascher, Mary 1956
Box 2		Ashton, Sherley 1958
Box 3		Audubon Artists, Inc. 1946-1966, undated
Box 3		Avakian, Lindy 1959-1960
Box 3		Avery, Ralph 1927-1968, undated (3 folders)
Box 3		Aylward, W. J. 1947-1948
Box 3		B (11 folders)
Box 3		Baer, Carlyle S. 1944-1949
Box 3		Bailey, Merrill A. 1941-1958, undated
Box 4		Bailey, Vernon Howe 1946-1947
Box 4		Balcom, Sophia T. (Mrs. Lowell L.) 1939
Box 4		Baldinger, Wallace S. 1933
Box 4		Baldwin-Wallace College 1962-1963
Box 4		Ballantine, William 1953-1958, undated
Box 4		Ballinger, Harry R. 1967
Box 4		Barber, John 1958-1966
Box 4		Barnett, Herbert P. 1959-1968
Box 4		Bartlett, Paul 1955, 1966
Box 4		Bassett, Helen Wheeler 1930-1931, undated
Box 4		Bassford, Wallace 1963, 1969
Box 4		Batchelor, C. D. undated
Box 4		Bauernschmidt, Patric 1962
Box 4		Baumann, Gustave 1939-1940
Box 4		Beaumont, Arthur 1957
Box 4		Beckett, Sheliah 1967-1970, undated
Box 4		Beeler, Joe 1969
Box 4		Bell, Enid 1963-1966, undated
Box 4		Ben Franklin Press, Inc. 1957-1961, undated
Box 4		Beneduce, Antimo 1961
Box 4		Bennett, Paul A. 1942-1946, 1963
Box 4		Benton, Bruce 1960-1962
Box 4		Benton, Suzanne 1965
Box 4		Berger, Oscar 1959-1967
Box 4		Bergstrom Art Center 1965-1966
Box 4		Bethlehem Art Gallery 1958-1959
Box 4		Betts, Edward H. 1958-1964
Box 4		Biddle, George 1940-1943
Box 4		Biggs, Walter 1959-1967, undated
		Billboard Publications, Inc.
			See American Artist
Box 4		Bishop, Alison 1940, undated
Box 4		Bishop, Isabel 1960-1968, undated
Box 4		Blair, Robert N. 1966-1967, undated
Box 4		Blazey, Lawrence 1959
Box 4		Bloch, Julia 1940-1941, undated
Box 4		Blower, David 1956-1970
Box 4		Bocour, Leonard 1964-1965
Box 4		Bohrod, Aaron 1958
Box 4		Bonham, Roger D. 1956-1969
Box 4		Bookbinder, Jack 1960-1964
Box 4		Boston Public Library 1947-1968
Box 4		Bouche, Louis 1967
Box 4		Boyd, Fiske 1943-1948
Box 4		Bradshaw, Glenn R. 1964-1970
Box 4		Bragdon, Claude 1935-1946
Box 4		Brandt, Heidi 1963-1969, undated
Box 4		Brandt, Rex 1955-1969
Box 4		Brangwyn, Frank 1944-1957
Box 4		Bransom, Paul 1948-1960
Box 4		Breverman, Harvey 1963-1965
Box 4		Broemel, Carl W. 1956-1966, undated
Box 4		Brooklyn Museum 1932-1968
Box 4		Brown, Arthur William 1961, undated
Box 4		Browning, Colleen 1956, undated
Box 4		Bruner, Louise 1955-1969
Box 4		Buller, Cecil 1940
Box 5		Burbank, Addison 1941-1942
Box 5		Burchfield, Charles E. 1929-1967, undated
Box 5		Butler Institute of American Art 1957-1968
Box 5		Bye, Ranulph 1956-1966
Box 5		Byrnes, Gene 1943
Box 5		C (10 folders)
Box 5		Caddell, Foster 1962-1971, undated
Box 5		Calamar, Gloria 1968-1969
Box 5		Calapai, Letterio 1958
Box 5		Cameron, Malcolm 1968
Box 5		Cameron, William Ross 1940, 1961-1970, undated
Box 5		Campbell, H. E. Ogden 1955-1957
Box 5		Campbell, Heyworth 1927-1929
Box 5		Canaday, John 1959, 1968, undated
Box 5		Candell, Victor 1940
		Capps, Charles M.
			See Prairie Print Makers
Box 6		Carnegie Institute 1941-1967
Box 6		Carrington, Fitz Roy 1931-1935
Box 6		Carter, Clarence H. 1946-1963
Box 6		Cassel-Wronker, Lili 1957-1958, undated
Box 6		Cevasco, George A. 1958-1959
Box 6		Chamberlain, Samuel 1942, 1967-1968, undated
Box 6		Chapin, Barbara 1943-1960
Box 6		Chapman, Frederick T. 1940-1971, undated
Box 6		Chapman, Howard Eugene 1957
Box 6		Chappell, Warren 1935-1964, undated
Box 6		Cheffetz, Asa 1947-1950
Box 6		Christ-Janer, Albert William 1965-1968
Box 6		Clark, Helen 1956-1964
Box 6		Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute 1960-1962
Box 6		Cleland, T. M. 1942-1947, undated
Box 6		Cleveland Institute of Art 1949-1961, 1970
Box 6		Cleveland Museum of Art 1927-1964
Box 6		Close, Marjorie 1969
			See also Society of Western Artists
Box 6		Clymer, John 1954
Box 6		Cobb, Ruth 1960
Box 6		Cober, Alan E. 1966
Box 6		Coes, Kent Day 1956-1963
			See also American Watercolor Society
Box 6		Cohen, George M. 1958-1966
Box 6		Cole, Alphaeus P. undated
Box 6		Coleman, John 1957
Box 6		Colgrove, Ronald 1964
Box 6		Comfort, Barbara 1957
Box 6		Connecticut Academy of Fine Arts 1955-1961
Box 6		Conrad, Barnaby 1962-1966, undated
Box 6		Conrad, Rupert 1961, undated
Box 6		Cook, Howard 1940-1948
Box 6		Cooper, Fred 1940, undated
Box 6		Cooper, Mario 1955-1968
			See also American Watercolor Society; Audubon Artists, Inc.
Box 6		Cornwell, Dean 1953-1960, undated
Box 6		Costigan, John E. 1947-1968
Box 6		Cowles, Russell 1947
Box 6		Cresson, Margaret French 1956-1957, 1969
Box 6		Crilley, Joseph J. 1960
Box 6		Crimi, Alfred D. 1947-1962
Box 6		Croughton, Amy H. 1940-1949
Box 6		Csoka, Stephen 1957, undated
Box 6		Cunningham, Phelps 1939
Box 6		D (4 folders)
Box 7		Dali, Salvador ca.1956
Box 7		Daugherty, James 1939-1968, undated
Box 7		Davis, Fitzroy 1958
Box 7		DeGarthe, William E. 1960
Box 7		Deines, E. Hubert 1947-1956
Box 7		Delano, Gerard Curtis 1960
Box 7		DeLue, Donald 1956-1965
Box 7		DePol, John H. 1947-1956, 1968, undated
Box 7		Diederich, Hunt 1939
Box 7		Dmitri, Ivan 1959, 1963
Box 7		Dobrin, Arnold 1960-1966
Box 7		Dodd, Lamar 1956-1968
Box 7		Dohanos, Stevan 1965-1967, undated
Box 7		Domjan, Joseph 1958-1969, undated
Box 7		Donald, Douglas 1930, undated
Box 7		Dulac, Margarita W. ca.1966
Box 7		Dunn, Calvin 1956, undated
Box 7		Dwiggins, W. A. 1937-1945
Box 7		E (3 folders)
Box 7		Eager, Fred 1958-1964, undated
Box 7		Edgerly, Beatrice 1956-1959, 1966
Box 7		Edmonds, Walter D. 1933-1966
Box 7		Ehrich, William 1945-1946
Box 7		Eichenberg, Fritz 1944-1968
			See also American Institute of Graphic Arts
Box 7		Eisenstat, Benjamin 1965
Box 7		Ellis, Dean 1963
Box 7		Enabnit, Merlin 1956-1966
Box 7		Ennis, David 1955-1966
Box 7		Erlanger, Elizabeth N. 1956
Box 7		Eskridge, Robert Lee 1956-1957, undated
Box 7		Ettenberg, Eugene M. 1946-1970, undated
Box 7		Evans, Henry 1969-1970, 1959
Box 7		Evans, Richard 1962-1963, undated
Box 7		Everson Museum of Art 1931-1964
Box 8		F (5 folders)
Box 8		Fabri, Ralph 1949-1971
Box 8		Falls, Charles Buckles and Bedelia 1938-1962
Box 8		Famous Artists School 1956-1966
Box 8		Farnsworth School of Art 1956-1969, undated
Box 8		Fawcett, Robert 1955-1964, undated
Box 8		Federal Art Project 1939
Box 8		Finck, Furman J. 1956-1964
Box 8		Finken, James H. 1937-1938
Box 8		Fisher, Leonard Everett 1966
Box 8		Fitzgerald, Edmond James 1959-1966, undated
Box 8		Floethe, Richard 1939
Box 8		Florsheim, Richard A. 1959-1969
Box 8		Ford Motor Company 1952-1966
Box 8		The Forum 1928-1929, 1935
Box 8		Foster, William S. 1962
Box 8		Fowler, Alfred 1932-1947
Box 8		Frasconi, Antonio 1958-1962
Box 8		Fraser, Juliette May 1958
Box 8		Freund, Rudolf 1964
Box 8		Friberg, Arnold 1958-1961
Box 8		Fulwider, Edwin 1961
Box 8		G (5 folders)
Box 9		Gaertner, Carl 1947-1948
Box 9		Gag, Wanda 1939
		Gallery Press
			See Ettenberg, Eugene M.
Box 9		Galli, Stanley W. 1952-1956, undated
Box 9		Gasser, Henry M. 1961-1970
Box 9		Gearhart, Frances H. 1939
Box 9		Geary, Fred 1940-1941
Box 9		Geiszel, John H. 1956, 1965
Box 9		Geritz, Franz 1939
Box 9		Gillen, Denver L. 1956
Box 9		Gladstone, Myron J. 1955-1959
Box 9		Glanzman, Louis S. 1963
Box 9		Glickman, Maurice 1960
Box 9		Glitenkamp, H. 1939
Box 9		Goethe, Joseph 1959
Box 9		Goff, Sudduth undated
Box 9		Gold, Albert 1956-1961
Box 9		Gonzalez, Xavier 1955-1968, undated
Box 9		Goodman, Bertram 1961-1969
Box 9		Gordon, Stanley J. 1962, undated
Box 9		Gorman, William D. 1961-1965
Box 9		Grabach, John R. 1961
Box 9		Gramatky, Hardie 1955-1968
Box 9		Grand Central Art Galleries 1932-1965
Box 9		Grand Central Moderns 1956
Box 9		Grandee, Joe Ruiz 1965, 1967
Box 9		Grant, Gordon 1945-1956
Box 9		Grashow, James 1964
Box 9		Gray, Gladys 1960
Box 9		Greenough, Charles P. and Margaret S. 1959-1965
Box 9		Gross, Earl 1946-1970, undated
Box 9		Groth, John 1958
Box 9		Grove, Edward R. 1969
Box 9		Guptill, Arthur 1943-1956
Box 9		Guptill, Leighton 1957-1962, undated
Box 9		Gwathmey, Robert 1941
Box 9		H (7 folders)
Box 10		Haines, Richard 1963
Box 10		Hale, Nathan Cabot undated
Box 10		Hammell, Elizabeth Lansdell 1965
Box 10		Hammer, Victor and Carolyn 1943-1967, undated
Box 10		Harbeson, John F. 1959-1961, undated
Box 10		Harding, George 1957
Box 10		Hardy, Thomas 1954-1955
Box 10		Harms, Ernest 1956-1961
Box 10		Harned, Fayette F. 1951-1971, undated
Box 10		Harper and Brothers 1932-1946
Box 10		Hartgen, Vincent A. 1956, 1967-1968
Box 10		Havens, James D. 1927-1961, undated (3 folders)
Box 10		Hawley, Carl T. 1935
Box 10		Heaney, Charles 1940
Box 10		Hechenbleikner, Louis 1961
		Heintzelman, Arthur W.
			See Boston Public Library
Box 10		Heiter, Michael 1960, undated
Box 10		Heitland, William Emerton 1944-1961, undated
Box 10		Hekking, William M. 1932-1944, undated
			See also Albright-Knox Art Gallery
Box 10		Helck, Peter 1944-1971, undated
Box 10		Heliker, John E. 1954-1955
Box 10		Heller, Helen West 1952
Box 10		Hershfield, Leo 1954, 1968
Box 10		Hicken, Philip 1958, undated
Box 10		Higgins, Eugene 1947
Box 10		Hiler, Hilaire 1961
Box 10		Hobart and William Smith Colleges 1933-1965, undated
Box 10		Hobbie, Lucille 1962
Box 10		Hodgell, Robert 1960-1966
Box 10		Hodges, C. Walter 1957
Box 10		Hoeflich, Sherman 1964-1967
Box 10		Hoftrup, J. Lars 1943-1954, undated
Box 10		Hogarth, Burne 1961, undated
Box 10		Hogarth, Paul 1959-1964
Box 10		Hogue, Alexandre 1962
Box 10		Honore, Paul 1929, 1947, undated
Box 10		Hooks, Mitchell 1960
Box 10		Hoowij, Jan 1956, 1963
Box 10		Hord, Donal 1958-1959
Box 10		Horter, Earl undated
		Horton, Al
			See Rochester Institute of Technology
Box 10		Hovey, J. Allan 1961-1967, undated
Box 11		Hungerford, Edward 1935-1946, undated
		Hunter, E. Robert
			See Norton Gallery and School of Art
Box 11		Hunter, Robert Douglas 1961
Box 11		Hunter, Sam 1961
Box 11		Huntley, Victoria Hutson 1959-1961
Box 11		Hurwitz, Sidney 1966-1968, undated
Box 11		Hutchinson, Bruce 1944-1952
Box 11		I (1 folder)
Box 11		Indiviglia, Salvatore Joseph 1957, 1962
Box 11		J (2 folders)
Box 11		Jackson, Billy M. 1969
Box 11		Jamison, Philip 1961, 1969, undated
Box 11		Javits, Jacob K. 1957
Box 11		Jellico, John 1957-1969, undated
Box 11		Jennewein, Carl Paul 1968
Box 11		Jewell, Edward Alden 1946-1947
Box 11		Jones, Amy 1955, 1958
Box 11		Jones, H. Wendy 1962
Box 11		Jones, Lois M. 1958
Box 11		Jung, Theodor 1956-1961
Box 11		K (4 folders)
Box 11		Kane, Margaret B. 1970
Box 11		Kappel, Philip 1945, 1947, 1965-1967, undated
Box 11		Karsh, Yousuf 1965 - photocopy
Box 11		Keester, George B. 1961-1967, undated
Box 11		Keller, Deane 1968
Box 11		Keller, Henry G. 1944-1945
Box 11		Kelly, Wallace M. 1965-1969
Box 11		Kent, Rockwell 1930-1946, 1965, undated
Box 11		Kester, Lenard 1955-1969
Box 12		Kingman, Dong 1955-1968
Box 12		Kinney, Troy 1932-1933
Box 12		Kinstler, Everett Raymond 1969-1971, undated
		Kitteridge, William A.
			See Lakeside Press
Box 12		Kovner, Saul 1965-1968
Box 12		Kredel, Fritz 1955-1956
Box 12		Kroll, Leon 1968
Box 12		Kuhler, Otto 1963-1968
Box 12		Kupferman, Murray 1968
Box 12		L (4 folders)
Box 12		Lachman, Harry 1962-1968
Box 12		Lakeside Press 1941-1961
Box 12		Landacre, Paul 1947, 1950
Box 12		Lankes, Julius J. 1931-1933, 1947-1957, undated
Box 12		Larson, Orville K. 1959
Box 12		Lathrop, Dorothy P. 1953-1968
Box 12		Lauck, Anthony 1957-1961
Box 12		Laurent, Robert 1963-1965
		Lawrie, Lee
			See DeLue, Donald
Box 12		Laynor, Harold A. 1956-1960
Box 12		Lazzari, Pietro 1956
Box 12		Lee, Robert J. 1966, undated
Box 12		Lee, Ruth H. 1937-1938
Box 12		Leighton, Clare 1949-1967, undated
Box 12		Leith-Ross, Harry 1957-1965
Box 12		Lemos, Pedro Joseph 1935
Box 12		Lenski, Lois 1939
Box 12		Leven, Boris 1955-1961
Box 12		LeViness, W. Thetford 1962-1966
Box 12		Levy, Nat 1961-1963
Box 12		Lewicki, James 1962, 1970
Box 12		Lewis, Allen 1957-1958, 1939, undated
Box 12		Lewis, Jeannette Maxfield 1962
Box 12		F. Lewis Publishers, Limited 1955-1967
Box 13		Libby, William Charles 1958-1968, undated
Box 13		Library of Congress 1929-1970
Box 13		Lindenmuth, Tod 1939, 1957
Box 13		Lissim, Simon 1955, 1958
Box 13		Lober, Georg J. 1948-1958
Box 13		Locke, Charles 1947, undated
Box 13		Lockhart, James L. 1957-1959
Box 13		Logan, Herschel C. 1939-1948, 1957-1967
Box 13		Loggie, Helen A. 1968-1969
		Longyear, William
			See Pratt Institute
Box 13		Lougheed, Robert E. 1954-1958, undated
Box 13		Lovell, Tom 1955-1963, undated
Box 13		Lovoos, Janice 1956-1970, undated (4 folders)
Box 13		Low, Joseph 1959-1963
Box 13		Luccioni, Luigi 1968
Box 13		Luchtemeyer, Edward 1960
Box 13		Luitjens, Helen 1965
Box 13, 14		M (7 folders)
Box 14		McCracken, Harold 1958-1969
Box 14		McCrea, James and Ruth 1957, 1962
Box 14		MacDonald, Thoreau 1942-1966, undated
Box 14		McGill, William A. 1963-1969
Box 14		McGovern, Robert F. 1956-1965
Box 14		Mack, Warren B. 1947-1950
Box 14		McMahon, Franklin 1956-1963, undated
Box 14		Maldarelli, Oronzio 1952
Box 14		Marans, Moissaye 1960, 1964
Box 14		Margulies, Joseph 1969
Box 14		Marquardt & Company, Inc. 1944-1945
Box 14		A. N. Marquis Company 1958-1968, undated
Box 14		Martin, Fletcher 1947
Box 14		Martin, Philip L. 1966-1969
Box 14		Mason, Roy M. 1930-1964, undated (2 folders)
Box 14		Matson, Greta 1956-1957, undated
Box 14		Maurer, Sascha 1956-1963
Box 14		Maurice, Ellie undated
Box 14		Mayer, Ralph 1961-1970
Box 14		Mays, Maxwell 1961, 1962, undated
		Mechanics Institute
			See Rochester Institute of Technology
Box 14		Meissner, Leo J. 1939, 1947-1959, undated
Box 14		Meltzer, Arthur 1959
Box 15		Menihan, John C. 1938-1943, 1950-1970, undated
Box 15		Mermin, Mildred 1957-1958
Box 15		Merrick, James Kirk 1946, 1957-1969
Box 15		Messersmith, Fred 1959-1970, undated
Box 15		Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York, N.Y.) 1942, 1951-1970, undated
Box 15		Metzl, Ervine 1956-1964, undated
Box 15		Meyers, Beatrice de Lima 1935-1944, undated
Box 15		Michel, Joan 1960, undated
Box 15		Middleton, Sallie E. 1969
Box 15		Millet, Clarence 1959
Box 15		Millier, Arthur 1956
Box 15		Mitchell, Glen 1947
Box 15		Mochi, Ugo 1964, 1965
Box 15		Montclair Art Museum 1951-1970
Box 15		Morganthaler, Charles A. 1961-1964
Box 15		Moskowitz, Ira 1967
Box 15		Mueller, Hans A. 1944-1950
Box 15		Munson-Williams-Proctor Institute 1960-1970
Box 15		Museum of Fine Arts, Boston 1957-1970
Box 15		Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.) 1955-1966
Box 15		N (4 folders)
Box 15		Nash, Ray 1957-1967
Box 15		Nason, Thomas W. 1933-1950, undated
Box 15		National Academy of Design 1942-1970
			See also Nichols, Hobart
Box 15		National Arts Club 1964-1970
Box 15		National Association of Women Artists, Inc. 1956-1961
Box 15		National Bank of Geneva, New York 1937-1969, undated
Box 15		National Cowboy Hall of Fame 1969
Box 16		National Gallery of Art (U.S.) 1947, 1956-1970
Box 16		National Gallery of Canada 1943-1944, 1960-1964
Box 16		Neiman, LeRoy 1960-1961, undated
Box 16		Neufeld, Woldemar 1956, 1968
Box 16		New Britain Museum of American Art 1955-1970, undated
Box 16		New York Public Library 1926-1958, undated
Box 16		New York Water Color Club 1938, undated
Box 16		New York World's Fair 1938-1939
Box 16		Nichols, Dale 1960-1964, undated
Box 16		Nichols, Hobart 1943, undated
			See also National Academy of Design
Box 16		Nickerson, Ruth 1962, 1963
Box 16		Nielsen, Jon 1963-1964, undated
Box 16		Noble, John A. 1969
Box 16		Norfolk Museum 1957-1969, undated
Box 16		Norris, Ben 1947
Box 16		Norton Gallery and School of Art 1945-1946, 1963
Box 16		Nye, Vernon 1961-1969, undated
Box 16		O (2 folders)
		Oakley, Thornton
			See Philadelphia Water Color Club
Box 16		Oberhardt, William 1948, 1955-1958
Box 16		O'Callahan, Kevin B. 1940
Box 16		Offutt, T. Scott 1956
Box 16		Ogg, Oscar 1943-1947, undated
		Ogle, Lucille
			See Artists and Writers Guild, Inc.
Box 16		O'Hara, Eliot undated
Box 16		Old Town Galleries 1965-1971, undated
Box 16		Ortlieb, Robert 1963
Box 16		Osver, Arthur 1960
Box 16, 17		P (6 folders)
Box 17		Paradise, Philip 1969
Box 17		Parshall, Douglass 1959-1961, undated
Box 17		Partch, Virgil F. undated
Box 17		Pay, George 1947, 1956-1961, undated
Box 17		Pearson, Norman Holmes 1969, undated
Box 17		Peirce, Gerry 1956, 1969
Box 17		Pejovic, Vlad 1965-1967, undated
Box 17		Pellew, John C. 1956-1957, 1969-1970, undated
Box 17		Perlman, Bernard B. 1962
Box 17		Perrin, C. Robert 1959-1965, undated
Box 17		Perry, Raymond 1956-1958
Box 17		Pescheret, Leon R. 1948, 1956, undated
Box 17		Peterdi, Gabor undated
Box 17		Petersen, Christian 1958, 1959
Box 17		Philadelphia Museum College of Art 1947-1965
Box 17		Philadelphia Museum of Art 1943-1969
Box 17		Philadelphia Water Color Club 1947, 1955-1957
Box 17		Phillips, Douglas 1962-1963
Box 17		Phillips, W. J. 1956
Box 17		Pike, John 1952, 1959-1969, undated
Box 17		Pioneer Museum & Haggin Galleries 1957-1960
Box 17		Pittman, Hobson 1939, 1945
Box 17		Pitz, Henry C. 1939-1970, undated (2 folders)
Box 17		Pleissner, Ogden M. 1948-1968
Box 17		Pohl, Hugo D. 1958
Box 17		Poor, Henry V. 1952
Box 17		Porter, J. Erwin 1941-1970, undated
Box 17		Prairie Print Makers 1933-1965, undated
Box 17		Pratt Institute 1932-1965, undated
Box 17		Princeton University 1954-1957
Box 17		Print 1940-1943
Box 17		Print Club of Albany 1953, 1961-1968
			See also Schafer, Alice Pauline
Box 17		Print Club of Philadelphia 1930-1942, 1955
Box 17		Print Club of Rochester 1934-1966, undated
Box 17		Print Corner 1929-1935, 1946
Box 18		Printing House of Leo Hart 1931-1932
Box 18		Prohaska, Ray 1958, 1960
Box 18		Pugh, Mabel 1939
Box 18		Pullinger, Herbert 1946
Box 18		Q (1 folder)
Box 18		Quinn, Noel 1959-1963, undated
Box 18		Quisgard, Liz Whitney 1956
Box 18		R (4 folders)
Box 18		Ransom, Will 1931-1943
Box 18		Rath, Hildegard 1960-1963
Box 18		Ratta, Cesare 1934
Box 18		Ray, Ruth 1956-1961
Box 18		The Reader's Digest 1944-1965, undated
Box 18		Reed, Doel 1954-1965, undated
Box 18		Reed, Walter 1965-1969
Box 18		Reep, Edward 1955-1960
Box 18		Refregier, Anton 1966
Box 18		Reinhold Publishing Corporation 1952-1967, undated
Box 18		Reiss, Winold 1939
Box 18		Reitzel, Marques E. 1933-1936, 1962-1967, 1944
Box 18		Remmey, Paul B. 1957
Box 18		Reusswig, William 1955-1959, undated
Box 18		Reynard, Grant 1947-1968, undated
Box 18		Rice, William S. 1929-1944, undated
Box 18		Richard, Betti 1966, 1967
Box 18		Richards, Walter DuBois 1939, 1957-1958
Box 18		Richardson, Constance 1961
Box 18		Riley, Art 1961-1965, undated
Box 18		Riley, Ken 1958
Box 18		Ripley, A. Lassell 1955, 1966, undated
Box 18		Rising, Dorothy Milne 1956-1959
Box 18		Robinson, Boardman 1945
Box 19		Rochester Institute of Technology 1928, 1938-1947, 1952-1969, undated (2 folders)
Box 19		Rochester Memorial Art Gallery 1928-1962, undated
Box 19		Rochester Public Library 1932-1955
Box 19		Rochester Savings Bank 1966-1967
		Rockford College
			See Reitzel, Marques E.
Box 19		Rockwell, Norman 1941-1970, undated
Box 19		Rogers, Bruce 1942-1943
Box 19		Rogers, Charles B. 1958-1969, undated
Box 19		Rogoff, Herbert 1969
		Rollins, Carl P.
			See Yale University Press
Box 19		Rood, John 1959
Box 19		Rosenthal, Doris 1947
Box 19		Ross, Alex 1968, undated
Box 19		Rowland, Earl 1957-1958
			See also Pioneer Museum & Haggin Galleries
Box 19		Rudolph, Norman G. 1957
Box 19		Charles L. Rumrill & Co., Inc. 1941-1942, 1951-1954
Box 19		Rushmore, Arthur 1942-1955, undated
			See also Harper and Brothers
Box 19		Russin, Robert I. 1955-1963
Box 19		Ruzicka, Rudolph 1942-1948, 1956, 1967-1968
Box 19, 20		S (8 folders)
Box 20		Safford, Ruth Perkins 1956-1961
Box 20		Sahlin, Emil Georg 1928-1929
Box 20		Samerjan, George 1956-1963, undated
Box 20		Sample, Paul 1955, undated
Box 20		Sandburg, Carl 1957 - outgoing
Box 20		Sandzen, Sven Birger 1939-1940
Box 20		Santoro, Joseph L. C. 1961-1970
Box 20		Saris, Anthony 1959
Box 20		Sauer, LeRoy D. 1940-1941
Box 20		Savage, Eugene Francis 1968
		Sawyer, Helen
			See Farnsworth School of Art
Box 20		Schaad, Bentley 1954-1955
Box 20		Schafer, Alice Pauline 1947, 1953-1967
Box 20		Schiwetz, E. M. 1961
Box 20		Schlemm, Betty Lou 1963
Box 20		Schmeckebier, Laurence 1955-1970
Box 20		Schmidt, Harvey 1959
Box 20		Schnakenberg, Henry E. 1939
Box 20		Schnittmann, Sascha S. 1969
Box 20		Schorre, Charles 1956-1970, undated
Box 20		Schultheiss, Carl M. 1946
Box 20		Scriver, Robert 1962-1964
Box 20		Seckar, Alvena V. 1957-1963
Box 20		Sendak, Maurice 1964
Box 20		Setterberg, Carl 1958, 1961
Box 20		Seward, C. A. 1930-1933, undated
Box 20		Sgouros, Thomas 1961
Box 20		Shapiro, Irving 1958-1968
Box 20		Shaub, Paul 1961-1962
Box 20		Millard Sheets Designs Incorporated 1959-1969, undated
Box 20		Shelburne Museum, Inc. 1958-1969, undated
Box 20		Shenton, Edward 1961
Box 21		Shields, William S. 1959-1960, undated
Box 21		Shinn, Everett 1923, 1943-1946, undated
Box 21		Shonnard, Eugenie F. 1966
Box 21		Shreveport Art Guild 1970
Box 21		Simon, Jewel W. 1961
Box 21		Simpson, Maxwell Stewart 1962-1963
Box 21		Sinel, Jo 1958-1960
Box 21		Sinz, Walter A. 1957
Box 21		Sloan, John 1947
Box 21		Sloane, Eric 1956-1961, undated
Box 21		Smith, Charles 1939, 1962-1966, undated
Box 21		Smith, David Loeffler 1959-1963
Box 21		Smith, Jacob Getlar 1951-1957
Box 21		Smith, Virginia Jeffrey 1956-1959
Box 21		Smith, William A. 1957, 1965
			See also American Watercolor Society
Box 21		Smithsonian Institution 1942-1943, 1958-1968
Box 21		Society of American Graphic Artists, Inc. 1953-1959, 1966
Box 21		Society of Illustrators 1953, 1962-1964
Box 21		Society of Western Artists 1958-1960, 1969-1971, undated
Box 21		Sorel, Edward undated
Box 21		Spierer, William McK. 1958
Box 21		Sprunger, Arthur L. 1940
Box 21		Stahley, Joseph 1937
Box 21		Standard, Paul 1943-1967
Box 21		Starin, Arthur N. 1964-1967
Box 21		Stein, Harve 1957-1958
Box 21		Steinberg, Harry 1960
Box 21		Stone, Ruth Andress 1963
Box 21		Stone, Walter King 1931-1939, undated
Box 21		Strater, Henry 1961-1968, undated
		Straus, Julia Bloch
			See Bloch, Julia
Box 21		Stuart, Kenneth 1944, 1952-1957
Box 21		Stucki, Margaret E. 1966
Box 21		Sturdevant, William D. 1958-1970
Box 21		Sundblom, Haddon H. 1956
Box 21		Surendorf, Charles 1940
Box 21		Sutton, George Miksch 1936
		Syracuse Museum of Fine Arts
			See Everson Museum of Art
Box 21		Syracuse University 1929-1943, 1956-1962, 1970
Box 21		Szalay, Lajos 1961-1962
Box 21		T (2 folders)
Box 21		Taubes, Frederic 1955-1959, undated
Box 21		Taylor, Barnard 1960-1965, undated
Box 21		Taylor, Bertha Fanning 1957-1960
Box 21		Teague, Donald 1957-1968, undated
Box 21		Terken, John 1960, 1966
Box 22		Thollander, Earl 1959-1961, 1967
Box 22		Thompson, Ernest Thorne 1964
Box 22		Thompson, Harry E. 1957
Box 22		Thorne, Thomas Elston 1938, undated
Box 22		Tillenius, Clarence 1958-1962
Box 22		Time 1946-1969, 1933
Box 22		Tobias, Abraham Joel 1956
Box 22		Toledo Museum of Art 1959-1967
Box 22		Topolski, Feliks 1958-1959
Box 22		Townsend, Harry 1940
Box 22		Trauerman, Margy 1956
Box 22		Travis, Olin Herman 1956, 1965
Box 22		Treidler, Adolph 1939, 1969, undated
Box 22		Trenholm, George F. 1948
Box 22		Trifon, Harriette 1964-1965
Box 22		Tschacbasov, Nahum 1955
Box 22		Turner, Janet undated
Box 22		Tuttle, Henry Emerson 1945
Box 22		U (1 folder)
Box 22		Ulp, Clifford M. 1930, 1938-1956, undated
Box 22		United States Information Agency 1955-1969, undated
		United States Works Progress Administration
			See Federal Art Project
Box 22		University of Rochester 1931-1941, 1960-1961, undated
Box 22		Unwin, Nora S. 1952-1969
Box 22		Utz, Thornton undated
Box 22		V (2 folders)
Box 22		Van Hasselt, Tony 1969-1970
Box 22		Vogel, Donald S. 1955-1959, 1969
Box 22		Von der Lancken, F. 1936
Box 22		Von Neumann, Robert 1940, 1953-1957
Box 22		W (7 folders)
Box 23		Walsh, John S. 1960-1963
Box 23		Ward, Lynd 1947-1970, undated
Box 23		Warren, Ferdinand 1958-1961
Box 23		Warwick, Edward 1939, 1952
Box 23		Washburn, Kenneth 1936-1942
Box 23		Waters, Herbert 1954-1962, 1970, undated
Box 23		Watson, Aldren A. 1945, 1952-1968, undated
Box 23		Watson, Ernest W. 1927-1969, undated
Box 23		Waugh, Coulton 1962-1971
Box 23		Weidenaar, Reynold H. 1956-1965
		Weitenkampf, Frank
			See New York Public Library
Box 23		Welling, Richard 1964-1970, undated
Box 23		Wengenroth, Stow 1943-1956, 1966-1971, undated
Box 23		Wenrich, John C. 1932-1936, 1946-1968, undated
Box 23		Werner, Alfred 1959-1968, undated
Box 23		Weygers, Alexander G. 1964
Box 23		Whinston, Charlotte 1956
Box 23		Whitaker, Frederic 1951-1970, undated (3 folders)
Box 24		White, Charles W. 1962
Box 24		White, Doris 1963
		White, Lawrence Grant
			See National Academy of Design
Box 24		White, Nelson C. 1958
Box 24		Whitney, Edgar A. 1956-1961, undated
Box 24		Whitney Museum of American Art 1956-1968
		Who's Who in America
			See A. N. Marquis Company
Box 24		Wickey, Harry 1961-1965
Box 24		Wickser, Josephine W. 1935-1942
Box 24		Wilbur, Lawrence Nelson 1957-1958
Box 24		Wilcox, Frank N. 1933, 1947, 1955-1964, undated
Box 24		Wildenhain, Frans 1958
Box 24		Wilford, Loran F. 1939
Box 24		Wilimovsky, Charles A. 1939
Box 24		Will, Blanca 1935, undated
Box 24		Willard, Howard 1958, 1960
Box 24		Williams, Esther 1947
Box 24		Williams, Mary F. 1938-1943
Box 24		Williams, Warner 1966
Box 24		Williams, Wheeler 1959
Box 24		Wilson, Charles Banks 1969, undated
Box 24		Wilson, Edward A. 1939-1967, undated
Box 24		Winkler, John undated
Box 24		Winslow, Leon L. 1963-1964
Box 24		John C. Winston Company 1955-1957
Box 24		Winter, Edward 1946, 1955-1965 (2 folders)
Box 24		Winter, Lumen Martin 1957-1958, 1966-1968
Box 24		Witherstine, Donald F. 1940
Box 24		Wood, Beatrice 1960
Box 24		Woodbury, David 0. 1964-1967
		Woodcut Society
			See Fowler, Alfred
Box 24		Woodward, Stanley 1957, 1962
Box 24		Worcester Art Museum 1956-1964
Box 24		Wright, George H. 1945, 1947
Box 24		Wyeth, Andrew 1956, 1965-1968, undated
Box 24		Y (1 folder)
Box 24		Yale University Press 1944-1946, 1969
Box 24		Young, Joseph L. 1956-1961, undated
Box 24		Young, Mahonri M. 1947
Box 24		Youngblood, Nat 1957, 1961
Box 24		Z (1 folder)
Box 24		Zadig, Bertrand 1939, 1944, undated
Box 24		Zorach, William 1939, 1958
Box 24		Zornes, Milford 1961-1969
Box 24		Fragments
Box 24		Unidentified

	Artwork
Box 25		Inventories and lists (2 folders)
Box 25		Drawings (5)
Box 25		Prints (11)
Box 25		Unidentified artists (6)

	Writings
		Essays
Box 25			"Art," The New International Year Book, Events of 1953
Box 25			"Art and Architecture -- 1952" - manuscript
Box 25			"C. B. Falls: A Career in Retrospective," The Players Bulletin Spring 1962
Box 25			"Foreword" - manuscript
Box 25			"Foreword" 5th Regional Art Exhibition 1957
Box 25			Henry Gasser, NA - Introduction 1968
Box 25			"Henry Gasser at Grand Central," American Artist Greater New York Section 1968
Box 25			"Hudson River Sketching," American Artist Metropolitan Jan. 1969
Box 25			"Letter to the Editor," Arts Apr. 1957
Box 25			"The Linoleum Cut," The Instructor June 1932 - incomplete
Box 25			"Notes on Morris and His Albion Press" - ms. drafts
Box 25			"Portfolio of Drawings of Old Mills," American Artist Sept. 1967
Box 25			"The Print Club of Rochester: an Historical Sketch of Its First Ten Years (1931-1940)" - ms. draft
Box 25			"The Print Clubs in the United States" - ms. draft
Box 25			"Ranulph Bye," Watercolors by Ranulph Bye 1956
Box 25			"Rebuttal on How Editors Look at Their Jobs" - manuscripts
Box 25			"Reflections," American Artist June 1968
Box 25			"Rehberger" - ms. draft (photocopy)
Box 25			'Scrapstracts:' Edward Saxe - Introduction undated - ms.
Box 25			"Windy Day, Isle of Orleans" - manuscript
Box 25			"Wintering in Italy with Norman Kent," Democrat and Chronicle undated
Box 25			"The Wood Cut Book Plate" - manuscripts
Box 25			Untitled - "Perhaps there is ..." - manuscript
Box 25		Journal - Scandinavian trip 1963
Box 25		Notebook undated
Box 25		Reviews (by title of work) - manuscripts
Box 25		Miscellaneous

	Memorabilia
Box 25		Award - Art Directors Club 1955
Box 25		Calendars 1920-1936 (2 of 8 folders)
Box 26		Calendars 1937-1967 (5 of 8 folders)
Box 27		Calendars 1968-1970 (1 of 8 folders)
Box 27		Calligraphic specimens
		Financial material
Box 27			General 1926-1971 (3 folders)
Box 27			Royalty statements 1962-1970
Box 27		Legal - contracts
Box 27		Photographs
		Printed material
			Clippings
Box 27				Articles about 1936-1970, undated
Box 27				Articles about (peripheral mention) 1946-1969, undated
Box 27				Miscellaneous 1923-1970, undated
Box 27			Exhibition announcements 1942-1971, undated
			Exhibition catalogs
Box 28				Norman Kent (one-man shows) 1941-1967
Box 28				Norman Kent (group shows) 1931-1970, undated
Box 28				Miscellaneous (various artists) 1932-1970, undated
Box 28			Press releases 1955-1959
Box 28			Miscellaneous
Box 28		Publicity 1963-1970, undated
Box 28		Reviews (excerpts)
Box 28		Miscellaneous

Return to top